- Art Gallery -


 

 

REPRESENTATIVE CANADIANS

 

 


RT. HON. SIR R. L. BORDEN. P.C., K.C.M.G., K.C., LL.D.,
Ottawa


NATIONAL BIOGRAPHICAL SERIES III

 

 

A CYCLOPÆDIA

of

CANADIAN BIOGRAPHY

 

 

Brief Biographies of Persons Distinguished in the Professional, Military

and Political Life, and the Commerce and Industry of

Canada, in the Twentieth Century.

 

 

Edited by

HECTOR CHARLESWORTH

 

 

 

TORONTO

THE HUNTER-ROSE COMPANY, LIMITED

1919


PREFACE

It is now thirty-three years since the first volume of biographies bearing the title “Representative Canadians” was issued by the present firm of publishers. In 1886 the scope of the work was unique, so far as this country was concerned, for previous volumes of the kind had confined themselves to the careers of Canadians who have won fame in either a political or military capacity. The aim of the editors of the first volume of “Representative Canadians” was to give recognition of the emergence of Canada from a colonial to something like a national status by recording something of the achievements of those who had contributed to the intellectual, industrial and commercial growth of the country, as well as of its political leaders. The purpose remained the same in the second volume published in 1888, and is once more the impulse of the present book.

The vast majority of those whose careers were recorded in 1886 have passed away; and the same is true of those who figured in the second volume of the series. Consequently, the earlier issues of “Representative Canadians” grow every day more precious, for, in many cases, they contain the sole records of men who initiated great enterprises or furthered important movements which have left a lasting mark on the history of Canada. We cannot but think that the reader who, thirty or forty years hence, may chance to scan the pages of the present volume will gather a very vivid picture of Canada as it was in one of the crucial periods of the world’s affairs—a picture in which the characters of those Canadians who lived and “carried on” through the years of the greatest war in all history may be discerned in the records of their lives. There is hardly a page in this book into which the war does not enter directly or indirectly in some form or other, by way of allusions to services rendered, bereavements endured, or honours gained on the field of battle. In that sense the 1919 volume must remain unique, and a mine of useful information for students in future generations.

Generally speaking, in comparing the biographies of the Canadians of to-day with those of 1886 and 1888, the reader gains a sense of this country’s continuous expansion. The present century has witnessed a marvellous development in the Canadian West, so that in these pages we find numerous records showing not merely the commercial, but the intellectual, progress of the Provinces West of the Great Lakes—stories of brilliant careers built up by men who were mere children in the East when the first volume was published. The reader will also note in the biographies of business men which abound in these pages, the ever-increasing scale on which Canadian commerce and enterprise everywhere is conducted, so that what seemed large in 1886 is relatively small to-day. Though some of the men whose names figure in the index are of less importance than others, all play their part in our complex and vigorous social life, and the story of their progress and fortunes cannot be really tedious to any sympathetic student of humanity.

Toronto, 1919.


INDEX

Adamson, Alan Joseph, 124
Adamson, John Evans, 121
Aikenhead, Thomas E., 47
Aikins, Lieut.-Col. Sir James Albert Manning, 81
Allan, John, 98
Ames, Sir Herbert B., 4
Ami, Henry M., 142
Amyot, Lieut.-Col. John A., 299
Anderson, Alexander James, 126
Anderson, Frederic William, 75
Anderson, Prof. George R., 144
Anderson, James T. M., 65
Antliff, Rev. James Cooper, 52
Arkell, Thomas Reginald, 180
Armstrong, Samuel, 174
Arnold, William McCullough, 114
Arrell, Harrison, 52
Arsenault, Hon. Aubin E., 215
Ashby, Joseph Seraphin Aime, 127
Ashton, Major-General Ernest, 270
Askwith, John E., 106
Asselin, Major Olivar, 144
     
Bâby, Wolstan Alexander Dixie, 229
Bachand, Leonide Charles, 69
Bailey, Charles Frederick, 218
Baillie, Sir Frank, 110
Bain, John, 66
Ball, Emerson Ewart, 61
Ball, Robert James, 64
Ballantyne, James, 145
Barnard, Sir Frank Stillman, 223
Barnard, Hon. George Henry, 126
Barrow, Hon. Edward Dodsley, 205
Barry, Walter H., 124
Baskerville, William Joseph, 148
Bates, Joseph Lever, 165
Bates, Thomas Nathaniel, 272
Beach, Mahlon F., 49
Beaumont, Ernest Joseph, 56
Bégin, Louis Nazaire, 17
Beith, Hon. Robert, 40
Bellemare, Adelard, 125
Bell, Clarence A. H., 274
Bell, Hon. George Alexander, 230
Bell, John Howatt, 74
Bell, John Percival, 257
Belcourt, Hon. Napoleon Antoine, 61
Bender, Prosper, 31
Bennett, Richard Bedford, 255
Berthiaume, Arthur, 147
Best, John, 43
Bethune, Rev. Charles James Stewart, 76
Birkett, Thomas, 125
Black, Henry, 133
Blair, Lieutenant James K., 273
Blondin, Hon. Pierre Edouard, 212
Bole, David W., 221
Borden, Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird, 1
Boudreau, L. N. H. Rodolphe, 180
Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, 44
Bowes, James Leslie Llewellyn, 69
Bowie, Lieut.-Colonel Henry William, 251
Bowman, Charles Martin, 275
Boyd, Leslie Hale, 98
Boyer, Major Gustave, 90
Boyer, Louis, 40
Braden, Norman Short, 250
Braithwaite, Edward Ernest, 73
Breadner, Robert Walker, 132
Breithaupt, John C., 228
Breithaupt, Louis J., 43
Brennan, John Charles, 131
Briggs, William, 68
Bristow, Michael George, 73
Brock, Lieut.-Colonel Henry, 70
Brock, William Rees, 71
Brodeur, Hon. Louis Philippe, 220
Bronson, Hon. Erskine Henry, 65
Bronson, Henry Franklin, 34
Brossoit, Numa Edouard, 274
Buchanan, William A., 171
Buckles, Daniel, 119
Bulman, William John, 131
Burgoyne, William Bartlett, 186
Burpee, Lawrence Johnston, 39
Bulyea George Hedley Vicars, 143
Butler, Lieut.-Colonel Thomas Page, 282
Butterworth, John George Bissett, 256
Byrne, Daniel J., 129
     
Callahan, John, 190
Camaraire, Alfred Frederick, 115
Cameron, Lieut.-Colonel Sir Douglas, 16
Campbell, Colin, 103
Campbell, Donald Grant, 151
Campbell, William Brough, 234
Cane, James Gilbert, 111
Carew, John, 22
Carson, Hugh, 145
Cartwright, Lieut.-Colonel Robert, 168
Casgrain, Philippe Baby, 27
Cash, Edward L., 157
Cassils, Charles, 151
Cave, James G., 138
Chabot, Lieut.-Colonel John Leo, 63
Chadwick, Edward Marion, 37
Chamberlain, Theodore F., 45
Chambers, Colonel Ernest John, 283
Champagne, Napoleon, 209
Chapleau, Maj. Samuel Edmour St. Onge, 47
Chaplin, James D., 184
Charlesworth, Hector, 254
Charlton, William Granville, 64
Chauvin, Hon. T. Hector, 150
Chisholm, William Craig, 108
Choquette, Ernest, 138
Choquette, Philippe Auguste, 137
Chrysler, Francis Henry, 80
Clark, Lieut.-Colonel Hugh, 100
Clark, John Murray, 78
Clute, Arthur Roger, 34
Coats, Robert Hamilton, 104
Coburn, John W., 123
Cockshutt, William Foster, 2
Cody, Hon. Henry John, 109
Cole, George M., 63
Cole, Col. Wilmot Howard, 28
Colquhoun, Arthur Hugh Urquhart, 261
Commeford, James W., 139
Conant, Gordon Daniel, 131
Connolly, Bernard Gervase, 190
Coombs, Albert Ernest, 64
Coristine, Major Stanley B., 295
Corrigan, Ambrose Eugene, 206
Côté, Narcisse Omer, 221
Cotton, Major-General W. H., 249
Cousineau, Joseph Philemon, 192
Cousins, George Vipond, 159
Cowan, William Frederick, 84
Cox, Herbert Coplin, 26
Coyne, James Henry, 14
Crannell, Levi, 302
Creelman, Lieut.-Colonel John Jennings, 185
Cronyn, Hume, 228
Cross, Alexander S. G., 151
Cross, Charles Wilson, 32
Crossland, E. F., 136
Crothers, Hon. Thomas Wilson, 90
Crowther, William H., 190
Cudmore, Sedley Anthony, 302
Currie, General Sir Arthur William, 165
Cutten, George Barton, 193
     
Dalley, Frederick Fenner, 218
Dalton, Hon. Charles, 204
Daniels, Hon. Orlando T., 206
Dargavel, John Robertson, 133
Davey, James, 68
David, Hon. Laurent Olivier, 182
Davidson, James Wheeler, 191
Davidson, William McCartney, 225
Davis, Albert Mayno, 229
Davis, Aubrey, 176
Dawson, Arthur Osborne, 32
De Celles, Alfred Duclos, 66
Delage, Cyrille F., 195
Demers, Joseph, 160
Denis, J. Wilfred, 69
Denton, Frank, 62
Deroche, William Paschal, 172
de Tremaudan, A. H., 76
Detwiler, Noah Bechtel, 277
Dewart, Herbert Hartley, 275
Dickson, Rev. James A. R., 136
Dinnick, Lieut.-Col. Wilfrid Servington, 193
Diver, Frederick, 125
Dobell, Sir Charles Macpherson, 24
Doherty, Hon. Charles Joseph, 156
Dollard, Rev. James B., 184
Donogh, John Ormsby, 161
Donovan, Albert Edward, 300
Doughty, Arthur George, 297
Douglas, James, 32
Douglas, William James, 195
Dowling, John S., 176
Drayton, Sir Henry Lumley, 23
Drayton, Philip Henry, 276
Drysdale, William, 186
Duclos, Arnold Willard, 285
Duff, Hon. Lyman Poore, 271
Dunlop, Edward Arunah, 237
Dunning, Hon. Charles Avery, 216
Dwyer, William Henry, 72
Dymond, Allan Malcolm, 41
     
Earle, Rufus Redmond, 119
Easson, Robert Henry, 281
Eddis, Wilton C., 69
Edwards, John Wesley, 45
Edwards, Hon. William Cameron, 123
Elliot, Major-General Harry Macintire, 284
Elliott, John Campbell, 60
Ellis, James Albert, 102
Ellis, John F., 178
Elson, John Melbourne, 288
Englehart, Joel Lewis, 173
Ethier, Joseph Arthur Calixte, 133
Evanturel, Gustave, 67
Ewart, David, 174
Ewing, William, 194
     
Farris, Hon. John Wallace de Beque, 214
Farrow, Robinson Russell, 238
Faulkner, Hon. George Everett, 206
Ferguson, Hon. George Howard, 196
Ferguson, Hon. William Nassau, 39
Fielding, Hon. William Stevens, 279
Fifield, Albert Frank, 198
Finlayson, George Daniel, 239
Finnie, David Maclachan, 179
Fisher, His Honor Walter George, 185
Flavelle, William M., 134
Flint, Thomas Barnard, 79
Flynn, Edmund James, 263
Foran, Joseph Kearney, 280
Forin, John Andrew, 122
Forman, James C., 247
Forster, J. W. L., 172
Foster, Thomas Wilfred, 248
Foster, Hon. Walter Edward, 254
Fraleck, Edison Baldwin, 67
Fraser, George B., 71
Freiman, Archibald J., 132
     
Galbraith, Walter Stuart, 147
Gale, George Charles, 134
Gale, Robert Henry, 288
Gariepy, Wilfrid, 127
Garland, John L., 105
Garneau, Sir George, 25
Gartshore, Lieut.-Colonel William Moir, 180
Gibbon, Arthur Playford, 232
Gibbons, John Joseph, 69
Gibson, Brig.-General Sir John Morison, 242
Gibson, Theron, 27
Gill, Robert, 289
Gillespie, Professor Peter, 74
Girard, A. D., 167
Girard, Joseph, 31
Godfrey, Oswald Julius, 149
Goodeve, Hon. Arthur Samuel, 34
Goring, C. C., 193
Gouin, Hon. Sir Jean Lomer, 22
Graham, Hon. George Perry, 267
Grange, Edward Alexander Andrew, 74
Grange, Edward Wilkinson, 39
Grant, Gordon, 197
Grierson, Hon. George Allison, 133
Groves, Abraham, 38
Guilbault, Joseph Pierre Octave, 34
Gwatkin, Major-General W. G., 260
Gwynne, Brig.-General Reginald John, 286
     
Hackett, Edward, 37
Hagedorn, Charles Kappler, 116
Hamilton, Frank Kent, 223
Hamilton, Ralph Bergen, 189
Hanna, Hon. William John, 287
Hannon, James Willson, 159
Hara, Frederick North, 198
Hare, Rev. John James, 269
Harkin, James, B., 174
Harper, John Murdoch, 129
Harris, Reginald V., 59
Harris, William Gean, 175
Harrison, Nathaniel Isles, 147
Hastings, David, 75
Hazen, Hon. Sir John Douglas, 93
Heakes, Francis Riley, 152
Hearst, Hon. Sir William Howard, 7
Heaton, Ernest, 87
Hebert, Zepherin, 88
Helmer, Brig.-General Richard Alexis, 265
Henderson, Alexander, 235
Henderson, William Andrew, 118
Henry, David Edouard, 231
Henry, Hon. George Stewart, 282
Higinbotham, John D., 143
Hill, Hamnett Pinhey, 140
Hinds, Leonard D’Arcy Bernard, 33
Hocken, Norman Cecil, 195
Hodgetts, Colonel Charles Alfred, 223
Hogg, Andrew Brydon, 121
Hogg, William Drummond, 285
Honeywell, Major Frederick Henry, 164
Hook, Thomas, 300
Hopkins, Arthur George, 150
Hopkins, Innes, 188
Hore, George Charles, 134
Hough, John Atwell, 198
Hudson, Hon. Albert Blellock, 145
Hughes, Brig.-General William St. Pierre, 258
Hunnisett, James Edward, 201
Hunter, Lieut.-Colonel A. T., 37
Hunter, Major W. E. Lincoln, 281
Hurdman, George Charles, 271
Hutchison, Colonel William, 241
     
Ingersoll, James Hamilton, 178
Ingram, George C., 123
Innes, Hugh Patterson, 199
Irwin, William Nassau, 234
Izzard, Dennis Jabez, 95
     
Jacobs, Samuel W., 89
James, Edgar Augustus, 178
Jarvis, Ernest Frederick, 191
Jenkins, Lieut.-Col. Stephen Rice Jenkins, 213
Jetté, the Hon. Sir Louis, 10
Johnson, Hon. Thomas Herman, 238
Johnston, Ebenezer Forsyth Blackie, 97
Jones, George Burpee, 95
Jones, Henry Victor Franklin, 87
Jones, James William, 161
     
Kastner, Gideon, 163
Keefe, R. Daniel, 86
Kelso, John Joseph, 194
Kemp, Hon. Sir Albert Edward, 16
Kennedy, William Costello, 11
Kent, Joseph, 110
King, Hon. James H., 195
King, Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie, 286
Kyte, George William, 77
     
Labelle, Alfred Eugene, 158
Laidlaw, Lorne Nelson, 148
Landry, Hon. David V., 142
Langelier, Hon. Sir François-Xavier, 18
Langley, James P., 44
Langton, Brig.-General Joseph Graham, 266
Laurier, the late Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid, 3
Law, Bonnar B., 200
Lawlor, H. W., 36
Leblanc, Sir Pierre-Evariste, 159
Lemieux, Auguste, 35
Lemieux, Hon. Sir François-Xavier, 12
Lennie, Robert Scott, 141
Lennox, Lieut.-Colonel Thomas Herbert, 207
Leonard, Lieut.-Colonel Reuben Wells, 268
Lesperance, Albert Paneran, 246
L’Esperance, Hon. David Ovide, 85
Levy, Gabriel Herman, 221
Lighthall, William Douw, 101
Longley, Hon. J. W., 51
Lumsden, John, 315
Lynch, Hon. William Warren, 19
     
MacAulay, Brock, 157
Macaulay, John, 101
Macaulay, Thomas Basset, 99
Macdonald, Sir Donald Alexander, 225
MacDonald, Donald D., 175
Macdonald, John, 50
MacDonald, Neil S., 48
Macdonald, Selkirk M., 96
Machado, Jose Antonio, 211
Machin, Lt.-Col. Harold Arthur Clement, 203
Mackay, Hon. Col. Alexander Howard, 191
Mackenzie, Daniel D., 294
Mackenzie, Hugh Blair, 158
MacKenzie, John Angus, 177
Mackenzie, Norman, 93
Mackie, George D., 150
Mackintosh, Charles Herbert, 56
MacLean, Archie, 86
MacLean, Hon. John Duncan, 117
Mann, Alexander Robert, 168
Marchand, Pierre, 249
Marcile, Joseph Edmond, 155
Margeson, Lieut.-Colonel Joseph Willis, 217
Marnoch, George Robert, 104
Marsh, Lieut.-Colonel Lorne Wilmot, 88
Marshall, Lieut.-Col. Kenric Reid, 302
Marshall, Lieut.-Colonel Noel G. L., 169
Martin, Hon. William Melville, 231
Massey, C. D., 53
Massey, Charles Vincent, 202
Mather, James, 205
Matthews, George Sands, 155
McBrien, Frederick George, 155
McCarthy, Jesse Overn, 201
McClennaghan, Stewart, 169
McConnell, Richard George, 165
McCorkill, Hon. Justice John Charles, 20
McCuaig, Clarence James, 111
McCuish, Robert George, 120
McCullough, Charles Robert, 48
McCurdy, Fleming Blanchard, 266
McEvoy, John Millar, 283
McFall, Robert James, 298
McGiverin, Harold Buchanan, 177
McInenly, William, 60
McInnes, William, 203
McKay, Hon. James, 159
McKeon, Very Rev. Dean P. J., 178
McLean, Angus Alexander, 240
McLean, Hon. Daniel, 160
McLean, Major-Gen. Hugh Havelock, 62
McMahon, Edward, 89
McMahon, James Alexander, 259
McNeeley, John Strachan Lewis, 153
McNeil, Most Rev. Neil, 175
McNeillie, James Richardson, 36
McQuarrie, William Garland, 188
Meek, Edward, 58
Meighen, Hon. Arthur, 8
Merner, Jonathan Joseph, 154
Middlebró, William S., 87
Mikel, William Charles, 54
Mills, Charles Henry, 93
Miller, Frederick Robert, 213
Miller, Lieut.-Colonel John Bellamy, 262
Mitchell, Hon. Robert Menzies, 11
Mitchell, Hon. Walter George, 245
Minehan, Rev. Lancelot, 85
Mondou, Alberic Archie, 153
Montgomery, Hugh John, 96
Morehouse, Oscar Emery, 135
Morgan, Colin Daniel, 52
Morin, Pierre Alphonse, 270
Morin, Victor, 75
Murphy, Hon. Charles, 28
Murray, Hon. Robert, 252
Musson, Charles Joseph, 53
     
Nanton, Sir Augustus Meredith, 183
Nash, Charles William, 280
Nasmith, Colonel George Gallie, 263
Neill, Charles Ernest, 278
Nesbitt, Arthur Russel, 249
Nicholls, Lieut.-Colonel Hon. Frederic, 264
Nicholson, Arthur Edwin, 277
Nickle, William Folger, 107
Norcross, Joseph W., 201
Northrup, William Barton, 250
Notman, John Charles, 177
Noyes, John Powell, 257
     
Odlum, Edward, 141
O’Hara, Francis Charles Trench, 118
Oliver, Hon. John, 196
O’Reilly, His Honor James Redmond, 86
Owens, Edward W. J., 299
     
Paisley, James K., 83
Panet, Lieut.-Colonel Charles Louis, 279
Paquet, Eugene, 157
Pardee, Frederick Forsyth, 33
Pardoe, Avern, 176
Parent, Hon. Simon Napoleon, 226
Parmelee, William George, 20
Parsons, S. R., 246
Paton, Hugh, 177
Patrick, John Alexander Macdonald, 120
Patterson, John Pratt, 61
Payne, Francis Freeman, 150
Pedley, Frank, 213
Pennington, David Henry, 117
Perley, Sir George Halsey, 205
Perry, Nathaniel Irwin, 139
Petrie, Harry David, 275
Peuchen, Lieut.-Colonel Arthur Godfrey, 121
Pope, Major William Walter, 82
Poulin, Stanislas, 101
Power, William, 161
Pratt, Edward Courtney, 82
Price, Samuel, 95
Price, Sir William, 15
Pringle, Robert Abercrombie, 105
Pritchard, Henry Thomas, 215
Proudfoot, William, 210
Proulx, Edmond, 161
Pugh, Thomas James, 181
Pullan, E., 277
Pyne, Lieut.-Colonel Hon. Robert Allan, 90
     
Rawlings, Henry Edward, 197
Regan, Frank, 189
Reid, Frank, 85
Reid, William Brown, 237
Rhodes, Hon. Edgar Nelson, 13
Richardson, John, 297
Riddell, Hon. William Renwick, 82
Roadhouse, William Albert, 109
Robb, Thomas, 54
Robertson, Edward Blake, 184
Robertson, Hon. Gideon Decker, 240
Robertson, John Ross, 5
Robertson, Norman, 94
Robertson, William John, 91
Robertson, William Robert, 199
Robinette, Thomas Cowper, 252
Roche, Hon. William James, 102
Roche, Francis James, 292
Rogers, Albert S., 183
Rogers, John Morrison, 261
Rose, George Maclean, 272
Rose, Hon. Mr. Justice Hugh Edward, 93
Rose, William Oliver, 188
Ross, James Gibb, 21
Ross, John Theodore, 261
Rowell, Hon. Newton Wesley, 202
Russell, Adam Lothian, 235
Rust, C. H., 124
Rutherford, Colonel Hon. Alexander Cameron, 278
Rutherford, John Gunion, 226
     
Saint Cyr, Joseph Fortunat, 98
Sainte-Pierre, F., 97
St. Jean, Ulric, 157
Samuel, Sigmund, 92
Sauvé, Arthur, 203
Sayles, Edwin Roy, 164
Scott, F. Stewart, 183
Scott, James Guthrie, 30
Scott, William Duncan, 106
Seguin, Paul Arthur, 92
Senecal, Francis Albert, 204
Sharpe, Samuel Simpson, 100
Shepherd, Simpson James, 123
Shier, Walter C., 91
Shillington, Lieut.-Col. Adam Tozeland, 236
Shortly, Orville Benjamin, 248
Shutt, Frank Thomas, 96
Sifton, Hon. Arthur Lewis, 209
Sinclair, Robert Victor, 234
Sinclair, Victor Albert, 94
Sine, Frederick, 158
Sloan, Hon. William, 207
Smart, Russell Sutherland, 259
Smith, Hon. Ernest Albert, 214
Smith, John Charles, 92
Smith, William, 53
Stapells, Richard A., 219
Starr, J. R. L., 156
Stewart, Charles, 99
Stewart, Dougald, 160
Street, Lieut.-Colonel Douglas Richmond, 140
Struthers, James Douglas, 163
Studholme, Allan, 115
Sutherland, Donald, 60
Sutherland, Fred C., 296
Sutherland, Thomas Fraser, 181
     
Taschereau, Hon. Louis Alexander, 21
Taylor, Albert William, 204
Taylor, Hon. George Edward, 151
Taylor, Lt.-Col. Hon. George, 296
Tessier, Auguste Maurice, 111
Tetreault, Joseph Sylvini, 108
Thoburn, William, 135
Thompson, Alfred, 162
Thomson, Levi, 70
Thornton, Hon. Robert Stirton, 217
Todd, John Lancelot, 121
Tory, John A., 108
Tourigny, Alfred F. X., 115
Trahan, Arthur, 103
Tremeear, William J., 68
Turgeon, Hon. Adelard, 12
Turgeon, Hon. William Ferdinand Alphonse, 215
Turnbull, Walter Renwick, 169
Tytler, William, 138
     
Vance, His Honor, George M., 160
Vaughan, Marshall, 293
Veale, Philip Henry, 239
Veniot, Hon. Peter John, 208
     
Wade, Mark Sweeten, 144
Wainwright, Arnold, 164
Walker, William Simpson, 187
Wallace, Thomas George, 152
Wallis, Horace, 116
Ward, Lieut.-Colonel Henry Alfred, 105
Watson, Brigadier-General Sir David, 162
Watson, Senator Robert, 295
Watt, John Ralston, 116
Webber, John A., 233
Weichel, William George, 154
Weir, William M., 158
Weld, Edmund, 220
Weld, John, 253
Wetherell, James Elgin, 222
Whalen, George Frederick, 192
White, Arthur V., 55
White, Gerald Verner, 136
White, James, 236
White, John T., 181
White, Rt. Hon. Sir William Thomas, 13
Whitney, Edward Canfield, 293
Widdifield, John W., 115
Wilkes, Alfred John, 112
Williams, Herbert Hale, 171
Williams, Right Rev. Lennox Waldron, 216
Williams-Taylor, Sir Frederick, 200
Willis, James E., 264
Wilson, Henry George Wilberforce, 148
Wilson, James Lockie, 114
Wilson, Peter Edward, 168
Winkler, Hon. Valentine, 208
Wood, Rev. William Robertson, 253
Woods, Lieut.-Colonel James W., 146
Workman, Mark, 113
Wright, Alexander Whyte, 290
Wright, George, 149
Wright, George Craig, 277
Wright, Harry George, 199
Wright, William J., 104
Wrong, Professor George McKinnon, 113
Wylie, Newton, 294
     

LIST OF PHOTOGRAVURES

Askwith, Jno. E, Ottawa.
     
Baillie, Sir Frank W., Toronto.
Baskerville, W. J., Ottawa.
Beach, the late M. F.
Beaumont, E. J., Kitchener.
Birkett, Thomas, Ottawa.
Blondin, Hon. P. E., Ottawa.
Borden, Right. Hon. Sir R. L., Ottawa.
Bowman, Charles M., Southampton.
Breadner, R. W., Ottawa.
Breithaupt, J. C., Kitchener.
Breithaupt, L. J., Kitchener.
Brennan, J. C., Ottawa.
Bristow, M. G., Ottawa.
Bulman, W., Winnipeg.
Butterworth, J. G. B., Ottawa.
     
Cowan, the late W. F., Ottawa.
Currie, Major-General Sir Arthur William, Victoria, B.C.
     
Dwyer, W. H., Ottawa.
     
Edwards, Senator W. C., Ottawa.
Englehart, Jacob L., Petrolia, Ontario.
     
Finnie, D. M., Ottawa.
     
Gale, R. H., Vancouver, B.C.
Gariepy, Hon. Wilfrid, Edmonton.
Garland, John L., Ottawa.
Gibson, Brig.-General Sir John M., Hamilton.
Gouin, Sir Lomer, Quebec.
Graham, Hon. Geo. P., Brockville.
Grant, Gordon, Ottawa.
     
Harris, W. G., Toronto.
Hebert, Zepherin, Montreal.
Henry, D. E., Ottawa.
Hodgetts, Colonel C. A., Ottawa.
Hunter, Major W. E. Lincoln, Toronto.
Hutchison, Colonel Wm., Ottawa.
     
Kennedy, W. C., Windsor.
King, Hon. W. L. Mackenzie, Ottawa.
     
Laurier, the late Right Hon. Sir Wilfrid
     
Macaulay, T. B., Montreal.
Machin, Colonel H. A. C., Kenora.
Mackenzie, John Angus, Ottawa.
McClennaghan, Stewart, Ottawa.
McInenly, William, Ottawa.
McMahon, E., Ottawa.
Mitchell, Hon. W. G., Quebec.
     
Parsons, S. R., Toronto.
Paton, Hugh, Montreal.
Peuchen, Lieut.-Colonel Arthur, Toronto.
     
Reid, W. B., Toronto.
Robertson, E. Blake, Ottawa.
     
Shillington, Colonel A. T., Ottawa.
Shortly, Orville B., Toronto.
Sifton, Hon. Arthur L., Ottawa.
Stapells, R. A., Toronto.
Sutherland, F. C., Toronto.
     
Turgeon, Hon. Adelard, Quebec.
     
Vaughan, Marshall, Welland, Ontario.
     
White, Right. Hon. Sir W. T., Ottawa.
Whitney, E. C., Ottawa.
Woods, Lieut.-Colonel James W., Ottawa.
Wright, George, Toronto.
     

A CYCLOPÆDIA

 

of

 

CANADIAN BIOGRAPHY


Borden, Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird, P.C., K.C.M.G., K.C., LL.D., Premier of Canada (Ottawa, Ont.), eldest son of Andrew Borden and Eunice Laird, was born at Grand Pré, Nova Scotia, on June 26, 1854. He was educated at Acadia Villa Academy, Horton, and for a time a Professor in Glenwood Institute, N.J. His great-great-grandfather went to King’s County, Nova Scotia, with early settlers from New England, in 1760, and upon returning to Massachusetts gave his land in Nova Scotia to his son, the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch. Upon returning to Nova Scotia, Sir Robert studied law and was called to the Bar in 1878. He first practised at Kentville, N.S., and later moved to Halifax, succeeding the late Sir John Thompson, then Prime Minister of Canada, in the firm of Thompson, Graham and Tupper. Before removing to Ottawa he was head of the law firm of Borden, Ritchie & Chisholm, of Halifax, and for ten years was President of the Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society. He was made a Q.C. in 1900; an Honorary LL.D. of Queen’s University in 1903; an Honorary LL.D., St. Francis Xavier University in 1905; an Honorary LL.D. of McGill University in 1913. In 1896 he was elected to the House of Commons from Halifax in the General Elections, and re-elected in 1900, but was an unsuccessful candidate at the General Elections in 1904. Upon the retirement of Edward Kidd, M.P., for Carleton, Ont., he was elected by acclamation in his stead at the by-election held on February 4, 1905, and was re-elected by a large majority at the general elections in 1908, when he was also elected in Halifax, N.S. He later resigned his Carleton seat, preferring to represent Halifax. At the General Elections of 1911, he was again returned for Halifax, and continued to represent that constituency up to the present time (1918). On February 6, 1901, he was chosen leader of the Conservative Party in the House of Commons, and upon the resignation of Sir Wilfrid Laurier and his Cabinet on October 6, 1911, following the defeat of the Liberal Government on the question of Reciprocity with the United States, he was sent for by His Excellency Earl Grey and was entrusted with the task of forming a Cabinet. With a very large majority at his disposal, he found the task an easy one, and was successful in gathering around him men who have since carried on the government of the country in one of the most critical periods of its existence. At the time the first Borden government assumed office the world war was unthought of except as a vague speculation, which few students of world finance and world politics believed would ever become a fact, and the new Premier did not foresee that before him lay the most difficult task that had ever confronted a Canadian Government. In the summer of 1914 the conflict which ultimately developed into a war between the Central Empires and most of the other civilized powers, came like a bolt from the blue. On August 4, 1914, there was great curiosity in the chancelleries of Europe as to whether the overseas dominions of the British Empire would stand behind Great Britain. Germany, on the day she started the war, believed that they would not, and it was prophesied in Berlin that Canada would seek separation from the Empire. Sir Robert Borden at once gave the answer by placing the entire resources of the Dominion at the disposal of the Motherland; and on receiving an intimation from the late Lord Kitchener, that men were the first necessity, immediately called Parliament together to vote the necessary money. His government commenced the training and equipment of a first volunteer expeditionary force of 35,000, with provision for its further extension at need. This expeditionary force was partly trained at Valcartier camp, Quebec, and partly at Salisbury Plains, England, and first went into action at the second battle of Ypres in the spring of 1915. In the words of Viscount French, at that time Commander-in-Chief of the British forces in France, it “saved the situation” and barred the way to the Channel Ports from the Germans. In 1915 Sir Robert, who had been honored with the title of G.C.M.G. shortly before the outbreak of the conflict, visited Great Britain and France and, convincing himself that the struggle would be very long and difficult, pledged Canada to provide an aggregate of 500,000 trained men should the need arise. He and his government also made arrangements whereby Canadian manufacturers should engage largely in the production of munitions, the credits for such contracts being financed by the Canadian administration. The same policy was pursued in connection with contracts for food supplies, with the result that throughout the war there was a continued trade expansion and financial opulence that enabled Canada to make sacrifices that would otherwise have been impossible to her. During his visits to the front Sir Robert kept himself fully in touch with the needs of the Canadian army, and resolved to make it a first consideration in all his policies. A trip to Great Britain and France in the early part of 1917 convinced him that, in view of the dark outlook for peace, it would be necessary for Canada to adopt the policy of conscription, which had already been reluctantly adopted in Great Britain by Mr. Asquith, and had become the policy of the United States, which had recently entered the war. It was clear to Sir Robert that this policy could only be effectively imposed by consent of both parties in the House of Commons, and on his return to Canada in May, 1917, he announced conscription as his policy and an abandonment of party government. He was at first stoutly opposed both in the ranks of his own party and by his political opponents. Nevertheless, after long and patient negotiations he was successful in winning practically the entire body of English-speaking Liberals to his way of thinking, and conscription carried in the House of Commons in the latter part of July, 1917, by the greatest majority ever given so momentous a measure. He then proceeded to form a Union Government almost equally representative of Conservatives and Liberals. Early in December of 1917 this government, with Sir Robert as Prime Minister, appealed to the people, and was supported by almost the entire mass of English-speaking constituencies, giving him the largest majority that any political leader has ever enjoyed in this country. As a result of the adoption of conscription, Canada was enabled by the time peace was declared to fulfil her pledge of sending 500,000 men to aid in the war against autocracy—a contribution which has made this country famous throughout the world. Already, on January 1, 1912, Sir Robert had been sworn in as a member of the Imperial Privy Council, the highest office that up to that time had been held in the Motherland by a Canadian. On his arrival in London in June, 1918, he was invited by the Prime Minister, Hon. David Lloyd-George to become a member of the Imperial War Cabinet, a post which he held during the duration of the war. This was followed in November of 1918 by an invitation to become one of Great Britain’s Imperial representatives at the negotiations preliminary to and coincident with the Peace Conference to resolve the disasters of the war and at once proceeded overseas. Sir Robert’s Imperial services have been such, and his legal attainments are so well known that at the time of writing his elevation to the peerage as a colonial representative on the legal committee of the Privy Council, which is the Court of Appeal for the whole Empire, is being strongly advocated in the Motherland. In his private relations Sir Robert is greatly beloved, and though his duties have brought him in contact with all the leading figures of Great Britain, France and the United States, he is a thorough democrat in bearing. His favorite recreation is golf and he has played with many world-famous statesmen, though he does not claim to be a champion. He is an Anglican in religion and a member of many clubs on both sides of the Atlantic. In September of 1889 he married Laura, daughter of the late T. H. Bond, of Halifax, and never fails to acknowledge the great aid and assistance that has been rendered him by Lady Borden in building up his illustrious career. They reside at 201 Wurtemburg St., Ottawa.


THE LATE RIGHT HONORABLE SIR WILFRID LAURIER


Laurier, the late Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid, P.C., G.C.M.G., K.C., D.C.L. (Oxon.), LL.D. (Ottawa, Ont.), son of the late Carolus Laurier, P.L.S., and his wife, Marcelle Martineau; born at St. Lin, Quebec, on November 20, 1841, and educated at mixed schools in his native parish and at L’Assomption College. As a law student he entered the office of the late Hon. R. Laflamme in 1860, and studied at McGill University; received B.C.L. in 1864 and was called to the Bar in the same year; was appointed a Q.C. in 1880, and became head of the law firm of Laurier & Lavergne. In the earlier years of his professional career he edited and contributed to several newspapers. In May 13, 1868, he married Miss Zoe Lafontaine. He was elected to the Legislative Assembly for Drummond and Arthabaska in 1871, and resigned to contest the same riding for the House of Commons at the general elections in 1874, and was elected; was sworn in a Privy Councillor and appointed Minister of Inland Revenue in the Mackenzie administration, on October 8, 1877, and on going back for re-election, was defeated by D. O. Bourbeau, who obtained a majority of forty. Later he was elected for Quebec East, a seat vacated by I. Thibaudeau, and was re-elected for the same Riding at the general elections of 1878, 1882, 1887, 1891, 1896 and 1900, and also elected for Saskatchewan, N.W.T., at the general elections of 1896; was re-elected to the House of Commons at general elections of 1904 for Quebec East and Wright, and elected to sit for Quebec East; in 1908 was re-elected for Quebec East, and was also returned for the City of Ottawa, and again elected to sit for Quebec East; in 1911 he was elected for both Quebec East and Soulanges; and in 1918 for Quebec East. In October, 1878, he resigned with the Mackenzie Government, and was elected leader of the Liberal Party in the House of Commons in 1887. He issued a call for a Dominion Liberal Convention in 1893, which was held at Ottawa. Upon the defeat of the Tupper Government at the general elections, June 23, 1896, he was called on by Lord Aberdeen, Governor-General, to form a ministry on July 8, 1896, on which date Sir Charles Tupper resigned office; was sworn in as President of the Privy Council, July 11, 1896, and formed his Ministry, July 13, 1896. He was appointed by a sub-committee of the Privy Council to arrange for the settlement of the Manitoba School Question and an agreement was reached in November of the same year. On the occasion of the celebration of Her Majesty Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee at London, Eng., June, 1897, he represented Canada, and was created a Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael and St. George; was received in audience by the Sovereign and accorded the leading place in the great Jubilee State Procession of all the Colonial dignitaries. Oxford and Cambridge Universities conferred upon him the degree of D.C.L. (hon.) during this visit. He was sworn in an Imperial Privy Councillor July 6, 1897; was made an honorary member of the Cobden Club, and received from it a gold medal in recognition of his services in the cause of international free exchange; was presented by the President of France with the Star of a Grand Officer of the legion of Honour, at Havre, July 29, 1897, being the highest but one of that order; was received in audience by His Holiness the Pope, August 12, 1897. While in England he succeeded in securing Her Majesty’s Government’s assent to the denunciation of the commercial treaties with Germany and Belgium, which stood in the way of Canada’s new tariff, extending a preference to the United Kingdom. On his return to Canada he was accorded public receptions at Quebec, Montreal, Toronto and Ottawa, and received from Toronto and Queen’s Universities the honorary degrees of LL.D. In November, 1897, he went to Washington in the interest of better relations between the two countries, and was a member of the Joint Commission which met at Quebec, August 23, 1898, to discuss questions affecting jointly Great Britain, Canada and the United States. He welcomed the present King, then Duke of Cornwall and York, to Canada in September, 1901, and accompanied the Royal Party through the Dominion; was invited, and attended, the Coronation of King Edward VII, in 1902, sailing June 14, arriving in Liverpool June 21, and in London, June 22. The Coronation, fixed for June 26, was postponed on June 24, but took place on August 9. On June 30 he attended a Colonial Conference at London, and on July 26 received the freedom of the City of Edinburgh, and was honored with the degree of LL.D. by the Edinburgh University. He was entertained by the City of Glasgow, July 28, visited the continent, and sailed for Canada on October 7, arriving at Quebec, October 17, and at Ottawa, October 18, receiving a great civic welcome at the City Hall. On New Year’s Day, 1904, he was presented by His Excellency the Governor-General, with the Fenian Raid medal for services as a volunteer in 1866. In 1907 he attended the Imperial Conference at London, Eng., as a representative of Canada, and was accorded the freedom of London, Bristol, Liverpool and other cities; and in 1911 he attended the Imperial Conference in England and represented Canada at the coronation of King George and Queen Mary. Following the defeat of his Party at the polls on September 21, 1911, on October 6 he tendered the resignation of himself and Cabinet to Earl Grey, and advised His Excellency to call upon Mr. R. L. Borden, to form a Cabinet. From that date until his death on Feb. 17, 1919, he continued to lead the Liberal Party, and in 1917 celebrated his seventy-fifth birthday. He again led his party in the general election of December, 1917, but was defeated owing to the fact that many followers had parted company with him on the issue of Conscription. Sir Wilfrid’s end came suddenly as a result of an effusion of blood to the brain. He was stricken while preparing to go to church on Sunday, Feb. 16, and passed away the following afternoon. The death of no Canadian had previously evoked such tributes as were printed and uttered, not only in Canada, but throughout the British Empire and the United States. His remains were accorded the honor of a State funeral in Ottawa on Saturday, Feb. 22, 1919, which was the most impressive function of its kind known on any continent since the death of Lincoln.


Ames, Sir Herbert B., K.B., LL.D., M.P. (Montreal, Que.), born June 27, 1863, at Montreal, of which city he has been a life-long resident. He is the only son of the late Evan Fisher Ames (who founded the shoe manufacturing concern of Ames, Holden & Company in 1856), and of Caroline Matilda Brown, his wife, who was a native of New York City. Mr. E. F. Ames came to Canada from Conway, Mass., which district he represented in the Massachusetts Legislature in 1852. He established himself in Montreal, and became one of the leading Canadian manufacturers. Sir Herbert Ames was educated in the schools of Montreal, subsequently entering Amherst College at Amherst, Mass., graduating from there with the degree of B.A. in 1885, and having had conferred on him the further title of LL.D. in 1915. When in college he was a member of the Alpha Phi Fraternity. In August, 1885, after leaving Amherst, he entered the firm of Ames, Holden & Company, at Montreal, remaining in that business until 1893. He next interested himself in municipal reform and became President of an organization of young men known as the Volunteer Electoral League, which body was largely instrumental in bringing about the reformation of the City Council. In 1898 Mr. Ames was elected a member of the Montreal City Council for St. Antoine Ward, and served his constituency for eight years. During that period he was a member of the Police Commission, of the Road Commission and for four years served as Chairman of the Board of Health. In 1895 Mr. Ames was named a member of the Council of Public Instruction of the Province of Quebec, which body supervises the entire school system of the province. Mr. Ames was first elected a member of the House of Commons, Canada, in 1904, having a majority of 650. In 1908 he was again elected by 850 of a majority, and in 1911 elected for the third time by a majority of over 2,000; again re-elected in December, 1917. On the formation of the Borden Government, in 1911, Mr. Ames was appointed to the important position of chairman of the Select Standing Committee on Banking and Commerce, to which all bills pertaining to Banks, Trust and Loan and Insurance Companies are referred for examination and report. In 1903 he was a member of the National Committee to entertain the Chambers of Commerce of the Empire, and with them travelled throughout the Dominion. In 1909, as representative of the Montreal Board of Trade, Mr. Ames attended the meeting of the Chambers of Commerce at Sydney, Australia. He has travelled extensively throughout Australia, Japan, Egypt, India, Europe, the United States and West Indies, and has given much time and attention to the discussion of trade questions, tariff and treaties with other countries. In 1896 he wrote and published a monograph entitled “The City Below the Hill,” being a sociological study of the District of the City of Montreal, in which such questions as wages, rents, health conditions, etc., were carefully received. At the request of the Department of Commerce and Labor of the United States Government, Mr. Ames prepared an article on the same subject which appeared in the journals of this department. At the present time Sir Herbert Ames is a Director and Vice-President of the Ames, Holden, McCready Company. He is also one of the three gentlemen composing the Canadian Board of the Gresham Life Insurance Company, and also a Director of the Dominion Guarantee Company. He is a member of the Mount Royal Club, the Montreal Club, the Montreal Curling Club, the University Club of Montreal, the Rideau Club, Ottawa. On May 19, 1890, Mr. Ames was married to Louise Marion Kennedy, daughter of Sir John Kennedy, C.E., of Montreal, and they occupy a residence on the slopes of Mount Royal. He is an elder in the Presbyterian Church, a Director in the Y.M.C.A., a governor in several benevolent institutions. At the outbreak of the great War, Mr. Ames was asked by His Royal Highness, the Governor-General of Canada, to assume the position of Honorary Secretary of the National Canadian Patriotic Fund, which provides for the wives and dependent relatives of soldiers serving in the armies of the Allies. On behalf of the Fund he has visited all parts of Canada, speaking and organizing, and the marked success to his initiative and effort. Through this great national benefaction there will have been raised and expended during the war period no less a sum than $45,000,000. On June 3, 1915, Mr. Ames had conferred upon him the Honor of Knighthood by His Majesty the King, and in 1916 was made a Knight of Grace of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem in England. On December 1, 1918, the Government of Canada created by Order-in-Council a National War Savings Committee for the encouragement of thrift and the promotion of investment of small savings in government securities. Of this Committee Sir Herbert Ames has been appointed Chairman.


Robertson, John Ross, journalist. The direct descendant of Duncan R., chief of the clan of Robertson of Strowan, 1347; eldest son of the late John Robertson, wholesale dry goods merchant, Toronto, and Margaret R., daughter of Hector Sinclair, Stornoway, Island of Lewis, Scotland. He was born in Toronto, Dec. 28, 1841, and educated at Upper Canada College; married, 1st, in 1871, Maria Louisa (d. Aug., 1886), daughter of Edward Earle Matthew Gillbee, Northamptonshire, Eng., grandson of the late Rev. Dr. Edward Gillbee, Vicar of Barby, near Rugby, descendant of the noted Anthony Gilby, one of the translators of the first edition of the Geneva or “Breeches” Bible, 1560; 2ndly, 1888, Jessie Elizabeth, daughter of George B. Holland, a prominent insurance man of Toronto. While still at college he occupied his spare hours in acquiring a knowledge of the printer’s craft, and was a fairly rapid compositor; commenced a small office which he established in his father’s residence, John St., Toronto, and with a few fonts of type he issued to the boys at Upper Canada College a paper under the name of the “College Times,” which later took the name of the “Boys’ Times,” a monthly publication that existed 1857-60. He also published in succession to the “Boys’ Times,” during a year at the Model Grammar School, a newsy paper for boys called “Young Canada.” Picking up a general knowledge of setting type and small job work in city offices, his face was a familiar one in the old “Christian Guardian” office, where occasionally he used to work off odd jobs, the composition of which he did in his own office; in the “Globe” Office, where in 1859, when opportunity offered, he sometimes used to feed one of the Hoe single cylinder presses when printing the inner pages of the four-page “Globe,” for the inside was always printed the afternoon before the morning issue; in the “Leader,” where he at times worked off on a small job cylinder Hoe press, the “Grumbler,” the weekly that he issued in 1860; the following year he equipped a newspaper and job office, and issued “Sporting Life,” the first paper in Canada to be devoted to athletic sports, and subsequently continued the publication of the “Grumbler,” a weekly satirical paper, at one time edited by W. J. Rattray, W. A. Foster, and the late Chief Justice Thomas Moss. He worked on the reportorial and advertising staff of the “Leader,” when Charles Lindsey and Charles Belford were editors and Ephraim Roden, City Editor, continuing at the same time the management of his printing office. He also issued for a year, Robertson’s Canadian Railway Guide, the first of its kind in Canada, and early in 1865 joined the Toronto “Globe” staff as city Editor, in May, 1866, becoming one of the founders of the “Daily Telegraph,” a journal that had a high reputation among the newspapers of Canada. Owing to political complications it ceased publication in 1872. Prior to this, in December, 1869, Mr. Robertson, then of the “Daily Telegraph,” made a trip to the North-West, accompanied by Mr. Robert Cunningham of the “Globe.” They travelled by rail from Toronto to the end of steel at St. Cloud, Minn., and there with a French half-breed guide and a two-horse farmer’s sleigh, fully equipped, began a journey of about 400 miles over the prairie. Snow storms raged and the thermometer ran from zero to 20 below. The travellers camped every night in the woods along the Red River, and arrived in Fort Garry after a perilous journey of ten days, to be locked up by the so-called “President” Riel, in Fort Garry for a week, and only allowed out to see their friends in the town, under a guard. They both secured interesting information, but were ordered out of the territory, as Riel thought they were “dangerous characters,” so they left Fort Garry for Pembina, U.S., the boundary post, one day when the thermometer was about 40 below zero. They declared they would not do the trip again for the whole North-West. Mr. Robertson, after the “Daily Telegraph” ceased publication, proceeded to London, Eng., where for three years he acted as resident correspondent and business representative of the Toronto “Daily Globe.” On his return to Canada, 1875, he assumed the business management of the “Nation,” edited by the late Prof. Goldwin Smith. It is said that during his managership of the “Nation,” his friend, Mr. Goldwin Smith asked his opinion as to the opportunities offered for an independent daily evening paper in Toronto, and that this conversation led up to the establishment of the “Evening Telegram,” which first saw light in April, 1876. It is said to be the only daily paper in Canada that has paid its way from the start. Mr. Robertson continued to conduct it until his death, May 31, 1918. “The immediate success of this paper,” said the “Globe,” in a sketch of his career published during his lifetime, “is ample evidence that he has graduated from a good school of journalism. Neither accident or luck had aught to do with his success. He launched out in new and original lines, and the good fortune that attended his efforts was the outcome of his energy, enthusiasm and experience, reinforced by a persistence and resource that would admit of no failure; it is these qualities that he brings to his every undertaking, and on the “Globe” he left behind him a reputation that is worthy of his later achievements.” This was publicly demonstrated by his Masonic career and his management of that great charity—the Hospital for Sick Children. From the first he has held high rank in the Masonic order. He entered the Craft in 1867, and was W.M. of his Mother Lodge, King Solomon’s, in 1880-1, and of Mimico, No. 359, in 1879-80. After having served successively as Grand Senior Warden, as District Grand Master of the Toronto District in 1886, he became in 1890 Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Canada, and was subsequently chosen Grand First Principal of the Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Canada, 1894-5, and Provincial Grand Prior, Ontario Centre, Sovereign Great Priory of Canadian Knights Templar, 1882; was Grand Representative of the Grand Lodge of England in Canada, having been appointed to succeed Sir John A. Macdonald in that office on the latter’s death, 1891; indeed, every honor at the disposal of his fellow-craftsmen had been accorded him. In September, 1902, in commemoration of the coronation of His Majesty King Edward, the Duke of Connaught (q.v.) then and now Grand Master, was pleased to confer the honorary rank of Past Grand Warden of England upon several eminent personages, including the subject of this sketch. For many years Mr. Robertson was president of the Canadian Copyright Association and rendered important services in that regard, and also Vice-President and President of the Canadian Associated Press, and Hon. President of the Toronto Press Club. He was present, with his wife, by invitation, in Westminster Abbey, at the coronation of King Edward and Queen Alexandra. As an author of Masonic works, Mr. Robertson is well known, having written the “History of the Degree of the Cryptic Rite in Canada,” etc. (1888); “History of the Knights Templar of Canada, from the Foundation of the Order to the Present Time” (1890); “Talks with Craftsmen” (1893); “Freemasonry in Canada,” 2 vols., 1,000 pages each (1899). He was a contributor to the U.C. College Memorial Volume, 1893, edited the “Diary of Mrs. John Graves Simcoe, wife of the First Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, 1792-6” (1911), as a press notice said, “The book of the year, a superb work,” and the author and compiler of “Robertson’s Landmarks of Toronto” (7 vols.). In 1888 the ambulance system in Toronto was unsatisfactory, and with a view to making it efficient, he imported from London, Eng., a modern ambulance, fully equipped, and presented it to the city. There are about sixty ambulances in Canada made from this model. The presentation marked a new era in this branch of humane work. He later gave a collection of 4,000 Canadian historical pictures to the Toronto Public Library, the largest collection of its kind in the world, valued at $150,000. In January, 1917, he acquired and presented to the Public Library a magnificent ornithological collection of birds and game of Canada, done in water-color by William Pope, an English sportsman and artist, who resided for forty years at Port Ryerse, Ont. This collection of water-colors is pronounced by eminent Canadian biologists to be equal of and in some respects superior to, the work of Audubon. Mr. Robertson later added to this another collection of Canadian birds, exquisite reproductions in color of hundreds of birds that are not in the Pope Collection, so that the entire collection is unparalleled in Canada. He founded and gave three magnificent silver cups, made by eminent British silversmiths, from special patterns, for the promotion of cricket, hockey and bowling; but it was as chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, that he will be most gratefully remembered. For thirty-five years he carried the chief burden of this important charitable institution, bringing to its needs not only much money of his own, but aiding it with the full force of his powers as a financier and organizer. He took an active part in the management and visited the Hospital every day. His gifts to the Hospital amounted to about half a million dollars during his lifetime, for he completely equipped the Hospital buildings on College St. and on Elizabeth St., and built and founded, in connection with the Hospital, the Lakeside Home for Little Children, at Lighthouse Point, Toronto Island, with an accommodation for 250 patients and an entire hospital equipment; here, during the summer months, the suffering little ones are won back to health and strength with the aid of the cool breezes which sweep across Lake Ontario. Included in his benefactions to the Hospital he erected, equipped and presented to the Hospital (as a memorial of his first wife) a five-storey nurses’ brick residence, containing 125 rooms, which has been declared to be the most perfect building of its kind ever erected; in July, 1911, he presented to the Heather Club an extension to the pavilion for tubercular children in connection with the Lakeside Home. He built and established a complete plant for the pasteurization of milk, on the Hospital grounds, College St., Toronto, the only one of its kind in the Dominion. By his will the whole of his estate will ultimately go to this philanthropy. He was an all-round amateur athlete, and has been sometimes called “The Father of Amateur Hockey in Ontario”; was President of the Ontario Hockey Association, 1899-1905. He sat for East Toronto in 1896-1900 in the House of Commons as an Independent Conservative, pledged to oppose any Government which would attempt to establish separate schools in Manitoba, to support the “National Policy,” and to vote for the general good of the country. According to Sir Charles Tupper (q.v.) he was in all respects “a model member,” and a devoted Imperialist. In religion he was a Presbyterian. In February, 1917, Mr. Robertson was offered in the New Year’s honors a knighthood and a senatorship, both of which honors he gratefully declined. A well-known politician said, “It is the first time in the history of Canada that anyone declined a knighthood and a senatorship in the same day.” He was a member of the National, Victoria and Arts and Letters Clubs; Constitutional (Conservative) Club, London, Eng. “A born journalist”—“Canada,” of London, Eng.; “A truly independent man”—D. McCarthy, Q.C., M.P.; “Possesses a heart as big as that of an ox”—Hamilton “Spectator”; “The good angel of many of Toronto’s charitable institutions”—Hamilton “Times”; “No man need desire a more noble monument than these Hospital buildings, which would keep Mr. Robertson’s memory green if all other achievements were forgotten”—Toronto “Globe”; “He has risen step by step until he is to-day recognized as one of the keenest, most practical and successful publishers of the Dominion. The blind goddess had nothing to do with his success”—Ottawa “Citizen.”


Hearst, Hon. Sir William Howard, K.C.M.G., K.C., M.P.P., Prime Minister of the Province of Ontario, was born on February 15, 1864, in the township of Arran, Bruce County, Ontario, the son of William and Margaret (McFadden) Hearst. His father was a farmer, and the subject of this sketch was educated at the public schools of Arran Township and later at Collingwood Collegiate Institute. Subsequently he studied for the legal profession at Osgoode Hall, Toronto, and was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1888. He commenced the practice of law in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., where he became prominent in municipal affairs and active as a speaker in the Conservative interest. He was an unsuccessful candidate in Algoma East in 1894, but in the Ontario Legislative elections in 1902 he helped to organize a group of newly defined constituencies in Northern Ontario for Mr. (afterward Sir) James P. Whitney, and by his effective methods largely assisted in placing them in the Conservative column. When the Whitney Government was formed in 1905 Mr. Hearst was appointed Government agent in connection with the guarantee loan furnished to the Lake Superior Corporation, under the provisions of which the Government had a voice in the management of the corporation until the loan should be liquidated. In this capacity Mr. Hearst proved a business success but resigned the office in 1908 to contest the riding of Sault Ste. Marie for the Ontario Legislature. He was successful and in September, 1911, when Hon. Frank Cochrane resigned the Portfolio of Forests and Mines to become Minister of Railways and Canals in the first Borden cabinet, Sir James Whitney tendered the vacancy in his cabinet to Mr. Hearst. The latter accepted and was re-elected by acclamation by his constituents, whom he has ever since continued to represent. On the death of Sir James Whitney in 1914, he was asked to form a Government, all his former colleagues accepting office under him. He was sworn in as Prime Minister and President of the Council on October 2, 1914, this being practically the last official act of Sir John Gibson, as Lieutenant-Governor. Following the death of Hon. James Duff in December, 1916, he also assumed the post of Minister of Agriculture, retaining it for two years until the elevation of Hon. George Henry to the cabinet in 1918. In connection with his profession as a lawyer he was created a K.C. in 1908 and was elected a bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada in 1912. On February 13, 1917, he was created a Knight Commander of the Order of St. Michael and St. George. The Premiership of Sir William Hearst has been marked by energetic administration and progressive legislation. He took office at a time of peculiar difficulty in Canadian affairs, when the great war had been in progress for two months and when it was becoming evident that it would be necessary for a vast and united effort if it was to be successfully prosecuted. Perhaps his most radical step was his act of 1916, to prohibit the sale of intoxicating liquors throughout the province of Ontario. Subsequent orders-in-Council by the Federal government gave this act the effect of absolute prohibition. In 1917 he introduced and carried an act to confer the Parliamentary franchise on women. Under his leadership a comprehensive measure previously enacted providing for compensation to workmen for injuries was put into successful operation and extended. An important measure of his provides for loans to settlers, and he has also taken practical steps to deal with the housing problem. The policy of Sir James Whitney and Sir Adam Beck of government control and operation of the water powers of the province, known as the Hydro-Electric system has been amplified under Sir William Hearst. In connection with the war he visited the battlefront to personally ascertain the needs of the situation. Under his administration the Orpington Military Hospital in England was built as the gift of the people of Ontario. As Minister of Agriculture he organized measures for increased food production to meet the needs of soldiers and civilians overseas; and is taking active measures to assist in reconstruction, by helping returned soldiers to settle on the land. In religion Sir William is a Methodist. On July 21, 1891, he married Isabella Jane Dunkin of Sault Ste. Marie by whom he has four children, Lieutenant Howard Vernon Hearst and Lieutenant Irving Hearst, both of whom are on active war service; and Misses Isabel and Evelyn Hearst. Sir William resides at Toronto.


Meighen, Hon. Arthur, K.C. (Portage la Prairie, Man.), was born June 16, 1874, at Anderson, Blanchard Township, Perth County, Ont., and is the son of Joseph and Mary Meighen, of St. Mary’s, Ont. He was educated at St. Mary’s Collegiate Institute and Toronto University; received degree B.A. (Tor.), 1896; graduated with honors in mathematics. Taught High School, Caledonia, Ont., 1897-98. After graduating as a Barrister, he entered business for himself, 1902, and built up a large practice at Portage la Prairie. Bencher Manitoba Law Society since 1908; Bencher of Upper Canada Law Society since 1914. Having a capacity for public life, at the solicitation of his friends, he accepted the nomination as Conservative candidate for the Constituency of Portage la Prairie, Man., and was elected by a majority of 250. In 1904 Mr. Crawford, Liberal, had been elected by a majority of 358. In the general elections, September 21, 1911, when the Laurier Administration was defeated at the polls on the question of Reciprocity with the United States, Mr. Meighen was again elected by a majority of 675 over his opponent R. Patterson. When the position of Solicitor-General became vacant, June 26, 1913, Sir Robert Borden invited Mr. Meighen to accept that office, and at a bye-election held July 19, 1913, he was returned by acclamation. In August, 1917, he became Secretary of State for Canada and Minister of Mines, and as such devised and installed the organizations in Canada and overseas for the holding of the war election of that year. On the formation of the Union Government in the autumn of 1917 he accepted the portfolio of Minister of the Interior, and was re-elected by a handsome majority at the general elections which ensued. As a parliamentarian he has been a success, and is held in high esteem by members on both sides of the House. As a debater he is considered one of the ablest, and always commands the respect of his colleagues when he rises to speak on any important subject. Mr. Meighen was married June 1, 1904, to Jessie Isabel Cox, to whom were born three children, Theodore Roosvelt Meighen (1905), Maxwell Charles Gordon Meighen (1908), and Lillian Meighen (1910). In religion he is a Presbyterian; in politics, a Conservative. Clubs, Portage la Prairie, Rideau, Ottawa. Address, 21 Cooper St., Ottawa.


MAJOR-GEN. SIR. ARTHUR WILLIAM CURRIE
Victoria, B.C.



Cockshutt, William Foster, M.P., and Financial Agent (Brantford, Ont.), is the son of I. Cockshutt, merchant of Brantford, and E. Foster Cockshutt, was born in Brantford, October, 1855, and educated at the Brantford and Galt Collegiate Institutes. Mr. Cockshutt’s chief public efforts have been exercised in the direction of Imperial Unity and Empire Trade development. He has been associated largely with Boards of Trade and has attended several Congresses of the Associated Boards in London, England, Montreal and Sydney, Australia, and in this direction has been able to exercise considerable influence in Empire trade co-operation. In the year 1909 he visited in this connection the Commonwealth of Australia, making a very extensive tour of that great country, and delivering addresses at all the important centres on the theme of Empire Trade and Defence, and received much credit for the work accomplished there. He also made an extensive tour of India, visiting most of the cities of that great member of the Empire, and studying the conditions of the country as well as trade matters and has taken part in two extended campaigns in Great Britain, addressing many large meetings at the important centres, including London, Manchester, Newcastle, Portsmouth, Bournemouth, Torquay and many other towns and cities, for which he was honored by letter from the then leader of the opposition, the Honorable Arthur Balfour. Mr. Cockshutt was a member of the first Hydro-Electric Commission of Ontario, appointed by the Municipalities and labored in that work for nearly three years. The report of the Commission has been a standard reference for development in this line ever since, and was really the basis of the development that has taken place more recently at Niagara Falls. He has travelled in most of the great countries of Europe, made many tours in the United States and the West Indies and Mexico, as well as having visited all the principal cities of the Dominion and has addressed meetings in a great number of them. He was first elected to the House of Commons in 1904, where he served until 1908, being defeated in that year and re-elected in 1911, and is at present serving throughout the present long Parliament. He is ex-President of the Cockshutt Plow Co.; has been six times a delegate to Chambers of Commerce of the Empire and is connected with a large number of industrial enterprises, particularly in Brantford and also in other centres, and has served on many industrial boards. In 1891, married M. T. Ashton, daughter of Rev. Robert Ashton of Brantford, Principal of the Mohawk Institute and has six children, Ashton, George, Eric, Maude, Clarence and Phyllis. In politics he is an Independent Conservative and is a member of the Anglican Church; has been a representative of the Church of England at many important gatherings and a member of the Huron Synod for close on to twenty-five years, been elected and re-elected to the Provincial General Synod on many occasions and is still an active member of all these Church organizations; is also Chairman of the Orphanage situated on the outskirts of Brantford, known as the Jane Laycock School; has taken considerable interest in local hospital work. Mr. Cockshutt had the honor of being the official representative of Brantford at the funeral of King Edward the Seventh; is Hon. Colonel of the 125th Battalion, C.E.F., and is a remote relative of the late Florence Nightingale, the distinguished woman who did such great work for the British Army during the Crimean War and was one of the first women to relieve soldiers of their sufferings on the battlefield. Mr. Cockshutt took great interest in the recruiting of the 125th Battalion at present overseas and has the honor of being the father of three sons, all of whom are serving in the army at present and have all reached the front at least once. His son, Major Ashton Cockshutt, now of the 125th but formerly of the 10th Battalion, 1st Contingent, was a fully qualified Lieutenant in the 103rd Calgary Rifles when the war broke out and immediately enlisted and went overseas with the first Contingent, training during the winter at Salisbury Plain, crossing to France in the early spring, saw heavy fighting at St. Julien, Festubert, and Givenchy, was wounded on June 6, 1915, and after convalescing at various military hospitals was given furlough back to Canada and after a long hard struggle regained his health and immediately re-enlisted with the 125th Battalion and is now serving at Bramshott Camp. Another son, Lieut. George Cockshutt, also enlisted early in the war with the 19th Overseas Battalion, was a qualified Officer of the Dufferin Rifles, he served the 19th at the front for many months and was invalided home in September, 1916, owing to ear trouble and at the present time is serving with the 205th Machine Gun Section, and now overseas with 1st Tank Battalion. The third son, Lieut. Eric Cockshutt, was at one time Captain of the Cadet Corps of Upper Canada College, Toronto, and upon going to McGill University, Montreal, later joined the Officers Training Corps of that University, was accepted as a candidate at the Royal Artillery School at Kingston, March, 1915, and after duly qualifying, trained at Petawawa, going overseas from there with a draft, took further training at Ross Barracks and Woolwich and then crossed over to France and served with the First Divisional Artillery, First Canadian Brigade, and is at present serving with the 2nd Howitzers. Mr. Cockshutt is a member of the Brantford Golf and Country Club, the National Club, Toronto, and also connected with the Empire Club and Imperial Institute. His recreations include golf, tennis and skating, and he has spent many summers in the Highlands of Canada occupying an extensive tract of land on the shores of Lake of Bays.


Jetté, The Hon. Sir Louis, Chief Justice and late Lieutenant-Governor, was born at L’Assomption, P.Q., on January 15, 1836. He is the son of the late Amable Jetté, who married Miss Caroline Gauffreau, the daughter of a wealthy planter of Guadaloupe, in the West Indies. Finishing the full course of study at the College of L’Assomption, he became a member of the Provincial Bar, establishing himself as a legal practitioner in the city of Montreal, where in a few years he came to be recognized as an astute advocate as well as a prospective candidate for political honors. In 1870 his legal fame was enhanced by the part he took professionally in the famous Guibord Case, and by his service before the Privy Council in England in behalf of the Provincial Government of Quebec. At length, in 1872, he was elected member for Montreal East, defeating Sir George E. Cartier, the French-Canadian colleague of Sir John A. Macdonald. When the Liberal Leader, the Hon. Alexander Mackenzie was Prime Minister, Mr. Jetté was offered the position of Minister of Justice, but accepted in preference a place on the Bench. This he retained for twenty years up to 1898, when he was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of his native province. While still practising his profession in Montreal, he became Professor of Civil Law in Laval University and a Dean of its Faculty, having been honored by the same with the degree of LL.D., as well as by Bishop’s College University with a D.C.L. and by Toronto University with an LL.D. In 1891 he was appointed Chairman of the Royal Commission charged with the investigation of affairs connected with the Baie-des-Chaleurs Railway, finally refusing to agree, however, to the decision of his two colleagues. The several other offices he has filled are many and important. After his term as Lieutenant-Governor had expired, he was given a second term. And at the end of his second term he was appointed Chief Justice of the Court of King’s Bench, retiring in 1911. Few Canadians have had so many honors conferred upon them as has Sir Louis Jetté. These include his university degrees; his knighthood from the King of England; his Legion of Honour from France, of which he is a Commander; the many addresses he has received from his fellow-members of the Bar, as well as from the people; not to speak of his receptions by King George and his late royal father, King Edward, and His Holiness the Pope. He has been associated with the Société de Legislation Comparée; with the Société d’Histoire Diplomatique of Paris (France); was a member of the Alaska Boundary Tribunal; a Director of the Montreal Polytechnic School; a member of the Council of Public Instruction, and an honorary member of the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec. In his earlier years he was a contributor to certain city journals, having been editor of one of them known as “L’Ordre.” His “Observations Relating to the Code of Civil Procedure” proves him to be possessed of a wide vision and keen insight, both as a lawyer and a literary expositor. The encomiums which have been passed upon his services as a public servant go to show Chief Justice Sir Melbourne Tait was in no way astray in his high estimate of Sir Louis Jetté’s mental culture and administrative astuteness, not only as a public speaker, but as a writer and overseer of what is in line with justice and dignity of rule. He was married in 1862, to Miss Bertha Laflamme, daughter of the late Touissant Laflamme, and sister of the Hon. R. Laflamme, the distinguished barrister and advocate of Montreal. Lady Jetté, who is an authoress in her own right, having written a Life of Madame d’Youville, won a further good name for herself and her distinguished husband for the hospitalities they were always pleased to extend to their guests at Spencer Wood during the two terms and more of Governor Jetté’s residence there as Governor.


Kennedy, William Costello, Member for North Essex in the House of Commons of Canada, is a resident of Windsor, Ont., and a prominent figure in the oil and gas industry of the Essex Peninsula. He was born at Ottawa, Ont., August 27, 1868, the son of William and Julia (Costello) Kennedy. While he was yet a boy his parents moved to Toronto to reside and he was educated in the Separate Schools and De La Salle Institute, of that city. He began his business career in 1887 as a clerk in the offices of the London and Canadian Loan and Agency Company, Toronto, at that time one of the best known financial corporations of the province. With this company he remained until 1897 when he accepted an offer to go to Windsor, Ont., and engage in the oil and natural gas industry. In 1903 he became President of the Windsor Gas Company and continued in that office until 1917. At the present time he has many interests in the city of his adoption. He was President of the Board of Trade for the years 1909 and 1910, and a member of the Windsor Board of Education from 1913 to 1918; and also a councillor of the municipality of Ojibway during the same period. From early manhood Mr. Kennedy had been a Liberal in politics and in 1917 when Sir Robert Borden formed a Union Government and decided to carry out the policy of conscription without submitting the question to the Canadian people through the medium of a referendum, he was one of those Liberals who stood back of Sir Wilfrid Laurier in opposing such a course. Though at the time it was supposed that he was facing almost certain defeat he accepted the Liberal nomination for North Essex. He was opposed by Col. Wigle, who was generally regarded as a very strong candidate. In the two months’ campaign that ensued Mr. Kennedy made many friends by his sane and reasonable methods of electioneering and when the ballots were counted on December 17, 1917, it was found that he had been elected by a handsome majority, which was not annulled by the vote of the soldiers overseas, details of which were received later. During the parliamentary session Mr. Kennedy made his maiden speech as a legislator in the budget debate, and made a very fine impression on friends and political opponents alike by his brilliant handling of financial questions. Old parliamentarians were agreed that it was one of the most promising initial speeches ever made at Ottawa, and ever since the member for North Essex has been regarded as an important factor in the future of his party. His recreations are golf and motoring, and he is a member of the following clubs: Detroit, Detroit Athletic, Essex County Golf, Windsor and Ontario, Toronto. In religion he is a Roman Catholic and on May 8, 1907, married Glencora, daughter of George W. Bolton, Detroit, Michigan.


Mitchell, Robert Menzies, Hon. (Weyburn, Sask.), is a native of Port Union, Ont., where he was born October 28, 1865, the son of James Mitchell, a farmer, and Elizabeth Rodger, his wife. His father came of Scottish ancestry, some of whose descendants settled in Canada and some in Australia. Madame Melba, the great Australian prima donna, whose maiden name was Nellie Mitchell, is a cousin of the subject of this sketch. The latter was educated at Orangeville High School and Trinity Medical School, Toronto, graduating M.D., C.M. in April, 1892. He at once commenced the practice of medicine at Dundalk, Dufferin County, Ont., and remained there until 1899, when he settled at Weyburn, Sask., and continued in active practice there until 1907. He was Chairman of the Weyburn Public School Board for ten years, and of the High School Board for five years. In August, 1908, he was elected to the Saskatchewan Legislature as a Liberal for the constituency of Weyburn, and has been re-elected at each ensuing election. He was Chairman of the Private Bills and Railways Committee of the Legislature for six years, and was chosen as Deputy Speaker in 1916. Shortly afterward he was made Speaker, and on his return to the House after the general elections of 1917 was re-elected to that office. Though a Liberal his fairness and impartiality in the conduct of debate has made him universally popular among politicians of all shades of opinion. He is a member of the following fraternal orders: A.F. & A.M., I.O.O.F., and C.O.F.; of the Weyburn Club, and the Assiniboia Club, Regina. His recreations are football and curling, and in religion he is a Presbyterian. On August 17, 1892, he married Margaret, daughter of Donald and Flora McKinnon, Badjeros, Ont., and his two sons have both served their country with honor in the great war. R. C. Mitchell, born July 11, 1893, went overseas with the First Canadian Expeditionary Force in 1914, and D. J. Mitchell, born February 15, 1895, became a member of the Royal Air Force a year or so later.


Lemieux, the Honorable Sir François-Xavier, Chief Justice of the Superior Court of Quebec, was born at Levis on the 9th of April, 1851, the son of Antoine and Henriette (Lagueux) Lemieux. From the Levis College he entered the Quebec Seminary and afterwards graduated from Laval University, in 1872, taking the degree of LL.B. In the same year he started on his career as a lawyer in the city of Quebec, taking rank almost immediately as an efficient pleader in the criminal courts of the Lower St. Lawrence districts. His eloquent fluency and finesse as a defender brought him into a lucrative practice; and there were in time few prominent cases of criminality brought into court in which his services were not sought after. Nor did his legal acumen in winning cases arouse any envious feeling against him among his legal brethren, since in 1896 he was elected Batonnier of the Quebec Bar, and in the following year Batonnier-General of the Provincial Bar. Turning his attention to politics, he sat as member of Levis in the Legislative Assembly for nine years, and afterwards as member for Bonaventure, for three years. As an orator, he has a marvellous faculty on the hustings of carrying any large audience with him in his argument. At length the widest fame came to him when he was called upon to defend Louis Riel, the rebel leader of the half-breeds and Indians in the North-West, in 1885. The charge of high treason against the culprit was sustained, but his legal defender was nevertheless acclaimed as one of the shrewdest lawyers that could have been engaged to defend him. Subsequently, in 1892, he was chosen to defend the Honorable Honore Mercier, Premier of Quebec, before the criminal court, under charges of maladministration. Mr. Mercier was honorably acquitted. Five years after the subject of this biography was appointed Puisne Judge in the district of Arthabaska and afterwards in Sherbrooke. From Sherbrooke, he was finally removed to Quebec where he holds the office of Chief Justice for the Province of Quebec. The literary talents of Sir François have been proven by his lectures and essays. His acumen as a judge has been openly acknowledged by his professional associates. He is a citizen well worthy the honor conferred upon him by King George and by Laval University, in the one case of Knighthood and in the other an LL.D. His father-in-law, the late Justice Plamondon, was a judge of the Superior Court of Quebec, Miss Diana Plamondon becoming his wife in 1874.


Turgeon, The Hon. Adelard, LL.D., C.M.G., C.V.O., Knight of the Legion of Honour of France (Quebec City), President of the Legislative Council of the Province of Quebec, and a Governor of Laval University, was born at Beaumont in the Province of Quebec, on December 19, 1863. He is the son of Mr. Damase Turgeon, and was educated at Levis College and at Laval University. Called to the Bar in 1887, he opened a law office in Levis, but afterwards entered into partnership in Quebec with the prominent legal firm of Roy, Langlais & Godbout. His career as a parliamentarian was inaugurated by his election as member for Bellechasse in 1890, a constituency which he continued to represent up to 1909, when he retired from the Legislative Assembly to take his seat in the Legislative Council and assume the high office of Speaker or President of that body. While a member of the Assembly his eloquence became an attractive feature in the many important debates in which he took part, alike as Member and Minister. As an administrator and public-spirited citizen, he has taken high rank as a publicist, having retained the favor of Bellechasse from term to term for over a decade. During the Tercentennial Celebration at Quebec in 1908, he was honored by the Prince of Wales, now King George V, and was shortly afterwards chosen as one of the members of the National Battlefields Commission, which has ever since been engaged in laying out and beautifying one of the most spacious public parks in Canada. In 1897 he was called to join the Marchand Government as Minister of Colonization, holding the same office in the Parent Cabinet, until he was chosen to act as Minister of Agriculture and Provincial Secretary. In 1905, the Parent Administration was transformed into the Gouin Administration, and in the latter Mr. Turgeon accepted the portfolio of Lands and Forests, holding the same up to 1909. On resigning his seat in the Assembly as a challenge to some of his detractors, he was re-elected against Henri Bourassa by the electors of Bellechasse as an acknowledgement of his mature administrative abilities, and a warrant to his resuming his place in the Gouin Cabinet, as well as preparing the way for his being called to the high office of President of the Legislative Council. During his public career, he has held many important positions outside of his parliamentary functions, among these being President of the Quebec Land Company, Vice-President of the Provincial Securities Company, Director of the Quebec Transfer and Cartage Company, and member of the Comptoir Mobilier-Franco-Canadien Company. He was one of the founders of the Society of L’Union Liberale, and prominently connected with various political clubs. In July, 1887, he married Miss Eugenie Samson, the daughter of Mr. Etienne Samson, of Levis. As President of the Upper Chamber of the Provincial Parliament, Mr. Turgeon has his residence within the precincts of the Parliament Buildings, wherein his hospitalities form a prominent feature in the social life of the community when parliament is in session, as well as at other times.


Rhodes, Hon. Edgar Nelson, K.C., B.A., LL.B. (Amherst, N.S.), son of Nelson A. Rhodes and Sara D. C. Curry. Born at Amherst, N.S., on January 5, 1877. Educated at Amherst Academy, Horton Collegiate Academy, Acadia University and Dalhousie University. Degrees: B.A., Acadia; LL.B., Dalhousie. Member of the Board of Governors of Acadia University. Married, July 12, 1905, to M. Grace, second daughter of Hon. W. T. Pipes, K.C., Attorney-General of Nova Scotia. He is the father of the following children: Edgar N. Rhodes, Jr., born on April 19, 1906, and Helen S. Rhodes, born on October 18, 1907. Appointed a King’s Counsel in May, 1916, by the Provincial Government of Nova Scotia. President Brooklyn Lumber Company, Ltd.; director Nova Scotia Trust Co., Ltd.; British America Nickel Corporation, Ltd.; Amherst Boot & Shoe Company, Ltd., and Amherst Pianos, Ltd. Has been, since its inception, a member of the Dominion Executive and of the Nova Scotia Executive of the Canadian Patriotic Fund; also an Honorary Vice-President and member of the Dominion Council of the St. John’s Ambulance Association. First elected to House of Commons at General Elections, 1908; re-elected, 1911 and 1917. Elected Deputy-Speaker at the opening of the 6th session of the 12th Parliament, January, 1916. Was one of the Canadian representatives at the Imperial Parliamentary Conference in London, 1916, and accompanied the members of that body on their visit to the Munitions plants, The Fleet, and to the front. Elected Speaker of the House of Commons, January 18, 1917. Re-elected Speaker at the opening of the first session of the 13th Parliament, 1918. Member Rideau Club and Country Club, Ottawa. A Unionist. Amherst, N.S.


White, Rt. Hon. Sir William Thomas, P.C., M.P., Finance Minister of Canada, is a Canadian statesman whose meteoric rise to fame during less than a decade, has attracted more than national attention. He was born at Bronte, Ont., November 13, 1866, the son of James and Elizabeth (Graham) White. His father was a farmer and his early education was obtained at Oakville public school and Brampton High School. Later he entered Toronto University and graduated in 1895 with the degree of B.A. and honors in classics. During his university career he won two first-class scholarships and a gold medal. Subsequently he took up a course of law at Osgoode Hall, Toronto and was called to the Bar of the province in 1899, but never practised. During his period as an arts and law student he supported himself, first as a reporter on the Toronto “Telegram,” where his writings showed singular eloquence and ability; and later, as one of the assessors of the Civic Assessment Department. The knowledge of real estate values and of financial questions which he had gained in the latter capacity, as well as his general abilities, led a group of Toronto capitalists to tender him in 1900, the General Managership of the National Trust Company, which they had recently formed. This post he held for nearly eleven years and during that interval attained a high status in the financial community. Though a Liberal in politics, he had never been known as an active politician. In the summer of 1911, when Sir Wilfrid Laurier, then Prime Minister, appealed to the country to ratify the Knox-Fielding pact calling for reciprocity in natural products between Canada and the United States, Mr. W. T. White, as he was then known, was one of eighteen prominent Toronto Liberals who issued a manifesto against the proposals of their former political chieftain and decided to support Mr. Robert Borden. He himself took the platform against the pact as liable to disturb the equilibrium of trade at a time when Canada was enjoying unexampled prosperity. The result of this and other appeals was that many thousands of voters, previously Liberal, abandoned the party lines and defeated the Laurier administration by a large majority. When called upon to form a government in the latter part of September, 1911, Mr. Borden felt that it was due to the large number of Liberals who had supported him, that they should be represented in the Cabinet. On consultation with the leaders of the group, known as “Borden Liberals,” they were unanimously of the opinion that Mr. White was the best available choice. Despite the fact that he was without previous political experience, the Conservative Leader decided to offer him the most important portfolio in the Cabinet, that of the Ministry of Finance. On Mr. White’s accepting the office, a seat was found for him in the House of Commons by the elevation of Mr. George Taylor, M.P. for Leeds, and formerly Conservative whip, to the Senate. At a by-election held on November 4, 1911, Mr. White was elected to Parliament by a considerable majority, despite the fact that the election was marked by severe personal attacks on him, because of his so-called “desertion” of the Liberal party. Mr. White answered the challenge by the statement that he “believed that there was no healthier sign of the times than that an honest man should change his party in the interests of his country.” His maiden speech in the House of Commons, which was delivered on Nov. 29, 1911, was awaited throughout the country with great interest, and at once stamped him as one of the coming men in Canadian politics. Since then his budget speeches have proclaimed him as a financier of masterly intellect. Had Mr. White known in 1911 that the task lay before him of financing Canada’s contribution to the prosecution of the greatest war the world has ever known, he would possibly have declined office. When in 1914, Germany made war against all Europe, and Canada decided to support the Motherland, perhaps the gravest task of all fell on the Minister of Finance, because up to that time Canada had been a heavy borrower from the Motherland, and these sources of supply would naturally be cut off if the war continued for a lengthy period. In fact, in 1914, many eminent financiers believed that the financial resources of the world would not stand the strain of a war of more than six months’ duration. The Canadian Minister of Finance however laid his plans for a long war; and in addition to the task of financing Canada’s magnificent military effort, applied himself to the problem of keeping up Canada’s trade at a figure that would enable her to continue as a belligerent. He had also the task thrust upon him of acting as banker for Great Britain, France, Russia and other belligerents, who made the finance department at Ottawa the clearing house for their enormous financial dealings with the merchants and manufacturers of the United States. During the first year of the war Great Britain was able to render financial assistance to Canada and others of the overseas dominions; and Mr. White floated some large loans in the United States. But it was already apparent that Canada must shortly finance herself. In 1916 he visited England and fully acquainted himself with the situation, and in the same year was created a Knight Commander of St. Michael and St. George, in recognition of his war services. Sir Thomas decided to test Canada’s own resources and floated a large war loan the bulk of it being taken by Canadian capitalists, although a certain number of small investors were also attracted to it. Up to 1917, however, there were only about 60,000 holders of Canadian bonds in this country. In the summer of 1917, when Canada seemed to face a serious financial crisis, Sir Thomas decided to try the experiment of a great popular loan to be known as the Victory Loan, on the lines of the popular loans floated during the American Civil War, by the celebrated financier Jay Cooke. He collected a superb organization, embracing all the leading financiers, newspapers and selling agencies of Canada and asked the people to lend their government $300,000,000, to be spent entirely in Canada for war purposes. The result passed all expectations, for the loan was over-subscribed by more than one hundred million dollars, and about 875,000 became holders of Victory Bonds. Canada was enabled to do this by the fact that Sir Thomas and the Borden administration as a whole had, by adopting the policy of financing British credits in this country, secured enormous war orders for agricultural supplies and munitions for her farmers and manufacturers, so that the flow of money during the war reached unexampled heights. The first Victory Loan of 1917 was fruitful of good results, because it enabled Canada to continue this policy on a more extended scale, so that, though this enormous sum was invested in bonds, and added to the savings of the people, a few months later the average of deposits in the savings banks of the country was larger than it had been before the first Victory Loan was floated. In the latter part of 1917 the health of Sir Thomas broke down as a result of his stupendous anxieties and labors, but after a vacation of several months in California he returned to this country restored in health. In the autumn of 1918 he decided to float another Victory Loan, asking, as in 1917, for $300,000,000, but setting the real objective at $500,000,000. The result was another enormous over-subscription, nearly $700,000,000 having been subscribed. That such a showing should have been made by a country so limited in population as Canada, is the best proof of his skill as administrator of the nation’s finances during the most trying epoch in the history of the world. So thoroughly has Sir Thomas the confidence of his leader, Sir Robert Borden, that when in November, 1918, he left Canada for an indefinite absence as a member of the European Peace Conference, he appointed the Minister of Finance Acting Prime Minister, to take charge of the hazardous task of re-organizing the country on a peace basis. Sir Thomas is a profound student and thinker and a public speaker of rare ability. Among his activities prior to his removal to Ottawa were those of a member of the Board of Governors of Toronto University and Trustee of Toronto General Hospital. He is a Methodist in religion, and a member of the Rideau Club, Ottawa, and the York and Toronto Clubs, Toronto. On Sept. 20, 1890, he married Annie Isabel, daughter of Ellis Silverthorne, Jarvis, Ont.


Price, Sir William, the prominent capitalist of Quebec City, who has been engaged in military operations during the European War as Colonel of the 171st Battalion, at Valcartier, and later as an officer at the front, is a son of Mr. Henry Ferrier Price, who married Miss Florence Rogerson. He was born at Talca, Chili, on August 30, 1867. His uncle was the Hon. Senator E. J. Price, on whose death he became leading partner of the firm of Price Brothers & Company, in 1886. He was educated at Bishops College School, Lennoxville, P.Q., and later at St. Mark’s School, Windsor, England. He has been prominent in the public life as well as the business circles of Quebec, having been a member of parliament for one of the electoral divisions of the place and afterwards Chairman of the Harbor Commission. It was while he held the latter office that he took service as one of the organizers of the Valcartier Military Camp, earning high praise from the Governor-General and the Militia Department, and finally receiving his knighthood at the hands of King George. As Colonel in Command he raised the 171st Battalion, which he took over to England in 1916, continuing his services with the army as one of the officers of a Railway Construction Battalion in France, after the 171st had been absorbed in other battalions, in terms of what is known as the Territorial System. No citizen of Quebec has earned higher credit for patriotic effort than Sir William. Setting aside his many business duties and resigning a lucrative government position, he ably fulfilled the duties assigned to him as a soldier. The responsible positions he has held as a business man and a public-spirited citizen have been manifold. Besides being President of the Price Brothers & Company, he has been Director and Honorary Chairman of the Union Bank; a Director of the Quebec Railway, Light, Heat and Power Company; Vice-President of the Canadian Lumberman’s Association; as well as being President of the Metis Lumber Company, the Jonquiere Pulp and Paper Company, the Gravel Lumber Company, and President of the Canadian Export Co. Nor did his business engagements hinder him from taking an active part in civic and charitable enterprises to which he has given beneficently of his means. At one time he was a Governor of the Jeffrey Hale Hospital, President of the Board of Trade, Director of the Trans-Canadian Railway project, an energetic supporter of the movement in favor of the National Battlefields Park, and President of the Quebec Turf Club. As far back as 1887, he took a practical interest in local military affairs, having been a lieutenant in the Eighth Royal Rifles, and being raised to his captaincy before his withdrawal from that company in 1903. As a prelude to his activity as a military organizer at the Valcartier Camp, he raised two companies for service during the Boer War, and encouraged rifle practice by presenting the Price Cup for competition at the targets. As a parliamentarian he had a term of three years; but his earlier defeat in the Rimouski constituency was repeated by Quebec West in 1911. As has been well said of him, he has proved himself to be a citizen of whom any community might well be proud. He was married in 1894, to Miss Amelia Blanche Smith, daughter of Mr. R. H. Smith, another of Quebec’s most prominent and worthy lumber merchants. His family consists of four sons and two daughters. Sir William has since his early days been an enthusiast as a “portageur,” and a keen sportsman. He owns two salmon-breeding rivers and extensive hunting grounds. While soldiering abroad, he continued head of his firm, which has in its employment several thousands of employees.


Kemp, Hon. Sir Albert Edward (Toronto, Ont.), son of Robert Kemp, an Englishman, and Sarah A. Kemp, his wife, a Canadian; born at Clarenceville, Que., August 11, 1858, and educated at Clarenceville and Lacolle Academy. For many years the subject of this sketch has been one of the leading manufacturers of Canada, and a successful business man. Since 1895 he has devoted considerable time to questions of public interest. In 1879 he married a Miss Wilson, of Montreal. He was President of the Canadian Manufacturers Association in 1895 and was re-elected in 1896. He was elected President of the Toronto Board of Trade for the year 1899, and re-elected in 1900. In 1898 he was appointed a delegate by the Board to the British Association, at its annual meeting held in Bristol, also to the Fourth Congress of the Chambers of Commerce of the Empire, held in London, June, 1900. He is a member of the Board of Regents of Victoria University, Toronto; a member of several Orders, among which is included the Orange Order, and many National and Philanthropic Societies. Mr. Kemp was first elected to the House of Commons at the general elections in 1900, and again returned in 1904. In 1908 he was defeated, but was re-elected at the general elections in 1911 by a very large majority. Upon the resignation of Sir Wilfrid Laurier and his Cabinet on October 6, 1911, following the defeat of the Liberal Party at the polls the previous September, he joined the Borden Government as Minister without Portfolio, and was sworn in a member of the Privy Council for Canada on October 10, 1911. After the outbreak of the war he was called upon by his Government to assume many important positions, among which was included the Chairmanship of the War Supplies Purchasing Commission, a position that required the keenest foresight, courage and action, and which practically demanded all his time. It later developed that the Government made no mistake in placing him at the head of this Commission, and great credit is due him for the manner in which he conducted its affairs. Upon the resignation of Sir Sam Hughes, Minister of Militia in the Borden Government, in November, 1916, Mr. Kemp was asked by Sir Robert Borden to accept the position as Minister of Militia, and accepted, and on December 14, 1916, was re-elected by acclamation by his constituents in East Toronto. Subsequently he was asked to accept the post of Overseas Minister, resident in London, and in this capacity he served throughout the momentous period of 1918, when he was directly in touch with Canada’s Army in France. In social life he has many friends, and is always ready to receive them in a manner that draws them closer to him. As a public man there is a great future before him, and he has won praise for having accepted office at the most critical moment in the history of Canada. When the greatest war the world has known draws to a close, and the history of the noble sons who fought and worked with the Allies in their different nations is written, the name of Hon. Albert Edward Kemp will come in for a full share of credit for the able and systematic methods adopted in helping the Motherland to continue to wave the flag that stands for freedom and justice. In religion he is a Methodist.


E.J. Beaumont, KITCHENER
M.G. Bristow, OTTAWA


Cameron, Lieut.-Colonel Sir Douglas, K.C.M.G., ex-Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba (Winnipeg, Man.), was born in Prescott County, Ont., June 18, 1854, the son of Colin and Annie Cameron, and was educated at the High School, Vankleek Hill, Ont. He was engaged in farming in the Province of Ontario from 1871 to 1880, afterwards moving to Winnipeg, in 1880. He engaged in various occupations until the fall of 1883, when he entered the lumber business under the firm name of Cameron & Company; later, Cameron & Kennedy. The business was incorporated as the Ontario & Western Lumber Company in 1892, and was later changed to the Rat Portage Lumber Company, and he has acted as General Manager since 1892, and President since 1894. He is also President of the Maple Leaf Flour Mills, a Director of the Northern Crown Bank, and a Director of the Manitoba Bridge and Iron Company. In 1902 he was elected to the Ontario Legislature for Fort William and Lake-of-the-Woods, and was defeated in the general elections of 1905 and 1908; was also an unsuccessful candidate for the House of Commons for Winnipeg in the Federal general elections in 1908. On August 1, 1911, he was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Manitoba, which office he filled with the greatest satisfaction until succeeded by the present incumbent, Sir James Albert Manning Aikins, K.B. He was a Councillor for Rat Portage in 1891, and Mayor from 1891 to 1894; was appointed a K.C.M.G., December 31, 1913. In 1910 he was appointed Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel of the 79th Highlanders, and has been very active in connection with the Militia since the outbreak of the war, as well as in Patriotic work. He married Margaret Cameron Ferguson, of Vankleek Hill, in 1880, to whom were born two sons and one daughter; is a member of the Manitoba Club and the St. Charles Country Club, and as a recreation is an admirer of horses. Sir Douglas is a staunch Liberal in politics, and is considered, by the leaders of his party, as one of the ablest statesmen in Canada. In religion he is a Presbyterian and an active worker in Church and Social Reform movements.


Bégin, Louis Nazaire, Cardinal Archbishop of Quebec, was born on January 10, 1840. He is the son of Charles Bégin, of Levis, his mother’s maiden name having been Miss Luce Paradis. His earlier education was had in the schools and colleges of the Quebec district, up to the time of his leaving for Europe, to prepare himself as a priest and professor. Ordained in Rome in 1865, he returned to Quebec to assume the duties of Professor of Theology and Church History in Laval University, with collateral duties for a time as Prefect of Studies in what is known as Le Petit Séminaire. It was in 1885 he was appointed Principal of Laval Normal School at the time that institution occupied the premises of the old Chateau Haldimand, over the site of which the spacious Chateau Frontenac now extends its massive wings. Three years after, he was named Bishop of Chicoutimi, eventually returning to Quebec to take up his residence in the Archbishop’s Palace as Coadjutor of Cardinal Taschereau, under the title of Archbishop of Cyrene. From 1894 to 1898, he continued to be the Administrator of the Archdiocese of Quebec, during the declining years of Cardinal Taschereau. On the death of the latter, he succeeded him in the See of Quebec, the ceremony of his official investiture in 1899 being an historic event of the greatest interest to the whole province, as was the later celebration of his election as a Cardinal under the title of Saint Vitalis. The details of the distinguished ecclesiastic’s career form a brilliant page in the annals of Canada. Alike at home and abroad, His Eminence Cardinal Bégin has ever been known to fulfil his duty towards his Church and as a loyal citizen of Canada. Frequently he has been called to foreign parts to share in celebrations, such as the solemn coronation ceremonies of Our Lady of Guadalupe at Mexico City, in 1895, where he preached one of the memorial sermons, as well as at Rheims, during a like celebration in 1896, and at Grosse Isle in 1909, when he was the principal speaker at the unveiling of the monument erected to the memory of the Irish immigrants who had fallen victims to the typhus epidemic in 1847. He has also been several times a guest at the Vatican, having enjoyed the confidence of the three successive popes, Leo XIII, Pius X, and Benedict XV, from the last of whom he received his red hat. He has ever been a participant in all the public movements that tended to improve the social and educational conditions in his diocese, having taken a leading part in the founding of one of the leading newspapers of Quebec, known as “L’Action Catholique” and having likewise obtained the restoration of the Cathedral Chapter of Quebec, an institution that had become extinct from the days of the Conquest. He was prominent in the enterprise of unveiling a monument to the memory of Bishop Laval, as he has also been in the various efforts put forth towards beautifying the city with parks and monumental structures commemorative of historic events. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and has been honored by scholastic degrees of the highest merit, bestowed on him by the University of Innsbruck, in Austria, as well as those he has received from Laval and the Gregorian University of Rome. He virtually began his professional career as a teacher of the young, and has never lost his zeal in promoting, as a Member of the Council of Public Instruction, the reforms that make for a right pedagogy in school and college work. His pen has been an active one in adding to the literature to be found in the library collections of his Church, such as “La Règle de Foi” and the “Culte Catholique” not to speak of his writings on Canadian historical topics, as for instance, his “Chronologie d’Histoire du Canada,” his pastoral letters on the “Three Hundredth Anniversary of the Foundation of Quebec,” and his address on the “Second Centenary of the Death of Bishop Laval.” So wide is his knowledge of human affairs, so urbane is he in his manner and so just in his decisions, so charitable is he in his approach to the two sides of a public question, that he has more than once been called upon to act as arbitrator between employer and employees. During the many years of his episcopate he has organized over fifty new parishes, and has never failed to urge the building of spacious churches and school-houses and convents in the most of them. The events of his life have been for the most part the events of his native province and of Canada as well. Even during his travels abroad he always seems to have had in his mind the maturing of a policy of betterment for his people, and the fostering of good will among the various elements of the populations of Canada.


Langelier, The Honorable Sir François-Xavier, Statesman, and Lieutenant-Governor of Quebec, comes of very distinguished ancestry, and is one of the most respected, capable and learned of French-Canadian gentlemen, who has taken a leading part in the public life of Canada, and by his brilliant achievements, ripe scholarship and administrative ability, has served as an inspiration and shining example to all who would win a high place in the confidence and esteem of their fellow-countrymen. His parents were Louis Sabastien Langelier and Julie Esther (Cassault). Paternal ancestor came to Canada from Fresquiennes, near Rouen, Normandy, 1652; mother’s family from Granville, France; born at Ste. Rosalie, Province of Quebec, Dec. 24, 1838. Educated at St. Hyacinthe College and Laval University (LL.B., 1860; LL.L., avec grande distinction, 1861; LL.D., 1878), and Paris, France; D.C.L. (honorary) Lennoxville, 1903; married, first Feb., 1884, Virginie Sarah Sophie (died May, 1891), daughter of the late I. Legare, Quebec; secondly, May, 1892, Marie Louise, daughter of late Frederic Braun, late Civil Service, Ottawa; advocate, 1861; was one of the leaders of the Provincial Bar; K.C. (Province Quebec), 1878; also created K.C. by Dominion Government, 1880 (Marquis of Lorne); Batonnier (district Quebec) 1887; Batonnier-General of the Province, 1888; practised his profession successfully in the city of Quebec, where he was many years, from 1866, a member of the law faculty, Laval University, and subsequently, Dean of the Faculty and a member of the Council of the University; was also Vice-President of the Canadian Bar Association; President of the Institute Canadien and President of the Council of the Arts and Manufacturers’ Association; served as Mayor of Quebec, 1882-90; entered political life as a Liberal, and a free trader; was in turn a follower of Mackenzie, Blake and Laurier; unsuccessfully contested Bagot (Local), 1871; subsequently successively sat for Montmagny and Portneuf; sat for Megantic (House of Commons), 1884-87, and for Quebec Centre, 1887-1898; was Commissioner of Crown Lands and Treasurer, successively, in the local Administration of Sir H. G. Joly de Lotbinière, 1878-89; one of the signers of the address from the Liberal party to the Pope, 1896, resulting in the appointment of a Papal ablegate to Canada; a puisne Judge of Supreme Court of Province of Quebec, Jan. 14, 1898; delegated to perform the duties of the Chief Justice for the District of Quebec, June 6, 1906; as Chief Justice, became a member of the Board of Arbitrators, appointed 1891, for the settlement of accounts outstanding at Confederation between the Dominion and the Provinces of Quebec and Ontario; acted as Administrator of the Government of Quebec during the absence of Sir L. A. Jetté, 1903; knighted by his late Majesty King Edward, 1907; and made a Knight of Grace in the Order of St. John of Jerusalem in England in 1912; appointed Lieutenant-Governor, Province of Quebec, May, 1911; died February 8, 1915; has served as a Royal Commissioner on several occasions; was prominently identified with the movement for the organization of the Anti-Alcoholic League and its first President, 1907; was also President of the special committee appointed in connection with the tercentenary of the foundation of Quebec, 1906. Elected F.R.S.O., 1908; President, 1910; in addition to other legal productions, is the author of “Traite de la preuve, en matiere civile et commerciale,” and of “Cours de Droit Civil de Quebec.” Is the father of the following children: Juliette, Braun, who took service in the present war, was wounded three times, got the military cross for his bravery, and was promoted captain in the 22nd Batt. French Canadians; Françoise, Marc and Gerard. His Honor is a member of the following clubs: The Quebec Garrison and The Canadian. In religion, a Roman Catholic.


Lynch, Hon. William Warren, B.C., Q.C., D.C.L., LL.D., was born near the Village of Bedford, County of Missisquoi, Province of Quebec, on September 30, 1845. His father, Thomas Lynch, came from the County of Cavan, Ireland, about the year 1830. He served during the Canadian Rebellion in the Shefford Troop of Cavalry, and died at Knowlton, Brome County, on March 19, 1883. His mother, Charlotte R. Williams, was born at Stukely, County of Shefford, Province of Quebec, in the year 1805. Her parents were descendants of U.E. Loyalists, who came from the State of Vermont at the close of the American Revolutionary War. She died in 1885. Mr. Lynch, after taking advantage of the elementary schools in the vicinity of his birthplace, went to Stanbridge Academy in 1858, then a most flourishing institution, under the direction of Hobart Butler, M.A., where he prepared himself for a university course. During his last years at Stanbridge he acted as assistant teacher to Mr. Butler, and then entered the University of Vermont, Burlington, in August, 1861, but owing to the Civil War, which had shortly before broken out, the university course was considerably affected, and Mr. Lynch did not continue his studies there. In September, 1862, he entered the Arts Course of McGill University, Montreal, having secured one of the scholarships offered at a competitive examination. His health failing, he was obliged to abandon his studies before the Christmas examinations. He then engaged in school teaching in winter, and worked on his father’s farm in summer. In 1865 he was admitted to the study of the law, and pursued his studies in the office, first of S. W. Foster, of Knowlton, and afterwards of John Monk, of Montreal. He took his degree of B.C.L. at McGill in May, 1868, and secured the Elizabeth Torrance gold medal, and was admitted to practice in June. The following year he commenced the practice of his profession at Knowlton, and subsequently removed to Sweetsburg, the chef lieu of Bedford District. In the fall of 1870 he assumed the editorial control of the “Observer,” which was started at Cowansville, an adjoining village, and which became an influential organ of public opinion in the district. In June, 1871, during the provincial elections, which were then in progress, he went to Knowlton to report for his paper the proceedings of nomination day. There were then two candidates in the field, and to the surprise of Mr. Lynch, and without his interference, both candidates withdrew, and he was declared member elect for the County of Brome. During the Fenian troubles of 1866 Mr. Lynch took an active part in the formation of a company of volunteers at Brome, of which he became lieutenant, and remained such until his resignation in 1871. During the Fenian raid of 1870 he was at the front with his battalion. In keeping with the promise made to his electors, he became a resident of the County of Brome, returning to Knowlton in the fall of 1871. He has held successively the offices of school commissioner and chairman of that body for a number of years; and was also the Mayor of the Township of Brome, and Warden of the County. In May, 1874, he married Ellen Florence, eldest daughter of J. C. Pettes, a successful merchant of Knowlton, by whom he has two children. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and was some years since, deputy grand master for the District of Bedford. Mr. Lynch early in life identified himself with the Conservative party, to which he has ever borne faithful allegiance. He took an active part in the political discussions in the Legislature of Quebec on the subject of the dismissal of the De Boucherville Government, by M. Letellier, and it was upon a motion made by him that the Joly Government were defeated on October 30, 1879. He was made a Q.C. by the Joly Government in 1879, which was subsequently ratified by a similar title conferred upon him by the Federal authorities in 1881. When M. Chapleau assumed office as premier of the province, he invited Mr. Lynch to the council as Solicitor-General, which appointment was subsequently ratified by the electorate of Brome. On the abolition of the office of Solicitor-General, Mr. Lynch was appointed Commissioner of Crown Lands, on July 31, 1882. In September, 1887, his constituents tendered him a reception in the shape of a picnic, which was attended by a large number of public men, and at which a presentation of a handsome sum of money was made to him by his political admirers and friends. He then went to Montreal to resume the practice of his profession, in partnership with the present Mr. Justice Archibald and Mr. Geo. G. Foster, K.C. Shortly after, he was appointed by the Dominion Government a Commissioner, in conjunction with the late Mr. Justice Burridge, then Deputy Minister of Justice, and Mr. Dingman, of the Department of the Interior, to settle the Indian title to certain lands in the Township of Dundee, County of Huntington, and continued to hold that office during the successive administrations of Messrs. Mousseau, Ross and Taillon, and until the defeat of the last-named administration in January, 1887. During the session of 1887 he was named by the House of Assembly one of the Commissioners to perfect the revision of the provincial statutes. He was one of the leaders of the Opposition to the Government of the late Honore Mercier until his appointment to the bench in July, 1889, as Judge of the Superior Court for the District of Bedford, his native district. He has always taken a warm interest in educational matters, was twice President of the Provincial Association of Protestant Teachers, was for some years a member of the Protestant Committee of the Council of Public Instruction, and was the first President of the District of Bedford McGill Graduates’ Society. In June, 1883, the University of Bishops’ College offered him the degree of D.C.L., but owing to absence it was not conferred. In 1904, McGill University gave him the degree of LL.D. He is a devoted member of the Church of England and has often been a delegate to its synods. Since he became judge he has devoted his leisure to the promotion of various matters of local concern, such as good roads, historical societies and the Knowlton Conference.


Parmelee, William George, LL.D., D.C.L. (Quebec City), English Secretary of the Department of Public Instruction, and Joint Secretary of the Council of Public Instruction of the Province of Quebec, was born at Waterloo, in the Eastern Townships, in 1860. He is a son of Rufus E. Parmelee, whose father had come originally from the United States. On the mother’s side, the subject of this sketch is of Scottish descent. He received his early education at Waterloo Academy, finally graduating as a teacher from the McGill Normal School of Montreal. He afterward became head master of the Model School Department and, later, a Professor of the Normal School. Previous to his holding these positions, he had been a member of the staff of St. Francis College, Richmond, P.Q., from 1881 to 1885. From McGill Normal School he was selected for his present position in 1891; and for more than a quarter of a century he has been in touch with the educational affairs of Quebec. He has proved himself a departmental administrator of widely recognized professional acumen. The academic honors that have been bestowed upon him from the time of his extra-mural course at Queen’s University, from which he graduated in 1889, stand as an endorsation of his scholarship, these including a D.C.L. from Bishop’s College in 1902, and an LL.D. from McGill University in 1911. He has likewise been honored by being chosen more than once, President of the Teachers’ Association of his native province; President of the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec for three several terms; President of the Young Men’s Association; a delegate to the Federal Council of the United Empire Educational League in London, England, and later on as a delegate to the Imperial Conference on Education in the same centre. Taking an interest in local military affairs he was awarded a Captaincy in the 8th Royal Rifles Company, and later on received the honorary rank of Colonel. Nor has he neglected literary pursuits in his spare moments, having had published two of his papers read before the Literary and Historical Society, and entitled, “Wolfe as a Man and a Soldier,” and “The Fraser Highlanders.” He has also won high literary credit as joint-collaborateur with Dr. Arthur Doughty, the Dominion Archivist, in six volumes dealing with the “Siege of Quebec.” In 1886 he married Miss Louise Foss, of Waterloo. Their family consists of four daughters.


HON. P. E. BLONDIN
Ottawa


McCorkill, The Hon. Justice John Charles (Quebec City), was born in the town of Farnham, P.Q., on August 31, 1854. His father was Mr. Robert McCorkill, of Farnham and the Eastern Townships. His mother’s maiden name was Miss Margaret Meighen. His wife is a daughter of the Hon. Senator Leonard of London, Ontario, their marriage having taken place in 1884. From the district elementary school, he entered the classes of the McGill Model School, and in time obtained a certificate to teach from the McGill Normal School. For a period he acted as Principal of the Montreal British and Canadian School, thereafter taking his degree of B.C.L. as a preliminary step to his becoming a lawyer. At first he became a partner in the Greenshields legal firm, but subsequently removed to the Bedford District and finally opened a central office at Cowansville. While rising to a high rank as an advocate, he was encouraged to enter the political field, and after suffering defeat twice in succession, was at length elected to the Legislative Assembly as the representative of Missisquoi. In time he was appointed Legislative Councillor for the District of Bedford, where he was so appreciatively known as a public-spirited citizen and an able lawyer, who had held the position of Batonnier of the Bar and other offices of rank. In 1903, he resigned his seat in the upper chamber of the Provincial Parliament, to become Provincial Treasurer in the Parent Administration, and was elected to the Legislature by the Constituency of Brome. This office he held for three years, up to the time of his appointment as a Judge of the Supreme Court for the District of Quebec. While Treasurer, his term was marked by important legislation, such as the revision of the taxation laws relating to banking institutions and succession duties, which resulted in a surplus for the province of half-a-million dollars. After the date of his appointment to the Bench, he was made a Joint Commissioner with the Hon. Mr. Mathieu and Mr. L. J. Gauthier, to revise the Municipal Code of the Province of Quebec. His record as a legal practitioner and advocate, as well as a financier and public-spirited citizen, has been a full one, wherever he has resided, in Montreal, in the Eastern Townships, or in the city of Quebec. For several years he was Mayor of Cowansville, where he was also President of the Missisquoi Historical Society. He has been President of the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec, and is a member of the Council of Public Instruction. Even in military affairs he has taken an active part, having been Captain as well as Major in the Militia between the years of 1879 and 1887. His literary tastes have expressed themselves in the historical papers he has written from time to time. Altogether the Hon. Justice McCorkill may truly be spoken of as possessing a forceful and clear-visioned personality, able and willing always to share in the civic and provincial advancement of the community in which he lives or has lived.


Taschereau, The Hon. Louis Alexander (Quebec City), Minister of Public Works for the Province of Quebec, is the son of the Hon. Justice Taschereau, who married Miss Josephine Caron, the daughter of the Hon. Justice Caron, formerly Lieut.-Governor. He was born on the 5th of March, 1867. He was educated at the Quebec Seminary and Laval University, graduating as a Licentiate of Law in 1889, preliminary to his entering upon his professional career as partner of Sir Charles Fitzpatrick, now Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada. Later he became associated with what is now the legal firm of Taschereau, Roy, Cannon, Parent & Casgrain. As a lawyer, Mr. Taschereau came at once to be recognized as one of the leading legal practitioners of the district, among his successes being the part he took in the Gaynor and Greene extradition case in 1902. In addition to his duties as an advocate he took part in civic affairs, and for a time held a seat as an alderman of his native city. In 1900, he was elected for the constituency of Montmorency in the Legislative Assembly, and has continued ever since to be its representative. Seven years after, with his skill in debate, duly recognized by his parliamentary associates, he was selected to take his place in the Gouin Administration as Minister of Public Works and Labor. His administrative ability has been in keeping with his statesmanlike insight and foresight, and his skill in debate. His advice is ever in demand when any legal technicality has to be examined and explained to both sides of the Assembly. In fact, he has taken a high place as the Premier’s ally in all matters pertaining to the progress of the province, while he has won the highest credit within parliamentary circles and beyond them, for the efficiency of the Department in his charge. He has been a member of the Battlefields Park Commission since the day it was organized, and is likewise a Governor of the Catholic Church Society. He is a nephew of the late Cardinal Taschereau, Archbishop of Quebec. In 1891 he married Miss Adine Dionne, daughter of the Hon. E. Dionne, of the Legislative Council of Quebec, by whom he has had three sons and two daughters. Altogether he has made a record for himself in his native city and province as an able advocate, an astute governmental administrator, and a loyal citizen. Sprung from a distinguished and talented family, his career as a public man has added to its fame.


Ross, James Gibb (Quebec City), Senator of Canada, was born in Carluke, a village of Lanarkshire, in Scotland, on April 18, 1819. He came out to Canada in 1832, in company with his elder brother, John Ross; and, after attending one of the private schools of Quebec for a year or two, he entered the business office of his uncle, Mr. James Gibb. At this time the firm of James Gibb & Company was one of the largest of the wholesale grocery and provision houses in what has always been known as the Lower Town of Quebec; and there the Scottish lad laid the foundation of his business career, which was eventually to place him among the wealthiest merchants of Canada. In 1843, Mr. Thomas O. Gibb, son of Mr. James Gibb, returned to Quebec, after finishing his school education in Edinburgh; and in the same year a company was formed in which Thomas O. Gibb, John Ross, and James G. Ross were the partners, until the first mentioned of the three died in 1845. Eventually, on Mr. James Gibb’s death, the two Ross brothers took the business name of Ross & Co., and as such continued in active operation up to the year 1868. By this time the firm had amplified its business by other branches of trading; and in 1868 the older of the two members of the firm withdrew to conduct a business of his own, for the most part confined, as it was, to the grocery and provision trade. With him was associated his youngest brother, Frank Ross. At the time of the Senator’s death, in 1888, the firm of Ross & Co. had developed into one of the wealthiest business concerns in the country, having depots for the distribution of their wares in nearly all the larger cities of Canada and the United States. With millions at his command, the sole partner of the firm took an active interest in shipbuilding and railroad construction. Nearly every branch of industry was enhanced by the money advances of the multi-millionaire. The shipping interests, especially, felt the effects of his business acumen, especially when he took in charge for sailing purposes the ships the building of which he had assisted with advances of money, but which, for market reasons could not for a time be sold. The railroads which came in for assistance included the Quebec and Lake St. John Railway and the Quebec Central, both of which may trace their success as paying concerns to the financial foresight of Senator James G. Ross, who thus both directly and indirectly aided the colonization of the country and its trading interests by the assistance he extended to their promoters. Nor was it easy for one so prominent in the commercial interests of the ancient capital to refuse to be nominated as a candidate for parliamentary honors. On two several occasions he was called upon to contest the electoral division of Quebec Centre, once in the Conservative interest in 1872, against Mr. Cauchon, afterwards Governor of Manitoba, and a second time as an Independent, in 1878, against Mr. Malouin. In both instances he was defeated, though afterwards he was considered worthy to succeed the Hon. David Price as Senator, in 1884. He was unmarried; but in the families of his two brothers, John and Frank, he is notably represented to-day by Mr. John Theodore Ross, the only son of the former, and Frank W. Ross, surviving son of the latter, both of whom have evidently in them the desire inherited from their uncle, James G. Ross, to advance the interests of their native city. The Hon. Senator Ross was a prominent citizen other than in business and political circles. He took an interest in school improvements and church advancement. He was for many years President of the Quebec Bank, a Director of the Quebec High School, and an elder in Chalmers Church. As may well be said of his beneficent uncle, James Gibb, Senator James Gibb Ross was a liberal benefactor to the institutions of Quebec, both before his death and after it. He accumulated his millions in Peter Street, and every Protestant institution in the city of his adoption benefited by his wealth in some way or another.


Gouin, The Hon. Sir Jean Lomer, K.C.M.G., LL.B., LL.D., Premier of the Province of Quebec, was born at Brondines, of the County of Portneuf, on March 19, 1861. He comes from a French-Canadian stock whose lineage can be traced as far back as 1662. His father was J. N. Gouin, M.D., who married Miss Victoire Seraphine Fugère in 1852. In his earlier years, their son Lomer became a pupil of Sorel College, thereafter entering as an under-graduate the College of Levis, and afterwards graduating at Laval University. His collegiate honors include the degree of LL.D., received successively from Laval in 1902, from Bishop’s College University in 1913, and from Toronto University in 1915. He was called to the Bar in 1884, after studying law under the late Sir John Abbott and the Hon. B. Laflamme. He had thus been a student under the supervision of a Prime Minister of Canada and of a Minister of Justice. During his partnership with Judge Pagnuello and the Hon. Premier Honore Mercier, whose daughter Eliza he married in 1888, he came into prominence in the law courts of Montreal, being finally elected Batonnier-General in 1910, after having served a term as Alderman of that city, and elected a Member of the Local Legislature. In 1900 he became Commissioner of Public Works in the Parent Administration for four years. Resigning his place in the Parent Cabinet in 1904, he was called to the premiership the year after, holding the portfolio of Attorney-General up to the present time. During the general election of 1916 his administration of public affairs was upheld by a majority never before vouchsafed to a Quebec premier; while the list of honors conferred upon him since his advent to power is perhaps one of the longest on record. He was knighted by the reigning Sovereign of the Empire at the Quebec Tercentenary Celebration of 1908, and was made a K.C.M.G. in the year 1913. Ever animated with a desire to see his native province an advancing factor in the general progress of the Dominion of Canada, as well as of the British Empire, he has been diligent in promoting the public works that have to be fostered within the counties and parishes, as well as in the cities and larger towns, in line with the general advancement of the commonwealth. He has done his best to improve the educational conditions of the communities, not forgetting likewise to improve the highways and the industrial activities all over the province. His zeal in establishing and liberally subsidizing Industrial Schools and Technical Colleges has become a proverb in all the provinces; while, in view of his support of a provincial grant of one million dollars to the Canadian Patriotic Fund during the time of war, his reputation as a broad-minded Canadian citizen has been placed beyond all questioning. Senator David has pronounced a eulogium on Premier Gouin that places him in rank with, if not beyond, those who have preceded him in the Quebec premiership. Within these war-times he has advocated a National War Service in the most fervent terms, illustrating Senator David’s estimate of his statesmanship as that of a highly capable servant of the State, in his impartial judgment, prudence, eloquence, and administrative acumen. His share in the Bonne Entente mission to Ontario in 1917, to plead, with others, for a closer mutual understanding between the two leading races in Canada, has given an éclat to his statesmanship. He would see Canada a unit while aiding the mother lands in Europe by force of arms, and thus uphold the prestige of the British Empire. And the various offices Sir Lomer Gouin has held from the day he entered public life in 1891, indicate the strenuous part he has played as a public-spirited Canadian. In 1891, he was President of the National Club in Montreal, which was virtually “the Executive of the Liberal Party” in the Montreal district. That year he was defeated in his first election contest. Six years after he was elected representative for the St. James Electoral Division of Montreal, and thereafter has been member for his native County of Portneuf. He has continued to be a Member of the Council of Public Instruction since 1898; became President of the American Fish and Game Protection Association in 1910; was Chairman of the Ottawa Inter-provincial Conference in 1906, and afterwards a delegate to a like Conference in 1910. As from one “learned in the law,” his edition of the Municipal Code is a standard work; while no one has so well at his command the details of parliamentary law-and-order as he has, as leader of the House of Assembly. The record of his regime is concisely given in a neat little volume published in 1916, under the title of “Le Gouvernment Gouin et Son Oeuvre.” Another volume referring to the federal subsidies in favor of the provinces was published in 1903, giving the amplified record of an address delivered by Sir Lomer under the heading of “The Actual Question.” These volumes, together with the reports of his speeches from time to time, indicate how Sir Lomer Gouin has ever had in mind the public interest—seeing to the improving of the conditions in his native province, even to the widening out of its area as in the case of the annexation of the District of Ungava, building government works, and highways, and bridges, and never forgetting to urge it to keep pace with its sister provinces in the federacy which includes them all within the Dominion of Canada. In seeing to the advancement of the province he has in charge as premier, he has made fame for himself as a loyal statesman and dignified scholar, duly honored by the King and his country’s seats of learning. He was married to Miss Alice Amos, his second wife, in 1911. By his first wife he has had two sons—Leon, who is practising law in Montreal; and Paul, who is a lieutenant on active service.


Drayton, Sir Henry Lumley, K.C., K.B., Chief Commissioner, Board of Railway Commissioners for Canada, was born in Kingston, Ontario, April 27, 1869. He is the son of Philip Henry Drayton, who came to Canada with the 16th Rifles of England, and Margaret S. (Covernton) Drayton. He was educated in the schools of England and Canada. On September 14, 1892, he married Edith Mary Cawthra, daughter of the late Joseph Cawthra, Toronto, and has three daughters. Sir Henry Drayton was called to the Ontario Bar in 1891 and soon became recognized as one of the leaders in the legal profession. In September 1893, he was appointed Assistant City Solicitor for Toronto, and when he resigned in September, 1900, he was presented with a gold watch in recognition of the valuable services he had rendered to the city in his legal capacity. He immediately (September, 1900), formed partnership with Charles J. Holman, K.C., and in January, 1902, was appointed Counsel to the Railway Committee of the Ontario Legislature by the Chairman, the Hon. John Dryden. The following year he was appointed representative of the Ontario Government for the purpose of adjudicating upon and paying, on behalf of the Government, the claims of workmen of the different Clergue Companies operating at Sault Ste. Marie, and on January 29, 1904, he was appointed County Crown Attorney for the County of York, on the recommendation of the Hon. J. M. Gibson. In 1905 he was appointed Counsel on Civic Bribery Investigation, Toronto, the Civic Investigation Court House in 1906, the Public School Board Investigation, and also the Civic Investigation into the Medical Health Department. January the 20th, 1908, he was created K.C. He resigned his position as County Crown Attorney in 1909, and the following year, April 25, 1910, was appointed Counsel for the Corporation of the City of Toronto. May 11, 1911, he was appointed as representative of the Ontario Government a member of the Toronto Power Commission. When on July 1, 1912, he was appointed Chief Commissioner of the Board of Railway Commissioners for Canada the Toronto City Council presented him with an illuminated album. In July, 1913, he was appointed Commissioner to deal with the question of Control of Ocean Freight Rates. In 1917 Sir Henry Drayton was appointed a member of the Drayton-Smith-Acworth Commission which investigated the Canadian railway situation. When the work of the Commission was completed and their report presented to the Government, he, as his fee for his able services on the Commission, was presented with a cheque for $15,000 by the Dominion Government. He refused to accept payment and returned the cheque. Acknowledging the receipt of the returned cheque the then Minister of Railways and Canals, Hon. Mr. Cochrane, wrote in part as follows: “I can assure you that your very patriotic attitude in this matter is most sincerely appreciated by the Government at a time when every dollar which can be saved is of material importance to the successful prosecution of the war.” In very many other ways since the war commenced in 1914, Sir Henry Drayton has rendered valuable services—financially, as a member of committees and in the direction of transportation, supply and other matters. He is ever to the fore to do all he can to help Canada successfully bear the burdens—financially, commercially and otherwise—that this war has forced her to carry and no one has ever rendered such services more freely and willingly. Sir Henry Drayton is a member of the Toronto, Toronto Hunt, Ontario Jockey, Rideau, Ottawa Royal Golf, Country (Ottawa), Connaught Park Jockey (Ottawa), and the Kaministiquia (Fort William) Clubs. His address is 233 Metcalfe St., Ottawa.


S. R. PARSONS
Toronto


Dobell, Sir Charles Macpherson, K.C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O. (Quebec City), Lieutenant-General of the British Army, is a son of the late Hon. R. R. Dobell, lumber merchant, of Quebec, and a grandson of Senator Sir David Macpherson, at one time Speaker of the Canadian Senate. He is a native of Quebec, having been born on June 22, 1869. Receiving his elementary education at the Rev. Canon Von Iffland’s Private School, he became a student at the Quebec High School and later at the Charterhouse School in England, previous to his entering the Royal Military College at Kingston, Ontario. From that institution he graduated in 1890. After serving as a Lieutenant in the Hazara Expedition, wherein his bravery was mentioned in dispatches and by the award of a medal and clasp, his advancement has proceeded steadily with his experience in active service. He took part with the International Forces in the occupation of the Island of Crete, and was there raised to the rank of Major. During the South African War, he joined the Canadian Contingent, and won his D.S.O. with other honors, during the several engagements of the campaign. In command of a regiment of mounted infantry he shared in conflict after conflict with the Boers, taking part in the relief of Kimberley, and in the engagements of Paardeberg, Poplar Grove, Prefontaine, Johannesburg, Pretoria and Diamond Hill, and many others. After serving in Nigeria, he was given the rank of Lieut.-Colonel, his name from time to time occurring in the dispatches to the War Office. As an interruption to his service in Nigeria, he was called to China during the Boxer uprising, and was present at the relief of Pekin by the International Forces. On his return from China, he was appointed by the War Office to the South African Intelligence Department, and became an A.D.C. to the King. Later on he was gazetted as Inspector-General of the West African Field Force, with the rank of Brigadier-General, a position he was holding when Germany declared war in 1914. Since then he has gained further distinction and promotion. With a combined force of French and English troops numbering nearly ten thousand, he shared in the conquest of the German Colony of the Cameroons, a territory covering an area in all of 300,000 square miles. On New Year’s Day, 1916, the order of C.M.G. was bestowed upon him by King George, and eventually, at the close of the Cameroon Expedition, he received the honor of K.C.B., as well as the Legion of Honor from the President of the French Republic, being at the same time gazetted as a Major-General of the British Army. A still later event in his career as a “soldier of the king” led to his being placed in command as Lieut.-General of the Coast Forces that were to advance from the Suez Canal into Palestine. Altogether Sir Charles Dobell’s career has been a splendid one. Hailing as he does from a district in Canada that has provided several military officers of high rank to the forces of the Motherland, his fellow-Canadians cannot but be proud of the record made by one of their own as a soldier and commander. He was married in 1908, to Mrs. (Elsye Bankes) Campbell, daughter of the late Lieut.-Colonel Meyrick Bankes, of London, and widow of Captain F. L. Campbell, R.N. His two brothers, Mr. William Molson Dobell, lumber merchant, and Mr. Alfred Dobell, advocate, as well as his uncle, Mr. William Molson Macpherson, banker, are prominent citizens of the city of Quebec.


Garneau, Sir George, formerly Mayor of Quebec City, and one of the prominent merchants and capitalists of that city, who has been for many years President of the National Battlefields Commission, is a son of the late Hon. Pierre Garneau, Member of the Legislative Council of the Province of Quebec, and several times member of the Provincial Cabinet. On the mother’s side he was a grandson of Mr. Edward Burroughs, the Prothonotary. Sir George is a native of Quebec, having been born on November 19, 1864. He received his earlier education at the Quebec Seminary, afterwards entering as a student the Montreal Polytechnic School, where he graduated as Civil Engineer, in 1884. Four years afterwards he took the degree of Bachelor of Applied Science in Laval University, where for a period he was Titular Professor of Analytical Chemistry. For a time he held the position of assistant engineer on the construction staff of the Quebec and Lake St. John Railway, previous to his being taken in as a partner in his father’s wholesale dry goods establishment. Aside from his business pursuits, he identified himself with civic affairs, and on being elected alderman, he was chosen as Mayor in 1906, and at the close of his term was unanimously re-elected for a second term of two years. It was while he was Mayor that he became Chairman of the National Battlefields Commission, in 1908. During that year there occurred the Tercentennial Celebration of the founding of Quebec. In association with Earl Grey, he was prominently identified with the supervision of the preliminaries to that Celebration, and has since deeply interested himself, with his associate Commissioners, in the laying out of the Battlefields Park, which is still in course of completion as one of the most striking of Canada’s historic landmarks. His zeal as an overseer of that enterprise and the interest he took in the events of the Celebration, graced, as it was, by the presence of the Prince of Wales, now King George V, and other notables of Canada and the Motherland, was signalized by the honor of knighthood at the hands of King Edward VII, an honor subsequently supplemented by the President of the French Republic, in the bestowal of the Legion of Honor. On the creation of the Quebec Public Utilities Commission, in 1910, he was appointed member of the same and acting President, the appointment being extended for a period of ten years. His career has been marked by the holding of many other high positions connected with the progress of his native city. For a time he was a Director of the Railway Company, under which he had been in his earlier years a civil engineer. He has been Director of the Prudential Trust Company, a Director of the Quebec Steamship Company, a member of the Advisory Board of the Richelieu and Ontario Navigation Company, a Director of the Quebec Land Company, and a Governor of Laval University. His brother, the Hon. E. B. Garneau, was appointed to the Legislative Council on the death of his father. Since the demise of both of them, Sir George has continued to be President of the firm of “Garneau Limited.” He was married in 1892, to Miss Alma Benoit, daughter of Alphonse Benoit, for many years Secretary of the Department of Militia and Defence of Canada. His family consists of five sons and three daughters. In these later years Sir George has taken a deep interest in the Entente Conferences for the promotion of unity between the two distinctive races of Canada; and during the Toronto Conference, he was received at a special Convocation of the University of Toronto, and had the honor of LL.D. conferred upon him. The ancestors of the Garneau family came originally from France in 1663; and the subject of this sketch as a French-Canadian, using the French and English languages with equal facility, has never failed to acknowledge himself as an all-Canadian, devoted to the cause of a common Canadianism, under the aegis of the British Empire. He also served in the Canadian Militia, from which he retired with the rank of Captain of Field Artillery in 1894.


Cox, Herbert Coplin (Toronto, Ont.), son of the late Hon. George A. Cox, Senator, and Margaret (Hopkins) Cox, was born at Peterborough, Ont., on June 29, 1873, and received his education at Jarvis Street Collegiate Institute and Victoria University, Toronto. Mr. Cox was trained to business life and in an extensive experience under his father early developed aptitude and ability as a financier. In July, 1895, he married Louise Bogart Brown, daughter of Charles Brown, Toronto. On completing his education Mr. Cox entered the service of the Canada Life Assurance Company and rapidly rose to the management of the company’s largest branch. He entered into partnership with his father under the firm name of George A. & H. C. Cox, in the management of the Eastern Ontario and Michigan branches of the company in July, 1899, and became sole manager of the business of that territory upon his father’s appointment to the presidency. In October, 1912, he was invited to accept the presidency of the Imperial Life Assurance Company, where he obtained an invaluable experience in executive work. He retired from this position in August, 1914, to become President of the Canada Life Assurance Company on the death of his brother, E. W. Cox. He also assumed the responsibility of various other offices and directorates held by his late brother. While, however, his career as an insurance man and financier has been such as very few men of his age have attained, that represents but one side of a character remarkable for activity and public spirit, as well as ability. In movements toward the betterment of conditions in the life insurance business Mr. Cox has naturally taken a keen interest, but his pursuits outside of business, especially in the field of social betterment, are varied and important. He took a deep and active interest in the erection of Toronto’s General Hospital, serving upon several committees in this connection. He is a director of the Toronto Conservatory of Music and is a member of the Music Committee of the Metropolitan Church, of which he is also a trustee. He is likewise chairman of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and Honorary Colonel of the Mississauga Horse. Mr. Cox is President and General Manager of the Canada Life Assurance Company, President of the Imperial Guarantee and Accident Company, President of the Toronto Savings and Loan Company, President of the Provident Investment Company, Vice-President of the Central Canada Loan and Savings Company, Director of the Dominion Securities Corporation, Director of the National Trust Company, Director of the Canadian General Electric Company, Director of the British American Assurance Company, Director of the Western Assurance Company, Director of the Dunlop Tire and Rubber Company, and Director of the Robert Simpson Company. He is a member of the following clubs: Toronto, York, Toronto Hunt, Toronto Golf, Mississauga Golf, Royal Canadian Yacht, National, Ontario, Arts and Letters. In religion Mr. Cox is a Methodist.


Carew, John, M.L.A. (Lindsay, Ont.), born Jan. 5, 1862, at Emily Township, County of Victoria, son of John Carew and Jane Wilson, both Irish. He was educated at Lindsay Public School. Married, Feb. 11, 1885, to Margaret, daughter of Francis and Margaret Kelly, of Red Rock, Verulam Township, County of Victoria, and is father of the following children: Hazel May, Lieut.-Col. Francis John Carew, Annie, Ethel, Gertrude J., Charles Lawrence, Arthur W. and Roberta Grace. Mr. Carew has been successfully engaged in the lumber business at Lindsay for about thirty years and is a large employer of labor. He is President and General Manager of The John Carew Lumber Company, Limited; Vice-President of Horn Bros. Woollen Mills; Vice-President Hodgson Bros. Chemical Co.; Vice-President The Halton Brick Co.; Vice-President The Canada Sand Lime Brick Co. Was elected a member of the Ontario Legislature at the general elections in 1914 as the Conservative representative for South Victoria. Mr. Carew is a Presbyterian in religion, a member of the Masonic Order, and of the Independent Order of Oddfellows. He is a Governor of the Ross Memorial Hospital at Lindsay, a member of the Board of Education of the town, and President of the Lindsay Central Exhibition. Mr. Carew is an enthusiastic member of the Lindsay Curling Club. He is recognized as one of the country’s most public spirited and progressive citizens.


Casgrain, Philippe Baby (Quebec City), lawyer, parliamentarian and author, is of an old and distinguished family, which includes in its record besides himself, the late Abbé P. H. Casgrain, of literary fame; the Hon. Senator Charles E. C. Casgrain, M.D.; the Hon. Thomas Chase Casgrain, the distinguished lawyer and Minister of the Crown, and the Hon. Senator J. P. B. Casgrain. The subject of this sketch was born in the city of Quebec, on the 30th December, 1826. He is the son of Mr. C. E. C. Casgrain, who was at one time the Deputy Commissioner of Public Works. His mother’s maiden name was Miss Anne Baby, a daughter of the Hon. James Baby, Cabinet Minister. He had his earlier education at St. Anne’s College. In 1850 he was called to the Bar, and was given his K.C. in his thirty-third year, after being associated as a law-partner with the Hon. Mr. Cauveau, the Solicitor-General of his time. After this he was given a position as assistant in the Prothonotary’s Office, and was later on chosen Clerk of the Circuit Court. Subsequently he was elected a member of the House of Commons for the constituency of L’Islet, which he continued to represent from term to term for nearly twenty years. It was not until 1891 he was defeated by Mr. Georges Desjardins. During his parliamentary days he was ever diligent in assuming his share of committee work, having taken a prominent part in the Royal Commission appointed to investigate the administration of public affairs in the constituency of Rimouski. Two years after his defeat in L’Islet, he was given the presidency of a second Royal Commission to enquire into the affairs of the Montreal and Sorel Railway. During his long term of office in the Court House, he gained a prominence as a writer and investigator of the traditions that fringed the historical atmosphere of his native city. He was elected for a term of two years President of the Literary and Historical Society in 1898, and seven years afterwards he was chosen for the same position a second time. He also was a member of the Navy League, and took an active part in securing the Plains of Abraham as a federal asset, thus preparing the way for its becoming a permanent acquisition of the National Battlefields Parks Commission. In 1907 he was elected Vice-President of the Canadian Landmarks Association, and was later awarded a diploma from the Royal Society of Canada for his zeal in archæological research. The Transactions of the Royal Society and of the Literary and Historical Society bear testimony to his industry in preparing historical and antiquarian matter for publication, which otherwise might have been lost. For instance, he successfully located the site of the fountain from which the founder of the colony, Samuel de Champlain, had water drawn to supply his habitation, as well as the site of the house in which General Montcalm lived during his sojourn in Quebec, and the house in which he died; the site of the place of abode of Abraham Martin, whose name is perpetuated in the name of the historic battlefield; the site of Dumont’s Mill, near the baylet curvature of the St. Lawrence known as Wolfe’s Cove; the location of Claire Fontaine, that gave its name to the street which, as an elevated pathway on the brow of Perrault’s Hill, saw the marshalling of Montcalm’s troops in three divisions; besides the locations of many other historical landmarks in the Ancient Capital. Learned in the law, he was held in high respect as an official of the Palais de Justice. His long tenure of office in Parliament and out of it has always been characterized by integrity of purpose in dealing with public matters.


Gibson, Theron (Toronto, Ont.), Valuator and Financial Agent, began his career as an accountant with John Hogg, dry goods merchant, Guelph, Ont., in 1875, after an early education in the Public Schools and British American Business College. He was successively, Treasurer of the Guelph Lumber Company, 1878-1880; Office Manager, John Hogg & Son, Guelph, 1880-1885; Financial Manager, A. R. McMaster & Bro., Toronto, 1885-1886; Accountant, Freehold Loan & Savings Co., Toronto, 1886-1887; Inspector of the same, 1887-1898; and Inspector, Canada Permanent & Western Canada Mortgage Corporation, 1898-1903. Since when he has been engaged in business on his own account valuing real estate for investors, conducting arbitrations, managing estates, in addition to negotiating investments and fire insurance. He is interested in State Consolidated Oil Co., and a director both of Wm. Cane & Sons Co., Newmarket, and of Fire Insurance Exchange Corporation, Toronto. Mr. Gibson has always taken a prominent part in church and benevolent work. For some years he was President of the Guelph Y.M.C.A. and Treasurer and Member of the Board of the Toronto Y.M.C.A. For thirteen years he has been Superintendent of Central Presbyterian Sunday School, and for seven years Treasurer of the Ontario Branch of the Dominion Alliance. Since 1905 he has been a member of the Executive of the Provincial Sunday School Association, and is to-day Vice-Chairman of that body, as also a member of the Executive Committee and Board of Trustees of the International Sunday School Association, and Secretary of that board and life member of the Association; Treasurer and Member of the Executive Committee, Presbyterian Sunday School Association; Vice-President of the Toronto Sunday School Association, and director of the Upper Canada Bible Society. He has been an elder in the Presbyterian Church since 1883. Mr. Gibson was born in Huron County, Ont., February 19, 1852, the son of David and Sarah Jane Gibson, and married Mary Jean, daughter of the late John Stephen Holmwood, Flamboro W., Ont., September 11, 1877. He has five children, David Holmwood, Norman Rothwell, William Ernest, Douglas and Jessie Winnifred.


Murphy, Hon. Charles, B.A. The son of James Murphy of Birr, King’s County, Ireland, and Mary Conway, of Limerick, was born in Ottawa, December 8, 1863. He was educated in the Separate Schools, the Collegiate Institute and Ottawa University (B.A.), and Osgoode Hall, Toronto. He is a Barrister-at-law and has been for several years honorary solicitor for the Christian Aid Society. In September, 1908, upon the retirement from the Cabinet of Hon. R. W. Scott, Secretary of State, Mr. Murphy was chosen to succeed him and was sworn in on October 10. This office he held until the resignation of Sir Wilfrid Laurier’s Cabinet, October 6, 1911. He was nominated by the Liberals of Russell County as their candidate for the House of Commons, and at the general election of 1908 was elected by a large majority. He was re-elected at the general election of 1911. He is recognized throughout Canada as one of the most persistent advocates of Home Rule for Ireland, and his efforts and eloquence have ever been prominently evident in that cause. He is a member of the Laurentian, University and Rivermead Golf Clubs, Ottawa, and the Ontario Club, Toronto. He is a Roman Catholic, a Liberal in politics, and resides at 174 Maclaren Street, Ottawa. His father, the late James Murphy, was a well-known contractor and built, among other important public works, the Pembina branch of the Canadian Pacific Railway.


Cole, Wilmot Howard, ex-M.L.A., Colonel (Brockville, Ont.), was born at Brockville, February 16, 1834. The patronymic Cole is of very ancient Saxon origin: It appears in the “Domesday Book.” The public records show that in the year 1640, Sir John Cole, of Shenley, in Hertfordshire, England, was a landed proprietor. His son, Adam, married and had issue a son, Cornelius. This Cornelius Cole emigrated to America in the year 1708; in 1711 he became a justice of Albany County comprised within the limits of what was called “Livingston Manor.” His land was next to that of W. T. Livingston, and extended from the Manor House road to Jansens’s Kill, or creek, and was one of the finest farms in the Manor. He had three sons, named Nicholas, John and Adam. On the breaking out of the rebellion, Cornelius Cole and his sons, John and Adam, espoused the cause of England, and the sons joined the Royalist forces. As the war proceeded the feeling ran so high against the “Tories,” as the Royalists were called, and Cornelius Cole, although an old man, was seized and imprisoned, where he died a victim of fidelity to Motherland. His property was confiscated, and his sons forced to seek a home in the wilds of Canada. In 1773 John and Adam Cole with his wife and her two brothers, Jonathan, Jr., and Abel Fulford, left with other United Empire Loyalists for Canada, and passing up the St. Lawrence, they landed and settled in the County of Leeds, in that part now called the Township of Elizabethtown, at a point on the River St. Lawrence about five miles west of the present town of Brockville, which place is still called “Cole’s Ferry.” Here Adam Cole settled, being, as he was frequently heard to say, the first person to begin a settlement in the Township of Elizabethtown. Some years after the close of the war, Peter, a son of John Cole, returned to his grandfather’s old home in Ulster County, to ascertain whether he could recover some of the family estate, which had been confiscated, but failed, as the authorities had granted the property to other persons. Adam Cole’s wife was Thankful Fulford, also descended from Loyalist stock. Her father, Jonathan Fulford, sen., with the rest of his family came in 1784, and settled in the same neighborhood, and left numerous descendants. Adam Cole’s family, in 1812, consisted of nine sons and seven daughters, besides four who died in infancy. Five of the sons served in the War of 1812, the eldest, Peter, having assisted in the capture of Ogdensburg, and subsequently held the rank of captain. The house of Adam Cole was the general headquarters of the military, when they were in that section of country, or when moving between Montreal and Kingston. It is related of Peter Cole, the eldest son, that in the year 1810, the mail carrier was taken sick at his father’s house, and Peter took the mail to Kingston, where he received that from Toronto and carried it back to Montreal. At Montreal he took charge of the mail for the west, which had been accumulating for a month and weighed upwards of sixty pounds, and carried it to Kingston. He accomplished the whole trip, going and coming, of 430 miles on foot, in fourteen days, and this was in March, when the trail most of the way was through the forest and very difficult. He received for this service, from the Government the sum of fifteen dollars. Abel Cole, who was the youngest son of Adam Cole, died December 9, 1893, aged 88 years. His wife, Catherine Seaman, a grand-daughter of Caleb Seaman, died Nov. 2, 1893, aged 83 years, being one of the sons of Caleb Seaman who was with Lord Cornwallis at York Town. Wilmot Howard Cole, second son of Abel Cole, was educated at Brockville. He commenced mercantile business in 1855, and continued in the same until 1882. The old spirit of loyalty which he inherited, prompted him upon the organization of the Volunteer Militia of Canada in 1855, to become a member of the old “Brockville Rifle Company,” commanded by Major Smythe (later of the 100th Regiment, British Army). The late Col. James Crawford, William Fitzsimmons (a former postmaster of Brockville), the late Samuel Ross, William Morris, Thomas Camm and other business men of Brockville, shouldered their muskets and learned the drill at the same time. Wilmot Howard Cole filled every position in rank from private to colonel of battalion. In December, 1864, he went with the Brockville Rifle Company, as lieutenant, to Amherstburg, in the County of Essex, remaining there on duty until the following May. In November, 1865, the fear of a Fenian Raid was so strong in the vicinity of the River St. Lawrence, that the officers of the Brockville Rifle Company (who were at the time, the late Col. Crawford in command, Lieut. Cole, Lieut. Robert Bowie, and the late Lieut. Windeat), offered their services without pay, and to increase their company to 100 men to do duty for the protection of Brockville and vicinity, by drilling the men and mounting a heavy guard every night, with sentries posted in different parts of the town, the men only being paid twenty-five cents per day. The offer was accepted by the government and that duty performed until the ensuing March, when a large portion of the volunteer force were called out, and a provisional battalion formed at Brockville, under command of Col. Crawford, Lieut. Cole assuming command of the Brockville Rifle Company, with which he remained on duty until the next November, part of the time at Brockville and part at Cornwall. Again in 1870, as major of the 41st battalion, he was on duty at Cornwall during the Fenian excitement. On June 28, 1871, he was appointed to the command of the 41st battalion; on June 28, 1898, he resigned, having held the command for 27 years, and was a member of the active force for 43 years. In 1913 the Militia Department honored him with the full rank of Colonel. Col. Cole occupied various positions of trust and importance in the gift of his fellow-citizens. He was a member of the Town Council of Brockville for fourteen years; a director for many years, and president of the Johnstown Mutual Fire Insurance Company; a member of the Independent Order of Oddfellows for many years, filling various offices in the local lodge and also in the Grand lodge and Grand Encampment. He was chosen by his brethren to fill the position of Grand Master the year the Sovereign Grand Lodge met in Toronto, in September, 1880, who were entertained by their Ontario brethren. He always took an active part in everything that would advance the interests of his native town. In connection with the late Allan Turner, he worked for many years to obtain a system of waterworks for Brockville, and in 1881 they organized a company, consisting of Allan Turner, John McMullen, Thomas Gilmour, George A. Dana, and Wilmot H. Cole, to construct waterworks; and as a result of the efforts of these gentlemen, Brockville has now a most excellent system of water supply for all purposes. Colonel Cole was elected a member of the Legislature of the Province of Ontario for the Brockville riding, in the Liberal interest, at the general elections in 1875, and was a warm supporter of the Mowat Government. He received the appointment of Registrar for the County of Leeds in February, 1882. He was president of the Brockville Loan and Savings Company. Col. Cole was a member of the Methodist Church, and for over fifty years a trustee of the Wall Street Church in Brockville, and was looked upon by his fellow church members as ready to assist in carrying forward all enterprises for the benefit of the church. Col. Cole married Jane Adelaide, youngest daughter of the late Abram Philips, of New York. Their family consisted of four children, two sons and two daughters. The sons, following the traditions of the family, entered the volunteer force very early. The elder, Eugene Maurice Cole, was bugler in the Brockville Rifle Company in 1866, and did duty with that company whenever on service; he subsequently became lieutenant, after which he resigned, having removed from Brockville. The youngest son, Capt. George Marshall Cole, was captain of No. 4 company, 41st battalion. The latest enterprise which Col. Cole had been connected with and will eventually benefit his native town more than all the others, was the Brockville, Westport and Sault Ste. Marie Railway. The idea of a railway from Brockville to Westport had been entertained, and a charter was procured, but nothing further was done, and after a time the charter expired. Subsequently, Eugene M. Cole, who was in business in New York City, and enjoyed commercial relations with gentlemen interested in building railways and other public works, conceived the idea that a line of railway from Brockville to Sault Ste. Marie would prove an advantageous route in many ways, and at the same time benefit his native town. After much labor in gathering statistical information, he laid the whole matter before his father, who had it brought before the leading men of the County of Leeds, and the proposition made that if the municipalities would bear the expense of preliminary survey and obtain the charter, and grant aid by way of bonus to the extent of $125,000, Eugene M. Cole would work up the scheme and obtain the capital and contractors to build at least the first section of the road to Westport. This was agreed to, the last bonus by-law being passed on July 15, 1885, and work on the construction of the railway commenced on January 13, 1886. Although ably assisted by many persons in the County of Leeds in connection with the enterprise, the credit of the inception of the scheme, and the labor in working it up materially and financially, belong to Eugene M. Cole. Colonel Cole died December 13, 1915, in his eighty-second year, being pre-deceased by his wife by about two months.


Scott, James Guthrie, the prominent railway manager of Quebec City, was born in that city on February 13, 1847, the son of Hugh Erskine Scott. His mother’s maiden name was Margaret Chillas. The family of the Scotts has filled an important place in the community since the days of Mr. Scott’s grandfather, who came from Scotland. Mr. Henry S. Scott, hardware merchant, was his uncle, and Mr. William C. Scott and Mr. Charles Scott, his brothers, all of whom took an active interest in the progress of the city, as has their distinguished relative. The latter received his early education at the Quebec High School. In his seventeenth year he had his first start in business in the offices of the Montmorency Lumber Mills, where he eventually became head of one of the departments. In 1879, he entered the service of the Quebec and Lake St. John Railway, becoming, in time, its general manager and assuming the onerous task of having that line completed as far as Chicoutimi and extended, under the name of the Great Northern, to Hawkesbury, Ont., across the Ottawa, a distance in all of five hundred miles. But for Mr. Scott’s supervisory tact and engineering skill, Quebec would hardly have become the important railway terminal that it now is, not only of the Canadian Northern System, but of the National Transcontinental. During the earlier operations of the Quebec and Lake St. John Railway, Mr. Scott and his Board of Directors organized a system of assisted colonization that peopled the parishes all along their line, as many as from ten to twelve thousand families being induced to take up homesteads in the districts opened up for settlement. For twenty-five years Mr. Scott was facile princeps in these beneficent operations; and it was only when the Canadian Northern Railway Company took over the properties supervised by him in 1908, that he decided to retire from office to take up other work involving the commercial advancement of his native city. In 1916 he was elected President of the Quebec Board of Trade, after many years of active service as one of its members, and is also President of the British Columbia Skeena Coal Company. For many years he has been a member of the Quebec Geographical Society and other associations; and his contemporaries can look back with satisfaction at the civic progress he awakened as a railway projector and business man, and the manufacturing centres he succeeded in locating from the time he undertook to complete the Lake St. John Railway. In June, 1908, upon his retirement from the management of the railway, he was given a banquet by the citizens of Quebec at the Chateau Frontenac, in recognition of the enterprising and successful work he had done while completing extensions north and west from the city, and at the same time was presented with testimonials of value. And in addition to the story of his life as a railway manager and projector, Mr. Scott has to his credit twelve years’ service in the Militia, having been called out to frustrate the advance of the enemy in certain border raids near Windsor, Ontario, in 1865, as well as to protect Canada from the Fenian Raids, during the four years succeeding that date. In 1873 he married Miss Sophy Mary Jackson; and in 1901 was married, for a second time, to Miss Cordelia Mary Jackson, daughter of Dr. Alfred Jackson, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Laval University. By his first marriage he has had two sons and a daughter, and by his second, one son and one daughter.


Bender, Prosper, M.D., and Litterateur (Quebec City), was born in Quebec on July 30, 1844. He was the son of L. P. Bender, Advocate, his mother’s maiden name having been Miss Jane McMillan. His school education began at the Quebec Seminary and was continued at Laval University, where he went through a successful course in belles lettres and collateral studies. Thereafter he entered McGill University, where in 1864 he took his degree of M.D. On the following year he entered upon his career as a medical man in his native city, where, in 1868, he married Miss Amelia Scott, daughter of A. S. Scott. At the time of his graduation, the Civil War between the Northern and Southern States of the American Republic was nearing its climax, and in the excitement of events an opportunity offered itself to the young student to mature his skill in surgery and the healing art on the battlefield. He was given employment in the army in North Virginia, which was then under the command of General Ulysses Grant. As an assistant surgeon he remained with that army up to the time of General Lee’s surrender, his faithfulness and skill bringing him to the notice of his medical associates and eventually to the notice of the General in person. After the war, Dr. Bender proceeded to New York to gain further professional experience in the hospitals, before entering upon the first period of his residence in Quebec as a medical practitioner. During that period he came into touch with several of the rising public men of the town, who made a kind of literary rendezvous of his residence, much as years afterwards the Circle de Dix used to hold their seances out at Spencer Wood, under the hospital auspices of Sir Adolphe Chapleau. The social gatherings at Dr. Bender’s had no doubt the effect of turning the attention of the successful physician to literary work, leading him to publish two volumes, respectfully titled, “Literary Sheaves,” and “Old and New Canada.” In 1884 he removed to Boston, where he practised as a homeopathist, and won a reputation among the literary men of that city, as a contributor to the magazines and reviews. Within the last ten years preceding his death in 1917, he had his residence again in Quebec. During these years he published in amplified form a series of sketches about the friends of his earlier comradeship. These sketches embodied the characteristics of the brilliant literary guests who had once met round his table, and were read with the greatest of interest by the public as they appeared from time to time, as an illustration of the author’s geniality of spirit and literary acumen. Altogether, Dr. Prosper Bender’s professional and literary career stood as a blend of duly recognized medical skill and critical literary insight, holding always the confidence of his patients and being widely esteemed for his bonhomie and intellectuality as a writer of books worth reading.


Girard, Joseph (St. Gideon, Que.), son of Patrice Girard and Marie Tremblay, his wife, both French-Canadians. Born at St. Urbain, County of Charlevoix, Aug. 2, 1854. Educated at the Seminary of Quebec. Came to Lake of St. John in 1880 as a settler, cleared his land and lived on it all the time, and has been one of the most progressive and influential farmers of the district. Was President of the Dairy Society of Quebec Province and President of the School Commission. On April 5, 1875, Mr. Girard was married to Emma Cote, daughter of Vitol and Ursule Cote, and is the father of the following children: Meridee, Philippe, Tanevide and Marie Louise. First elected to the Quebec Legislative Assembly for Lake St. John District at the general elections of 1892 and re-elected in those of 1897. In 1900 he was elected to the House of Commons at the general elections, for Chicoutimi and Saguenay, which includes the local riding of Lake St. John; he was re-elected for the House of Commons in the general elections of 1904, 1908 and 1911. Mr. Girard is a member of the following societies: Dairy Society of Quebec, Agricultural Society of Lake St. John and Farmers’ Club of St. Gideon; he is also a member of the Automobile Club of Chicoutimi. In religion Mr. Girard is a Roman Catholic and in politics is an Independent Conservative.


Dawson, Arthur Osborne (Montreal, Que.), was born at New Borden, N.B., March 28, 1864, son of Richard Dawson and Mary Lockhart, his father being a farmer and a grindstone manufacturer. Rev. G. F. Dawson, M.A., St. John, N.B., and W. J. G. Dawson, M.D., Eldridge, Cal., U.S.A., are brothers, and Rev. James Henderson, D.D., pastor of the Timothy Eaton Memorial Church, Toronto, is father-in-law of Mr. Dawson, who was educated at Campbellton, N.B., and Montreal. Married, June 30, Mary A. Le Rossignol, step-daughter of Rev. Dr. Henderson of Toronto, mentioned above. Five children are the fruit of the union, viz., Ruth, Howard, Katharine, Isabel and Olive. Mr. Dawson is a Methodist in religion, a Conservative, a member of the Montreal Club and a Justice of the Peace for the District of Montreal and connected with the following large business enterprises, Vice-President and Managing Director Canadian Cottons, Limited; President Belding, Paul, Corticelli, Limited; Vice-President D. Morrice Co., Limited; President Inter-provincial British Company of Canada, Limited, Toronto; Vice-President Gowland Optical Company, Limited, Montreal. Recreations, fishing, tennis and boating.


Douglas, James (Hepworth, Ontario), son of James Douglas, Roxborough, Scotland, and Isabella Dixon, Lauderdale, Scotland, was born in the township of Brant, Bruce County, in August, 1858. Here he spent his early days, receiving his education in the public schools. For a time he followed farming as an occupation. However, he was inclined towards mercantile pursuits and gave up the farm to become a general merchant at Dobbington, in the township of Elderslie. The lumbering business attracted his attention and he gave up the store for that occupation, which was extensively carried on in those early days in Bruce. In 1902 he moved to the village of Hepworth, where he became Vice-President of the Hepworth Manufacturing Co., and also manager. Here he has resided ever since, successfully conducting the business he is connected with. Beside this he is interested in a number of other enterprises, being a director of the Canada Beds Co., of Chesley, and a shareholder in the Vincent Steel Process Co., of Detroit. He has always had a love for municipal life, and for eight years has served the village of Hepworth as reeve in a most competent manner. As a member of the County Council he has served on most of the prominent committees, but the Educational Committee has always been his favorite. Being a self-educated man, he strove hard for the vast fund of knowledge he has acquired. This has made him a warm friend toward all branches of education, and he is ever ready to forward its best interests. His ripe business judgment has ever been recognized by his colleagues in the County Council. He is a man of genial disposition and well liked by all. He is a member of Burns Lodge, No. 436, A.F. & A.M., Hepworth. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and in politics he is a Liberal. He was twice married, his first wife being Francis Bradley, daughter of John Bradley, of Greenock township.


Cross, Charles Wilson (Edmonton, Alta.), Attorney-General for the Province of Alberta, was born in Madoc, Ont., November 30, 1872, the son of the late Thomas and Marie Cross. He was educated at Upper Canada College, Toronto University and Osgoode Hall, graduating in 1895 as B.A., and the following year as LL.B. He married Annie Louisa, daughter of Frederick and Isabella Lynde, in 1900, by whom he has three children—Thomas, Helen and Margaret. Becoming a barrister in 1898, he has since practised his profession at Edmonton, and is a member of the firm of Short, Cross, Maclean, Ap’John & Laidlaw; his present office as Attorney-General of the province he has held since 1905, sitting as member for Edmonton and Edson in the Legislature. While at college he was a famous lacrosse player and is Vice-President of the Canadian Amateur Athletic Union for Alberta. He was a member of the Ottawa and Quebec Interprovincial Conferences in 1906, is a Liberal in politics and a Presbyterian in religion.


HON. ARTHUR L. SIFTON
Ottawa


Pardee, Frederick Forsyth, K.C., M.P. (Sarnia, Ont.), son of the late Hon. Timothy Blair Pardee and Emma K. Pardee, née Forsyth, was born at Sarnia, Ontario, on December 29, 1867, and was educated at the Sarnia School and at Upper Canada College. He subsequently entered the study of Law and graduated at Osgoode Hall, being called to the Bar in 1890. He was created a King’s Counsel in 1908, and became head of the law firm of Pardee, Burnham & Gurd. In his student days and in the earlier years of his professional career he took a keen interest in various athletics and was a cricket player of note. He married, on December 31, 1892, Mary E. Johnston, daughter of Hugh Johnston, and to them was born one daughter, Pauline L. Early in life Mr. Pardee began to interest himself in public problems and public affairs, and in 1898, when but 31 years of age, he was chosen as Liberal candidate for the provincial riding of West Lambton, being elected to the Legislature of Ontario the same year. He sat in the Provincial House until 1902, when he was defeated by Hon. W. J. Hanna, who subsequently became Provincial Secretary in the first cabinet of Sir James Whitney. In the Dominion by-election of November 22, 1905, made necessary by the death of Dr. Johnston, the sitting member, Mr. Pardee was chosen by the electors of West Lambton to represent them in the Dominion House of Commons. He was re-elected at the general elections of 1908 and 1911. In November, 1909, on the nomination of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, then Prime Minister of Canada, he was unanimously chosen as Chief Government Whip, and still retains the important position of Chief Liberal Whip to the present time (1917). In the Dominion Parliament, as well as throughout the country, Mr. Pardee’s public work soon won him a position of usefulness and responsibility. He is a forceful and effective public speaker, and few public men are so universally popular and so highly esteemed. During his parliamentary career he has presided over, and served upon, many of the most important legislative committees of the House of Commons and Senate. In 1910 he was chosen by Sir Wilfrid Laurier to accompany him on his memorable tour through the Canadian West, making the first visit with the then Prime Minister to the new Pacific port of Prince Rupert. When, in 1911, the Administration of Sir Wilfrid Laurier was defeated at the polls upon the issue of reciprocal trade in natural products with the United States, and the Liberal party passed into Opposition, Mr. Pardee continued as Chief Whip and had a large share in the arduous parliamentary and organization work which ensued. Following the outbreak of the great war it was he who defined in Parliament, amid hearty approval from both sides of the House, the patriotic obligations which devolved upon Government and Opposition. He devoted his time and energy, both in the House and out of it, to patriotic endeavor, addressing recruiting rallies and contributing to the various national efforts of service and sacrifice. He moved in Parliament for the appointment of a special committee to consider national steps to recompense and aid returning wounded and maimed soldiers and was named by the House as a member of that committee. In 1918 he resigned the post of Liberal Whip and supported Sir Robert Borden on the question of Conscription, but declined a portfolio in the Union Government. In the general elections of that year he was again re-elected for West Lambton by a handsome majority. Mr. Pardee is strongly democratic in spirit, and during the parliamentary session of 1913-14, made a vigorous plea to the House against the indiscriminate bestowal of titles in Canada, and issued a warning against the danger of creating a pseudo-aristocracy in this young Dominion. In religion he is an Anglican and is a member of St. George’s Church, Sarnia.


Hinds, Leonard D’Arcy Bernard, Judgment Clerk of the Supreme Court of Judicature for Ontario, born Oct. 19, 1868, at Barrie, Ontario. Educated at Barrie Collegiate Institute, St. Michael’s College, Toronto, and Osgoode Hall Law School, of Toronto. Past President of the Toronto Liberal-Conservative Club. Secretary of the Toronto Branch of the United Irish League. Appointed to present office by the Whitney Government in 1905. Son of the late Bernard Hinds of Barrie, a native of Omagh, County of Tyrone, Ireland (whose father, Bernard Hinds, Irish “Aidhne,” pronounced Aion, anglicized the name to Hinds, and settled with a large family in Vespra Township, Simcoe County, in the year 1842), and Anna Leonard, formerly a teacher in the French settlement public school at Penetanguishene. Married Pauline Matson, the daughter of R. H. Matson, founder of the National Life Insurance Co. of Canada. Holds commission as Captain and Paymaster in the 110th Irish Regiment, Toronto, which Regiment he was authorized to establish in 1914, by Sir Sam Hughes, then Minister of Militia. Captain Hinds largely helped to establish the 208th Canadian Irish Bn. C.E.F., in which he was also appointed Paymaster with the rank of Captain. He was forced to withdraw from the 208th, on account of an injury which he received at Camp Borden. He has one son, Paul I. Bernard, who is on active service as an officer in the British Expeditionary Force. Captain Hinds is an ardent student of Gaelic Literature, Language and Art, and possesses one of the best Erse Libraries in Canada. He is a Catholic in religion. Address: Osgoode Hall, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.


Clute, Arthur Roger (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Belleville, Ont., on August 24, 1874. He attended the Belleville Collegiate Institute, from which he matriculated with honors in 1892, and thereupon entered the University of Toronto, from which he graduated as Bachelor of Arts in 1896, with first-class honors, in the Department of Political Science and History, having been awarded during his course one of the Alexander Mackenzie Scholarships in that department. In 1901 he received from his Alma Mater the Degree of LL.B. He was articled as a student at law to his father, the Honorable Justice Clute, in 1896; and studied law at the Law School at Osgoode Hall, Toronto, where he obtained first-class honors and was awarded a scholarship in each year of his course, together with medal upon his call to the Ontario Bar in June, 1899. Since that time Mr. Clute has practised his profession in the city of Toronto, and has acted for several years as examiner at the University of Toronto, and at the Law School, and is now also a Lecturer at the University of Toronto. In politics he is a Liberal.


Goodeve, Hon. Arthur Samuel (Ottawa), Dominion Railway Commissioner, English and Canadian origin, son of Arthur Henry and Caroline Goodeve, born at Guelph, Ont., Dec. 15, 1860, where he received his education at the Public Schools and Collegiate Institute. A graduate of the Ontario College of Pharmacy. Mayor of Rossland, B.C., 1889-1900. Appointed Provincial Secretary in the first Conservative Government in British Columbia, June, 1903, the McBride Administration; resigned portfolio, returned for Kootenay District, in the House of Commons, general elections 1908, appointed a member of Timber and Forestry Commission, B.C., 1909-10, a Conservative Whip, House of Commons, 1910; resigned seat on being appointed a Dominion Railway Commissioner. Married, April, 1884, Ellen Elizabeth Spence, daughter of James Spence, Toronto; father of four boys and two girls. Member of following clubs: Rideau, Ottawa, and Rossland, B.C.; and the Masonic order, Blue, Chapter and Commandery. A Presbyterian in religion. Before accepting his present office, Hon. Mr. Goodeve was recognized as a formidable campaigner and painstaking representative.


Guilbault, Joseph Pierre Octave, B.A., LL.D. (Joliette), Notary, was born Sept. 3, 1870, at St. Paul de Joliette, Province of Quebec, son of Joseph Guilbault and Adelaide Renaud, French-Canadians; educated at L’Assomption College, P.Q., and Laval University, Montreal. Married, Sept. 20, 1898, Clementine, daughter of Urgel Richard, of St. Jacques de L’Achigan, has one son, Fernand, and one daughter, Germaine. For ten years Secretary-Treasurer of Commissioners for Schools in Joliette, where he practices his profession of a Notary. Elected to the House of Commons for the constituency of Joliette in 1911. A Liberal-Conservative in politics. Mr. Guilbault has not been defeated—sickness prevented him from being a candidate in the election of 1917. In religion Mr. Guilbault is a Roman Catholic.


Bronson, Henry Franklin (Ottawa, Ont.), the one man, it has been said, who understood the feasibility of converting the large lakes and furious foaming falls of the Ottawa River into a channel for the driving of saw-logs, was born in the town of Moreau, Saratoga County, New York State, on February 24, 1817. His parents were Alvah Bronson and Sarah Tinker. Mr. Bronson is of mixed Scottish and Welsh descent, and the family, which is now scattered through most of the Northern States, at an early period settled in New England. Members of this enterprising and clever family were the Hon. Greene C. Bronson, of the New York bench, and the Rev. Asa Bronson, who was for many years pastor of the First Baptist Church, at Fall River, Massachusetts. The first of the family to find his way to Canada was the subject of our sketch, and shortly after he came here he led off in the lumber business. H. F. Bronson spent his youthful days at Queensbury, Warren County, New York, in the family of the late J. J. Harris, and he concluded his education at the Poultney Academy, of Vermont. “Young Bronson,” says a reliable authority, “became an apt scholar in agricultural sciences, but soon showed a preference for woodland foraging, pre-destined, as he was, to become a great marauder of pine forests.” In 1840, Mr. Harris, already alluded to, purchased extensive pine tracts, erecting mills on one of the upper Hudson lakes. He formed a partnership with his young and trusted friend, Mr. Bronson, “whose assets consisted of a sound constitution, a resolute will, unbending integrity, skill with the hand, and a mind to work.” The partnership continued for twenty-two years, and during the last ten years of the association, the greater portion of the business responsibility fell upon our subject, owing to the failure of Mr. Harris’ health. It soon became plain that the pine was rapidly disappearing from the upper Hudson; therefore, in 1848, Mr. Bronson passed over to Canada, proceeding along the Ottawa Valley till the thunder of the Chaudiere Falls burst upon his ears. At once he was satisfied that here was an excellent place to begin lumber operations; for the timber seemed inexhaustible, and the water power magnificent. He returned home, but in 1852 he persuaded Mr. Harris to accompany him to the Ottawa Valley. When they reached again the region of kingly pines and booming waterfalls, they were everywhere met with testimony from river experts, saying that the Ottawa was not suitable for the safe driving of saw logs, but Mr. Bronson recommended to his partner the purchase of hydraulic lots at the Chaudiere Falls, then held by the Crown. At the sale of the lots, made by Mr. Horace Merrill, general superintendent of the Ottawa River works, a purchase was made, and here, under the personal supervision of Mr. Bronson, their mills were built within sound of the thunder of the falls. The mills having been erected, Mr. Bronson removed his family to Ottawa, and there they were established permanently. The relation of Mr. Bronson to the sawn lumber trade of the Dominion of Canada will be better understood when it is learned that his was the first movement in the Ottawa District for the manufacture of sawn lumber for the United States market. The original mill embodied all the modern improvements of the times, including iron gates of novel model, a contrivance planned by Mr. Bronson himself, and afterwards used in most of the gang saw mills on the Ottawa River. Several other gentlemen, stimulated by the enterprise and success of Mr. Bronson and his partner, likewise set out for Ottawa; and, after a time, chiefly owing to the persistency of Mr. Bronson, a series of costly river improvements were constructed, which made the driving of logs upon the Ottawa a matter of greater convenience than upon many a smaller stream, which has no large lakes to act as a reservoir for checking the fury of the spring freshets. In 1864, Mr. Harris retired from the business, Mr. Bronson still continuing the extensive manufacture of sawn lumber, and owing to his splendid abilities as a manager, his operations not alone maintained their ground, but gradually increased. The present firm at Ottawa is known as The Bronson Company. Mr. Bronson married, on November 5, 1840, Editha E. Pierce, of Bolton, N.Y., and had four children. Gertrude, the only daughter, is the wife of Levi Crannell. The sons are Erskine Henry, Frank P., and Walter G. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Bronson, like another great prince of business men, Sir Hugh Allan, did not care for political life, and held himself aloof from parties, but he was connected with several benevolent institutions and business enterprises. In 1889, death called this pioneer Canadian lumberman and high-principled citizen. His private and social relations had won for him everywhere good will and highest regard. Men had learned to esteem the man because of his tested and sterling worth. In the commerce of Canada Mr. Bronson’s name will go down in history as the first lumberman in the Ottawa Valley to manufacture sawn lumber for the American market, and as a pioneer in the development of the resources of that section of Canada to the point where its principal city was deemed worthy of being named as the Capital City of the Dominion. Business courage and keenness of perception were required to accomplish these ends, but in more ways than one Mr. Bronson had shown himself to be a man of practical vision and rare foresight. To men like the late Henry Franklin Bronson, Canada and in particular the business life of the Capital, must ever remain in debt.


Lemieux, Auguste, K.C., F.R.C.I., LL.B. Few barristers in Ottawa are better known or more popular than the subject of this sketch, who occupies offices at No. 30 Rideau Street. Mr. Lemieux was born in Montreal, February 20, 1874. His father, H. A. Lemieux, was Inspector of Customs for the Province of Quebec until 1911. Some of his elder brothers are Hon. Rodolphe Lemieux, K.C., P.C., M.P., ex-Postmaster-General and Minister of Marine and Fisheries in the Laurier Cabinet; Dr. L. J. Lemieux, Sheriff of Montreal, and Chairman of the Board of Censors of the Province of Quebec, and Dr. Gustave Lemieux, M.L.A., for Gaspé, P.Q. Mr. Auguste Lemieux received his education at L’Assomption College and St. Mary’s College (Jesuits), Montreal, graduated from Laval University with honors and was conferred the degree of Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) in 1898. He was called to the Quebec Bar in the same year and to the Ontario Bar four years later. In 1908, at the early age of 34, he was created K.C., and practised, successfully, his profession in Montreal from 1898 until 1902, when he located in Ottawa, and has since established a wide and ever increasing clientele in that city. His brilliant defence saved Laderoute from the gallows in the Bryson murder trial of 1906, and Blondin (charged with murdering Dr. Empey) at L’Orignal, in 1910. He was Councillor of the Ontario Bar Association from 1910 to 1913; President of L’Institut Canadien Français, of Ottawa, 1903 to 1905; President of La Société du Monument National, Ottawa, 1909 to 1910; President of the Belcourt (Liberal) Club for several years; Vice-President of the Ottawa Reform Association, 1904 to 1906; President of Le Club Littéraire Canadien Français, Ottawa, 1911 to 1918. He is a member of the Y.M.C.A., and also a member of the Ontario Club of Toronto. Mr. Lemieux has been frequently mentioned as candidate for Parliament. He is the author of the work on the Quebec Law of Landlord and Tenant and writes frequently for the French and English Press. In April, 1914, the French Government, in recognition of Mr. Lemieux’s proficiency in French literature, conferred on him the decoration of “Officier d’Académie” (Academic Palms), through Monsieur Réné Viviani, then Minister of Public Education of France. He was also elected, in 1913, Fellow of the Royal Colonial Institute of London, England, for life. Mr. Lemieux is an eloquent platform speaker and has frequently rendered services to his party. He married Esther Barbeau, daughter of the late Henry Barbeau, General Manager of the City and District Savings Bank and Assistant Receiver-General, Montreal, in October, 1899, and has one son and two daughters. He resides at 16 Somerset Street West.


Lawlor, H. W. (Hawkesbury, Ont.), was born at Hawkesbury, September 12, 1863, of Irish and American parentage. The son of Richard Lawlor, of Hawkesbury, for many years Coroner of this district, and grandson of William Lawlor, for over forty years manager for Hamilton Bros., and Sarah Hersey, daughter of Z. S. M. Hersey, a New England pioneer, who settled in Hawkesbury shortly after the British-American War of 1812, and who at the time of his death was the town’s most prominent citizen; he was educated in the Provincial Schools and graduated from Osgoode Hall in law in 1890. In 1896, was appointed agent for the Justice Department in his district, and has conducted some important litigation on behalf of the Crown, the most prominent being the Exchequer Court Case of Stewart vs. King, in which the late B. B. Osler made his last public appearance. He has been Police Magistrate of Hawkesbury for over eighteen years and has never had a conviction appealed or quashed. Has been Local Solicitor for the Canadian Northern Railway since the date of its construction; is Town Solicitor and also Solicitor for the several banking institutions. Has never entered Municipal politics, but has sat on the Board of Education; was first President of Hawkesbury Board of Trade. Is a Presbyterian and a Liberal-Unionist.


McNeillie, James Richardson, Clerk and Treasurer, County of Victoria, Lindsay, Ont., was born in the Parish of Johnstone, Dumfries-shire, Scotland, July 18, 1846, and came to Canada with his parents, Rachel Kerr and James Richardson McNeillie, public school teacher, in 1853, who settled in the County of Durham, where he was educated in the Public School. He spent eleven years, from 1861 to 1872, in the village of Omemee, where he was associated in the drug business and in municipal work with Mr. Thomas Matchett, who was the first member of the Legislative Assembly for South Victoria after Confederation. From 1872 to 1875 he was engaged in the business department of the Montreal Telegraph Company at Toronto, but returned to the County of Victoria on the invitation of the Hon. S. C. Wood, to become his assistant in the office of Clerk and Treasurer. When the latter became Provincial Secretary, Mr. McNeillie retained the same position under Mr. Matchett from 1875, until his own appointment as Clerk and Treasurer of the County, in 1900. When the Ross Memorial Hospital was founded by the late James Ross, of Montreal, in 1902, he was appointed a Governor under the Act of Incorporation, and is Secretary-Treasurer of the Trust. He is also a member of the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church, and was Chairman of the Board of Education of the Town of Lindsay for nine years, following on nineteen years’ service as member. Always taking an active interest in movements for the betterment of the criminal and mentally enfeebled classes of the Province, he was President of the Canadian Conference of Charities and Correction for the year 1909. In politics he is a Conservative, and in religion a Presbyterian. He married Esther (deceased), daughter of William Thorton, of Emily, January, 1872; and Loretta, daughter of Ralph Gardiner, of Morpeth, 1882. He has three sons, James Kerr, Ralph Gardiner and George Gardiner, and one daughter, Alice Gardiner. J. K. McNeillie has been successively, Divisional Superintendent of the Canadian Pacific Ry., General Superintendent of the Canadian Government Railways, and now Superintendent of the Susquehanna Division of the Delaware and Hudson Railway. R. G. McNeillie is Assistant General Passenger Agent of the Canadian Pacific Ry. at Winnipeg, Man., and G. G. McNeillie is a member of the Albert Kerr Company, Limited, Toronto.


Chadwick, Edward Marion, K.C. (Toronto, Ont.), was born at Cravendale, Township of Ancaster, Ont., Sept. 22, 1840, and is the third son of the late John Craven Chadwick, Guelph, Ont. He received a thorough scholastic training. The bend of his mind being in the direction of the law, he pursued his studies therefor, and was called to the Bar and associated himself with the late W. H. Beatty, and has been a partner in the firms successively formed by him in which many prominent members of the legal profession have been partners, during a period of more than fifty years, the firms being recognized as among the most important engaged in their profession in Ontario. While perhaps it is unnecessary to say anything here as to Mr. Chadwick’s ability as an author, we cannot refrain from noting the publication of a work entitled “Ontarian Families” (1894), being the genealogies of United Empire Loyalist and other pioneer families of Upper Canada; he has also been a writer for magazines on heraldic subjects, in which he is reputed to be the leading authority on this side of the Atlantic. Mr. Chadwick was for a number of years an officer in the Queen’s Own Rifles, retiring in 1882, with the rank of Major. For the last forty years Mr. Chadwick has been identified with church work, being an indefatigable worker, and he at present holds the important office of Treasurer of St. Alban’s Cathedral.


Hackett, Edward (Orangeville, Ont.), was born at Ballinasloe, County Galway, Ireland, son of the late William and Mary Hackett. He was educated at Ranelagh School, Athlone, and at Santry School, Dublin, graduating from the Royal University in the Irish Capital in 1905, with the degree of B.A., and is recognized as being one of the prominent educationalists of the Province of Ontario. Mr. Hackett came to Canada in 1908, and before leaving Ireland, was Senior Mathematical Master in the Blue Coat School, Dublin, an institution which was established by Charles the Second. He attended the Faculty of Toronto University, and taught mathematics in the Galt Collegiate Institute for the year 1909-10, also at Meaford High School for four years (1911-15), and succeeded as principal the late Alexander Steele, who had been the head of the Orangeville High School for upwards of thirty years, the present staff consisting of five teachers and the splendid standing and prestige of the school being maintained under his principalship. In 1914, Principal Hackett married Winnifred, the daughter of Dr. J. G. Clarke, of Meaford. He is a member of the Canadian Club of Orangeville, and Chairman of the Public Library Board, and is a member of the Masonic, Oddfellows and Orange Orders. He is an adherent of the Church of England, and a Liberal-Conservative in politics. Recognizing the usefulness of the Cadet movement he has taken the course prescribed for instructors and the Orangeville High School Cadets have attained much efficiency under his direction. Principal Hackett is a man in the prime of life, well informed on all matters of national importance, and gives generously of his time and talents in the promotion of the best interests of the community, in which he occupies so important a position. His chief recreation is motoring.


Hunter, Lt.-Col. A. T. (Toronto, Ont.), was born on the 25th of October, 1869, and after having received a thorough primary and elementary education at the public and high schools, he entered the Toronto University where, in 1890, he had the distinction of having the degree of LL.B. conferred upon him. He was duly admitted to the Bar in 1892 and at once embarked in the active practice of his profession, in which, he has been very successful. He maintains a handsome suite of offices at 706 Temple Building, Bay and Richmond Streets, where he enjoys a large and lucrative practice, his services being constantly retained by some of the leading firms and corporations of the city and province. Colonel Hunter is prominently identified with the Masonic craft, and is an active and influential member of the I.O.F., A.O.U.W., and a Past Master of L.O.L. No. 613. As an author Colonel Hunter is well known, and among the works emanating from his pen may be named “Power of Sale Under Mortgage,” “Foreclosure Under Mortgage,” and “Real Property Statutes.” The Colonel, prior to this war, was courageous in pointing out in speeches and contributions to the “Military Gazette,” absurdities in our military organization. Colonel Hunter has devoted some time to politics and was candidate for the riding of West Toronto in the Dominion House, of the McCarthyites in 1896, and of the Liberals in 1904. In 1914, when war was declared by Germany on England and her colonies, Colonel Hunter at once responded to the call to duty, laid aside his business and other connections, and went overseas with the 4th Battalion C.E.F. On April 23, 1915, he was wounded in the battle of St. Julien, but returned to duty in time for the battle of Festubert; after this he was placed on duty in England, and later returned to Canada on leave of absence; while in Canada he acted as Brigade-Major at Camp Borden in 1916. He again returned to England on active service, and in February, 1917, was attached to the Princess Patricias on service in France and was present with them at Vimy Ridge. He returned to Canada in November of same year and has been gazetted Lt.-Colonel of the 12th Regt. York Rangers.


Groves, Abraham, M.D. (Fergus, Ont.), was born in the town of Peterboro’, on Sept. 8, 1847. He is a son of Abraham Groves, and Margaret, daughter of Gideon Gibson, one of the early pioneers of Canada, who served through the war of 1812-15, and fought at Lundy’s Lane. Mr. Groves came to this country with his parents from the County of Wicklow, Ireland, about 1826, and settled in the vicinity of Peterboro’. In 1856 Mr. Groves removed to the County of Wellington, taking up his abode in the Township of Garafraxa, where he pursued the occupation of farmer. During the Mackenzie Rebellion Mr. Groves took part on the Loyalists’ side. The fruit of the marriage was thirteen children, the subject of this sketch being the second eldest of the family. He at first attended the common schools, but afterwards entered the High School at Fergus. Some time after leaving school he resolved to study medicine, and in 1868 entered the Toronto School of Medicine, where he remained until 1871, graduating M.D. in the same year, from the Toronto University. After graduation he at once went to Fergus and entered into partnership with the late Dr. Munro, under the firm name of Munro & Groves, which partnership existed two years. After dissolution Dr. Groves practised by himself until 1874, when he took into partnership Dr. John Wishart, now lecturer at the Western University, at London, Ont., which partnership existed one year, Dr. Wishart then retiring. However, again in 1879, he took into partnership Dr. Thomas Chisholm, the association continuing for a year. In 1882 he again took another partner, Dr. J. F. McMahon, now of Toronto, but this combination too dissolved in 1883, and since that time Dr. Groves has singly conducted one of the largest practices in Fergus. In 1869 he graduated from the old Toronto Military School; in 1882 he was elected to the Village council of Fergus, and was re-elected for the years of 1883 and 1884. He was elected reeve for 1885, but owing to his position of surgeon of the county poor house, he could not retain his seat. Dr. Groves is largely interested in real estate in the village, owning some of the finest buildings there, among which structures may be mentioned the Royal Bank building, constructed of brown stone. He is a member of the Mercer Lodge, A.F. and A.M., No. 347; is surgeon and member of the Oddfellows’ lodge No. 73, and has held all of the offices in that order. He is also a member of the Royal Templars, and physician to lodge No. 124. In 1878 Dr. Groves was appointed physician and surgeon to the Grand Trunk Railway at Fergus, which position he still holds. In 1882 he was appointed physician and surgeon to the Wellington County House of Industry, and this office he still likewise retains. In politics he has held aloof from parties, though sincerely interested in the welfare of the country. He is a member of the Church of England, and has been churchwarden for twelve years of St. James’ Church, Fergus. He married in 1874, Jennie, daughter of the late William Gibbon, of Elora, and by this lady has a family of two children; she died in 1886. On January 29, 1910, he married Ethel May Burke, only daughter of the late D. S. Burke, Esq., of Fergus. Dr. Groves enjoys the repute of being a very skilful surgeon, and he was the first to perform in Canada the operation technically known to the profession as supra pubic lithotomy. In January, 1901, he established, in Fergus, the Royal Alexandra Hospital, which has already become widely known throughout Western Ontario. He also installed the Fergus and Elora Electric Light Plant, since taken over by the Hydro-Electric. In 1911 he was tendered by unanimous vote the Conservative nomination for the House of Commons for the South Riding of the County of Wellington, but the pressure of his professional work prevented his accepting.


Grange, Edward Wilkinson (Ottawa, Ont.), was born at Napanee, July 4, 1876, a son of Alexander W. Grange and his wife, Annabella Daly; educated at Napanee Collegiate Institute and Victoria University, taking an Honor Course in Modern Languages at the latter institution, from which he graduated with a degree of B.A., in 1899, upon which he took up journalism as a profession and has since had a very extended experience, serving first on “The Toronto News” for three years, afterwards on “The Mail and Empire.” Was in charge of “The Globe’s” Ottawa Bureau and contributor to editorial columns. During Mr. Grange’s University course he was editor of the “Acta Victoriana,” in his final year; and President of Athletic Union and first holder of the college “Athletic Stick”; was editor of Eastern Press Service, serving all papers in the Maritime Provinces during Parliamentary sessions, made Honorary Lieutenant in Canadian Expeditionary Forces and had charge of daily press bulletin service to troops Overseas; has been Ottawa correspondent of Toronto “Globe” since 1907, also of “The Chronicle,” Halifax; “Telegraph,” St. John; “Standard,” London, Eng. Secretary for three years of the Parliamentary Press Gallery and President, 1912-13. Resigned from “Globe” staff, November, 1918, to engage in special work for government branches connected with re-construction problems and also to look after private business interests. Mr. Grange is a Liberal and was nominated in April, 1915, as Liberal candidate for the House of Commons for the riding of Lennox and Addington. Ran as an Independent-Liberal supporting Military Service Act in General Election of 1917. Belongs to the following clubs: Rideau Club, Rivermead Golf Club and Rideau Aquatic Club, Ottawa. He married, in 1915, Marion McDougall, a daughter of the late John Lorne McDougall, C.M.G., Auditor-General of Canada, and has one son, Edward Alexander McDougall, born June 26, 1917.


Ferguson, Hon. William Nassau (Toronto, Ont.), Judge of the Supreme Court of Ontario, Court of Appeals Division, was born in Cookstown, Ont., in 1870, the son of Isaac and Emily (Gowan) Ferguson, and received his education at Upper Canada College and Osgoode Hall, graduating from the latter institution in 1894. He is a brother of Mrs. Arthur Murphy of Edmonton—better known by her pen name of “Janey Canuck”—and of Thomas R. Ferguson, K.C., of Toronto and Winnipeg. He is also a nephew of the late Lieutenant-Colonel T. R. Ferguson, M.P. for South Simcoe, and a grandson of the late Lieutenant-Colonel Ogle R. Gowan, M.P. for Leeds and Grenville, who founded the Orange Order in Canada; also a cousin of the late Hon. Justice Ferguson of the Supreme Court of Ontario. The present Mr. Justice Ferguson became King’s Counsel in 1908, was elected a Bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada in 1916, and received his present appointment in the same year. He has always been prominent in outdoor sports, having been captain of Upper Canada College and Osgoode Hall Rugby teams, President of the Ontario Rugby Union and a Director of both the Toronto Baseball and Lacrosse Clubs. Judge Ferguson is a member of the following clubs: Albany, Toronto, National, R.C.Y.C., Ontario Jockey and Toronto Hunt, and also of the Masonic and Orange Orders. He is a Trustee of the Hospital for Sick Children and a member of the Executive of the Toronto and York Patriotic Fund, an Anglican in religion and a Conservative in politics. His recreations are golf, fishing and motoring. “A lawyer in love with law and enamored of common sense, the Ontario Judiciary will be strengthened by his ability and vigor.”—Toronto “Telegram,” December 9, 1916.


Burpee, Lawrence Johnston (Ottawa, Ont.), the son of Lewis Johnston Burpee and Alice DeMill Burpee, was born at Halifax, N.S., March 5, 1873, and educated at public and private schools. In 1899 he married Maud Hanington, daughter of the late Rev. Canon Hanington, of Ottawa, and has five children—Ruth, Lawrence, Margaret, Edward and Arthur. He is Secretary of the International Joint Commission and has acted as private secretary to three successive Ministers of Justice in the Dominion Government, and for several years was Librarian of the Ottawa Public Library; is the author of several publications, namely: “Canadian Life in Town and Country” (1905); “The Search for the Western Sea” (1908); “Flowers from a Canadian Garden” (1909); “Fragments of Haliburton” (1909); “By Canadian Streams” (1909); “Songs of French Canada” (1909); “A Little Book of Canadian Essays” (1909); “A Century of Canadian Sonnets” (1910); “Canadian Eloquence” (1910); “Dictionary of Canadian History” (1911); “Scouts of Empire” (1912); “Canadian Humor” (1911), “Among the Canadian Alps” (1913); “Sandford Fleming, Empire Builder” (1915); “Pathfinders of the Great Plains” (1915); “Soldier’s Dictionary” (1916); and has in press at the present time, “Journals of La Vérendrye” (Champlain Society), and “Fur Traders of the West” (Oxford Press). He has also contributed to Encyclopædia Britannica, Encyclopædia Americana, Canada and its Provinces, Royal Society Transactions, British Association, etc.; is a member of the Royal Society of Canada, Royal Geographical Society, Société Archæologique de France, American Library Institute, Ontario Historical Society, American Library Association, Champlain Society, Nova Scotia Historical Society, Historical Society of the Mississippi Valley, Bibliographical Society of America. He is a member of the Church of England, Conservative in politics, and Captain in the Governor-General’s Foot Guards, Ottawa, and the 2nd Depot Battalion, E.O.R. Mr. Burpee is a member of the Royal Ottawa Golf Club, and also takes a deep interest in chess.


Boyer, Louis (Westmount, P.Q.), the son of a merchant, L. Alphonse Boyer, M.P., and Alphonsine Meilluer, and relation of Hon. Arthur Boyer and Hon. George Simard; was born in Montreal, Que., January 23, 1872, educated at the Normal School, Montreal College and McGill University; graduated from Laval and McGill with the degrees of B.A., B.C.L., K.C.; was formerly attorney for the city of Westmount and the town of Cartierville. Is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and on November 3, 1898, married Marie Sophie Alice Mathieu, the daughter of Aimé Mathieu, of Montreal, her father being a merchant of that city. They have ten children, Jeanne, Marthe, Claire, Simone, Marcelle, Pauline, Madeleine, Thérèse, Lucienne and Cécile. Mr. Boyer is a member of the following clubs: namely, University, Montreal Reform, Shawinigan Fish and Game and the St. George Snow Shoe Club; is a Liberal in politics and is well known as a prominent speaker and is in great demand at political campaigns. He is a Director of the Franco-American Chemical Co., also of the Canadian Inspections and Testing Laboratories, Ltd.


Edwards, John Wesley, B.A., M.D., C.M., M.P., son of George Edwards of the County of Norfolk, England, and Elizabeth Jane Lyon, of the County of Frontenac, Ont., the latter being of U.E. Loyalist stock and among the first settlers in Frontenac. Born in the County of Frontenac May 25, 1865, and educated at the Sydenham High School, Ottawa, Normal School and Queen’s University, Kingston; graduated from the latter in Arts and Medicine in the year 1900. Married August 12, 1890, to Hester Jane Purdy, daughter of Robert G. Purdy, and is the father of the following children: Edna, John Worden, Sadie, Evelyn, and Elizabeth. Before graduating in medicine the subject of this sketch taught school for several years, and was County Clerk of Frontenac from 1899 to 1909, and Gaol Surgeon of the County Gaol at Kingston from 1907 to 1909. First elected to the House of Commons for Frontenac County in the general elections of 1908 by a majority of 421, re-elected at the general election of 1911 by a majority of 851, and again returned in the war time election of 1917 by a majority of nearly 2,000. Doctor Edwards is regarded as one of the best informed and energetic of the Conservative members of the House of Commons, and was selected as one of the Liberal-Conservative whips for Ontario in the Session of 1911 and 1912. He is a member of the Executive of the Canadian Order of Chosen Friends, and for the past three-and-a-half years has been the Executive Head of that Order. He is a prominent Orangeman, being Deputy Grand Master for Ontario East. In religion he is a Methodist.


Beith, Hon. Robert (Bowmanville, Ont.), was born on May 17, 1843, of Scotch parentage, and is the son of Alexander Beith and Catharine McTaggart, of Argyllshire, Scotland, who migrated to Bowmanville many years ago. He was educated at the public and private schools of that town and later took a commercial course at Day’s College, Toronto. After receiving his education he started business life as a farmer, later becoming one of the largest stock breeders in Ontario, and has imported much of the finest breeding stock in the country during the past thirty-five years. As a citizen and public man he is held in the highest esteem, and has received the highest honors to be had from his home town and surrounding localities. Having ambitions other than business, he drifted into public life, and received the nomination as the Liberal candidate for the House of Commons for West Durham in 1891 and was elected; was re-elected in 1896, and defeated in 1900. In the by-election of 1902 he was again elected, and retained his seat up to 1904, when he voluntarily retired. West Durham has been the scene of many hard fought political battles, and at times was contested by men high up in the ranks of both political parties, brought in from outside places, among whom were the late Hon. Edward Blake and Mr. George Tate Blackstock, one of the most learned legal lights in Canada. It has always been conceded that Robert Beith was the one man who could win West Durham for the Liberal Party. On January 15, 1907, he was summoned to the Senate by Sir Wilfrid Laurier, and is recognized as an able Senator. He is a bachelor, and in religion a Presbyterian. On all occasions, during the world-wide war, he was ready to help Canada do her share, and contributed in many ways that will never be known to the public at large, in helping the Motherland and her Allies to keep flying the flags that stand for freedom against Prussianism.


Dymond, Allan Malcolm (Toronto, Ont.) was born at Brixton, Surrey, England, September 25, 1864, came to Canada with his parents in 1869 and received his education at Upper Canada College. He studied law in the office of Blake, Kerr, Boyd & Cassels, and subsequently with the Hon. A. S. Hardy, and Henderson & Small, and was called to the Bar in 1885. He practised law in Toronto until 1889, when he entered the service of the province as Law Secretary to the Attorney-General; was appointed Law Clerk of the Legislative Assembly in 1890. In November, 1890, he married Emma Stanton Mellish, Mus. Bac., eldest daughter of the late Rev. H. F. Mellish, Rector of Caledonia, Haldimand County, Ontario. Was a member of and acted as Secretary to the Commission for the Revision of the Statutes in 1897, and the Commission (1906-1914) which prepared the Revised Statutes of Ontario, 1914. Was appointed King’s Counsel by the Ontario Government in 1902. He is a specialist in the construction of Statutes and Parliamentary draughtsmanship, and has been concerned in the preparation or revision of most of the important legislation of the province since his appointment. Is a member of the Church of England—a liberal High Churchman.


Coyne, James Henry, M.A., LL.D., F.R.S.C. (St. Thomas, Ont.), was born at St. Thomas, Ont., October 3, 1849. James H. Coyne is the second son of William and Christina Coyne, and was educated at the common school in his native town, until he was eleven years old, when he passed into the Grammar School, then under the charge of the late Mr. (Rev.) Nelson Burns, M.A. At fourteen years of age, he matriculated in the University of Toronto, carrying off the first general proficiency scholarship, and first-class honors in classics, mathematics, French, etc. Owing to his extreme youth, he did not enter University College until 1867. He devoted himself chiefly to classics and modern languages, and, after gaining numerous scholarships and prizes at the University and college during his undergraduate course, graduated in 1870, carrying off the Prince of Wales’ prize for general proficiency, the gold medal in moderns, a silver medal in classics, the French essay prize, and first-class honors in history and ethnology. In 1884 he was elected by his fellow-graduates a member of the Senate of the University, a position he still holds. After graduating, the subject of this sketch entered the law office of the late Colin Macdougall, Q.C., at St. Thomas; interrupted his law studies for a year to take charge of the Cornwall High School, where he was headmaster during the year 1871; returned then to Mr. Macdougall’s office for a year, and then removed to Toronto, where he served for two years in the office of Bethune & Hoyles. He was admitted to the bar in Michaelmas term, 1874, passing first without an oral, both as barrister and as attorney; and at once entered into partnership with his former principal, Mr. Macdougall, at St. Thomas. The law firm of Macdougall & Coyne existed until 1880, when it was dissolved. Shortly afterwards, Mr. Coyne entered into partnership with J. Mann, under the firm name of Coyne & Mann. The partnership continued until Mr. Coyne’s appointment in Dec., 1888, as Registrar for the County of Elgin. During the Fenian excitement of 1866, Mr. Coyne joined the St. Thomas Rifles, and served during three campaigns in that year: First at London, during March, when some thousands of regulars and volunteers were brigaded there; then at Port Stanley and Sarnia, in June; and finally in camp at Thorold in August, where he acted as quartermaster-sergeant to the Provisional Battalion of volunteers, who were then brigaded with regulars and other volunteers under Wolseley. He holds the Fenian Raid medal. The following year he joined the famous University company of the Queen’s Own Rifles, of which he remained a member until his graduation, with the degree of B.A., June, 1870. He received the degree of M.A. (with honors) Toronto University, 1905, and the degree of LL.D. (honorary) from Queen’s University, Kingston, 1909. He was a member of the great Reform Convention, at Toronto, in 1883, and was selected to speak to one of the resolutions passed by the convention. He also attended the Young Liberal Convention of 1885, as a delegate. In 1876, owing to a serious illness, he was obliged to give up work for a year and a half. Eleven months of this vacation were devoted to a visit to Europe, including England, Scotland, Ireland, Belgium, the Rhine, Switzerland, France and Italy. On Nov. 21, 1877, Mr. Coyne married Matilda, third daughter of the late John George Bowes, for several years Mayor, and M.P.P. for the city of Toronto, and is the father of four sons and two daughters, viz., James Bowes, Annie Christine Elliott, John George Bowes, Margaret Adelaide, Henry Everyll Bowes, and William Gordon Bowes. A member of the following clubs and societies, viz.: Golf and Country Club, St. Thomas, President Elgin Historical and Scientific Institute, which he organized in 1891; President The Veterans’ Association, St. Thomas; The University of Toronto Alumni Association of the County of Elgin; Honorary President The St. Thomas Philharmonic Society; Vice-President and Ex-officio Councillor The Ontario Historical Society; Member of the Council of the Champlain Society since organization, member of the executive Committee of the Board of Management of Alma College, St. Thomas; member of the American Historical Association, and of the National Geographic Society, member of the Société du Parler Français du Canada, member Methodist Historical Society; Canadian Folk-lore Society, St. Thomas Horticultural Society, Corresponding member Buffalo Historical Society, member Canadian Defence League and the Canadian National Peace Committee; also of Committee of Memorial to Heroes of 1812-14 Association; Chairman of the Soldiers’ Aid Commission and member of Council of Serbian Committee for the County of Elgin and City of St. Thomas. Has held the following offices besides those mentioned above: Member of Executive Committee of the University of Toronto; President of The Children’s Aid Society of the County of Elgin on its organization; President (1882) of the East Elgin Reform Association; President (1883) of St. Andrew’s Society; President (1905-8) of the Handel Society; President (1909-10) of the St. Thomas Operatic Society; Chairman for many years of the Executive Committee of Board of Management Alma College. He was one of the first vice-presidents of the University of Toronto Alumni Association (general organization) and first honorary president of the St. Thomas Liberal Club. In 1886 he contested West Elgin at the Provincial general elections, but was defeated by A. B. Ingram, by 43 votes. In 1888, appointed by the government of Sir Oliver Mowat, Registrar of Elgin, and in 1892, at the request of the County Council, Local Master of Titles for the County of Elgin and the city of St. Thomas, on the introduction of the Torrens System of land registration. In 1897 was elected President of the Pioneer and Historical Association of the Province of Ontario, founded by the late Rev. Dr. Henry Scadding, and at once proceeded to organize it upon a wider basis of membership and with a much wider scope, under the name of The Ontario Historical Society (incorporated in 1899 by special Act of the Ontario Legislature). The presidency of the new society was held by him until 1902, when he was succeeded by the late C. C. James. Under the auspices of the Society was held, in 1899, the great Historical Exhibition at Victoria College, Toronto. In 1906 was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He was President of Section II (English Literature and History) in 1910-1911. In 1892 was member of Central Committee for the celebration of the Centennial of Upper Canada. Dr. Coyne is a gentleman of indefatigable energy, ripe scholarship, and possessed of a fine style and his literary investigations have been of great public value. Notwithstanding large professional duties, he has delivered many notable addresses and is the author of several interesting publications, among which may be mentioned, “The Southwold Earthwork and The Country of the Neutrals” (1893); “The Country of the Neutrals from Champlain to Talbot” (1895); “Presidential Addresses to The Ontario Historical Society” (1898-1902); “First Steps in the Discovery and Exploration of Ontario” (1899); “A Century of Achievement” (1899) reprinted with some changes and additions in Methodist Magazine (1901); “Exploration of the Great Lakes (1669-1670), by Dollier de Casson and de Bréhant de Galinée, Galinée’s narrative and map with an English version, including all the map legends” (1903); “Richard Maurice Bucke,” a sketch (1906); “The Talbot Papers with Preface, Introduction and Annotations” (1909); “Pathfinders, of the Great Lakes” (1912); “The Indian Occupation of Southern Ontario” (1916). In religion Dr. Coyne is a Methodist, and finds recreation in golf.


Breithaupt, Louis J. (Kitchener, Ont.), Leather Manufacturer, is President of the Breithaupt Leather Company, Limited, with tanneries at Kitchener, Penetanguishene and Woodstock, and Secretary of the Hastings Tanning Company, Limited, Hastings, Ont. For years Mr. Breithaupt was a member of the Berlin—now Kitchener—City Council as Councillor, Deputy Reeve, Reeve and Mayor, which last office he held for two years. He was also a member of the Waterloo County Council; Warden of the County in 1898, and a member of the Provincial Legislature of Ontario from 1900 to 1902. His fellow-citizens, in fact, have honored this representative Canadian with practically every office in their gift, he having also been Chairman of the Schools and Park Boards, and at various times President of what was then the Berlin Board of Trade. He has taken an active interest in the work of the local Canadian Patriotic Fund, of which he was Vice-President for two and a half years, and afterward became President. Mr. Breithaupt was on the first board of the Kitchener-Waterloo Hospital and has been a Director of the Economical Fire Insurance Company of Kitchener for many years, and also a Director and member of the Executive Board of the Mutual Life Assurance Company of Canada, whose head office is at Waterloo, Ont. Louis Breithaupt is the eldest son of Louis and Catharine (Hailer) Breithaupt, his grandfather having come to Waterloo County in 1831, where he was one of the earliest manufacturers and built the fifth or sixth house in the embryo city of Berlin. At the time of his demise in 1880, after an active life, Mr. Louis Breithaupt, Senior, was its Mayor. The subject of this sketch was born at Buffalo, N.Y., March 3, 1855, and was educated in the Public and Grammar Schools of Berlin (now Kitchener), and in Toronto. He married Emma Alvarene, second daughter of the late Benjamin Devitt, J.P., ex-Mayor of Waterloo, by whom he has eight children, Louise Evelyn, Emma Lilian, Martha Edna, Rose Melvina, Louis Orville, William Walter, Catharine Olive and Paul Theodore. Among his clubs are the Grand River, Country and Golf, and Kitchener Clubs, of Kitchener, and the Ontario, of Toronto. He is a member of the Evangelical Association in religion, and an Independent Liberal in politics.


Best, John (Shelburne, Ont.), was born in Australia in 1861, of Irish parentage. His father, John Best, was a farmer, and his mother was Elizabeth Rolland. The subject of this sketch received his education in the public school at Whitfield, in the County of Dufferin, and for many years has been prominent in the municipal life of his township and county. For 14 years he was a member of the County Council, and for 7 years President of The Dufferin Fire Insurance Company. In 1909 he was selected as successor to the late Dr. L. John Barr, M.P., as the Liberal-Conservative candidate for Dufferin in the House of Commons, being returned by acclamation in 1911. He was again elected on the Reciprocity issue by the large majority of 1,459. Elected in 1917 by over 2,600 majority. Mr. Best has proven a most capable and efficient representative, being thoroughly well versed in all the problems which especially concern his constituents. A practical farmer, he takes a lively interest in everything tending to promote the advancement of the basic interest industry of agriculture. Realizing the importance and advantage of the governmental scheme of Rural Mail Delivery, and its necessity and benefit, he advocated its extension and development in his own riding, where it has now reached the highest degree of efficiency and service. He is also a liberal supporter of Agricultural Societies. Mr. Best is well informed on all matters of National importance, and is a ready and effective speaker. The inclination and ability for public service is a family characteristic, for two of Mr. Best’s cousins are in the Imperial Parliament, Mr. James Best, M.P., and Mr. Thomas Best, M.P., who represents an Irish constituency. In 1887 Mr. Best married Charlotte, only daughter of Mr. Thomas Thompson, of Thornbury, and has one son John Chester. The member for Dufferin is prominent in the Orange Order, being Past County Master. In religion he is a member of the Church of England. Recreations: Motoring and fishing.


Bowell, Sir Mackenzie (Belleville, Ont.). A name universally known in Canada is that of the late Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, K.C.M.G., ex-Premier of the Dominion and ex-Leader of the Conservative Party in the Senate. He was born on December 27th, 1823, at Rickinghall, Suffolk, England, the son of the late John Bowell, a carpenter and builder. He came to Canada with his parents, ten years later, the family locating at Belleville, Ont., then Upper Canada, which has ever since remained his home, and where he was shortly afterwards apprenticed to learn the trade of a printer in the office of the Belleville “Intelligencer,” a newspaper of which in after years he became editor and proprietor. As a young man, Sir Mackenzie became prominent in public affairs. He became an Ensign in the Belleville Rifle Company, which he assisted in organizing in 1857, and was one of the corps of observation on service in Western Ontario during the American Civil War. During the Fenian Raids of 1866 he was on service at Prescott. In 1874 he retired from the service with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel of the 49th Battalion. He also became prominent in the Orange Order and rose to the position of Grand Master and Sovereign of the Order for British North America and President of the Tri-annual Council of the Orangemen of the World. He also took an interest in educational matters and served as Chairman of the Public and Grammar School Boards, as Vice-President of the Agricultural and Arts Association of Ontario, and as President of the Ontario Press Association. A Conservative by conviction, he was a candidate in North Hastings for the Canadian Assembly, in 1863. He was defeated. In 1867, he was elected to the House of Commons for the same constituency and held the seat continuously for twenty-five years, until his elevation to the Senate in 1892. He was a member of the select committee of Parliament to inquire into the troubles in the North-West Territories in 1869-70. When the rebel leader, Louis Riel, was elected to the House of Commons, shortly afterwards, the subject of this sketch moved his expulsion as a traitor to the Crown. After the Conservative victory of 1878, he entered Sir John A. Macdonald’s Cabinet as Minister of Customs, and held that portfolio for thirteen years. In that capacity it devolved upon him to carry out the new tariff system known as the National Policy. On the death of Sir John A. Macdonald, he became Minister of Militia in Sir John Abbott’s Cabinet, and on the demise of the latter, Minister of Trade and Commerce in Sir John Thompson’s Ministry. After the latter’s tragic death at Windsor Castle, England, he was called on in December, 1894, to form a Cabinet, which he succeeded in doing, taking the portfolio of President of the Council, and on January 1, 1895, was made Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael and St. George. When the Manitoba School question arose, he was a strong advocate of justice to the minority, and after some differences with his colleagues, he resigned the Premiership on April 27, 1896. He was succeeded by Sir Charles Tupper, who paid him the compliment of adopting his policy. In 1893, during his incumbency as Minister of Trade and Commerce, he went to Australia to promote inter-Imperial trade and the laying of an all-British Pacific cable between Canada and that continent. Early in 1896 he went to England to urge forward the Canadian-Australia or “all-red” cable, now an accomplished fact, and sat in the third congress on the subject which met in London, England. In 1896 he resumed the active control of the “Belleville Intelligencer,” which he had relinquished when he entered Sir John A. Macdonald’s Cabinet in 1878. In Belleville he was regarded as the “grand old man,” and no Canadian boasted a wider circle of friends in the country at large. The amiability of his nature, his large intellectual capacity and his ability as a public speaker, marked him for distinction. In religion he was a Methodist, and was married in December, 1847, to Harriet Louisa, eldest daughter of the late Jacob G. Moore, of Belleville. His helpmate died in 1884, and he followed her to the grave in 1918. Of nine children born to them, five survive.


Langley, James P. (Toronto), was born in the Provincial Capital on June 15, 1864, and educated in Toronto, graduating from the Model School in 1877. Son of Aylmer Langley and Alice (Thornber), his father being a native of Ireland and his mother born in New York State. The subject of this sketch early developed a marked ability as an expert accountant and was one of the early members of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario, an institution which has done much to stimulate the study of higher accounting and to keep pace with the commercial and municipal necessities of the day, and is a Fellow of the Institute so founded. Mr. Langley is recognized as a man with a large and intimate knowledge of industrial and financial enterprises, and his services are in constant requisition by such institutions throughout the Dominion. He is retained annually as the auditor of many leading business concerns, and is trustee of large estates, his extended experience making his advice particularly dependable. Mr. Langley married Carrie, daughter of Nathan Brower, of New Jersey, U.S., and has one son, Clarence Aylmer. He is a member of the Masonic order and of the Granite and Albany Clubs, Toronto. He is also a Justice of the Peace; a member of the Church of England. Politically he is a Liberal-Conservative. Recreations, motoring and golf. Mr. Langley is one of the best known business men in the province and enjoys the confidence of the mercantile community in a marked degree.


Chamberlain, Theodore F., M.D., only son of Asher A. and Eliza Ann Chamberlain. Born at Harlem, County of South Leeds, Ontario, July 6, 1838. His family came from Birmingham, England, and were in politics, Cobdenites. The family crest bears the motto “Sapiens et Fidus.” His father was born in Vermont, U.S., Feb. 12, 1810, and came to Upper Canada in 1815, locating in the County of South Leeds. After attending school at Potsdam, N.Y., he entered the Medical College at Fairfield, N.Y., after which he returned to Harlem, South Leeds, and began the practice of medicine, which profession he followed with more than common success, until his death at Athens, on February 20, 1883. He was Past Master of Harmony Masonic Lodge, Leeds, one of the oldest, if not the oldest, Masonic lodge in Upper Canada. He was Major in the Eighth Battalion, Leeds Militia, was a staunch temperance man, a member of the Methodist Church, and always took an active part in politics, from the troublous times of the Rebellion of 1836-7 down to the time of his death. At the time of the Beverly Election Riots in South Leeds, he nearly lost his life at the hands of the Tory Party under the leadership of Ogle R. Gowan’s Orangemen. He was one of the deputation from Upper Canada who went to the rescue of Lord Elgin at the time of the burning of the Parliament Buildings in Montreal in 1849. His connection with the Masonic lodge has already been noticed; this lodge he resuscitated at Farmersville, in 1859, under the name of “Rising Sun Lodge,” and was for several years its Master; was a Justice of the Peace, Postmaster at Harlem, and held other positions of trust. Dr. Chamberlain’s mother was Eliza Ann Toffey, and was born at Quaker Hill, N.Y., Oct. 15, 1803, and died at Athens, formerly Farmersville, on March 20, 1894. The grandparents on both sides lived to very advanced years. The doctor has one sister, born at Harlem, August 2, 1836, and now living (1913) in Toronto. She is the widow of the late J. C. Miller, ex-M.P.P. for Parry Sound and Muskoka District, and owner of the Parry Sound Lumber Co. The early education of the subject of this sketch was gained from parental instruction at night around the old home fireside, and at the Township School. He attended the Grammar School at Perth for some months in 1851, and then served some two years as clerk in the general mercantile establishment of Henry Laishley, at Elgin, where he gained the business training and experience that stood him so well in later life. In 1851 he served as Lieutenant, under Capt. Wm. J. Smith, and Col. Young, in the 8th Battalion of Leeds Militia. Later he took up the study of dentistry in the office of F. D. Laughlin, Ottawa. After practising his profession for some time, he went, in the fall of 1857, to New York City, but later, yielding to solicitations of his father, he returned to his home in Athens, to take up medicine. He matriculated at Queen’s College, Kingston, in 1859, and passed the final examination in March, 1862, receiving the degree of Doctor of Medicine and Surgery, and his license to practice in Canada, from the hands of Governor-General Monk. On the 13th of April following, Dr. Chamberlain located at Morrisburg, County of Dundas, on the St. Lawrence River, and during the succeeding years built up a large and lucrative practice. In 1859 he was requested by the government of Sir Oliver Mowat to take the Inspectorship of Public Institutions of Ontario. The history of the doctor during these years is the history of a busy life. Besides following his profession, he served as Reeve of his municipality, member of the Counties’ Council, and Warden of the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, Justice of the Peace, Health Officer, member of the High and Public Board of Education, Director of the Agricultural Association, and Director of the Parry Sound Lumber Company. Inspector of schools for County of Dundas. At the time of the Fenian Raid, he was member of a strong company of volunteers under Captain I. N. Rose, Superintendent of the Williamsburg Canals, and with other members of the company was out night and day on guard at the locks, and in the village, as an attack was daily expected to be made by General O’Neal. On the 1st of July, the General with 1,600 men appeared on the bank of the river opposite Morrisburg. The Government of Sir John A. Macdonald, realizing the seriousness of the situation, and desirous of keeping informed of O’Neal’s movements, appointed a man to keep in touch with O’Neal’s forces, but this man failing to accept, Dr. Chamberlain, a strong personal, but not a political, friend of Sir John’s, was detailed for this duty. He accepted the appointment, and taking his horses and buggy, and accompanied by a young man named Leslie Weaver, set out to follow the Fenian force, and to report as fully as possible their movements and designs. Crossing the river to Waddington, N.Y., on Capt. Murphy’s Ferry, on July 9, he found that the Fenians had moved, and he followed them to Malone, about 50 miles distant, over-taking them about dark. Staying over night and having obtained all information possible, he left the next morning for Plattsburgh, which place he made that evening. After a wearisome and anxious night, he left Plattsburgh for Whitehall, at the foot of Lake Champlain, arriving there the next morning, and at Saratoga in the evening. He continued the journey to Troy and Albany, and returned thence to Ogdensburg, Prescott, and home to Morrisburg. The result of this close espionage, and prompt reports by the scouts, and the careful guarding of the river, was that the invaders were compelled to abandon their design of crossing the river, and to turn their faces to the west. The doctor’s services on this occasion were most effective and valuable, yet he never applied for nor received land grant, or medal, nor refund of his expenditure. In 1879, the doctor, as Warden, was appointed by the Counties’ Council, then in session, to go as their representative to the eastern boundary of the province, to meet their Excellencies, the Governor-General, the Marquis of Lorne, and the Princess Louise, and welcome them to Ontario. Later in the year he presented to their Excellencies at Government House, Ottawa, an address on behalf of the inhabitants of the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry. The doctor has always been an ardent politician, an indefatigable worker, and a vigorous but generous opponent. He was the candidate of the Reform Party for the Legislative Assembly for the county in 1879, and was defeated by 81 votes. In 1882, he was again the party candidate, this time for the House of Commons, and again defeated by 79 votes. Nothing discouraged, he again came before the Electors, in 1886, for the Assembly, and was elected by 25 majority. He was defeated next election by 28 votes, and again in 1904, was defeated for the Commons. In conjunction with his brother-in-law, Mr. W. G. Parish, of Athens, he established in the seventies, the first three cheese factories in Eastern Ontario. He carried on an extensive drug business in Morrisburg, from 1886 to 1873, when he sold it to Messrs. Carman and Brown. In 1871, he received the degree of L.R.C.P.S. from Queen’s College, Kingston, as well as that of F.B.S. During his practice in Morrisburg he had as students, Messrs. Hart, McLean, Howes, Musgrove, Lane, Shibbley, Beckstead and McKay, all of whom became successful practitioners. He was always a strong advocate of temperance, and a member of the Methodist Church. He became a member, under dispensation of the Grand Master, of Rising Sun Masonic Lodge, Athens, in 1857, and joined Excelsior Lodge, Morrisburg, No. 142, G.R.C., in 1862, and is yet an honorary life member, having filled every office in the gift of the lodge, and having received various decorations and gold medals. In 1867 he became a member of the Grenville Royal Arch Chapter, No. 23, at Prescott. In 1869-70 he was elected by the Grand Lodge, District-Deputy Grand Master for St. Lawrence District. In 1885 he received the 95 degrees in the Supreme Rite of Memphis, known as the Sovereign Sanctuary Degrees. In 1873 the doctor explored the country east and north of Lake Superior to the height of land, examining for timber and minerals. In 1878 he explored the country along the shores of Georgian Bay, the “Soo,” and to the head of Lake Nipissing. In 1883 he visited part of the southern, middle and western States, including California, Colorado, Nevada, Utah, New Mexico and Mexico. In 1889, leaving Montreal, he travelled through the North-Western Territories, and Victoria, Vancouver, Puget Sound, and Washington Territory. From 1889 to 1904, he acted as one of the Provincial Inspectors of Asylums, Prisons, Gaols and Hospitals, serving in that capacity until 1904, when he resigned, owing to ill health. In 1906 he was appointed by the Dominion Government, under the Public Health Department, Inspector of all the doctors employed on Public Works, from the Red River to the Pacific Ocean. In pursuance of the duties of this position, he had to travel distances of from 1,000 to 1,500 miles at a trip, ford rivers, make his own trail over prairies, sleep in a tent wherever night overtook him, in that great lone land. In the winter of 1907, he sent in his resignation, and in the spring of 1908, inspected and estimated the timber on the Dokis Indian Reserve, Lake Nipissing. The pine timber on this Reserve was sold by the Government at Ottawa in June, and the doctor bought one of the limits, and in the fall had buildings, appliances, and materials complete for lumbering operations. During the winter he took out, and in the spring sent, 2,300 pieces of board timber, for the English market, by way of Lake Nipissing to Callender, thence by rail to Kingston, and rafting it thence to Quebec. He closed up this deal, and in 1910 went to California, visiting by the way, the principal cities in the West. During the past 30 years, he has bought and sold large quantities of pine timber in Ontario, and prospected for and located mines in the Rainy River and Lake-of-the-Woods Districts, and explored almost every part of Northern Ontario mining and timber lands. Dr. Chamberlain married, in 1862, Annetta, third daughter of Arza Parish, Esq., merchant, Athens. He has one son, W. P., born at Morrisburg on May 19, 1863, and one daughter, also born at Morrisburg, March 8, 1871. The Dr. and Mrs. Chamberlain celebrated their golden wedding on July 3, 1912. They had resided in Toronto since 1890, but the lure of his profession became too strong, and so the doctor has improved and embellished his beautiful residence in Morrisburg, fitted it up with all the latest devices and scientific appliances, and is conducting most successfully a Sanatorium for the relief and cure of suffering humanity.


Chapleau, Major Samuel Edmour St. Onge, ex-clerk of the Senate, clerk of the Parliaments and master in chancery, was born at Syracuse, New York, in 1839. He is the second son of the late Pierre Chapleau, of Terrebonne, Quebec, and was educated at Terrebonne College. In 1860 he went to the United States, and at the outbreak of the Civil War, in 1861, entered the regular army of that country and received in succession, promotion to the ranks of second lieutenant, first lieutenant and Captain of the 16th Regiment of Infantry. He also received the rank of brevet-Captain for gallant and meritorious service at the battle of Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and that of Major for gallant service during the Atlanta campaign and at the battle of Jonesboro, Georgia. He was at the battle of Shiloh, at the Siege of Corinth, and at the battles of Chickamauga and Chattanooga. He was sent to Memphis in 1866 during the riots in that city, and in 1868 was in command of the troops at Augusta, Georgia, during the riots which took place between the whites and the colored people on the occasion of the first election of President Grant. He retired from the United States Army, January 1, 1871, and September 15, 1873, entered the Civil Service of Canada. He successively held the appointments of Secretary Department of Public Works, Sheriff of the North-West Territories, and Clerk of the Crown in Chancery. On January 27, 1900, he was appointed Clerk of the Senate and held that position until he retired, in the early part of 1917. In view of his long and faithful service in the Senate, Major Chapleau was appointed an honorary officer of that house and is allowed entree and seat at the table on the occasions of ceremony. He married Caroline K., third daughter of the late Lieut.-Col. G. W. Patten, of the United States Army. Major Chapleau declined the honor of C.M.G. tendered to him in 1914.


Aikenhead, Thomas E. (Toronto, Ont.), was born at Toronto, September 14, 1859, and received his education in that city. In 1873 he entered his business career with his father’s firm, which was originally established in the year 1830, and conducted for many years by his late father, Mr. James Aikenhead and Mr. A. T. Crombie, under the name of Aikenhead & Crombie. To-day this firm has some 100 employees, and the subject of this sketch is President and General Manager, under the firm name of Aikenhead Hardware, Limited, with extensive premises on Temperance Street. During the earlier days of Canada there were but few hardware houses of such importance, and Mr. Aikenhead set to work to build up a business to suit the rapid development of the country and has to-day made a reputation for himself as a leader in his own particular branch. Besides his business connections he is an ardent worker in church circles and a regular attendant of the Timothy Eaton Memorial Church. He is a member of the Ontario Club, Toronto Bowling Club, Board of Trade and the Ontario Motor League, taking an active interest in the good roads campaign of 1910. He is also a director of the Tisdale Iron Stable Fittings Co. In looking over the extensive buildings erected in Toronto, one can only imagine the important part Mr. Aikenhead has played from a business standpoint, and he can truly be classed as one of the builders of Canada.


MacDonald, Neil S., B.A., D.Paed. (Toronto, Ont.), Public School Inspector, is the son of the late John F. MacDonald and Mrs. MacDonald, formerly of Darlington, now of Toronto. Born in Bowmanville, Durham County, Ont., on January 28, 1872, he received his early education in Clarke Union Public School and Bowmanville High School. At the end of six months in the latter school, he obtained a Third Class Teacher’s Certificate, and at the next Departmental Examination he obtained a Second Class Certificate and spent several years teaching in the rural schools of the Townships of Cartwright, Darlington and Hope. Feeling that he had learned all he could in these schools, he returned to Bowmanville High School to prepare for honor matriculation into Toronto University, and at his matriculation made a splendid record, receiving honors in Mathematics, Science, English, History and Geography. He did not enter the University, however, but took a year’s course in practical teaching in the Ontario Normal College at Hamilton, after which he was engaged as Principal in Richmond Hill Public School, where he stayed for one year, going from there to Toronto to accept the office of Vice-Principal of Ryerson School, which he held for six years, receiving while there training in the method of city schools under Principal McAllister. Then he was promoted to the Principalship of Duke Street Public School and after three years there was once more promoted, to be Principal of Cottingham Street Public School. He spent one year here, when he was promoted to Bolton Avenue School. Mr. MacDonald held a high ideal of success ever before his mind and backed it up with praiseworthy perseverance, and he owes his marked success in life to the stick-to-it-iveness which is one of his special characteristics. In 1910 he graduated from Queen’s University with the degree of B.A., very much to his credit, for he obtained this degree by private study while filling the position of Principal in a city school. Mr. MacDonald married Christina Lamb, the daughter of William Lamb, and has one son, Donald, born on August 29, 1913. Upon the retirement of Mr. R. W. Doan, in June, 1914, Mr. MacDonald became Principal of Dufferin School, Toronto, and it has been said of him, “His educational attainments, energy and enthusiasm mark him as a man well qualified to fill the highest position a School Board may offer.” Besides managing the regular school work, he took an active interest in the school sports and cadet drill, and his scholars always obtained good standing in these. After three years as Principal of Dufferin School, Mr. MacDonald was transferred, in September, 1917, to Ryerson School, as Principal in succession to the late W. E. Groves. Ryerson School is the school for practice teaching in connection with the Faculty of Education. As Principal he was chief critic teacher and supervisor of critic teachers. In February, 1918, the Toronto Board of Education appointed him Public School Inspector in District Five, a position left vacant by the death of Inspector W. F. Chapman, B.A. He is a Presbyterian in religion, belonging to St. John’s Presbyterian Church, where he is also Superintendent of the Sabbath School; a Conservative in politics and a member of St. Andrew’s Masonic Society, St. Patrick’s Royal Arch Masons and Cyrene Preceptory. In the spring of 1918 the degree of Doctor of Pedagogy was conferred upon Mr. MacDonald, and in partial fulfilment for the degree he submitted a thesis on “Open Air Schools,” which he has recently published.


McCullough, Charles Robert (Hamilton, Ont.), was born in Bowmanville, Ont., Feb. 18, 1865, educated at Private, Public and High Schools, Bowmanville, and special schools in Belleville and Toronto. Married in 1897 to Eola Luxton, second daughter of George and Harriet Luxton, of Hamilton. Children: Evan (deceased), Luxton and Kathleen. A member of the Canadian Club of Hamilton, and the Hamilton Club, a Fellow of the Royal Colonial Institute; Honorary President Assn. of Canadian Clubs, teacher mercantile subjects, 1885-1903, founded Federated Business Colleges, founded Business Educators’ Assn. of Canada, first President of the latter; founder Canadian Club Movement in Hamilton, December 6, 1892; President Hamilton Canadian Club, 1895 and 1910; together with John Cousins founded the General Council of Canadian Clubs and Societies, Niagara Falls, N.Y., July, 1905; is President of the Ontario Engraving Co., and Hamilton Conservatory of Music; one of the Founders and first Governors Art Gallery of Hamilton; represented Collegiate Institute on the Board of Education for three years; member of the Canadian Manufacturers Assn., ex-Chairman Industrial Committee thereof; Vice-President and Chairman of Executive Committee Win-the-War league of Ontario, and President Win-the-War League of Hamilton; President Union School Club of Bowmanville; gazetted Capt. 91st Regt., Canadian Highlanders, 1907, and Lieut.-Colonel, 1916, organized the first recruiting league in Hamilton, 1915, has done a great deal to promote recruiting throughout the Province, at various points, especially in connection with the Canadian Club of Hamilton and the Recruiting Committee of the Citizens’ Service League in affiliation therewith. Lieut.-Col. McCullough projected Semi-Centennial Celebration of Canada for 1917 as far back as 1910. He believes that a mutual respect for, and confidence in each other, should be entertained by the great English and French-speaking peoples constituting the Canadian nation. Lieut.-Col. McCullough has addressed various Canadian Clubs throughout the Dominion and has done excellent work in inculcating a robust Canadian sentiment. F. D. Monk, K.C., M.P., said a few years ago: “In initiating the Canadian Club movement, Mr. McCullough has done a better work than any politician since Confederation.” Lieut.-Col. McCullough’s recreations are, skating, golfing, canoeing. In religion he is a member of the Church of England and of the Church of the Ascension of Hamilton. Colonel McCullough was an active, early promoter of a Union, non-partizan Government. Made three public speaking tours of District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia and Maryland, 1917-1918, as guest of the American Red Cross.


Beach, Mahlon F., Manufacturer (Iroquois, Ont.), who died January 4, 1917, at the ripe age of more than eighty-three years, was one of the most remarkable self-made men in Eastern Canada and belonged to a family which can boast one of the most striking genealogical records in the Dominion. The family record shows his lineage back to John Beach, one of three pilgrim brothers who migrated from England to New Haven Colony, Conn., early in the Seventeenth Century, the two other pilgrim brothers being Richard and Thomas. Richard first appears in the New Haven Colony in 1638, and was a man of some note in his day. Thomas first appears in the records in 1646, and settled in Milford, Connecticut. John is first mentioned in the New Haven Colony records, January 4, 1643. Four years later he bought “an house lott” there and in 1650 married Mary ——. Next we find him at Stratford, Connecticut, where he acquired land in 1660 and was chosen “Town Crier” in the following years, being allowed fourpence “for everything he should crye and every time he cryed.” He signed the Articles of Agreement for the Wallingford Plantation in 1670, and was granted a “house lott” there in 1671. He appears fourth in a list of six persons of “Hiest Rank,” July 29, 1672, and in 1675 was one of a committee to establish a Church, dying between the years 1678 and 1680, the ancestor of a large number of Beaches, scattered over United States, Canada and South America. Mahlon Ford Beach, the subject of this sketch, was born November 10, 1833, in Oxford Township, Grenville County, Province of Ontario, where his father, Mahlon Beach, son of David Beach, arriving from New Jersey, was one of the first settlers. His Mother, Mercy May, born in New York State, May 12, 1798, was a daughter of Lyman Clothier, who migrated to the vicinity and built the first mills in what is now known as the Village of Kemptville. Married Louise C. Wickmire, of Augusta Township, Grenville County, in 1865, and leaves a family of ten boys, all of whom are living, born as follows: Charles A., of Cornwall, 1866; Fred. W., of Morrisburg, 1868; Dr. Anson W., of Toronto, and Benson C., of Ottawa (twins), 1870; Mahlon W., of Kingston, 1872; Howard B., of Iroquois, 1873; D. Easton, of Ottawa, and G. Weston, of Winchester (twins), 1875; J. Russell, of Ottawa, 1878; and Olin A., of Ottawa, 1882. One daughter, born in 1877, died in infancy. Mrs. Beach died in 1907, aged seventy-one years and eleven months, and Mr. Beach married Mrs. Hannah M. Barber, of Winnipeg, in 1912, by whom he is survived. Although controlling probably a quarter of a million dollars at his death, Mr. Beach started life like thousands of other poor boys, with only his native industry, wit and enterprise to raise him above his restricted circumstances and give his talents a larger field of activity. He was a born captain of industry and remarkable in many ways, exciting a big influence not only in his community, but throughout the county. Possessed of a strong personality, an untiring energy, quick perception and bold and fearless in his business enterprises, he left his stamp on the community in which he lived and his name will always be connected with the village and township of Winchester. This place was hardly a settlement when Mr. Beach first came there, and when he erected his first mill it was the beginning of a new life in the community, as previously the nearest mill was at Iroquois. He was educated at the common schools of his native place and set out to carve his own fortune early in life. He first worked at the millwright business, and in 1856 went to the Township of Winchester, Dundas County, where he built a small saw mill, later adding other machinery and buildings, such as planing mills, sash and door, and flour mills. During the years 1861-1864 he engaged in square timber operations, taking the timber to Quebec. In the spring of 1883 he bought a water privilege on the St. Lawrence Canal, at Iroquois, and moved there in June of the same year, where he commenced a roller flour mill, which was put in operation in the fall of 1884. At Mr. Beach’s place in Winchester, where the old business is still continued, he saw grow up what is now a flourishing village. Between the years 1861-1878 Mr. Beach was connected directly and indirectly with the general store business and has always been successful in his undertakings. In 1884 his mills at Winchester were destroyed by fire, and a number of other valuable buildings, also a quantity of sawn lumber, flour and wheat to the amount of about $75,000, were all swept away without any insurance to cover the loss. This naturally crippled him financially, but nothing daunted, he commenced again, rebuilding the mills in a much better manner than before and adding a furniture factory to them, thus showing that the spirit of the man was bigger than any adversity and that he did not know the meaning of failure. He met every obstacle with indomitable faith in himself as the biggest asset of human enterprise, which, more than any other, was a characteristic of Mr. Beach. He had absolute faith in his own judgment and with great capacity and resource he soon recovered his losses. He was President of the Beach Foundry Co., Ltd., of Ottawa, and also with his son Charles A., established the Beach Furniture Factory, at Cornwall. In 1909 he completed a water power development in Iroquois, one of the latest and most improved hydro-electric power plants in America. In order to carry out this undertaking, he was obliged to resort to the European markets for the electrical apparatus. The generators came from Sweden, where they were designed and made especially for the conditions met with in development. It might truly be said that this was the pioneer plant in Canada for the vertical type, direct connected to wheel, operating under a low head of water. This fact was attested to by many eminent engineers from all over the American continent, who inspected the plant after its completion. In 1910, with his two sons, Benson C. and Charles A., he was interested in the development of a 4,000 h.p. Hydro-Electric Power Plant at Hound Chute, on the Montreal River, furnishing the first electrical energy used in the Cobalt District. Associated with the late Hon. Andrew Broder, M.P., he secured in 1882, a charter for the Montreal and Central Canada Railroad. With the charter they interviewed Sir Wm. Van Horne, of the C.P.R. Asked what they wanted for their charter and expense of promoting, the reply was “We want a railroad.” The C.P.R. took over the charter, the line was built and now forms part of the main line between Toronto and Montreal. Mr. Beach was one of the foremost men interested in the erection of the present magnificent Methodist Church at Winchester. His public career has been confined to municipal affairs. He was warden of the United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry for the year 1873. In politics he was a Liberal, and in religion a broad-minded adherent of the Methodist Church, and opposed to ostentation. Even passing his eighty-third birthday, Mr. Beach exhibited remarkable vitality of mind and body, being still actively engaged in his several interests, but on January 4, 1917, he suddenly passed away, the direct cause being due to acute congestion of the kidneys, complicated with pneumonia. His useful and successful life will long be remembered with respect.


Macdonald, John (Toronto, Ont.), the present head of the great wholesale dry goods firm of John Macdonald & Co., of Toronto, is still a young man. He bears the name of his father, the founder of the business, and was born on the 4th of November, 1863, at the old family homestead, Oaklands, a beautiful villa on the hills overlooking the city of Toronto. He was educated at Upper Canada College, which boasts the names of a very large number of distinguished families on its rolls, and while still a lad entered (1880) the great dry goods establishment which then bore his father’s name and was founded by him in 1849. Under his distinguished father’s guidance he received a sound business training, and was thus, on the death of the latter, able to undertake the great responsibility devolving upon him. The firm was made a Joint Stock Company, of which he was appointed President in 1906. He is a Director of the following: Bank of Toronto, Confederation Life Association, Toronto Hotel Co., Ltd., Guarantee Company of North America, Millers and Manufacturers Insurance Co., Humane Society, Hospital for Incurables, Academy of Music. Honorary Governor Toronto General Hospital; member Toronto Board of Trade; Chairman Bureau Municipal Research; Trustee and Official, Yonge St. Methodist Church; Vice-Chairman, Financial Committee; member Defence League. The late Hon. John Macdonald sat in the Senate of Canada for several years, and was a most distinguished figure in religious and philanthropic work. The subject of this sketch is a man of varied interests and wide social popularity, while retaining the sound business energy characteristic of his family. In the affairs of his alma mater, Upper Canada College, he has taken a deep interest, and was one of those public-spirited graduates who took an active part in the work of reorganization which a few years ago put it on a sound basis and largely increased its usefulness. He is also a member of the Methodist Communion, in which his father was so long an eminent figure, and has interested himself in the affairs of Yonge Street Methodist Church, of which he is a Trustee. He holds the office of Justice of the Peace, but fortunately is not compelled to frequently exercise his function as a magistrate. Among the commercial organizations with which he is identified, may be mentioned the Toronto Board of Trade, in which he is prominent in the dry goods section. His is also one of the best-known names on the roll of the Commercial Travellers’ Association, one of the most powerful organizations in Canada. He is also a member of the British Empire League, the object of which is to further the progress of an enlightened Imperialism in Canada; of the well-known benevolent society, the Ancient Order of United Workmen; of the Caledonian Society, to which he belongs by virtue of his Scottish descent; and is a member, also, by virtue of the family traditions, of the York pioneers; a member also of the Methodist Union College Heights Association, Upper Canada College Old Boys’ Association, St. Andrew’s Society, and the Canadian Institute. Clubs: York, National, British Empire. Like all men of active mind, Mr. Macdonald has a hobby, and in his case the hobby is horseflesh. His beautiful home at Oaklands always boasts some fine animals in its stables, and he has earnestly devoted himself to the improvement of Canadian stock. He was one of the original promoters and is a Director of the Annual Horse Show at Toronto, and is also an active member of the Horse Breeders’ Association, and of the Hackney Horse Association. It will thus be seen that Mr. Macdonald is a man of catholic tastes and wide energies. He resides at 116 Farnham Avenue, Toronto.


Longley, Hon. J. W. (Halifax, N.S.), Judge of the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia. One of the best-known men in Canadian public life, and a gentleman who combines literary graces with a practical public spirit, is Hon. James Wilberforce Longley, late Attorney-General and Commissioner of Crown Lands for the Province of Nova Scotia. Hon. Mr. Longley was born at Paradise, Annapolis County, Nova Scotia, on January 4, 1849, the son of Israel Longley and Frances Manning. Like so many noted Nova Scotians, he is a descendant of an old New England family, and his grandfather, William Longley, came to Nova Scotia from Massachusetts in 1760, and settled at Belleisle, in Annapolis County. The subject of this sketch attended school first at Paradise and later received his education in the higher branches at Acadia University, Wolfville, N.S., where he received the B.A. degree in 1871; M.A., 1875; D.C.L., 1897; Hon. LL.D. St. Francis Xavier College, Antigonish, N.S., 1905. He began the study of law in the office of Hiram Blanchard, K.C., of Halifax, and completed his course with the legal firm of Johnston & Bligh; read law with Bethune & Hoyles, Toronto, and W. A. Johnson, Halifax, N.S.; he also attended for a term at Osgoode Hall, Toronto, and was called to the Nova Scotia Bar at Halifax in 1875, where he immediately began the practice of his profession; two years as Bligh & Longley; four years with Mr. Motton, and as McCoy & Longley. He quickly made a reputation by his ability, and in 1883 was appointed by the Provincial Government as one of the commission for the revision and consolidation of the Statutes. Journalism had always attracted Mr. Longley, and while a law student he had become identified with the “Acadian Recorder,” of Halifax, as its chief editorial writer. Subsequently he joined the staff of the “Halifax Morning Chronicle,” and for some time filled the responsible post of managing editor. Mr. Longley’s literary and clear attractive style has borne fruit in contributions to many of the leading reviews and periodicals of England and the United States. In 1898, “Love,” a religious and philosophical essay appeared in book form and has passed through several editions. He has also written “Socialism, Its Truths and Errors”; “The Greatest Drama”; “A Material Age”; “Canada and Imperial Federation”; “Religion in the 19th Century”; “Makers of Canada” (Series); “The Political History of Canada” (four volumes complete); “Life of Joseph Howe,” and “Life of Sir Charles Tupper.” He was President of the Nova Scotia Historical Society and a member of the Royal Society of Canada. Coincident with his legal and literary activities, Hon. Mr. Longley has taken an active part in politics. He was for some years President of the Young Men’s Liberal Club of Halifax, and entered public life in 1882 as member of the Nova Scotia Legislature for Annapolis County, which constituency he represented until 1905. Two years later Hon. W. S. Fielding, in forming his Government, invited Mr. Longley to enter it, and in July, 1884, he was sworn in as a Minister without Portfolio. In 1886 he was appointed Attorney-General. In 1896 he resigned to enter a contest for Federal honors in the House of Commons. Being defeated, his old constituents in Annapolis at once re-elected him by acclamation. At the request of the Premier, Hon. Mr. Murray, he resumed the duties of Attorney General for Nova Scotia, which position he held for over nineteen years. In his public capacity, he was a member of the famous inter-Provincial Conference at Quebec in 1887, and was one of the prominent figures in the historic convention of the Reform Party in 1893, when the platform of the then Opposition was struck. As a legislator he has initiated many useful provincial measures, embracing important changes in the criminal procedure, the abolition of imprisonment for debt, consolidation of County Court Procedure and the incorporation of towns. He is a director of the British Empire Financial Corporation, and is a great social favorite in most of the cities of Canada. Has been a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and was elected Honorary President. On September 4, 1877, he married Annie Brown, daughter of Mr. Newton Brown (deceased, October, 1899); secondly, Lois Fletcher, daughter of George Fletcher, Yorkshire, Eng., April, 1901, and has five sons and one daughter. He is a member of the Halifax and Saraquay Clubs; a director of the Home Life Association, and received his present appointment in 1905; also a member of A.F. & A.M. He was created K.C. by Lord Stanley (afterwards Earl of Derby) in 1890.


Morgan, Colin Daniel (Montreal, Que.), Merchant, is the son of William Morgan and Jane Brown; was born at West Linton, Scotland, in 1846, and educated at Edinburgh, Scotland. He married Martha Gold, the daughter of Hon. Theodore S. Gold, an agriculturist, of West Cornwall, Conn., and has four children, Theodore, Marjorie, Henry and Alice. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and takes his recreation motoring, etc.


Antliff, Rev. James Cooper, M.A., D.D., 41 St. Mark Street, Montreal. Born February 1, 1844, at Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England. Son of Rev. Wm. Antliff, D.D., and Barbara Cooper. Educated at Haslingden Wesleyan School and Edinburgh University from which he graduated with the degree of M.A., 1873, B.D. in 1874. Left England for Canada by appointment of Primitive Methodist Conference, 1878. Professor in Wesleyan Theological College, Montreal, for nine years. Received degree of D.D. Victoria University, 1887. Member of First Œcumenical Conference. President of Montreal Conference, 1891. Secretary of First General Conference of Methodist Church. Canadian delegate to Wesleyan Methodist Conference, 1907. Was editor of Christian Journal for three years; and is the author of several illuminating magazine articles on various subjects. Married first, Fanny Holden, daughter of John Holden Esq., of Dalbury Lees, Derby, England; second, Jane Elizabeth Gooderham, daughter of the Rev. Ezekiel Gooderham of York Mills, Ont., has one surviving son, born the 22nd of March, 1869. Rev. Dr. Antliff has traveled extensively and is a man of ripe scholarship.


Arrell, Harrison (Caledonia, Ont.), was born at the Township of Onondaga, Brant County, November 14, 1874, son of Samuel Arrell, farmer. Educated at Caledonia High School and after matriculating, studied law in the office of Mr. Justice Teetzel, Hamilton, and Osgoode Hall, Toronto, and was called to the bar in 1898. Married, in 1907, to Eva, daughter of H. B. Sawle, of Caledonia, and is the father of two children: Alec. and Hugh. Is a member of the Masonic Order, and in religion is an Anglican. Politically, he is a Conservative. Was appointed Crown Attorney and Clerk of the Peace for the County of Haldimand, in June, 1915.


Musson, Charles Joseph (Toronto, Ont.), Publisher, is the President of The Musson Book Co., Ltd., and Vice-President of Hodder & Stoughton, Ltd. He is the son of Elizabeth and the late Capt. Thomas Musson, general merchant and postmaster, Islington, Ont., where he was born on September 15, 1869, receiving his education at Islington Public School, Streetsville High School and Parkdale Collegiate Institute, Toronto. Mr. Musson married Jennie Bird, daughter of the late Wm. Williams, farmer, Bowmanville, Ont., and has two children, Ralph Thomas Musson, Lieutenant, Royal Garrison Artillery, and Glena Elizabeth Musson. He is a life member of the Historical Landmark Society of Canada, and of Harmony Lodge A.F. & A.M. Scottish Rite, a 32nd Degree Mason, a Workman, and Past Grand Master Canadian Order of Oddfellows. In politics Mr. Musson is a Conservative, and in religion a member of the Church of England.


Massey, C. D. (Toronto, Ont.). The name of Massey is known throughout the length and breadth of Canada, not only on account of the vastness of the business interests associated with that name, but because of the great philanthropies with which it is also synonymous. As the surviving head of the family that has built up Canada’s greatest individual industrial enterprise, the figure of Mr. Chester Daniel Massey, the subject of this sketch, is doubly fraught with interest. He is the son of the late Hart A. Massey, who was the son and successor in business of Daniel Massey, the founder of the great establishment for the manufacture of agricultural implements now known as the Massey-Harris Company, Limited, and has been associated with that business, of which he is now the Honorary President, since boyhood. Both the brothers who had also been identified with the growth and management of the enterprise, Charles A. Massey and Walter E. H. Massey, have also passed away. But Mr. Chester D. Massey is splendidly carrying out the traditions of the family. He was born on June 17, 1850, in Haldimand Township, in the County of Northumberland, Ontario, and received his education at the Public Schools of the province. While still a boy he entered the business establishment of his father, then centred at Newcastle, Ontario. Literally speaking, he has grown up with the business, which in turn has grown up with the country (coincident with the vast expansion of agricultural enterprise in Canada). In 1879 the headquarters of the Massey firm were removed to Toronto, where Mr. Massey has resided since the year 1882. In 1884 his eldest brother, Charles A. Massey, died, and the duties devolving on him became the heavier. The period that has elapsed since then has been one of immense expansion, which the firm attained by a judicious policy of amalgamation and by extending its agencies not only from the Atlantic to the Pacific, but beyond the seven seas in all the corners of the earth. As has been intimated, commercial interests do not by any means absorb the entire attention of Mr. Massey. He is largely interested in all religious and philanthropic movements. He is a member of the Methodist Church, to which he is greatly attached, and his voice is at all times valued in its councils. He is a Governor of the University of Toronto; a Regent of Victoria University, and a Trustee of the Metropolitan Church and the Methodist Deaconess Home and Training School, all of Toronto. He is also a Trustee of Massey Music Hall, one of the finest buildings that unselfish citizenship ever gave to a community. As chief executor of his father’s estate, he necessarily takes a deep interest in the valuable works of philanthropy which have been carried out under the provisions of the will. On March 17, 1886, Mr. Massey was married at Erie, Pa., to Miss Anna D. Vincent (deceased, London, England, November 11, 1903), and secondly to Miss Margaret Phelps, of Gloversville, N.Y., Jan. 3, 1907; has two sons by first wife, Charles Vincent and Raymond Hart Massey.


Smith, William, M.P., for South Ontario (Columbus, Ont.), was born in the Township of East Whitby, November 16, 1847, is the son of William Smith and Elizabeth Laing, his wife, natives of Morayshire, Scotland. He was educated at the public school, Columbus, and Upper Canada College, Toronto. He was Paymaster of the 34th Battalion for a number of years. He has been a Trustee of Columbus Public School for over 21 years. Was President of the South Ontario Agricultural Society in 1881. Was Deputy Reeve for the Township of East Whitby from 1878 to 1882, and Reeve from 1883 to 1887. Was Vice-president and President of the Clydesdale Association of Canada for a number of years. Is President of the Record Board since 1912. Is President of the Maple Leaf Farmers’ Mutual Fire Company, and has been since its incorporation in 1896. Is a Director of the Dominion Shorthorn Association. He has always taken an active interest in municipal and political affairs: Contested South Ontario, 1882, 1887, 1891, 1892, 1896, 1900 and 1911; successful in 1887, 1892 and 1911. In politics he is a Conservative and in religion a Presbyterian. He was married, May 25, 1880, to Helen Burns, daughter of the late James Burns, of the Township of East Whitby. Three children: Bessie, Robert B., and Wm. Bruce. Robert B. is senior Major of the 116th, now in England, and went over with the first contingent in 1914. Mr. Smith is a farmer, and takes a great interest in Clydesdale horses, Shorthorn cattle and Cotswold sheep.


Mikel, William Charles, K.C., B.C.L. (Belleville), was born in Belleville, Ont., the son of W. V. and Matilda (Wilson) Mikel, a descendant U.E.L. family. His great-grandfather fought on the side of Great Britain in the American Revolution, after which he came to Canada and was granted 300 acres of land in Ameliasburg Township, Prince Edward County. Again he fought on the side of the Government forces in Rebellion of 1837. The subject of this sketch was educated at Belleville High School and the Ontario Business College, Albert College (honors), and Trinity University (B.C.L., 1897). Practises law at Belleville; has been Crown Prosecutor at Ottawa, Toronto and other places throughout the province. Appeared before Legislature and Parliament in several important matters, and acted as one of the Counsel for the depositors of the Farmers Bank of Canada, when the Government and House of Commons approved of payment of over one million dollars to depositors. Served as Alderman, Auditor and City Solicitor of the Corporation of the city of Belleville; created King’s Counsel, 1908. One of the founders of the Ontario Bar Association and President 1911-12; President Liberal-Conservative Auxiliary, Belleville; President Ontario Municipal Association, 1907-08. Grand Master A.O.U.W., 1914-15-16; President Canadian Fraternal Association, 1918-19; P.M. Moira Lodge, No. 11, A.F. & A.M., 1st P. Moira Chapter, No. 7, G.R.C.; member King Baldwin Preceptory; member L.O.L. No. 274, and Royal Black Knights of Ireland. Member of Albany Club, Toronto; a Presbyterian in religion. Formerly Captain 15th Batt. A.L.I., volunteered, 1915, for service in the Great War, but was rejected. Offered to organize and take command of a battalion, not accepted. Secretary Speakers’ Patriotic League at Belleville; assisted in recruiting several military organizations for service overseas; member of Council of the Win-the-War League, and was one of the Committee of the League which presented to Sir Robert Borden, August, 1917, the resolutions of the League supporting Union Government, conscription and other patriotic measures. Strong supporter of the Union Government, and assisted many of the Union Government candidates in the election of December, 1917. Married Miss Lillian Ewen, daughter of T. E. Ewen, M.A., veteran of the Fenian Raid; has one daughter, Miss Audrey Mikel. On July 25 and 26, 1918, he presided over a meeting at Belleville called by him, as President of the Canadian Fraternal Association, comprised of delegates from a number of Canadian Fraternal Societies representing Protestants and Roman Catholics, both English and French speaking, for the purpose of promoting a better understanding between the English and French speaking Canadians; and again at Ottawa on November 28, 1918, he presided over a similar meeting called by him. His brother, R. Y. Mikel, served in France with the American Flying Corps in the Great War, so that the great-grandsons of the men who fought against the American army in the Revolutionary war, served in that army, showing how closely the people of the British Empire and of the United States have been brought together by this war.


Robb, Thomas (Westmount, Que.), Manager and Secretary of the Shipping Federation of Canada, is Managing Director of the Marconi Wireless Telegraph Co., and a Director of George Davie & Sons, Limited. He has been employed as Acting Staff Embarkation Officer, with the rank of Major, under Generals McDonald and Biggar, and has also rendered valuable services to the Marine and Naval Departments in connection with the war. Royal Commissioner on Pilotage, 1911; Chairman of Royal Commission on Pilotage, 1918, arising out of Halifax disaster. Commissioner on Traffic Regulations dealing with explosives, and also Royal Commissioner on Commission appointed to investigate labor unrest in Shipbuilding industry in Province of Quebec. He was a member of the delegation sent to Washington, D.C., in opposition to the proposed Long Sault Development, and has been called to that city on several occasions, notably in connection with the revision of the American Seamen’s Act. He is a member of the American Geographical Society, and has delivered an address on “Navigation—Ancient and Modern” before the Nomad’s Club, which was subsequently published in pamphlet form, also other addresses on Marine subjects. Mr. Robb’s chosen recreations are golf and fishing. He is a Justice of the Peace, a Mason, and a member of the Canadian Club and Canada Club, both of Montreal. Mr. Robb was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1863, where he received his education at McLaren Academy. Thomas Robb is the son of Ann Thomson and Thomas Robb, an able writer. He married Elizabeth Andrew, daughter of James McLaren, merchant, of Stirling, Scotland, in 1890, by whom he has three daughters and one son, Elizabeth, Mabel, Chrissie, Robert.


White, Arthur V., Consulting Engineer, Toronto, Ontario, was born in Woodstock, Ontario, August 21, 1871. His father was the late James White, Esq., a prominent merchant, well known throughout South-western Ontario, and for more than twenty-five years Clerk of the County of Oxford, in which office he succeeded his father, who was one of the early Scotch pioneers of Woodstock. His mother was Dorothy Jessie McLeod, eldest daughter of W. C. McLeod, Esq., one of the most widely-known merchants and financiers of pioneer days in Ontario. Mr. White’s early education was carried on in the Woodstock Public and High Schools, after which he entered the University of Toronto, where he graduated from the School of Practical Science with high standing in 1892. He later obtained from the University of Toronto the degree of M.E. (mechanical engineer), being the first graduate of that institution to receive this degree. After graduating, Mr. White followed his profession in connection with manufacturing establishments in Canada and the United States, and for some years was Chief Draughtsman for the Canadian General Electric Company, at Peterboro. Subsequently, he was Lecturer in Mechanical Drawing and Machine Design at the Toronto Technical School. He spent about five years in London, England, as engineering expert to Messrs. Brown Brothers, for whom he executed important commissions on the Continent, as well as in the United States, travelling extensively in connection therewith. August 28, 1901, Mr. White married Aidine Squire, eldest daughter of Hon. Watson C. Squire, LL.D., of Seattle, Wash., ex-United States Senator from that State, and formerly Governor of Washington Territory, and Ida Remington, eldest daughter of Philo Remington, Esq., the noted manufacturer of firearms. Mr. White has three children—James Arthur, Remington, and Caroline Lathrop. Returning to take up his residence in Canada in 1902, Mr. White continued his professional work. In 1905, representing the noted engineers, Messrs. Ross & Holgate, Mr. White personally canvassed leading manufacturers in South-western Ontario respecting power requirements and collected much of the field data basic to the recommendations of the Ontario Power Commission, the precursor of the present Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario. Later he worked chiefly upon constructional engineering and devoted considerable time to designing in connection with Harbor Works for the Department of Public Works, Canada. In 1910, he was engaged by the Commission of Conservation, Ottawa, with which he still remains as Consulting Engineer. He has reported for this Commission upon the Water Powers of the Provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario and British Columbia; also upon the St. Lawrence Long Sault Rapids, the Chicago Drainage Canal, Niagara Power and other matters. In 1911, he was appointed Consulting Engineer representing Canada to the International Joint Commission, under the Boundary Waters Treaty, to report jointly with the consulting engineer from the United States upon the official reference relating to the levels of the Lake of the Woods, including the control and utilization of its waters and those tributary thereto. The Report upon this subject was completed in 1917 and is a comprehensive work to which the engineering press has referred as reflecting great credit on its authors. Mr. White has written extensively upon engineering subjects, but his principal efforts have been devoted to his various reports for the Federal Government. He is regarded as a high authority on many questions connected with International waters, and has made a special study of Niagara power and the exportation of electric energy with its relationship to coal supply. To the important subject of Canada’s fuel problem, Mr. White has, for many years, devoted special attention. Since as early as 1910, he has contributed valuable articles to such periodicals as the “University Magazine,” the “Monetary Times,” and prominent engineering and technical journals, as well as to the daily press, urging that this subject be viewed and dealt with in its broad national aspect, and that Canada take immediate steps to secure the greatest possible independence with respect to her fuel supply. Mr. White possesses a very comprehensive collection of rare books dealing with the early History of Astronomy. He is opposed to the views of modern theoretical astronomy as represented by the Copernican System, and an article from his pen in the University Monthly, in 1909, entitled “The Shape of the Earth,” has excited considerable comment. In religion Mr. White is a Protestant. He is non-sectarian, but of strong Christian belief and is a staunch supporter of the Scriptures. In politics, as in religion, he is independent.


Beaumont, Ernest Joseph (Kitchener, Ont.), Local Registrar of the Supreme Court, is the son of Joseph Wilson Beaumont, D.D., and Louisa Beaumont. He was born at Mirfield, Yorkshire, England, February 28, 1855, and received his early education at “The Grammar School,” Sheffield, Eng. Coming to Canada as a young man, Mr. Beaumont practised law in Galt, Ont., for twenty-seven years, and served as Town Solicitor of that place for eighteen years. He was also a member of the Public School Board for 4 years, and late Major of the 29th Waterloo Battalion, retiring with rank in 1888. He received his present appointment as local Registrar of the Supreme Court of Ontario in January, 1908, is a Roman Catholic in religion and a member of the Canadian Order of Foresters. Ernest J. Beaumont married Helen McNab, daughter of Benjamin Wood of Ingersoll, Ont., and had one son, George Joseph Beaumont, Lieutenant in the 11th (S.) Battalion, East Lancashire Regiment, B.E.F., France, who died of wounds in France on January 24, 1917.


Mackintosh, Charles Herbert (Ottawa, Ont.), was born in London, Ontario, in 1843; a son of the late Captain William Mackintosh, county engineer of Middlesex, Ontario, and Leonora Sophia, daughter of Colonel Dickenson of Jamaica, West Indies. Captain Mackintosh came to Canada as an attaché of the ordnance branch of the British Army. Mr. Mackintosh has led an unusually active life, succeeding in making his way, unaided, to positions of honor and influence. He was educated at the Galt Grammar School (Tassie’s), and Caradoc Academy (Middlesex Co.), two well-known institutions at that time. When the Prince of Wales (afterwards King Edward VII) visited Canada in 1860, an ode of welcome from the pen of Mr. Mackintosh, then a youth of seventeen, was presented to His Royal Highness. Two years later, under the title of “Fat Contributor,” he wrote for the London “Free Press,” a series of articles, characteristically entitled “Hurry-Graphs.” These attracted wide attention, and the entrance of the young writer into journalism was a foregone conclusion. He relinquished the study of law, and became, first, reporter, and soon afterwards city editor of the “Free Press.” Believing that the early history of pioneer life in Upper Canada should be heard from the lips of those who had passed through the ordeal, Mr. Mackintosh organized a Committee, the result being a Pioneer Banquet, at which 400 old settlers from local and distant points were in attendance. Col. J. B. Askin, one of the early pioneers acted as chairman, Mr. Mackintosh, as the youngest Canadian, acting as Secretary. Subsequent to this, he assisted in promoting the Western Fair, which to-day has expanded to noticeable proportions. His journalistic career was marked by rapid progress. In 1864 he was city editor of the Hamilton “Times.” A year later he founded the “Dispatch,” of Strathroy, which he conducted until 1873. In 1868 he married Gertrude Cooke, daughter of T. Cooke, J.P., of Strathroy. In 1871 he founded the Parkhill “Gazette,” which he controlled for some time, while still managing the “Dispatch.” In the same year, he unsuccessfully contested North Middlesex as Conservative candidate for the local legislature. In 1871 he visited Chicago during the fire, and wrote a description of the terrible event; 60,000 copies being sold in two weeks. He was also elected a member of the town council of Strathroy, in which capacity he exhibited talents, which afterwards showed to better advantage in a wider sphere. Believing in himself, as all men do who come to the front in human affairs, he proceeded to prepare for a higher sphere in public life which he was destined to fill. Deciding that the protection system which had long been established in the United States, deserved consideration in Canada, he accepted the position of managing editor of the Chicago “Journal of Commerce.” While resident in the western metropolis, he studied carefully the protection system, as well as other issues in the United States. He also wrote a graphic account of the United States’ “panic of 1873.” Returning to Canada, at the request of Sir John A. Macdonald the day after his government was defeated in 1873, he declined an editorial position on the “Mail”; sold out his interest in the Strathroy “Dispatch,” and went to Ottawa, being appointed editor of the Ottawa “Citizen,” the Conservative journal of the capital. He at once attracted attention, not only because of the vigorous management and writing of the “Citizen,” but because of knowledge of public questions. At the celebration of the O’Connell Centennial, he wrote a poem which won the gold and silver medal over many others submitted. He was an ardent protectionist long before the Conservative party accepted that system as a plank in their platform, and must be counted as one of the leaders in that economic movement. In 1877, the late John Riordon, of St. Catharines, urged Mr. Mackintosh to co-operate with him in reorganizing the “Mail,” but the offer was again declined. His active interest in public affairs, combined with an unusual share of those qualities which make men popular with their fellows, caused him to be nominated for the Mayoralty of Ottawa in 1879, the result of the election being his return by a large majority. He promoted the first Dominion Exhibition, which was opened by the then Governor-General, Lord Lorne—afterwards Duke of Argyle. In the two succeeding years he was re-elected, and though unseated on a technicality after the third contest, was a fourth time favored with the support of the people. As Mayor of the Capital of Canada, he inaugurated many reforms, which proved of great benefit to the city. When retiring from the Mayoralty, the city presented him with an address; also, citizens generally passed resolutions and presented an illuminated address. In the General Election of 1882 he was one of the Conservative candidates in Ottawa for the House of Commons, and was elected senior member by a sweeping majority. During his term in Parliament, he made several speeches which were notable for keen common sense. He spoke but seldom; when he did he always secured an attentive hearing. He became President of the Ottawa and Gatineau Valley Railroad, now a part of the Canadian Pacific, and was also a Director of the Canada Atlantic Railroad, now a part of the Grand Trunk System. Mr. Mackintosh resigned his seat for Ottawa in July, 1886, but at the request of friends agreed to hold it until the dissolution, which he did. The Capital of Canada is no bed of roses for any active or generous man, and thus the senior member found it, hence his positive objection to being again a candidate at that time. In the General Election of 1887, Mr. Mackintosh, by the unanimous wish of the Conservative party, contested Russell against Mr. W. C. Edwards, the largest lumber manufacturer, and most popular Liberal in the County, and was defeated by a narrow majority, owing mainly to the feeling against the Government among the French-Canadians, aroused by the execution of Riel. He polled 2,146 votes, or between 400 and 500 more than were ever given to a Conservative candidate in that county. The Home Rule and Riel cries concentrated at least 1,600 votes solidly against any Conservative nominee, the Constituency being largely Catholic. It should be said, however, that Mr. Mackintosh was an ardent advocate of and believer in Ireland’s right to control her own local affairs. But he had voted in favor of Orange incorporation, publicly declaring that such would, in the end, ameliorate the bitterness between Protestants and Catholics. Mr. Edwards upon a protest was unseated for Russell, and a score of his supporters reported for corruption. The Conservative party let the matter drop; another election took place with the same result, Mr. Edwards (now Senator) being returned. In 1888 Mr. Mackintosh declined to accept nomination for the Mayoralty, and also to be a candidate for the County of Carleton. In 1890, upon the death of the sitting member, Mr. Perley, a requisition was presented, signed by prominent Liberals and Conservatives, asking Mr. Mackintosh to be a candidate. There were four candidates in the field, but he was elected by over 1,000 majority, and was again returned at the General Election of 1891. During this time he became interested in the “Lake Manitoba Railway and Canal Company,” which subsequently was merged with the Canadian Northern Transcontinental Line. His leader, Sir John A. Macdonald, died in June, 1891, and until Sir John Thompson became Premier, Mr. Mackintosh took little interest in political affairs, disposing of his newspaper the Ottawa “Citizen.” In October, 1893, he was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of the Canadian North-West Territories, then including the Yukon. Before leaving Ottawa he was presented with a testimonial and address by the workingmen of Ottawa, the Conservative Association, and a dinner tendered by the members of the Rideau Club, at which Judges of the Supreme Court, Sir John Thompson and other Ministers were present. During his term, he organized a Dominion Territorial Exhibition in 1895, spoken of as inaugurating a very beneficial settlement in the North-West. Prize competition entries reached nearly 8,000 in the various departments. It was opened by Lord Aberdeen, then Governor-General. On this occasion the city of Regina presented him with an oil painting of himself and a complimentary address. In January, 1898, Mr. Mackintosh resigned his high position, going to British Columbia, successfully organizing the British America Mining Corporation, of which he was Managing Director, until he resigned, about 1900. In 1902, when King George V (then Duke of York) visited Canada, Mr. Mackintosh, upon behalf of the Miners of British Columbia, presented him with unique gold specimens extracted from the western mines. Mr. Mackintosh remained in the western province for several years, engaging in literary work. In 1908 he was awarded the 1st prize for an essay on “British Columbia—Its Resources.” He was for some time in Toronto, where (in 1910) he wrote a series of articles for the “Mail and Empire,” forecasting Germany as the storm centre of a coming war. In 1911, when the Reciprocity issue was before the electors, he wrote a series of articles against the proposition, visiting nearly every constituency in Ontario, publishing a signed telegram in the “Montreal Star,” the day before the election, forecasting the defeat of the Laurier Government and allowing them not more than fourteen seats in Ontario. When his party returned to power, he accepted a position as Inspector of Customs, and has also written many articles on the European War, which broke out in August, 1914. In May, 1917, a pamphlet written by Mr. Mackintosh, dealing with the Home Rule issue and entitled “Are Ireland’s Problems on the Eve of Solution?” attracted much attention, being quoted from at the Irish Conference by several delegates. Mr. Mackintosh spends much of his time in British Columbia where he is Chairman of the Halcyon Springs Company, and is greatly interested in the development of that province’s mining resources.


Meek, Edward (Toronto, Ont.), Barrister, was born in the village of Port Stanley, Ontario, on December 27, 1844. His father, James Meek, came to Canada at the early age of three years with his parents, in 1818, from Ballymena, North of Ireland. They settled in the same year in Talbot District, and took up a tract of land near Port Stanley, being among the earliest pioneers of that part of the country. At the time of Edward’s birth his father was a carpenter and builder, but afterwards became a partner in a foundry which was carried on successfully for a number of years; but a disastrous fire destroyed the whole of the extensive establishment, and he returned to his farm, on which he remained till his death. Edward received his early education at the Port Stanley school, and afterwards at the Grammar School, St. Thomas. After leaving school, at the age of seventeen, he was granted a certificate to teach, which occupation he followed for three years. He then accepted a position as bookkeeper in a grain warehouse, at which he continued for a short time only; but thinking a short journey among strangers would improve his prospects, he went to Boston and engaged with a publishing house of a prominent firm there. After a short sojourn he returned to London, Ontario, and there commenced the study of law. In 1873 he removed to Toronto, where he continued his studies and finished his law course in the office of Harrison, Osler and Moss, three gentlemen who afterwards became distinguished judges. He was called to the Bar of Ontario in the spring of 1874, and he then formed a partnership with the Hon. John O’Donohoe, which continued for four years, when it was dissolved. He then opened an office of his own until he formed a partnership with the late William Norris, of Woodstock, which lasted till Mr. Norris returned to Woodstock. In 1877 he commenced to take an active part in the politics of the country, and especially in the promotion of the National Policy; in fact, he was one of the originators of the word, and travelled over Ontario assisting in the formation of political organizations to enable the National Policy party to carry their new platform to a successful issue. He continued from that time to take an active part as one of the political writers and speakers on the platform until the winter of 1884, when he and a number of other politicians conceived the idea of forming a coalition government for the Province of Ontario, their object being to do away with partyism in the local legislature. Others were brought into the scheme who were impatient of the slow method of bringing about the change by argument, and thought that a sufficient number of the members of the Legislature could be secured by offers and promises to at once defeat the Mowat Government, when the coalition could be immediately formed during the spring session of 1884. The plans were disapproved of by the originators of the idea, but the hot heads could not be kept under control, and the public know the result of the unfortunate conspiracy case which sprung from it, involving those more actively concerned in the long and tedious investigation and prosecution before a Royal Commission and in the criminal courts. The Royal Commission brought in a divided report, which the House never acted upon. The verdict of the jury in the criminal court, in the trial of May, 1885, acquitted the accused. Since that time Mr. Meek has devoted himself strictly to the practice of his profession in Toronto, and the promotion and formation of joint stock and other companies. Mr. Meek was joined in marriage, on June 30, 1873, to Anna Margaret McBride, daughter of Samuel McBride, of London, Ontario, by which union they have issue two sons and one daughter. Mr. Meek and family are members of the Church of England. Since the publication of the preceding matter in the second edition of “Representative Canadians,” about thirty years ago, Mr. Meek has continued to practise law in all its branches in the city of Toronto, and is considered a well-read lawyer, a sound legal adviser, and a successful practitioner. While carrying on his legal practice, during the past twenty-five years, he has written many thousands of “Legal Opinions,” published weekly in the Saturday edition of the “Mail & Empire” newspaper. These concise and clearly expressed statements of the law have been widely read, and highly appreciated by many thousands of readers of that journal, and have been copied in other newspapers. Mr. Meek has also written and published pamphlets; and essays on Legal and Constitutional questions in reviews and magazines which have been favorably criticized and commented upon—notably two essays comparing our Canadian System of Federalism with the American System of Federalism, entitled, “Some Observations on the Constitution of the Dominion of Canada,” published in the American Law Review of 1895, 1896; “The Legal and Constitutional Aspects of the Manitoba School Questions,” published in the “Canadian Magazine” and in pamphlet form in 1895; “Political Lessons from the Time of Cicero,” “Representative Government and Federalism,” the “Plebiscite”—an answer to an Essay published by the late Sir Geo. W. Ross—and other Essays, all to be found in the “Canadian Magazine” between 1898 and 1904; “Sunday Laws,” published in the “Canadian Law Review” in 1904; “The Mistakes made by the Framers of the Constitution of the United States of America,” and “Government and Political and Municipal Corporations,” etc., published later. In 1913 Mr. Meek published a book of 600 pages, entitled, “Business and Law,” which has had a wide circulation. Mr. Meek was created a Q.C. in 1896, but for political reasons the patent was never issued. He was, however, made a K.C. by the Ontario Government in 1908. He has recently published a few short poems which have been much admired. Now 72, he is in robust health, and his writings are as clear and concise, and his forensic abilities as convincing as 30 years ago, with the added copiousness and accuracy acquired by long years of experience. His eldest son, Mr. Charles S. Meek, is managing director of the British Pacific Engineering & Construction Company, of Vancouver, where he resides with his family, consisting of a wife and two daughters. His second son, Mr. E. J. Meek, is the chief accountant of the Canadian Bank of Commerce, and resides in Toronto with wife and two children—a son and daughter. Mr. Meek lives at 177 Jamieson Ave., with his wife and unmarried daughter, Miss Gertrude Meek.


Harris, Reginald V. (Halifax, N.S.), Barrister-at-Law, son of Rev. Canon V. E. Harris, Secretary, Diocesan Synod of Nova Scotia. Honorable W. B. Troop, M.L.A., in Holmes-Thompson Government of Nova Scotia (1878-82) grandfather; Honorable Chief Justice Harris, of Nova Scotia, uncle; was born March 21, 1881, at Londonderry, N.S.; educated at Amherst Public Schools; Trinity College School, Port Hope, Ont., and the University of Trinity College, Toronto, from which latter institution he graduated with the degree of B.A., 1902 (honors); and also received the degree of M.A., Toronto University (1910), and a similar degree from King’s University (1911). Barrister and Solicitor, Bars of Manitoba (1906) and Nova Scotia (1905). Member of Henry, Rogers, Harris & Stewart, Barristers, Halifax, since 1908. Mr. Harris is the author of the following publications: “The Governance of Empire” (1910); “Organization of a Legal Business” (1909); and is a frequent contributor to the press and magazines on Educational, Municipal and Imperial subjects. Mr. Harris has taken a large interest in the municipal affairs of the city of Halifax, of which he was Alderman (1911-13), and Controller (1913-15). He was also Vice-President of the Union of Canadian municipalities (1912-13); Vice-President, Union of Nova Scotia municipalities (1913-15); Commissioner of Schools, Halifax (1911-14); Chairman, School Board, Halifax (1913-14). Appointed Lieutenant 246th Overseas Battalion Canadian Expeditionary Forces, September, 1916. Captain and District Casualty Officer, Military District No. 6, June, 1917; District Military Representative (M.S.A.), October, 1917; Chief Public Representative, N.S. (M.S.A.), February to October, 1918. Is Governor and Treasurer of King’s College, Windsor, N.S.; member of Diocesan, Provincial and General Synods of Church of England in Canada; member and Secretary Board of Management, King’s College School, Windsor, N.S.; member of Council, Halifax Board of Trade (1911-14); President Commercial Club, Halifax (1914-15); member of the City Club, Halifax, and also a member and Secretary (N.S.) of the Royal Colonial Institute. Chairman Halifax Centre St. John Ambulance Association; District Superintendent St. John Ambulance Brigade; Esquire, Order of Hospital of St. John, December, 1917. In religion, a member of the Church of England, and in politics a Conservative. Mr. Harris married, June 4, 1907, Ethel W., daughter of Edmund G. Smith, merchant, of Halifax, and has two sons, R. Gordon Harris and Arthur St. G. Harris.


Sutherland, Donald (Ingersoll, Ont.), son of Robert Sutherland and Elizabeth Hutchison, both born in the County of Oxford, of Scotch parentage; born in West Zorra, Oxford County, April 8, 1863. Educated in the local county schools. Married, April 22, 1896, to Minnie Pearl Hossack. First elected to the council of North Oxford Township in 1896. Reeve during 1897 and 1898; County Commissioner for the Town of Ingersoll, North and West Oxford, 1901-2. Elected to represent South Oxford in the Ontario Legislature at the general elections held on May 29, 1902. Election unsuccessfully protested, re-elected at the general election, January 25, 1905. Seconded the address in reply to speech from the throne at the session of 1907. Defeated by a small majority at the general election, June 8, 1908. A candidate at the general election for the House of Commons on October 26 of the same year, and again defeated by a small majority. Appointed director of Colonization and Immigration for the Province of Ontario by the Whitney Government, March 10, 1909, when an active campaign was entered upon in Great Britain by provincial officers to promote immigration to the Province, and the system of advancing assisted passage to farm laborers and domestic servants was adopted. Resigned as Director of Colonization, August 8, 1911, to become a candidate for the House of Commons at the general elections held on Sept. 21, 1911, in response to a unanimous nomination tendered him by the Liberal-Conservative Association of the Riding, when he was elected over the late representative, and re-elected at the general elections held in December, 1917. Moved the address in reply to the speech from the throne at the special war session of August, 1914. Mr. Sutherland is a practical farmer, and extremely popular with all classes. He was the first Conservative elected to represent the riding in the Legislature, and also in the House of Commons. He is the father of seven children, viz.: Robert Bruce, William Evans, Donald Baikie, James Burleigh, John Angus, Jean Elizabeth and Olive Helen. The eldest, Robert Bruce, enlisted at 17 years of age and went overseas with the 1st Canadian Contingent, served at the front in France and Belgium, 1915-16, qualified as pilot in the Royal Air Force and served in Egypt and Palestine under Generals Murray and Allenby during 1917-18 until the end of the war; promoted to a Captaincy and Flight Commander, and awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross for conspicuous gallantry. William Evan also enlisted at 18 years, and was a member of the R.A.F. at close of war. Mr. Sutherland is a Presbyterian and a member of the Masonic Order.


McInenly, William, Electrical Contractor, was born at Sillery, Quebec, January 20, 1874. He was educated at the Quebec Commercial Academy from which he graduated in 1888. From 1889 to 1910 he was engaged in the lumber business in Quebec, and in 1911 started in the electrical machinery business in Ottawa, and at once became General-Manager of the “Mac Electric Company,” whose works and offices are at 52 Queen Street, Ottawa. While the company has never undertaken the wiring of residences, ordinary apartment houses, or accepted any like contracts, it repairs anything electrical from an electric iron to a 500 horse-power electric motor. Among the principal electrical contracts accepted by the firm and carried out to completion are the New Ottawa Gas Company plant, the Ottawa Electric Company’s new plant on Middle Street, and the Ottawa Car Manufacturing Company plant on Albert Street. Every kind of electrical machinery is built by the company—motors, dynamos, generators, etc. Mr. McInenly is the son of the late James McInenly, lumber merchant, and Ellen M. Paul. On June 19, 1901, he married Miss Norah Ahearn, the daughter of the late Maurice Ahearn, who became distinguished as an artist, and a brother of Thomas Ahearn, president of the Ottawa Electric Railway Company, etc. He has four sons, James, Maurice, Bertram and Thomas. He is Chairman of the Electrical Dealers and Contractors Association of Ottawa, is a director of Weir & Company, Limited, Ottawa, manufacturers of aerated waters; a director and secretary-treasurer of the Simmons Printing Company, of Ottawa, and of the Ottawa Electrotype foundry. He is connected with the following clubs: The Canadian, Laurentian, Rideau Curling and Golf, and the Peckanoc Fish and Game. His principal recreations are fishing and curling. In religion he is a Roman Catholic. In politics, Independent. His residence is 439 Elgin Street, Ottawa.


Belcourt, Hon. Napoleon Antoine, Senator (Ottawa). Parents, Ferdinand Napoleon Belcourt and Marie-Anna Clair; profession, barrister-at-law. Was born at Toronto, September 15, 1860. Educated at St. Joseph’s Seminary, Three Rivers, in arts and Laval University in law. Graduated at Laval in Law, Master of Laws, cum summa dignitate 1882. Admitted to the Quebec Bar, July, 1882; Ontario Bar, September, 1884. Member of Law Faculty, Ottawa University, since 1891. An LL.D. of Ottawa University (1895); also LL.D. of Laval University. Crown Attorney for Carleton County, June, 1894, to May, 1896. Resigned to become candidate for House of Commons. K.C. in Ontario and Quebec Provinces. Founder and First President of the Club National d’Ottawa, retaining that office for ten years consecutively. Former Vice-President of Ontario Liberal Association; first elected to House of Commons at general election, 1896; re-elected 1900, and general election 1904, his majority being nearly 2,000. Elected Speaker of the House of Commons, March 12, 1904, and sworn as Privy Councillor, January 11, 1905. Resigned his seat in House of Commons and appointed to the Senate November, 1907. First President, Ottawa Hunt Club; member, Rideau Club, Ottawa; Reform Club, Montreal; Reform Club, Toronto; University Club, Ottawa; President, Connaught Park Jockey Club of Ottawa also member of Country and other Clubs. Married (1st) Jan. 29, 1889, to Hectorine, eldest daughter of Hon. Jos. Shehyn; (2nd) Jan. 9, 1903, to Mary Margaret Haycock, of Ottawa. Hon. Mr. Belcourt has taken a prominent part since the inception of the war in promoting recruiting and in the work of the Patriotic Fund, Red Cross and other kindred war activities. As leader in the defence of the French language in the schools of Ontario he has on the platform and in many pamphlets, as well as before the Courts of Canada, and the Privy Council, earnestly and constantly labored for the preservation and propagation of the French language in the Dominion and for the development of a spirit of true national unity.


Ball, Emerson Ewart (Chesterville, Ont.), was born October 31, 1880, at the Village of Orono, in the County of Durham. Is the son of Edwin Ball, of Islington, Ont. Educated at Willowdale Public School, Richmond Hill High School, Toronto Junction High School and Humberside Collegiate Institute. He then attended Toronto University, graduating in 1906 with honors in Modern Languages, and is now Principal of Chesterville High School. Was married, July 22, 1908, to Cora M., daughter of John Harris, of Whitevale, Ont., and is the father of two children: Dorothy, born Mar. 2, 1910, and Gordon, born June 2, 1914. In religion Mr. Ball is a Methodist and a member of Trinity Methodist Church, Chesterville. In politics he is Independent. Member of Independent Order of Oddfellows, Chesterville Lodge, No. 288.


Patterson, John Pratt, President and General Manager of Norris-Patterson, Limited, Advertising Agency, 10 East Adelaide Street, Toronto, Ontario, was a Councillor of the Town of North Toronto prior to its annexation by the city, and is to-day a Justice of the Peace. Mr. Patterson is a member of the National Club, the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, the Albany Club, Rotary Club, Board of Trade, Canadian Club and Empire Club, all of Toronto; in addition to York Lodge, A.F. & A.M., St. Paul’s Royal Arch Chapter, the Scottish Rite and the Canadian Order of Foresters. He is an ex-member of the Queen’s Own Rifles, a Liberal-Conservative in politics and a member of the Church of England in religion. The subject of this sketch was born in Toronto, August 18, 1874; the son of Thomas and the late Jane Williams Patterson, receiving his education at Upper Canada College. He married Millie, daughter of the late Richard Harold, of Palmerston, June 21, 1893, and had one son, Thomas Harold Patterson, since deceased.


McLean, Major-General Hugh Havelock, K.C., A.D.G., M.P. (St. John, N.B.), son of Lauchlin McLean and Sophia Marsh. Born March 22, 1855, at Fredericton, N.B. Educated at the Grammar School there. Married, September 2, 1879, to Jennie Porteous. Children: Colonel C. W. Weldon McLean, D.S.O. (two bars), Commanding Divisional Artillery, 9th Scottish Division, B.E.F,; W. W. McLean, who served through the war in South Africa; Jennie Elise Stetson and Major Hugh H. McLean, Jr., C.E.F. Is a Barrister-at-law, senior member of the firm of Weldon & McLean, established in 1878. Has a large corporation counsel practice, being counsel in New Brunswick for Canadian Bankers’ Association, Bank of Montreal, Canadian Pacific Railway Company and a number of other companies. Is President and Director of a number of railway and other companies. He has been actively associated with the Militia for forty-five years. He was for many years Captain and Adjutant of the 62nd St. John Fusiliers, and was in command of that Regiment for a long period. In 1892 he was appointed to the command of the 12th Infantry Brigade, a post which he retained until January, 1911. He raised in 1911, in New Brunswick, a Regiment of Cavalry of four squadrons (28th New Brunswick Dragoons), and was gazetted to the command of this Regiment on March 1, 1911; in 1912, appointed to command of Cavalry Brigade. In 1878, when war was imminent between England and Russia, General McLean raised a company of sixty men and offered his own and their services in case of war. For this offer he received the thanks of the Imperial Government. In 1885 he was appointed Captain and Adjutant of the Regiment raised in New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, for service in the North-West. In 1890 he went to England in command of the Bisley Team. In December, 1899, he offered himself and one hundred men for service in South Africa, the men to be raised at his own expense, and to consist of guides and trappers. For this he received the thanks of the General Officer Commanding. In October, 1901, he was appointed to the command of all the troops in New Brunswick assembled at St. John during the visit of his Royal Highness the Duke of Cornwall and York. In the same month he was in command of a brigade at the Royal Review, Halifax. He was in command of the Maritime Provinces Brigade at the Tercentenary in Quebec in 1909. He has been President of the Provincial Rifle Association since 1900, and has taken a very active interest in rifle shooting. In 1905 he raised the St. Andrew’s Boys’ Brigade. He is the Vice-President of Canada for the British and Foreign Sailors’ Society; was appointed by Earl Grey, Honorary A.D.C. Commanded the troops sent from Canada to the Coronation of our present King and Queen. For this service was promoted to the rank of full Colonel. At the commencement of the war was appointed to the command of all Overseas Troops in New Brunswick, and then to command of 7th Overseas Brigade. Promoted Brig.-General, 1915; promoted Major-General, 1917. Is a member of the following Clubs: Union Club, Cliff Club, St.John; Mount Royal, Montreal; Rideau Club, Ottawa. First elected to Parliament, 1908, and re-elected 1911 and 1917 for the constituency of Royal. A Unionist and a Presbyterian. Gen. McLean is of Loyalist descent, and is an ardent Imperialist.


Denton, Frank, K.C., D.C.L., of English (Yorks) origin, son of the late William Denton, J.P., and Mary D. (Lucas) his wife, born at Richmond Hill, York County, Ont., 1858, educated Richmond Hill and Orangeville High School, Collingwood Collegiate Institute, Toronto Normal School, Trinity University, B.C.L. 1883, D.C.L. 1893, and Osgoode Hall, Toronto. Taught two years as English Master in Cobourg Collegiate Institute (when affiliated with Victoria University). Married 1884, Elizabeth Clingan, daughter of the late Fleming Clingan, J.P., of Orangeville. Has six children. Called to the Bar in 1886, he practised his profession with distinction and specialized as a Corporation and Commercial lawyer. Took silk in 1899, having for years been head of the firm of Denton, Dunn & Boultbee (now Denton, Grover & Macdonald). He acted for some time as City Solicitor of Toronto. He has always taken a keen interest in public affairs, particularly in education, serving for several years as President of the Board of Trustees of the Toronto Collegiate Institutes. Has acted as delegate to the annual and general conferences of the Methodist Church, of which he is a prominent supporter. A fluent and eloquent public speaker, he has been a candidate (Liberal) for the Federal Parliament. He is a member of the Masonic Order (Past Master), and of the Canadian, National, Ontario and Rosedale Golf Clubs. Recreations, golfing and curling. Address, 42 Admiral Road, Toronto.


Chabot, Lt.-Col. John Leo, M.D., C.M., M.A. (Ottawa, Ont.), born on February 23, 1869, at Ottawa. Son of P. H. Chabot and Marguerite Ethier. Ancestors on father’s side were Normans, and one was Admiral, under the first Napoleon. His maternal grandfather, Ethier, fought under Drs. Nelson and Papineau in 1837. Educated at a Private Academy, Ottawa University and McGill University, Montreal, successively, receiving the Academic degrees of B.A., M.A., and M.D., C.M. Has successfully practised his profession at Ottawa for a number of years. Is Senior Surgeon of The Ottawa General Hospital, also Physician and Surgeon to the University of Ottawa, and has been Police Surgeon of the City since 1900. Has always taken a keen interest in athletics, believing that clean sports and games make young men more healthy, manly and self-reliant. The doctor has been an active supporter of the Canadian Militia, holding the rank of Lt.-Col., R.M.S., and still member of the 5th Princess Louise Guards since beginning of the war; has been acting as Officer Commanding, Ottawa General Military Base Hospital; is an ex-President of the Old Chirurgical Society; also of the Ottawa Medical Society and latterly of the Medico-Chirurgical Society. Was Conservative Candidate in Ottawa against Sir Wilfrid Laurier in 1898, and reduced the Liberal majority of 1,800 to 630. First elected to the House of Commons as one of Ottawa’s representatives at the general elections of 1911, and again returned in the general elections in December, 1917, as Union Government supporting Win-the-War candidate, defeating Sir Wilfrid Laurier by over 5,000. Is interested in several industrial concerns and commercial enterprises. Married June 25, 1894, to Mary, daughter of the late Edward Devlin, of Ottawa, who died; married in 1916 Miss Hope Brunel, daughter of W. H. Brunel, of Ottawa. Dr. Chabot is a member of several clubs and societies, including Rideau Club, Ottawa Golf Club, Knights of Columbus, Canadian Club, Royal Arcanium, I.O.F., C.O.F., A.O.U.W., L. Institut Canadien, University Club, Fish and Game Club, Honorary President Capital Lacrosse Club and City Lacrosse League, and ex-President of C.A.A.A. Dr. Chabot is extremely popular in his native city and has long occupied a prominent place in the medical, military, political and athletic life of the Capital.


Cole, George M., President and Manager of the Plattsburgh Gas and Electric Company, Plattsburgh, N.Y., U.S.A., was born at Brockville, Ont., December 31, 1862, his father being W. H. Cole. Receiving his early education at the Brockville Public and High School, Mr. Cole migrated to the United States in 1887 where, as a contractor, he was connected with the construction of several early street railways in that country; building the first in Columbia, South Carolina; Ansonia, Connecticut; and Newburgh, New York; in addition to an extension to existing lines in Brooklyn, New York. Two years later, in 1889, he purchased the Plattsburgh Gas Works in partnership with a New York capitalist and became the Manager of the business, which position he still occupies. So successful was the undertaking that Mr. Cole was approached by the owners of the Plattsburgh Electric Lighting Plant with the result that the two works were amalgamated in 1890 and very considerably enlarged. By this time the old-fashioned horse cars had become a thing of the past and George Cole obtained a franchise for the construction of a modern street railway, which he built and managed for some years in addition to supplying the necessary power for its operation. This railway was later purchased by the Delaware & Hudson Railway Co., the present owners. To-day the Gas and Electric Company controls its particular field in Plattsburgh and vicinity, owning and operating two water power developments on the Saranac River, which is the outlet of the Upper and Lower Saranac Lakes, among the largest in the Adirondacks. Mr. Cole married Emma, daughter of W. H. Chappel, in 1891, by whom he has two sons, Eugene M. and Howard C. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and a Republican in politics. Among the societies of which he is a member are Plattsburgh Lodge 828, A.F. &. A.M., Plattsburgh Chapter, No. 39, R.A.M., De Soto Cun. No. 49, K.T., Plattsburgh and Oriental Temple A.A.O.N.M.S., Troy, N.Y.


Charlton, William Granville, Editor and Publisher (Aylmer, Ont.), the son of John R. and Emily J. Charlton, one of six children, one girl and four boys, all living except one, was born in the Township of South Dorchester, January 1, 1868; his earlier education took place at the St. Thomas Collegiate Institute, going from there to the Transylvania University, Lexington, Ky., and finally to Bethany College, Bethany, Va., where he graduated in 1893. He married Martha N. Black, the daughter of Martha M. Wells, widow of the late Noris Black and has one daughter, Eunice Eva Charlton, born May 13, 1901. Mr. Charlton was brought up on a farm and has practically devoted his energies to farming most of his life, and almost by his own efforts secured his education. He is a member of the Church of Christ, and for twenty-seven years has preached the Gospel with little intermission due only to illness. He is a great Bible School worker, and has been preaching and teaching prohibition for thirty years, and happy to be living to see the fruits of his labor in that direction. He has been connected with newspaper work since January 1, 1916, when he became editor and publisher of the “East Elgin Tribune.” In politics he is a Liberal and in 1913 was chosen by that party as a candidate for Federal honors to represent East Elgin at the next Dominion Elections.


Ball, Robert James, M.P. for South Grey, Ont. (Hanover, Ont.), was born at Allan Park, Township of Bentinck, Ont., on Jan. 15, 1857. Is the son of James Ball and his wife, Jane, formerly Jane Cain. Lived on his father’s farm till eighteen years of age. Was educated at Hampden Public School, Collingwood Collegiate Institute and Ottawa Normal School, from which latter institution he graduated with a Second-class Teacher’s Certificate, Grade A. On graduating, he taught school for ten years, then spent five years as an accountant, three years as a private banker, and two years in the life insurance business, when he became a furniture manufacturer, which business he has carried on for twenty-two years. He is managing director of the Ball Furniture Co., Limited, and also director in Morlock Bros., upholsterers; he is also President of The Reliance Investment and Developing Co., Ltd., of Hanover, Ont. Politically, Mr. Ball has been very active, being three years Municipal Councillor of the Town of Hanover, two years Commissioner for the County of Grey, two years Reeve of the town of Hanover, and, in 1908, was Warden of the County of Grey. In 1908, he was Conservative candidate for South Grey against H. H. Miller, and was defeated, but reduced Miller’s majority from 316 to 87. In 1911 he was elected to the House of Commons over H. H. Miller by a majority of 48. Mr. Ball was married August 11, 1882, to Mary Jane, daughter of Anthony and Mary Leonard, of the Township of Normanby, and is the father of six children: Milton Leonard, Austin Elmer, Ethel May, Elma Lilian, Captain Stanley Stafford Ball, M.D., and Mabel Lottie. He is a member of the Masonic Order and also of the Independent Order of Foresters. In religion he is a Methodist, and politically is a Liberal-Conservative.


Coombs, Albert Ernest (St. Catharines, Ont.), son of John and Susan Coombs. Was born on a farm near Richmond Hill in the County of York, April 2, 1871. Educated at the public and high school of Richmond Hill and at Toronto University, from which he received the following degrees: B.A. with honors in classics, 1892; M.A., 1895, and B.Paed., 1897. Principal Coombs began his teaching career in 1892 and was principal of Richmond Hill High School, 1895-99. Principal of Newmarket High School, 1899-1909, when he accepted the position of principal of St. Catharines Collegiate Institute, which he now holds. He served three years as examiner at Normal College, and set papers in History of Education and School Management. Is a Past President of the Classical Association of Ontario and has frequently acted as Association Examiner. Successively a director, Horticultural and Agricultural Societies; member Town Council and chairman Public Library Board, Newmarket. Has had considerable experience as a lecturer on a variety of subjects. Was formerly in the Militia and holds a Captaincy in the 19th Lincoln Regiment and served in that capacity on the Welland Canal Protective Force in 1914. Has always been opposed to the abolition of written examinations in our educational system, and is a strong friend of the Boy Scout movement, being Boy Scout Commissioner of St. Catharines district. Married in 1897, to Miss Beatrice Elliott, daughter of the late Wm. Elliott, V.S., of Palmerston, Ont., and is the father of three children: Alice, born 1899; Adele, born 1905; Margaret, born 1908. Is a member of the Canadian Club, St. Catharines, of which he is a Past President; also is Past Master of the Maple Leaf Lodge, A.F. & A.M., St. Catharines, and Past Principal of Mount Moriah Chapter; Member of the I.O.O.F. Principal Coombs was formerly a long-distance bicycle rider and association football player. He now takes a lively interest in lawn bowling. In religion he is a Methodist and a member of St. Paul Street Methodist Church, St. Catharines. Politically, he may be classed as an Independent-Liberal.


Anderson, James T. M., M.A., LL.B., D.Paed., Yorkton, Sask. One of the many graduates of the Ontario “little red school-house” who have achieved success in their chosen professions is Dr. James Thomas Milton Anderson, M.A., LL.B., of Yorkton, Saskatchewan. Dr. Anderson, who has won many scholastic honors, is at present inspector of schools for the Yorkton district. Dr. Anderson was born at Fairbank, Ontario, July 23, 1878. His parents were Mary and James Anderson and the present inspector of schools had all the advantages of early life on a farm. One must consider it an advantage when one remembers the sons of farmers who have gone to the top in scholastic circles. The subject of this sketch began his education at Public School, S.S. No. 15, York, and went from there to West Toronto Collegiate Institute. Going west he won his degree of Bachelor of Arts at the University of Manitoba in 1911, when he was Silver Medallist in Classics. He gained his LL.B. at the same university in 1913, and his M.A. in 1914, completing his preparation for his present work by graduating as Doctor of Pedagogy in 1917. Dr. Anderson showed rare power of concentration in study as these three degrees were obtained extra-murally and he is also a medallist in penmanship and a clever cartoonist. His life for the last ten years has been devoted to teaching and working among the foreigners who have come to Canada’s great “melting pot.” Dr. Anderson is intensely interested in the work of assimilation which means so much to Canada’s future as a nation. He has published a number of articles on the subject and a book on the “Education of the New-Canadian” (J. M. Dent & Sons, Toronto). Dr. Anderson, whose mother resides in Saltcoats, Sask., was married on July 26, 1911, to Edith, daughter of Mrs. M. Redgwick, Grenfell, Saskatchewan, and has two children: Byron R., born October 10, 1913, and Edith Elaine, born March 31, 1917. In religion he is an Anglican, a member of the Orange Order, and President of the School Inspectors’ Association of Saskatchewan.


Elliott, John Campbell, D.C.L., M.L.A. Middlesex West (Glencoe, Ont.). Son of George Campbell (Irish descent), and Jane Elliott (Scotch descent); both parents were born in Canada. Was born at Ekfrid Township, Middlesex County, on July 25, 1872; educated at Ekfrid Public School, Glencoe High School, and Trinity University, B.C.L. 1898, and Toronto University, D.C.L. 1905. Mr. Elliott’s early days were spent on the farm where he was born; he took a third-class certificate in 1890; second-class in 1891, and Matriculation 1892, and was called to the Bar in 1898, having taken a high standard at the Law School at Osgoode Hall. First elected to the Ontario Legislature at the general elections in 1908; re-elected 1911-1914. He is a member of the Ontario Club, and the Masonic Order, of which he was Past District Deputy, Erie District; of the Sons of Scotland and the I.O.O.F. He is a member of the Baptist Church, and a Liberal in politics. Mr. Elliott is recognized as a clever lawyer and an able speaker, and enjoys the confidence and respect of the members on both sides of the House. He is unmarried.


Bronson, Hon. Erskine Henry, was born at Bolton, Warren County, New York, September 12, 1844. He is the son of the late Henry Franklin and Edith (Pierce) Bronson, the one man who, coming to Ottawa, Canada, in 1852, understood the feasibility of converting the large lakes and furious and foaming falls of the Ottawa River into a channel for the driving of saw-logs, and erecting mills on its banks, placed in operation a lumber industry that soon had in its employ hundreds, and afterwards thousands of employees. Having received a good education at Sandy Hill, N.Y., and at the Grammar School, Ottawa, when quite a youth, the Hon. Erskine Henry Bronson, joined his father’s company, The Bronson-Weston Lumber Company, and in 1867 acquired an interest in the company. In 1870 he became a member of the Ottawa City Council and chairman of the Finance Committee, and continued as such until 1878, when he retired. For fourteen years he was a member of the Ottawa School Board. He is ex-Trustee of Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario. Unlike his father, who never interested himself in politics, in 1882 Mr. Bronson was an unsuccessful candidate to the House of Commons for Carleton County, Ontario; but in 1886, having had presented to him a petition signed by thousands of the best and most influential residents in the Capital urgently soliciting him to become a candidate for the local Legislature, he consented to run and was elected by a large majority, and re-elected at every succeeding election until 1898, when he retired from active political life. In 1890, September 10, four years after he was first elected, he joined the Mowat Government without Portfolio and held a similar position when the Hardy Government was formed. Had he so desired he could probably have remained a member of the local Legislature even to this date, as few, if any, in Ottawa were or are more appreciated or ever received more popularity than the same Hon. Erskine Henry Bronson. The poor of the city, to whom his firm in winter time never failed to extend the helping hand in furnishing them with winter fuel and in other ways, could never forget, nor overlook, his kindly and substantial consideration of their needs and his name was, and is to-day, cherished in every home. To others, with whom he came in contact, he was always a valuable friend and counsellor, and his advice on financial and other matters was eagerly sought and freely given. On his father’s decease Mr. Bronson succeeded him as President of the Bronson-Weston Lumber Company, in 1889. He was one of the inaugurators of the Ottawa Electric Company. Mr. Bronson is President of the Bronson Company, Water Power and Manufacturers of Ground Wood Pulp, 150 Middle Street, Ottawa; President, Ottawa Improvement Company; Vice-President, Ottawa Light, Heat & Power Company; President, Ottawa Power Company, and a director of the Ottawa Electric Company. In 1874 Mr. Bronson married Ella H. Webster, of Norfolk, Va. He has one son and one daughter. In religion he is a Presbyterian. In politics, a Liberal. His residence is 75 Bronson Avenue, Ottawa.


Bain, John, Journalist, private secretary, civil servant, promoter, and now financial broker and departmental agent and customs specialist, Castle Building, Ottawa, came to Canada in 1888 and engaged in law and newspaper work. Later he was engaged as expert shorthand writer in the New York law courts. When the Liberal Party was returned to power in 1896 he was appointed Private Secretary to the Minister of Customs, Hon. Wm. Patterson, and accompanied the Minister to England in 1902, doing the secretarial work there connected with the trade questions that were discussed at the Colonial Conference. His services were also utilized in connection with the trade negotiations with the French Government at Paris. He held the position of Assistant Commissioner of Customs of Canada for five years, and was Secretary of the Tariff Commission of 1906-07. He promoted and organized the Canadian Western Natural Gas, Light, Heat and Power Company, Calgary. He was appointed Imperial Trade Correspondent for Ottawa District for the British Board of Trade in 1909. Although one of the old, steadfast and prominent Liberals in the capital, he joined and became active in the ranks of the Unionist Party during the general elections in 1917, and, as publicity director, rendered valuable service to the Unionist cause. His pithy paragraphs and pointed questions, such as “How would the Kaiser Vote?” which were printed in the campaign literature and in the press throughout Canada, attracted widespread attention and were used with telling effect by the various public speakers during the campaign. Mr. Bain is the son of Robert and Agnes Bain and was born at Paisley, Scotland, June 8, 1869, where he received his education. April 5, 1899, he married Maude Buckley, daughter of P. Buckley, Paris, Ontario, and has two daughters—Audrey Maie, born 1900, and Alison Muriel, born 1903. In politics Mr. Bain is a Liberal, in religion a Presbyterian. His residence is 167 James St. He is a member of the Laurentian Club, Ottawa, and the Ranchman’s, Calgary.


De Celles, Alfred Duclos, LL.D., F.R.S.C., C.M.G., Chevalier of the Legion of Honor, General Librarian of Parliament, was born at St. Laurent, near Montreal, in 1844, and was educated at Laval University, Quebec, where he graduated in letters. He is the son of Augustin D. De Celles, a prominent notary, and Agnes Holmes, an American lady. Abbé John Holmes, a noted preacher in Quebec, related to O. W. Holmes, was his uncle. In October, 1876, he married Eugenie Dorion, daughter of Eugene Dorion and Mary Panet, and has one son, Alfred Eugene De Celles. He is a distinguished Canadian litterateur and publicist. For a time he was a member of the Board of Civil Service Examiners. In 1867, Mr. De Celles, on account of ill-health, left the Laval University to take up the editorial chair of “Le Journal de Quebec” during Mr. Cauchon’s absence in Europe. On the return of the latter he remained connected with the paper until 1872, when he entered the “Minerve”, chief Conservative paper of the province of Quebec, as editor-in-chief. He remained there until 1880, when he was appointed assistant librarian of the Parliamentary Library of Ottawa. In 1886, he became joint librarian with Mr. Martin J. Griffin. For several years after he entered the Library he had charge of “L’Opinion Publique,” a weekly paper published in Montreal, chiefly devoted to literature and history. Mr. De Celles, in 1896, published a History of the United States under the following title: “Les Etats-Unis, origine—institutions—development.” For this work he received a prize from the Academie des Sciences Morales et Politiques of France. A few years later he wrote in English, the Life of Papineau and Cartier, in “The Makers of Canada.” This work was subsequently published in French, in an enlarged form, together with a Life of Cartier, the three volumes forming a political history of Canada. Reviewing Mr. De Celles’ Papineau, the London “Outlook” (Jan. 13, 1906) summed up this work as follows: “Mr. De Celles has traced this out through the quarter of a century in which Papineau was the most brilliant, if not the most wise figure in French-Canadian politics, with the natural sympathy of a compatriot, though by no means without due recognition of his hero’s failings. . . . He has given us an admirable picture of a strange and picturesque career. Everyone has heard of Papineau, and most Canadians have some idea of his achievements, but little probably of his personality.” Mr. De Celles has also contributed to “Canada and Its Provinces,” a synopsis of the History of Quebec under Confederation and an extensive history of colonization under this title: “The Habitant”: and an outline of the municipal system in Lower Canada. He has contributed to The Chronicles of Canada the “Patriotes of 1837,” a history of the Canadian Rebellion. In 1904, he was named Chevalier de la Legion d’Honneur, and in 1907 received the title of C.M.G. In 1884, he was received Member of the Royal Society, and since 1903 he has occupied the post of President of l’Alliance Française. Mr. De Celles is in religion a Catholic, and he resides in Ottawa.


Evanturel, Gustave, M.P.P. for Prescott Co. (Alfred), was born March 19, 1880, at Ottawa, son of the Hon. Alfred Evanturel and Louisa Lee. Father was Speaker of the Ontario Legislature from 1898 to 1902 and Minister in the Ross Government from Nov. 22, 1904, to Jan. 25, 1905. Educated at Bourget College, Rigaud, and Seminaire de Ste. Therese, P.Q., and Laval University, from which latter institution he graduated with the degree of B.L. Married, Sept. 26, 1910, Marie Emelia, daughter of the late Paul Chevrier, of Vaudreuil. Notary public by profession; was President of L’Alliance Nationale, a mutual life insurance company of the Court of Alfred, which is called “Cercle Evanturel.” Mr. Evanturel has taken an active part in politics since the age of 17 years, especially in the County of Prescott, which his father represented from 1884 until 1905, being the first French-Canadian to enter the Ontario Legislature, the first representative of that race to be Speaker of the Ontario Assembly, and the first French-Canadian to enter the Ontario Government as Cabinet Minister. The subject of this sketch was first returned to the Ontario Legislature to represent the County of Prescott on December 11, 1911, with a majority of 284, and re-elected on June 29, 1914, over two opponents by an increased majority of 350, defeating the Conservative candidate by over 1,000. Was Civil Servant in the Privy Council Department in 1908, and, on his election as a member for Prescott County, when he succeeded his late father, was the youngest member of the Assembly. He is an eloquent speaker in both French and English, and has been a strong supporter of bi-lingualism on the floor of the Ontario Legislature, being the first member of the House to open the discussion on the bi-lingual school question during the Session of the Legislature in the years 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1916. He has all the fire and dash of his race and is extremely popular on both sides of the House, and throughout Eastern Ontario, where he is well known.


Fraleck, Edison Baldwin, was born in the township of Sydney in the County of Hastings on the 6th day of February, 1841, being descended from United Empire Loyalist stock. His grandfather, Lewis Fraleck, a Loyalist, came to Canada; his father, Thomas Tillotson Fraleck, served on the Loyalist side throughout the whole period of the war 1812-15, being engaged on the Niagara Peninsula. His maternal grandfather was Robert Nicholson, a native of Aberdeen, Scotland, and a Major in a Highland Regiment, served throughout the American Revolutionary War; came to Canada about 1793. The subject of this sketch was educated at the Public and High schools and Queen’s University, Kingston, from which he graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1863, and was called to the Bar 1868. Successfully practised his profession at Belleville for many years and was appointed Junior Judge for the County of Hastings on December 28, 1881, which office he filled for some thirty-five years, when he retired. Was revising officer for East and West Hastings, and a Judge of the Surrogate Court for the County of Hastings for ten years, and a member of Queen’s University Council for over twenty-five years. Served as Lieutenant in the 49th Regiment 1868-74, and retired retaining rank. He was noted as a strong and active writer on all political subjects before his elevation to the Bench. Being a keen sportsman, taking a lively interest in hunting, fishing, camping and canoeing, Judge Fraleck contributed frequently to the “Canadian Magazine,” “Canada Sportsmen,” “Forest and Stream,” the result of his experience. He has always been an ardent Imperialist and Protectionist. Judge Fraleck has won distinction as a ready and fluent speaker, and rendered splendid services as such during the Confederation campaign and subsequently. Married August 14, 1874, to Jane E., daughter of William Judd, of Stirling, County of Hastings, and five children were the result of the union: Ernest Leigh (died 1909), Charles Cecil, Madeliene, Jessie, and Helen. He is a member of the Masonic Order and Orange Order, and in religion is a Presbyterian. Politically, the Judge was before his elevation to the Bench, a member of the Conservative Party.


Davey, James (Ottawa, Ont). The Ottawa Manager of The Toronto General Trusts Corporation; has been with the Company since it was first established by the late J. W. Langmuir, in the spring of 1882, and was its first accountant. In April, 1917, he celebrated the 35th anniversary of his connection with the company. In length of service he is the oldest Canadian trust company officer. He has been manager of the Ottawa branch of Toronto General Trusts Corporation since 1905. Mr. Davey arrived in Canada in March, 1882, after having been for nearly ten years in the accountant’s office of one of the largest newspaper publishing houses in the West of England. For a period of 15 years he was chief accountant of The Toronto General Trusts Corporation, afterwards occupying the position of secretary for several years. Subsequently he was placed in charge, for a period of three years, of one of the largest loan company liquidations in Canada. In January, 1902, Mr. Davey was appointed manager of the newly opened branch of The Toronto General Trusts Corporation in Winnipeg, and in January, 1905 (shortly after the Corporation purchased the business of the Ottawa Trust and Deposit Company), Manager at Ottawa. Mr. Davey was born in Alderney, Channel Islands, on September 15, 1855, and was educated at the National Schools, Alderney, and the Grammar School, Lostwithiel, Cornwall, England. His parents were James Davey and Mary Anne Davey. He married Caroline Grace Gerrans, daughter of Joseph Gerrans and Mary Gerrans, Cornwall, England, and is the father of six sons and daughters—Joseph Frederick, Marion Elizabeth, Herbert Gerrans (now deceased), Thomas Deslandes, Caroline Grace, Lillian James. Mr. Davey is a member of the Laurentian Club, Ottawa, is a Methodist in religion, and an Independent in politics. He resides at 430 Maclaren Street, Ottawa.


Tremeear, William J. (Pasadena, Cal.), Counsellor-at-Law, a native of Bowmanville, Ont., received his primary education at the public and high schools at Oshawa, Ont., and matriculated at Toronto University in the class of 1881, taking honors in mathematics and modern languages. He afterwards attended the law school of Osgoode Hall, Toronto, and was admitted to the Ontario Bar in 1886, and practised in Toronto until 1918, when he removed to Pasadena, Cal., to take up legal literary work. He is the author of several legal works of recognized authority, amongst them three editions of an annotated Criminal Code of Canada. He is a member of the Masonic Order, the Knights of Pythias and the I.O.F.


Col. C.A. Hodgetts, Ottawa
R.A. Stapells, Toronto


Briggs, William, D.D. (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Banbridge, County Down, Ireland, educated in Liverpool, England, and came to Canada in 1859. He preached successfully in Montreal, London, Cobourg, Belleville and Toronto. In 1879 he was appointed Book Steward of the Methodist Book and Publishing House, a position he holds until July, 1919, when, in conformity with a recent enactment placing an age limit on all Methodist General Conference officials, he became Book Steward Emeritus. Under his management great progress has been made, and the Book Room is, without a doubt, one of the most profitable publishing houses in Canada to-day. It has grown year after year on a steady basis, and the large number of employees engaged is an indication that business must be going on regularly to carry a staff numbering in the hundreds. The mechanical departments are manned with all the latest devices in machinery and everything has been so arranged that the largest publication can be turned out on the very shortest notice. To successfully carry so large an institution means that great care is exercised by the management. Among the trade throughout Canada, Dr. Briggs is credited as being one of the most economic and shrewd managers connected with the business. The name of William Briggs is a household word throughout the Dominion and wherever he goes at the week end to supply a pulpit he is always greeted with large congregations. The degree of D.D. was conferred upon him by Victoria University. He is a member of the Toronto Board of Trade.


Gibbons, John Joseph, Advertising Counsel (Toronto, Ont.), has taken a special interest in Patriotic work in connection with the Great War; being a member of the Organization of Resources Committee (Ontario), the Toronto and York County Patriotic Association, the Canadian Red Cross Society, the Belgian Relief Association, and the Canadian War Contingent Association. He is Vice-President of the Ontario Motor League; as also a member of the National Club, the R.C.Y.C. of Toronto; and the Brantford, Lambton and Caledon Clubs. Mr. Gibbons was born in Boston, Mass., March 15, 1877, and married, May 12, 1909, Helen E., daughter of James G. Cockshutt, founder of the Cockshutt Plow Co., Brantford, Ont., by whom he has three children—Kathleen, Mary and John Cockshutt. His recreation is golf.


Bachand, Leonide Charles, M.D. (Sherbrooke, Que.), son of the late J. C. Bachand, N.P. Registrar County of Bagot, Quebec, and nephew of Hon. P. Bachand, ex-Treasurer Province of Quebec. Was born at St. Pie, P.Q., October 6, 1854, educated at St. Hyacinthe and Victoria College, Montreal; graduated Victoria University, Cobourg, with degree of M.D., 1878; married, October 6, 1878, to Marie Agnes Georgine, daughter of late H. O. Camirand, of Sherbrooke, P.Q. Practised his profession at Coaticook, where he was mayor, President of Board of Trade, Chairman of School Commissioners, and also editor and co-proprietor of L’Etoile de l’Est; removed to Sherbrooke, 1899; elected Mayor there, 1908; appointed Coroner District of St. Francis; President of Medical Board of the Sherbrooke St. Vincent Hospital; Specialist in eye, ear, nose and throat. Is father of three sons, viz.: Dr. J. D. Bachand, of St. Johnsbury, C. E. Bachand, Joint Prothonotary, Sherbrooke, and Leonidas Bachand, Notary Public, and Secretary Board of Trade, Sherbrooke. Dr. Bachand is a Roman Catholic in religion, and formerly was a Liberal in politics.


Denis, J. Wilfred (Nicolet, Quebec), son of Drendonne Denis, was born at St. Cuthbert, Cte. Berthier, January 21, 1871. Educated at the College of Joliette and Laval University, Montreal, graduating with the degree of B.A. Mr. Denis is a Notary Public and Registrar and Prothonotary of the Supreme Court. He has been married twice and is the father of four children, viz.: Berthe, Germaine, Jeanne and Laure. He is a Roman Catholic in religion, and politically a Liberal.


Eddis, Wilton C. (Toronto, Ont.), born in London, England, on September 15, 1855, and educated at Merchant Taylors School, Mr. Eddis has been a resident of Toronto for many years and is a prominent Chartered Accountant, holding the degrees of F.S.A.A. and F.C.A. He married Florence I., daughter of John Wyndham, of Dalwood, New South Wales, in 1883, and is the father of the following children: John Wyndham, Charles Sheppard, Dorothy Wyndham, Mrs. Muriel Greenwood, Mrs. Margaret Green, Mrs. Esther Lane. He is a member of the following clubs: Albany, Toronto Chess Club, Royal Canadian Yacht Club, also St. George’s Society and the Board of Trade, Toronto. In religion he is a member of the Church of England and a Conservative in politics. Mr. Eddis is also Justice of the Peace. His favorite recreation is chess.


Bowes, James Leslie Llewellyn (Toronto, Ont.), Merchant, was educated at Oakwood Public School, Lindsay Collegiate Institute, and Toronto University. After graduating from the latter, he started in the wholesale produce business in 1902, with the firm of J. A. McLean Produce Co., Ltd., of which he assumed the management three years later. More recently he formed the Bowes Co., Ltd., which took over the parent business as a going concern and in addition to its produce business, developed the largest baker, confectioners, and ice cream manufacturers supply business in Canada. Its connections extend from Halifax to Vancouver, and they are both exporters and importers from all parts of the world, besides manufacturing many lines supplied to its own trade. Mr. Bowes was born in Oakwood, Ont., on February 26, 1877, the son of Margaret Ellen and Thomas Bowes, farmer, live stock dealer and exporter. He married Gladys Lansdowne, daughter of W. F. Barber, Guelph, Ont., September 22, 1908, by whom he has two children, Margaret Frances, born 1909, and Thomas Howard, born 1913. He is a member of the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, Scarboro Golf and Country Club, Thistle Team Bowling Club, and Cold Creek Trout Club. In politics he is a Liberal, and in religion a Methodist.


Thomson, Levi (Wolseley, Sask.), Member of Parliament for Qu’Appelle, Sask., is the son of John Thomson and Sarah McMillan, formerly of Scotland. He was born near Hillsburgh, in Erin Township, Ontario, February 17, 1855, and was educated in common school and Rockwood Academy. After legal studies in Toronto he emigrated to the North-West Territories in 1882, and engaged in farming near Wolseley, Sask., where he now resides. Twelve years later Mr. Thomson commenced the practice of law at Wolseley and was appointed Crown Prosecutor in 1897, which position he resigned seven years later, but became Agent of the Attorney-General of Saskatchewan for Moosomin Judicial District in 1906. The future legislator was not long in making himself felt in the public life of his community, being elected a member of the Wolseley Rural Municipality in 1887, an office which he resigned after three years’ term only to become Councillor of the Town of Wolseley in 1902-3, and finally Mayor, in 1904. In the same year Levi Thomson was the Liberal Candidate for the Dominion House in Qu’Appelle constituency, but was defeated by the narrow margin of 28 votes. Contesting Wolseley constituency for the Saskatchewan Legislature a year later he was unsuccessful by the even smaller majority of 20; but finally achieved his ambition in 1911, being returned to the Federal House for Qu’Appelle, with a handsome majority. Despite political activities, Mr. Thomson has always retained his interest in farming and was the first President of the Wolseley Agricultural Society when it was organized in 1885, retaining office for three years, and also Vice-President of the Grain Growers’ Association of Saskatchewan in 1907. At present he is extensively engaged in farming on his own account, specializing in grain and the raising of Clydesdale and grade horses. In 1884 Mr. Thomson married Mabel Maud, daughter of the late Hon. W. D. Perley, by whom he has five children, Harold F., born in 1885; Allen P., in 1888; Edwin E., in 1890; Florence M., in 1896, and Arthur M., in 1901. Since 1908 he has been a member of the Board of Governors of Saskatchewan University, and he is also a member of the Independent Order of Foresters and the Royal Templars of Temperance. In religion Mr. Thomson is a Disciple of Christ or Christian.


Brock, Lieut.-Col. Henry, son of William Rees Brock, M.P., and Margaret Anna Diamond. He was born at Guelph, Ont., May 14, 1859. Educated at Upper Canada College and The University of Toronto. B.A., B.C.L., D.C.L. Married, June 16, 1891, Anna Maude Cawthra, daughter of Henry Cawthra, “Yeadon Hall,” Toronto, Barrister-at-Law. One child living, Mildred Cawthra Brock. Is a Barrister-at-Law and for many years practised in Toronto as a member of the firm of Cassels, Brock, Kelley & Falconbridge. Elected a Director of the W. R. Brock Company, Limited, in 1904. Succeeded his father as President in 1918. Director of The Western and British America Fire Insurance Companies, The British America Coal Co., and President of The Stanstead Granite Quarries Company, Limited. Was a Member of the Council of the Toronto Board of Trade for eight years and President in 1913. On Council of Ontario Associated Boards of Trade since its foundation in 1911; President of the Canadian Military Institute, 1916, 1917, 1918. An advisory member of the Council of The Aviation Club of Canada. In religion he is an Anglican and for many years has been Churchwarden of St. James’ Cathedral. Lieut.-Col. Henry Brock has had a long period of service in the Canadian Militia and at the time of his retirement from the Command of the 10th Royal Grenadiers to take a Staff appointment as Chief Recruiting Officer in Toronto was one of the Senior Militia Officers in Canada on Active Service. He joined the University Company, Queen’s Own Rifles, in July, 1877, and was appointed a Lieutenant in October, 1882; Captain, November, 1888. He served as a Lieutenant in the North-West Rebellion, 1885, was mentioned in despatches for distinguished conduct in the field, and received the Medal and Clasp. In 1891 he was posted to the Reserve of Officers and in 1897 was appointed to the 10th Royal Grenadiers as Captain, becoming Brevet Major in 1899, Senior Major in 1907, Brevet Lieut.-Colonel in 1912, and took over the Command of the Regiment in 1913. He volunteered for active service for the Nile Expedition in 1886, and for South Africa in 1899. Received Long Service Decoration in 1907. For the late European Campaign he volunteered for active service “in any position the authorities thought him fit for.” Appointed Chief Recruiting Officer for Toronto, July, 1915; Chief Recruiting Officer 2nd Military District, October, 1915; Director of National Service 2nd Military District, September 30, 1916. Member of Selective Tribunal under Military Service Act, October, 1917. Recreations: Reading and, formerly, rifle shooting and riding, cricket and football. Clubs: The Toronto Club, Toronto Hunt, University Club, Canadian Military Institute, Toronto; The Constitutional Club, London, England. Residences: 174 St. George Street, Toronto, and Park Place, Oakville.


Fraser, George B., Dry Goods Merchant (Montreal, Que.), was born at Strichen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, September 29, 1854, and was educated in the Old Deer Parish School. He married Rebecca, daughter of John Morrison, Montreal, May 11, 1880, their children being Helen Edith and James Morrison Fraser. As a Director of Greenshields, Ltd., Montreal, he is actively engaged in the largest and oldest dry goods house in Canada. He is also a Director of the Bank of Montreal, the Standard Life Assurance Company and Hudson’s Bay Insurance Company. Mr. Fraser’s public offices include the following: Member of the Montreal Board of Trade, President of the Grace Dart Memorial Hospital, Vice-President of the McKay Institute for the Deaf and Dumb, Life Governor of the Montreal General Hospital, Member of the Board of Management and Life Governor of the Western Hospital, Montreal. He is a member of the St. James, Montreal and Canadian Clubs, Forest and Stream Club, and of St. Andrew’s Society. Is a Presbyterian in religion and a Liberal in politics. His chosen recreation is golf.


Brock, William Rees, the late, was born on February 14, 1836, in the Township of Eramosa, near Guelph, Ontario. His father Thomas Rees Brock, was of an ancient English family who were landed proprietors near Colchester in the County of Essex. His mother was Eleanor Thompson, daughter of Thomas Thompson, of Rusheen, Queen’s County, Ireland. The young couple, aged respectively 17 and 21 years, were married at the Parish Church in Guelph and after the ceremony rode on horseback to their new home five miles away in “the wild woods.” After a few years of life on the farm Mr. Brock was persuaded that a man of his education and attainments could do better in the town and he removed to Guelph where he held several appointments as Town Auditor, Secretary of the School Board, Superintendent of the Government Road and Surrogate Court Clerk. In the fall of 1850, while out shooting in the woods, he was accidentally shot and died at his residence, Park Place, a few days afterwards, aged thirty-eight years, leaving his widow with nine children surviving. The stone house he built on the York Road is still standing. The subject of this sketch was the second child and eldest son. He immediately left the Guelph Grammar School and went into the law office of the Hon. Ferguson Blair, where he remained about a year, deciding to enter commercial life, in which he achieved so conspicuous a success. His first employment was in a general store in Caledonia. About 1854 he located in Toronto, being engaged with Scott & Laidlaw. He married on the 23rd of September, 1857, Margaret Anna, second daughter of Captain John Segur Diamond, formerly of Clonenagh, Queen’s County, Ireland, who came to Canada in 1834, and served through the rebellion of 1837 as Adjutant of the 2nd Gore Regiment. Capt. Diamond was at one time in the Royal Irish Constabulary and after his arrival in this country was engaged in business with Colonel Chisholm, of Oakville, and others, as lumbermen and vessel owners. He had died some nine years previously to his daughter’s marriage. After his marriage, Mr. Brock went into business in Guelph, but later sold out and entered the service of McArthur & Co., of Bowmanville, where he remained about four-and-a-half years, subsequently went to Ogilvy & Co., Montreal, wholesale merchants, was English buyer for that firm for some years; was made a partner and came to Toronto in 1871, and opened Ogilvy & Company’s Toronto branch. In 1877, in partnership with his brother, J. H. Brock, he started the business of W. R. Brock & Brother, at the corner of Bay and Wellington Streets, Toronto. In 1879 a partnership was formed with Messrs. F. Wyld and H. W. Darling, as Wyld, Brock & Darling. Mr. Darling retired in 1883, and Mr. Wyld in 1887. The firm of W. R. Brock & Company was turned into a joint stock company in 1897. The Montreal branch was started in 1899, and the branch at Calgary in 1905. Besides being President of the W. R. Brock Company, Ltd., he was a director of the Dominion Lands Colonization Co., the British Canadian Loan and Investment Co., Toronto Electric Light Co., Electrical Development Co., Ontario Accident Insurance Co., Toronto General Trust Corporation and the Dominion Bank. He was also President of the British American and Western Assurance Companies, the Stanstead Granite Quarries Company, London Electric Light Company, and the Canadian General Electric Company. Mr. Brock was one of the founders of the “Empire” newspaper, Toronto, and served as President of the company until its amalgamation with “The Mail” in 1895. For years he was President of the Toronto Conservative Association and sat in the House of Commons for Centre Toronto in the Conservative interest from 1900 to 1904. Mr. Brock was also a director and a leading spirit in many philanthropic organizations. He was a founder and President of the Toronto Humane Society, a life member of the Council of Trinity University and of Upper Canada College, and benefactor of both institutions. He was a member of the congregation of St. James’ Cathedral, and from 1883 to 1890 was a churchwarden. His clubs were: Toronto Club, York Club, Albany Club, Toronto Hunt Club, Toronto; The Rideau Club, Ottawa; and St. James’ Club, Montreal. His surviving children are Lt.-Col. Henry Brock, Lt.-Col. R. A. Brock, Mr. W. L. Brock, and the Misses Lilian, Gertrude, and Muriel Brock. Mr. Brock died at his residence, 21 Queen’s Park, Toronto, on November 1, 1917. He was almost eighty-two years of age, and actively engaged in business up to within a few days of his death. Although advanced in years Mr. Brock retained his keen business acumen right through and served to the last in an advisory capacity to the directors of the W. R. Brock Company. By virtue of exceptional ability, organizing genius, hard work, adaptability, generosity and an appreciative attitude toward those in his employment, he was able to develop one of the outstanding mercantile houses of the Dominion. He held the esteem of the merchants in practically all the primary markets of the world. In Canadian industry he was declared to be an international figure. The memory of William Rees Brock will long live as a man noted for his commercial integrity, splendid philanthropy, and public enterprises. He was endowed with a winning personality, and his influence in public affairs was always for good. He was a staunch supporter of British Connection, and believed in promoting closer trade relations between Canada and the Mother Country. He lived a long, useful, and upright life, an inspiration to others, who would merit the approval of their fellows, and the close of a career so full of years and honors was regarded as a public loss.


THE LATE M. F. BEACH


Dwyer, William Henry, President of W. H. Dwyer Co., Ltd., general grain and produce dealers and exporters, 49 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, is one of the capital’s busiest and most active men. His early life was spent on the farm at Thurso, Que., entered the employ of W. C. Edwards & Company, Limited, at Rockland, Ont., in 1882, to learn the lumber business, in whose employ he remained until May, 1890, when he left this company and removed to Thurso, Que., where he operated, successfully, a steam ferry and cartage business, which developed in 1902 into a hay and grain business, in a small way. The growth of this business made it necessary in 1898 for him to move to Ottawa. The increased business, occasioned principally by the South African War in 1900 and 1901, made it necessary to form a limited company, viz., the W. H. Dwyer Co., Ltd., which was formed in 1901, and since that time has developed to such an extent that some years ago offices were opened at Montreal and Fort William and, in 1917, a subsidiary company was formed in Winnipeg under the name of McGaw-Dwyer, Limited, to take care of the Western business. Mr. W. H. Dwyer was born at Bell’s Corners, County of Carleton, Ontario, May 6, 1861. He is the son of Dennis and Jane (Hall) Dwyer, and was educated at Thurso, Quebec. In 1885 he married Sara McDonald, Cumberland, Ontario, and has four daughters. He is President the Dwyer Elevator Co., President and Managing Director the Slinn-Shouldis Co., Ltd., Ottawa; President Forwarders, Ltd., Ottawa; Vice-President the Saskatchewan Lumber Co., Ottawa; Vice-President Prince Rupert Timber and Lumber Co., Ottawa; Vice-President and Managing Director Continental Bag and Paper Co., Ottawa; Vice-President Lawrence Dairy Supply Co., Ottawa; Vice-President Ottawa Contractors, Ltd., Ottawa; Director McKellar Townsite, Ltd., Ottawa; Vice-President McGaw-Dwyer Co., Ltd., Winnipeg; Vice-President J. W. Hennessy, Incorporated, Buffalo, N.Y. For the years 1913-1914 he was President of the Ottawa Board of Trade, and is a life Governor of the Protestant Hospital. He has supported the Red Cross and Patriotic causes in many ways during the war. He is a member of the Laurentian, Canadian and Rivermead Clubs. In politics he is Independent. In religion a Methodist, and his address is 91 McLaren Street, Ottawa, Ontario.


Bristow, Michael George, son of the late Rev. Ernest Bristow, of St. Paul’s Cathedral, London, England, arrived in Ottawa in 1893. He was born at Bath, England, in 1879, where his mother still resides. His brother, Rev. Walter Bristow, soon after the opening of hostilities in the Great War brought about by Germany’s treachery, became Chaplain with the Imperial forces and started for France, while his sister Ethel offered her services and started to do her share as a nurse in a Military Hospital in France. In 1892 Mr. Bristow made Ottawa his home and took a position in the Civil Service. Ambitious, and feeling that such employment did not offer sufficient possibilities, he resigned and went into the typewriter business. Success crowned his first efforts and he built up a large volume of trade. In 1897 Mr. Bristow became the representative in Ottawa, Ont., of the Underwood Typewriter and dealer in typewriters’ supplies. He was one of Ottawa’s best-known business men. Being a lover of music, and possessing a fine voice, soon after his arrival in Ottawa Mr. Bristow became a member of St. John’s Anglican Church choir and, later, its president, and always, when solicited, freely gave his services as a singer for patriotic and charitable purposes. He was an all-round athlete, and gained fame in cricket and bowling; was the founder of the Ottawa Cricket Club, and president of the Bowling Club at Chelsea, Quebec; also president of the Chelsea Athletic Association. In 1905 he won the Massey-Harris Cup for all Canada in the National Tennis Competition, in which he represented the Ottawa Tennis Club. With marked ability as an amateur minstrel he organized and was head of a local Minstrel troop that has already given many concerts of exceeding merit. He was president of the Orpheus Glee Club, and a prominent member of the Masonic Order Sports. Before the departure of the 207th Battalion for Overseas he arranged a big concert for its benefit. To other organizations he rendered similar services, and was elected President of the War Veterans’ Choral Society. In 1897 he married Beatrice Bristow, daughter of Arthur Bristow, who came from England and joined the Dominion Civil Service. Three children have blessed the union—Joan, Reggie and Marjorie. Mr. Bristow died on December 19, 1917.


Braithwaite, Edward Ernest (London, Ont.), President of Western University, son of Mark Mell Braithwaite and Elizabeth Eckardt; born at Unionville, Ont., March 14, 1865. Educated at Markham High School and Toronto University, McGill University, B.A. (with first class honors in Philosophy, ’86), Oberlin College, Ohio, (B.D., ’90), University of Chicago, and Harvard University, where he obtained the degree of M.A., 1901, and Ph.D., 1904. Married, November 10, 1892, to Ida Minnie Van Camp, daughter of Rev. Albert and Isabella Van Camp, of Cleveland, Ohio. Is the father of the following children: Harold Albert, born August 28, 1893; Lloyd Mell, born October 22, 1896; Ernest Scott, born December 8, 1899; Percy Bryant, born March 9, 1905; Carol Isabel, born December 25, 1906. Dr. Braithwaite is a noted educationalist, and has occupied many important positions in the prominent seats of learning in Canada and the United States, and has also filled many pastorates, among which may be mentioned the following: 1890-95, Pastor St. Louis, Mo. (Fountain Park Congregational Church); 1896-97, Graduate Student University of Chicago (working mainly with that eminent teacher, the late President Harper in the Department of Oriental Languages); 1897-1900, Pastor Tabernacle Church, Yarmouth, N.S., and Chairman of the Congregational Union of the Maritime Provinces, also Missionary Superintendent for the Provinces of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick; 1900-1901, began Ph.D. course in the Graduate Department of Harvard University, and at the end of the first year was called to Oberlin owing to the illness of Hebrew Professor. Returned to Harvard University the following year; 1901-02, Acting Professor of Hebrew and Old Testament Literature, Oberlin College, Ohio; 1902-03, Graduate Student, Harvard University, from which he received the degree of Ph.D. in 1904 and was appointed Williams Fellow; 1903-08, Pastor of West Somerville, Mass.; 1908-11, Pastor of Northern Church, Toronto; 1912-13, Dean of Calgary College, Calgary, Alberta; 1914, was appointed President of the Western University of London, which position he now holds. Dr. Braithwaite is a member of the Rotary and Canadian Clubs, and has been a Liberal in politics although not especially identified with any parties. He is Chairman of the Military Committee of the C. O. T. C. of the Western University and takes great interest in Military matters and all amateur sports. He is also one of the Board of Directors of the London Chamber of Commerce and several other local organizations.


Bell, John Howatt, M.A., K.C., Barrister, Summerside, Prince Edward Island; was born at Cape Traverse, Prince Edward Island, on the 13th of December, 1846. His father, Walter Bell, emigrated from Dumfries, Scotland, in 1820, and settled at Cape Traverse. His mother was Elizabeth Howatt, daughter of Adam Howatt. Mr. Bell received his education at the Prince of Wales College, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, and at Albert University, Belleville, Ont., at which latter institution he took the degrees of B.A. and M.A. He studied law as a profession with Thomas Ferguson, Q.C., Toronto, and was called to the bar of Ontario in 1874. He then went to Ottawa, and in partnership with R. A. Bradley, practised his profession for eight years in that City. In 1882, Mr. Bell removed to Emerson, Manitoba, and was admitted a member of the bar of Manitoba in 1882, and practised in Emerson for two years. In 1884 he went to Prince Edward Island, and having passed the necessary examination, he became a member of the bar of that Island, and has since resided at Summerside successfully engaged in his profession. For four years, he represented East Prince in the Federal Parliament, and in 1915, became a candidate for the Fourth District of Prince in the Local Legislature and being re-elected, was chosen Leader of the Liberal Opposition. On the 7th of April, 1882, he was married to Helen, daughter of Cornelius Howatt, of Summerside, Speaker of the House of Assembly of Prince Edward Island. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and a member of the Masonic Order.


Gillespie, Professor Peter, M.Sc., C.E. (Toronto, Ont.), was born at Grafton, Ont., April 17, 1873, the son of Peter Gillespie, proprietor of the Vernonville Flour Mills, who died in 1873, and his wife, Eliza Hossack, a native of Cromarty, Scotland, who still survives. Prof. Gillespie was educated at the Cobourg Collegiate Institute, the University of Toronto and at McGill University, Montreal. His academic connection with the University of Toronto began in 1904, when he became Demonstrator in Applied Mechanics in the School of Practical Science, now the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering. Subsequently he became Lecturer and, in 1911, Associate Professor in the same Department, the position which he at present occupies. Since 1908 he has been a member of the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers, now the Engineering Institute of Canada, is at present a Councillor thereof and Chairman of the Toronto Branch. During the years of its active existence, 1908-1912, he was President of the Canadian Cement and Concrete Association, an organization devoted to the dissemination of authentic information concerning the uses of Portland Cement in building construction. To the transactions of the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers and to the Technical press generally, Mr. Gillespie is an occasional contributor. In addition to the duties of his academic position, he devotes a part of his time to the practice of engineering and as designer or consultant has been identified with engineering projects in various parts of Canada. He has of late been actively engaged in the training of returned soldiers for the Invalided Soldiers’ Commission of Canada. In 1910 he married Mary Hope, daughter of Mr. M. O. Merritt, U.E.L., of Smithville, Ont., a retired farmer whose forbears came from Fishkill, Duchess County, New York, at the time of the United Empire Loyalist migration following the close of the American Revolutionary War. They have two children, Mary Elizabeth and Robert George. In religion Mr. Gillespie is a Presbyterian and in politics inclines toward Liberalism. He resides at 358 Davenport Road.


Grange, Edward Alexander Andrew, Toronto, Principal of Ontario Veterinary College, 110 University Avenue, Toronto, was born in London, England, April 9, 1848. His parents were the late Lt.-Col. George John Grange, Sheriff, County Wellington, and Mary, daughter of Capt. Dawson. Although born in England, Mr. Grange’s education was obtained entirely in this country, first by private tuition, then at Dr. Tassie’s School, Galt, Ontario, and finally at Ontario Veterinary College where he graduated with the degree of V.S. in 1873, obtaining his M.S. in 1908, at Michigan Agricultural College. An ardent Imperialist, Mr. Grange was for many years a staff officer of Wellington Field Battery and Brigade of Artillery, and is a present member of the Canadian Military Institute, the Empire Club and the Canadian Club. In his profession he has always distinguished himself. From 1875 to 1882 he was a lecturer at Ontario Agricultural College; from 1883 to 1897 he was a professor Veterinary Science, Michigan Agricultural College; 1897 to 1899 he was principal Detroit Veterinary College; from 1899 to 1908 he was engaged in veterinary research work in New York State, and since then has been principal of Ontario Veterinary College, Toronto. He is a member of numerous veterinary and other scientific societies, a Fellow of A.V.M.A., a member of N.Y. Veterinary College Alumni Association, and an honorary member of Alpha Phi Society of Cornell. An Anglican in religion, Mr. Grange is married to Bessie, daughter of Lt.-Col. James Webster, registrar, Wellington County. Their union was blessed with three children, James Webster (deceased), Flight Commander E. Rochfort, D.S.C., R.N., holder of Croix de Guerre; and daughter, Maynard.


Morin, Victor, LL.D. (Montreal, Que.), is the son of Jean Baptiste Morin, a lumber merchant of St. Hyacinthe, was born at St. Hyacinthe, Que., August 15, 1865, is a Notary and Professor of Law at Laval University, was educated at St. Hyacinthe College, Que., and Laval University, Montreal, graduating 1884, 1888, 1909 with the degrees of A.B., LL.D.; is the author of several books and articles on historical, literary, scientific, social and business subjects, and is a member of the Royal Society of Canada, President of the Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, and Vice-President of the Montreal Library Commission, President-General of the St. Jean Baptiste Society, President of the Association du Notariat Canadien, President Montreal Historical Society and Heraldic College, also member of the Antiquarian and Numismatic Clubs, of which he is vice-president, besides belonging to the Reform Club, Cercle Universitaire, St. Dennis Club, and several others; his favorite recreations are the study of books and curios. He is a member of the Roman Catholic Church and Liberal in politics; Past Supreme Chief Ranger of the Independent Order of Foresters, and member of many other fraternal societies. In business circles he is very active, being President, Vice-President or Director of several business and financial corporations. On January 12, 1893, he married Fannie Cote, the daughter of Hon. Daniel Cote, of Biddeford, Maine, and after her death married Alphonsine Cote, on May 5, 1896, the daughter of Victor Cote, of St. Hyacinthe, Que.; he is the father of the following children, namely, Lucien, Reginald, Marc, Andre, Gisele, Claire, Marie, Renee, Roland, Guy and Roger, besides two deceased.


Hastings, David (Dunnville, Ont.), is the son of John and Mary Jane Hastings, born in Toronto, Ont., October 3, 1860. He received his education at the Toronto and Hamilton Public Schools and Hamilton Collegiate Institute. Mr. Hastings is the editor and publisher of “The Gazette,” the oldest paper in the County of Haldimand, which was established in 1852. It is a Conservative journal, published at Dunnville. In February, 1915, Mr. Hastings was appointed Police Magistrate for the Town of Dunnville and adjoining townships in succession to the late Dr. S. W. Brown. He is a member of the Typographical Union, the Masonic Order, Independent Order of Oddfellows, Independent Order of Foresters and also of the Orange Order. In religion Mr. Hastings is a Methodist. He married Rose, daughter of Frederick Shepheard, of Toronto, and is the father of two children: Frederick Clarke, born April 21, 1896, and Edward George, born Oct. 22, 1900.


Anderson, Frederic William, of Kamloops, B.C., eldest son of the late William Anderson, who was Manager of the J. R. Booth Lumber Company for a number of years, was born at Ottawa, September 28, 1883. Educated at the Public Schools and Collegiate Institute, Ottawa, and McGill University, Montreal, from which latter institution he graduated in 1906 with the degree of Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering. After spending a number of years on large construction works in different parts of Canada, Mr. Anderson went to Kamloops, where he actively engaged in the live stock industry and farming, and brought to bear upon the existing situation his splendid knowledge as a civil engineer, and being a keen irrigationist, developed and brought under cultivation large areas of land. He organized and was President of the Heffley Creek Water Users’ Association. He was elected at the general elections held in September, 1914, a member of the Legislative Assembly for the Province of British Columbia, as a Liberal over the former member, Mr. J. Pierson Shaw, by a majority of 569; was Deputy Whip, session 1917, and elected chief Government Whip Session 1918. Mr. Anderson married Marion Claire, daughter of George E. Carbould, K.C., ex-M.P., New Westminster, B.C., and is the father of two children, Francis Marion Carbould and William Patrick. He is a Lieutenant, Canadian Engineers, C.E.F.; a member of the Presbyterian Church, and of the Kamloops Club, University Club, Vancouver Kappa Alpha Society, and the Masonic Order.


de Tremaudan, A. H., Barrister (Winnipeg, Man.), was born at St. Chrysostome, Quebec, July 14, 1874. His parents are living at Montmartre, Sask.; father was a captain in the Franco-Prussian war, 1870, and is a direct descendant of Sire Beaumanoir, by whom he was related to LaFayette, the great French soldier, famous in American history. Mr. de Tremaudan was educated at the Clerical College of Guérande, France, and at Rennes University, France, from which he graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Letters. He is a gentleman of fine literary attainments, and has made a special study of all matters pertaining to the early history of Western Canada, and the Hudson Bay route. He founded and edited for two years (Dec., 1911, to Dec., 1913) “The Herald,” published at The Pas, Manitoba, and is chief editor of “La Libre Parole,” a French Weekly, published at Winnipeg. Mr. de Tremaudan is the author of numerous magazine articles, and brochures, which have been favorably received, among which may be noted “The Hudson Bay Route,” “Pourquoi Nous Parlons Français,” “Les precurseurs.” A number of addresses are in press under the title of “Le Sang Français.” A forthcoming work is entitled “The Riel Legend.” On Feb. 18, 1901, Mr. de Tremaudan married Madeleine, daughter of the late C. H. Bastien, a stained-glass decorative artist, who painted some of the priceless windows in the world-famous Cathedral of Rheims, France. His children, three sons and two daughters, are: Jean (1903), Alain (1905), Gilles (1909), Andree (1906), and Renee (1910). Mr. de Tremaudan is a Roman Catholic in religion and a member of “Le Canada” Club of Winnipeg. He is a Liberal in politics, has travelled extensively, and is widely read and well informed on all questions of National importance; a man of mature judgment and ripe experience.


Bethune, the Rev. Charles Jas. Stewart, M.A., D.C.L., the distinguished subject of this sketch, was born at West Flamboro’, Ontario, on August 11, 1838. He is the third son of the Right Rev. Alexander Neil Bethune second Bishop of Toronto, and Jane Eliza, eldest daughter of the late Hon. James Crooks. The Bethune family traces its lineage very far back in Scottish and French historical records. The first of the name who left Normandy for the British Isles came to Scotland in the reign of Malcolm the Third, a contemporary of William the Conqueror, in the eleventh century. The first of the family to come to Canada was the Rev. John Bethune, a U.E. Loyalist from North Carolina, and chaplain to a Highland regiment, who settled with his comrades in the county of Glengarry, Ontario, towards the end of the 18th century. He was the father of the late Bishop of Toronto and Dean Bethune, of Montreal, and grandfather of the subject of this sketch. Young Bethune was educated at private schools at Cobourg and Upper Canada College, Toronto. After leaving the latter institution he entered Trinity College, Toronto, and graduated therefrom in 1859 with first-class classical honors and the B.A. degree. He took his M.A. in 1861, and received the honorary degree of D.C.L. from his Alma Mater in 1883, in recognition of his zealous and worthy services at Trinity College School. He was ordained deacon in 1861 and priest in 1862, by the late Bishop Strachan of Toronto. He was curate until 1866, with his father, then Rector of Cobourg, with the exception of a short period spent in England in 1863-64, when he was curate at Carlton, near Selby, in Yorkshire. In 1866 he was appointed to the charge of the Credit Mission in the County of Peel, Ont., where he was instrumental in building the churches at Dixie and Port Credit. In September, 1870, he was appointed Head Master of Trinity College School at Port Hope. From a very small beginning he raised up this school to be one of the most widely known and successful in the Dominion. He had a staff of eight assistant masters, about 140 pupils, and large and handsome buildings with extensive grounds. He resigned the headmastership in 1899, and removed to London, Ontario, where he remained for seven years. During the greater part of that period he was curator and librarian of the Entomological Society of Ontario. He assisted in forming the London Horticultural Society and was its president for two years. Dr. Bethune gave much of his attention to scientific pursuits and he is well known in the United States and Great Britain, as likewise in Canada, as an entomologist. He was one of the founders of the Entomological Society of Ontario and its Secretary-Treasurer for seven years. He was president of the same society from 1870 to 1875, and has continued since to be a member of its council. He was entomological editor of the “Canada Farmer” for nine years, and editor of the “Canadian Entomologist” from its inception in 1868 to 1873, and from 1887 to 1909, when he was elected editor emeritus. He has written a large number of papers on Practical and Scientific Entomology in these and other publications, and contributed repeatedly to the annual report on insects presented to the Legislature of Ontario. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the advancement of Science and has attended its meetings at various places in the United States, is a member of several Canadian scientific societies and a corresponding member of scientific societies in New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Buffalo, Davenport, Brooklyn, Halifax, and other places. He is also a member of the Corporation of the University of Trinity College. He was Honorary Clerical Secretary of the Synod of the Diocese of Toronto from 1869 to 1871, and has been repeatedly elected a representative of the diocese at the meetings of the Provincial Synod in Montreal. He was a delegate from the diocese of Toronto to the general synod of the Church of England in Canada at Winnipeg in 1896, and was appointed clerical secretary of the Lower House in 1902, holding that position at the meetings in Montreal and Quebec and resigning at the Ottawa meeting in 1908; elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1892, and became President of Section 4 in the year 1900; was one of the original promoters of the Sisterhood of St. John the Divine in Toronto and filled the position of Warden for some years. On the first of June, 1906, he was appointed Professor of Entomology and Zoology at the Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph, which position he still holds. He assisted in the formation of the American Association of Economic Entomologists and of the American Entomological Society; of the latter he is one of the original Fellows. He was elected President of the Entomological Society of Ontario for its Jubilee year, 1913. He is Honorary President of the Wellington Field Naturalists’ Club, of the Guelph Horticultural Society and of the Trinity College School Cricket Club. Since going to Guelph he has published bulletins on insects affecting fruit trees and vegetables of which several editions have been issued by the Department of Agriculture of Ontario. He has frequently visited England and travelled in the United States and Europe. Dr. Bethune has always been a member of the Church of England and associated with the “High Church” school of thought. He married on April 21, 1863, Alice, second daughter of Lieut.-Colonel Forlong, K.H., of Toronto, late of Her Majesty’s 43rd Regiment of Light Infantry, and his wife, Sophia, daughter of the Hon. Henry John Boulton, of Holland House, Toronto. Mrs. Bethune died in July, 1898. Dr. Bethune has four children living. His eldest son, Arthur M. Bethune, is Manager of the Hamilton Branch of the Dominion Bank, and Reginald A. Bethune is an officer in the Civil Service at Kamloops, B.C. The two daughters are unmarried. An earnest and able worker for his church, a learned and deeply skilled votary in a wide and important branch of science, it has been given to few men whose names are written in this volume to accomplish so much and to accomplish it so well.


Kyte, George William (St. Peters, Richmond County, Nova Scotia), son of John Kyte, native of Templemore, County of Tipperary, Ireland, and Elizabeth Robertson, English parentage, born July 10, 1864, at St. Peters. Educated at the public school of St. Peters, and at the University of St. Francis Xavier, Antigonish, N.S., from which seat of learning he graduated. Studied law in the office of Colin F. McIsaac (for several years one of the Transcontinental Railway Commissioners, at Antigonish, N.S.), and was admitted to the bar Nov. 16, 1891. Married, July 5, 1893, to Tena, daughter of Valentine and Lydia Chisholm, of Heatherton, N.S. Appointed Clerk-Assistant of the Legislative Assembly of Nova Scotia, in Feb., 1892; re-appointed in 1895, 1898 and 1901; appointed Chief Clerk, Dec. 3, 1903. Resigned this appointment to become a candidate for the House of Commons for Richmond County at general election of 1908 and was elected; re-elected at general election in 1911. Created a King’s Counsel by the Government of Nova Scotia, April 16, 1908. Solicitor for the Municipality of Richmond County; school trustee for nine years, and is a member of the Board of School Commissioners for the County of Richmond. A Roman Catholic in religion and a Liberal in politics.


Clark, John Murray, M.A., LL.B., K.C. (Toronto, Ont.), born at St. Mary’s, Ont., July 6, 1860, of Scottish descent, his parents being James and Isabella Clark. Educated at St. Mary’s Collegiate Institute, Toronto University and Osgoode Hall. His career at the University was particularly brilliant. He won the prize in Logic awarded by the late Professor J. P. Young, the Blake Scholarship on Constitutional Law, Economics and Jurisprudence, the McMurrich Medal in Natural Science and Gold Medal in Mathematics and Physics, and the prize on Minority Representation, graduating with the degree of B.A. in 1882, M.A. 1884, LL.B. 1891, and being called to the Bar in 1886, with honours, and winning the Law Society’s Gold Medal, since which time he has practised in Toronto where he is recognized as one of the leaders of the Bar and is head of the firm of Clark, McPherson, Campbell & Jarvis. Has been retained as Counsel in a large number of cases of great magnitude and importance, such as the Quaker Case, Ontario Express Company, Fisheries Case, and the Ophir case, and has frequently pleaded before the Privy Council in England. Appointed a K.C. in 1889; in early life was Mathematical Master of St. Mary’s Collegiate Institute and for several years Examiner in Physics, Toronto University, of which he was appointed as Senator in 1892. Is also Vice-President Toronto University Alumni Association. Formerly President Mathematical and Physics Society and University College Literary and Scientific Society. Few men in Canada have exhibited more scholarly attainments than the subject of this sketch, whose versatility in Science, Literature, as well as original research has been remarkable, and of great benefit. Notwithstanding the high place which Mr. Clark occupies in the field of letters and the wide knowledge he has of science and literature, he is widely known on account of his great abilities as a lawyer which have placed him in the front rank of the legal profession in Canada. Many of his cases have been of first-class importance and some of them of great public interest. Among the first in which he won a signal victory was that of Dorland and Jones, the famous Quaker Case from Prince Edward County, Ontario. The recent decision of the House of Lords, giving the “Wee Frees” the property of the Free Church of Scotland recalls the Quaker Case here. Mr. Clark argued before the Supreme Court at Ottawa that the Church had the right to make changes in its Constitution, even though that Constitution itself did not specifically authorize it to do so. The view was adopted by the United Free Church lawyers in Edinburgh in the case arising from the union of the Free and United Presbyterian Churches of Scotland, and the Court of Session, the High Court of Justice sustained that view. The “Wee Free” (as the Free Church minority was commonly called), appealed to the House of Lords, and contrary to all expectation, won, and obtained possession of the vast property of the Church. The situation was so tense that a special Act of Parliament was passed to adjust conditions. In quite a number of constitutional cases reaching through the Canadian Courts to the Privy Council, Mr. Clark has figured, and invariably with success. The same is true regarding commercial cases and large mining cases in which a long and extended experience has given him such a mastery as few of his compeers possess. Quite recently the “Ophir” mining case, which he brought to a successful conclusion, through a tedious and tortuous course of litigation, ending in the Privy Council, has excited the attention of the legal profession and of the public, both because it decided the question of the Indian title so far as Ontario is concerned, and because a similar situation is becoming acute in British Columbia. Mr. Clark has made several notable speeches in England where he is regarded as an accomplished jurist, and few men are so well versed in the political and constitutional history of this Dominion or more fully seized of its great resources. The London “Times” and several other prominent English papers a few years ago referred in high praise to Mr. Clark’s speech on “Canada and the Navy” delivered before a notable gathering, including Lord Strathcona the late High Commissioner for Canada. Mr. Clark is one of the foremost mathematical authorities in Canada and his work has been commended by so high an authority as Lord Kelvin, while he is regarded both in this country and in England as an authority on Constitutional law. He has won distinction as an author, and has written several standard works and papers, among which may be mentioned “Law of Mines in Canada,” which was written in collaboration with the Hon. W. D. McPherson, Provincial Secretary of Ontario. “Company Law,” “The Ontario Mining Law,” “International Arbitration,” “Canada’s Future and the Empire,” “History of the Theory of Energy,” and “The Functions of a great University.” Has lectured on the “Value of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council,” “Canada and the Navy,” etc. The work on Mining Law referred to is recognized as an authority on the subject dealt with, and has been highly praised by the Harvard Law Review of the Law Magazine of England as well as by the Canadian Press. The “Mining Journal” stated that “the book had the impress of clear and legal learning,” and the work has also been described as a monument of research, care and industry. Recently Mr. Clark has been elected President of the Royal Canadian Institute, founded by Sir John Lefroy (whose grandson, Lieut. Lefroy, gallantly fell on Vimy Ridge). In referring to the new President’s appointment “The Mail and Empire” said: “Mr. Clark well represents the best that we have in character, intellect, scholarship and public spirit. A distinguished graduate of Toronto University, the new President, far from leaving the avenues of learning, as some do when they graduate, has ever increased his stores, and has successfully striven not only to broaden and deepen his knowledge, but to devote it to the service of his fellow-men, as witness Mr. Clark’s strong and convincing advocacy of the Canadian Government availing itself of the great scientific attainments and progressive scholarship of men like Professors Macallum and McLennan. For many years one of the foremost advocates in Canada of that great constitutional change in Imperial relations which is to-day being forged on the anvil of war, Mr. Clark has been a powerful and sagacious leader in that movement on this side of the water. In the prosecution of that enterprise he has deservedly won the regard and friendship of some of the leading scholars and statesmen of our Empire.” The “Globe,” in the course of a favorable review, said that his Presidential Address on “The Reign of Law,” “will appeal to thoughtful readers as a scholarly contribution to a subject which derives fresh interest from the war.” Mr. Clark has given considerable study to the question of our gold supply which has proved a potent factor in the financing of the great war, and will be even a more important factor in the reconstruction period after the war according to the viewpoint of Mr. Clark, who takes the position that the increase in the production of gold be encouraged in every practical way. Politically, Mr. Clark has always been a member of the Liberal Party, and was formerly President of the Young Men’s Liberal Club of Toronto, but, in the Federal general elections of 1917 he supported the Union Government. He favors Canada remaining an integral portion of the British Empire, the utmost practicable extension of the principle of free trade, and the development of a vigorous Canadian National Sentiment. Married first Greta Helen Gordon, daughter of Rev. D. Gordon, and sister of “Ralph Connor,” 1890 (deceased 1894); second, Annie Macleod Anderson, daughter of late W. N. Anderson, Toronto, 1899 (deceased, 1910); third, Caroline Chaplin, daughter of late William Chaplin, St. Catharines; has three daughters, i.e., Mary Gordon (now Mrs. W. A. Riddell), Margaret Macleod, and Katie H. Burn. Is a member of the following clubs: Toronto, Ontario, British Empire (London), Engineers’ Club (Toronto), and belongs to A.F. & A.M. (Scottish Rite, Zetland). A Presbyterian in religion. Recreation, golf.


Flint, Thomas Barnard, M.A., LL.B., D.C.L., Ottawa, Ont., ex-clerk of the House of Commons, was born in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, April 28, 1847, and was educated at Yarmouth and Mt. Allison University, Sackville, New Brunswick. He received his B.A. in 1867; his M.A. in 1872; also LL.B. of Harvard University, 1871. He was called to the Bar in 1872; was appointed a commissioner of the Supreme and County Courts in 1873; was Sheriff of Yarmouth County from 1883 to 1887, and Assistant Clerk of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly from 1887 to 1891. In 1891 he was elected to the House of Commons and was re-elected at the elections of 1896 and 1900. He was appointed Clerk of the House of Commons, Nov. 11, 1902, and retired from that position at the beginning of session of 1918, owing to failing eyesight. In 1903 he received the honorary degree of Doctor of Civil Law. He edited the 3rd and 4th editions of Bourinot Parliamentary Procedure. In 1874 he was married to Mary Ella Dane, a daughter of the late Thomas B. Dane, who for many years was an influential citizen of Yarmouth. Personally, Dr. Flint, an honorable man, with high ideals of the amenities of public life, liberally educated, and endowed with cultivated taste, entirely without prejudice of race or religion, well posted on public affairs, an efficient, unassuming, practical man, commanded the respect of Liberals and Conservatives alike, both as a member of the House of Commons and as clerk. Dr. Flint at one time was Vice-President of the Dominion Prohibition Alliance, and was one of the founders, and for many years vice-president of the Yarmouth Building and Loan Society, a most successful local business. After he was admitted to the Bar he rapidly became one of its leaders in his district. As a member of the House of Commons Dr. Flint was Chairman of Standing Orders from 1898 to 1902. During the Session of 1894-5 he moved resolutions in the House of Commons in favor of prohibition. In 1907 he was elected President of the Ottawa Literary and Scientific Society. As a speaker, Dr. Flint proved to be a leading debater, forceful and pleasing in manner, ever giving evidence as an authority on every question which he took up. He is of New England ancestry, and the son of the late John Flint, ship owner, and Anne (Barnard) Flint. He is an Anglican in religion and a Liberal in politics. From 1897 to 1899 he was Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Masons, of Nova Scotia. Upon his retirement from the Clerkship of the House of Commons Dr. Flint was by resolution of the House made an honorary official of the House and granted an annuity in recognition of his public services. He now resides in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.


Chrysler, Francis Henry, K.C. (Ottawa), is a son of the late Gordon Harvey Chrysler and Jane Chrysler, daughter of Captain James Mackenzie, R.N., who was on service on Lake Ontario under Commodore James Yee, R.N., during the war of 1812. He is a grandson of Colonel John Chrysler, of Chrysler’s Farm, for sixteen years member for Dundas in the Parliament of U.C. He was born in Kingston, Ont., educated at Bath Academy and Queen’s University, Kingston. Married in 1876 to Margaret Isabella, daughter of Donald A. Grant, of Ottawa. He became a barrister in 1872; K.C., 1890; has practised continuously in Ottawa and is one of the leaders of the Bar of Canada, and one of the life Benchers of the Law Society for the Province of Ontario. He is Counsel for many railways and other corporations. Has declined appointment to the Canadian Bench. He acted as Counsel for the Dominion Iron and Steel Company in their action against the Dominion Government to recover bounties for the manufacture of liquid pig iron; for the Government of Canada in drafting and settling the contracts and legislation for the construction of the National Transcontinental Railway; for the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway Company in drafting and settling their mortgages upon which securities were issued for the construction of the railway from Winnipeg to Prince Rupert; for all the railway companies of Canada in framing and settling The Railway Act of 1903, under which the Railway Commission was appointed; for various railway companies, principally the Canadian Pacific Railway, in the general enquiry before the Railway Commission into railway rates in Canada; for the Dominion Express Company in the general enquiry into express tolls and contracts; for the Canadian Pacific Railway Company upon the general enquiry into telegraph tolls and contracts; for the Special Committee of the House of Commons appointed to enquire into the question of telephone rates and systems, and for the Railway Companies of Canada as Counsel before the general committee appointed by the House of Commons in the Session of 1917, to revise and consolidate the Railway Act and Amending Acts. He has had an extensive experience and practice as a Parliamentary Counsel, before the Railway Commission and in the Supreme Court. His clubs are: The Rideau, Country and Royal Ottawa Golf, Ottawa; Metis Golf Club, Little Metis, Que. His address is 87 Catharine Street, Ottawa. Mr. Chrysler has four children, two sons and two daughters. The elder son, Geoffrey Gordon, was for some years in the Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry, retiring in 1912, with the rank of Captain. He enlisted for service in the war with Germany, going with the first contingent as a Captain in the Second Battalion of Infantry, of which he is now a Major. He has been three times severely wounded and has received the Military Cross for conspicuous valor. The younger son, Philip Harvey, qualified as a Lieutenant of Artillery and served in France in the 3rd Divisional Ammunition Column from 1915 until October, 1917, when he was discharged as being physically unfit for further service. Mr. Chrysler’s elder daughter, Margaret Gordon, Mrs. Frederick H. Emra, is married to a civil engineer, who is now a Captain, first in the Second Pioneers and afterwards in the Engineers, and has been wounded in France. He is now doing engineering work for the Royal Navy. His younger daughter, Constance Harvey, is married to Dr. Ernest W. MacBride, LL.D., F.R.S., formerly Professor of Biology in McGill University and now Professor of Biology in the Royal College of Science, South Kensington, London, England, where Professor and Mrs. MacBride with two young sons reside. Mr. Chrysler is by temperament a student and has never occupied any public office; a prominent member of St. Andrew’s Church, Ottawa, of which congregation he is an officer. A lover of music, having been for many years an active member and President of the Orchestral Society; a keen golfer, golf being his principal recreation. Although for many years a leading member of the Liberal Party, he is at present a strong advocate of the policy of carrying on the war by means of a united Canadian party.


HON. WILFRID GARIEPY
Edmonton



Aikins, Lt.-Col. Sir James Albert Manning, Kt., M.A., K.C., Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba, was born in Peel County, Ont., December 10, 1851, the son of Honorable James Cox Aikins, who was appointed a Senator at Confederation, and, on December 9, 1869, Secretary of State and Registrar General in Sir John A. Macdonald’s administration, and afterwards Minister of Inland Revenue, and later in 1882, appointed Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Manitoba, and of the District of Keewatin, and upon the expiration of his term of office, a second time called to the Senate of Canada in 1896, and his wife Mary Elizabeth Somerset. Educated at Brampton High School, Upper Canada College and Toronto University (B.A., 1875, M.A., 1877), M.A. Ad eundem, Manitoba University, studied law in the office of Matthew Crooks Cameron and also Mowat, Maclennan and Downey, admitted to the Bar of Ontario, 1878, and to the Bar of Manitoba, 1879, in which year he went to Winnipeg, where he soon established himself as one of the leaders of the profession in the Province and few members of the Western Bar have held more responsible solicitorships. Sir James was solicitor and counsel for the Canadian Pacific Railway throughout the western division since its organization until he withdrew in 1911, to contest the constituency of Brandon in the House of Commons, for which he was returned by a large majority, retaining the seat until the general elections in 1917, when he was succeeded by Dr. H. P. Whidden (Conservative-Unionist). He was also counsel for the Dominion Express Co., Imperial Bank, Bank of Ottawa, Canadian Fire Insurance Co., Great West Life Assurance Co., Canada Permanent and Western Canada Land Co., Manitoba Northwest Land Co., Scottish American Investment Co. He is a director of the Northern Trusts Co., the Canada Fire Insurance Co., and numerous other financial corporations. From 1879 to 1896 he acted as counsel for the Department of Justice, and, in 1880, he was appointed by the Dominion Government one of the Royal Commissioners to investigate and report on the administration of Justice in the North-West Territories; was chief counsel for the Province of Manitoba during the administration of Hugh John Macdonald, drafting the Manitoba Liquor Bill, which, on appeal was sustained by the Privy Council in England and decided to be constitutional, and has been a model for similar legislation in other Provinces. Appointed K.C. in 1884, and created Knight Bachelor in June, 1914, Sir James Aikins is the senior of the Manitoba Bar and President of the Canadian Bar Association, President of the Conference of Commissioners on Uniformity of Law. Aug., 1916, appointed Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba. Was elected bencher of the Law Society of Manitoba in 1886, and has filled a large number of other prominent positions and offices, i.e., President of Y.M.C.A.; The Canadian Club; Chairman, Wesley College, Manitoba; Honorary Bursar, Manitoba University; President Law Society of Manitoba. In June, 1912, was appointed to represent Canada at the second International Moral Education Congress, held at The Hague from August 22 to 27 of that year. A director of the Manitoba Agricultural College, Sir James takes great interest in all educational matters. Presented silver cup to Manitoba Mounted Rifles for general efficiency 1907; appointed Honorary Lieut.-Colonel 90th Regiment, Winnipeg Rifles December, 1910; is also Col. (Honorary) of the 99th Regiment, Brandon. A Methodist in religion, the subject of this sketch has always displayed much interest in the affairs of his church; was a member of the 20th Century Thanksgiving Fund, and of the Methodist Church Union Committee, and in 1896 carried a resolution in Grace Methodist Church, Winnipeg, heartily favoring organic union of Presbyterian, Congregational, and Methodist Churches of Canada. Sir James has been twice married—(first) to Mary B. McLellan, in 1884, (second) to Mary F. Colby, in 1889, and has three children, Gordon Harold Aikins, Barrister-at-Law, married to Myrtle Clint; Mary Helena Alberta Aikins; Elizabeth Grace Colby Aikins. Sir James has always taken a very prominent part in the affairs of the Dominion and that the success which has come to him early in life has been the reward of merit is generally admitted. He is a strong platform speaker, a brilliant advocate and sound lawyer, and at critical periods in the country’s history has shown much dominant force as a political factor. Sir James is extremely popular with the members of his profession with whom he has a Dominion-wide acquaintance, and has received every honor at the hands of his fellow-practitioners. He is a member of the following clubs: Manitoba, St. Charles Country, Adanac, of Winnipeg, Rideau Club of Ottawa, and Brandon Club, Brandon, Manitoba, and head of the following law firms: Aikins, Loftus, Aikins and Fisher, and Aikins, Loftus, Aikins, Bell and Bridgman, of Winnipeg.


Pope, Major William Walter, is of United Empire Loyalist descent, was born in the County of Compton, in the Province of Quebec, in 1854, and educated there. Entered the service of the Boston, Clinton and Fitchburgh Railway, Boston, Mass., when a young man, and later he went to Belleville, Ontario, where he studied law. Was assistant to the late John Bell, K.C., Solicitor for the Grand Trunk Railway, 1881 to 1904, when he was transferred to Montreal as assistant to W. H. Biggar, K.C.; while at Belleville was alderman for two years, also Major with the 15th Regiment, retiring retaining rank in 1909, holds long service decoration, also medal with one clasp for the Fenian Raid, 1866. Since September, 1909, has been Solicitor and Secretary of the Hydro-Electric Commission of Ontario, and is recognized as a man of great practical ability. His present address is 117 Bedford Road, Toronto. The Hon. John Henry Pope, late Minister of Railways, was an uncle. Mr. Pope married, October 20, 1875, a daughter of Stephen White, Belleville, manufacturer, and has one son, W. W. Macaulay Pope. He is a member of the Victoria, Royal Canadian Yacht Club, Canadian Empire and United Empire Loyalist Clubs, Canadian Military Institute, Albany, and the Masonic Order, also a member of the Anglican Church and a Conservative. His principal recreations are golfing, bowling, and curling.


Pratt, Edward Courtney (Montreal, Que.), General Manager of The Molsons Bank, is the son of George Henry Pratt, of Monteath, Ireland. He was born in Ireland, on October 22, 1864, and educated in Dublin. On October 16, 1889, he married Edith Augusta White, the daughter of Wm. J. White, K.C., of St. Thomas, Ont., and has six children. Is a member of the Mount Royal, Montreal and Beaconsfield Clubs, and a member of the Anglican Church.


Riddell, Hon. William Renwick (Toronto, Ont.), Justice of the Supreme Court of Ontario, descended from the family of “Riddell of that Ilk,” a son of the late Walter and Mary Renwick Riddell; born in Township of Hamilton, County of Northumberland, April 6, 1852. Educated Cobourg Collegiate Institute and Victoria University; B.A. (1874), Prizeman in Chemistry and Mathematics, B.Sc. (1876), LL.B. (1878), L.H.D. (Syracuse University), J.U.D. (Trinity University, Hartford), LL.D. University of Toronto, McMaster, Lafayette, Northwestern, Wesleyan, Rochester and Yale Universities; graduated at Law School, Osgoode Hall. (Gold Medal and first in all examinations); called to the bar 1883, elected Bencher Law Society of Upper Canada 1891, re-elected until 1906, created a King’s Counsel 1904. Successfully practised at Cobourg and Toronto, and on removal to Ontario’s capital, enjoyed large counsel practice, civil and criminal; was retained during Toronto Municipal Investigation in 1904. Before taking up the study of the law was Mathematical Master of the Normal School, Ottawa, and afterwards Chairman of the Cobourg Collegiate Institute; President, Educational Society, Eastern Ont.; Pres., Alumni Association Victoria University, and member of the Board of Regents. Senator of Toronto University; a Governor, Western Hospital, Toronto. In October, 1906, the subject of this sketch was appointed one of the Judges of His Majesty’s Supreme Court for the Province of Ontario, (the last to be appointed to the King’s Bench Division), a position which he has since occupied with great distinction. His judgments are models of beautiful diction, in which the exposition of the law is clear and illuminating, while his grasp of the facts makes for that clarity of deduction which always characterizes his Lordship’s deliverances. Mr. Justice Riddell has been a generous contributor to various American and Canadian magazines and law journals, and the author of “The Canadian and American Constitutions.” As a lecturer he is recognized as possessing high gifts; his ripe erudition and polished style making his addresses of more than passing interest. During the past few years, among the addresses delivered and magazine articles contributed by His Lordship may be mentioned: The Dodge Lectures, Yale University; Robert Fleming Gourlay; La Rochefoucauld’s Travels in Canada, 1795; The First Judge at Detroit and His Court. Since the outbreak of the war Mr. Justice Riddell has taken a deep interest in recruiting and everything tending to forward the cause of the Allies and has given very largely of his time and great ability, presiding at many meetings and speaking at others in the interest of recruiting. A member of the Toronto, York, and Rosedale Golf Clubs. Mr. Justice Riddell finds recreation in the study of Canadian History, upon which he is an authority. He is Honorary Member of the Bar Associations of the States of Georgia, Missouri, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Wisconsin and New York, and of the Lawyers’ Clubs of Buffalo and New York; he is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and of the Royal Historical Society. He is a Freemason, a Presbyterian, and was formerly a Liberal. Married, March 5, 1884, Anna Hester Kirsop Crossen, youngest daughter of the late James Crossen and Margaret Hayden Crossen, of “Cedar Hedge,” Cobourg.


Paisley, Jas. K. (Ottawa). One of the best known and highly respected citizens in the Capital of the Dominion and in many other parts of Canada, both east and west, is the subject of this sketch. Following in his father’s footsteps, who owned and successfully ran a popular hotel in Orangeville, at an early age he became, and for years remained, cashier of the well known hostelry—the Walker House, Toronto. His experiences in that popular public resort and his popularity prompted aspirations and ambitions which caused him to launch out in enterprises of his own, and he soon became proprietor of several of the best hotels in the principal cities and summer resorts in Canada. In 1902 he was one of the owners of the New Royal in Hamilton where business success and increased patronage prompted the owners to remodel it in 1907. He took management of the Penetanguishene Hotel at Penetang and made it one of the attractive features of the place. He reached out and got management of the Sans Souci at Moon River, the Belvidere in Parry Sound, the Iroquois Hotel in Toronto, the Victoria Hotel at Aylmer, Quebec, the Grand Union, Ottawa, and, with the late Daniel O’Connor, built the Temagami Inn at Temagami, Ontario. In each and all these ventures success and popularity followed in his train and created for him unstinted fame as an enterprising, progressive and popular hotel proprietor and manager. And while so actively engaged in the hotel business Mr. Paisley, being an enthusiastic lover of the horse, found time to give to that noble animal the most assiduous care and attention, and much of his time for years was devoted to the purchase, the raising, and the training of some of the finest saddle, harness and trotting steeds to be found in any part of Canada. They established, for their owner, on many a race track and at many a horse show enviable records. His Sealskin Joe was one of those that won distinction on the Winnipeg racecourse many years ago. Later his saddle horse, Jardie, was accorded the admiration of all. Shortly after his arrival in Ottawa, where he first established himself as proprietor of the Grand Union Hotel, he became interested in such affairs—public, charitable, patriotic and social—as had for their goal the prosperity of the city and the happiness and betterment of its people, and his many years activity in these lines are well marked in the memory of thousands. Mr. Paisley, never allowing his enthusiasm for the horse to die, took a keen interest in, and became one of the original members of, the Ottawa Hunt Club; was Treasurer of the Horse Show while it exhibited here; became Chairman of the Construction Committee that built the Connaught Park Jockey Club Track, and is now a director and one of the Management Committee of the Connaught Park Jockey Club. For years Mr. Paisley has been a Director of the Central Canada Exhibition Association, and held the office of Vice-President, and for a considerable time was Chairman of the Special Attraction Committee. In 1915, owing to the resignation of Mr. Edward McMahon, who had held the position of Manager and Secretary of the Central Canada Exhibition Association for over twenty years, and to replace whose efficient management the Association had to select a competent and reliable successor, Mr. James K. Paisley was chosen, with the result that up to date the fair has been an increased success financially and in attendance. In his management of the Exhibition’s affairs he carries with him a geniality and a business acumen that attracts, establishes confidence, and produces good results. When the Great War broke out, Mr. Paisley’s son, familiarly known as “Pep” Paisley, who had graduated from McGill as an architect, enlisted with A. Battery, R.C.H.A., as a gunner and was soon, owing to meritorious conduct at the front, promoted to a Lieutenancy. His valor and good work at the firing line received much praise from his superior officers. Mr. James K. Paisley is the son of John Paisley and Mrs. M. J. Kenniston of Orangeville, Ontario. He was born in 1858 and was educated in Orangeville High School and Rockwood Academy. In 1888 he married Minnie Bairdsall Harris, daughter of the late Isaac Harris. He has one son and two daughters. His recreations are sports of any kind. He is an active member of the Elks, the Knights of Pythias, and the Foresters, and an executive member of the Hotelmen’s Mutual Benefit Association of America and Canada, Ex-President of the Ontario Hotel Keepers’ Association, and Ex-President of the Ottawa Hotelmen’s Association. In religion he is a Protestant, English Church. In politics a Conservative, and his address is Kenniston Apartments, Elgin Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.


Cowan, William Frederick, The Late, who died on October 28, 1918, at his home in Oshawa, Ont., was long one of the noted industrial and financial leaders of Ontario. He was born in 1832, at Fintona, County Tyrone, Ireland, the son of Thomas and Charlotte Cowan. In 1841, his parents having decided to remove to Canada, he made with them the long sailing and overland voyage to Toronto, the journey occupying some months. Shortly after the family’s arrival the father died and the mother of the subject of this sketch was left with five young children. She managed, however, to give her boys a good education at Boyd’s Academy, Bay St., Toronto (conducted by the father of the late Chancellor Sir John Boyd) and one of the pioneer educational institutions of Toronto. On leaving school, W. F. Cowan first found employment with “The Colonist,” a newspaper founded by Sir Francis Hincks, an eminent statesman of the mid-nineteenth century. Subsequently he entered the employ of Alexander Laurie & Co., dry goods merchants, at the south-west corner of King and Yonge Sts., Toronto. Later he served with Walter McFarland & Co., dry goods merchants, on Market Square, King St. East, Toronto, then the heart of the retail district. In 1856 he and his brother John founded a dry goods business of their own, at the south-west corner of Yonge and Richmond Sts., Toronto. In 1862 he removed to Oshawa, establishing a large general store, and with a branch at Prince Albert some twenty miles north of the town. A few years later he acquired an interest in the A. S. Whiting Mfg. Co. of Cedar Dale, manufacturers of scythes, forks, hoes, etc., the firm becoming Messrs. Whiting & Cowan. Largely through Mr. Cowan’s modern methods of business organization, the wares of this firm became known throughout America; and Mr. Cowan was also successful in developing a large market for them in Great Britain. In 1872, in conjunction with Messrs. Wood & Winterbourne, of Albany, N.Y., he founded the Ontario Malleable Iron Co., of which Mr. D. S. Wood was the first president, and on his death was succeeded by Mr. Cowan’s elder brother John. On the latter’s death Mr. W. F. Cowan succeeded to the Presidency. He had been a director of the company since its inception. He was largely instrumental in making Oshawa one of the leading industrial centres of the province. In 1893 he established Fittings, Ltd., of Oshawa, of which he was also President at the time of his death. Altogether his interests furnished steady employment to about 1,000 citizens of the town, of which he was recognized as the industrial leader. Mr. Cowan’s financial interests were even more widely extended. In 1875 he became Vice-President of the newly formed Standard Bank of Canada, and in 1883, on the death of the President, the well-known capitalist, Hon. T. N. Gibbs, succeeded to that office, in which he continued until his demise, making weekly journeys to Toronto to attend meetings of the board until within a few days of his death. In 1886, in company with Mr. T. H. McMillan, he also established the Western Bank of Canada, which, after twenty-six years of active life, was amalgamated with the Standard Bank in 1912. Though often pressed to enter Federal and Provincial politics, he contented himself solely with municipal service and held the post of Reeve of Oshawa, and of Mayor, after its incorporation as a town, for some years. He was a steadfast adherent of the Anglican Church in religion, and a Conservative in politics. In 1864 he married Susan, daughter of the late John Groves, a well-known citizen of Toronto. On his death he left one son, Mr. Frederick W. Cowan, of Oshawa, who succeeds to his interests, and one grandson, Major R. C. Cowan, who has been overseas for the past three years.


HON. W. L. MACKENZIE KING, C.M.G.
Ottawa


Reid, Frank (Simcoe, Ont.), Barrister and Solicitor, was born at Vittoria, Norfolk County, February 22, 1862, the son of the late Archibald Reid, a cabinet maker, and Elspit Shand. He was educated at the Vittoria Public School, Simcoe High School and Osgoode Hall. He married Katherine C. Ferguson, September 17, 1890, the daughter of the late Alexander Ferguson, railway agent, of Simcoe, and has one son, Francis Macdonald Reid. In politics he is a Conservative, is a member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen and a Mason. Mr. Reid is Town Treasurer of Simcoe, a member of the Presbyterian Church, and takes a great interest in golf as a pastime.


Minehan, Rev. Lancelot (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Killaloe, County Clare, Ireland, son of Michael Minehan and Hanna Skehan. He was educated at All Hallows’ College, Dublin, came to Canada in 1884, and was ordained at Montreal. Served as Assistant Priest at Thornhill, House of Providence, Adjala, St. Helen’s, St. Mary’s, St. Paul’s, St. Michael’s, Toronto. Was Chaplain for two and a half years at Penetanguishene, transferred to Toronto, and appointed R.C. Chaplain of the Central Prison, Mercer Reformatory and Toronto Asylum; later, was pastor at Schomberg, Ont., where he spent three and a half years, following which he was first parish Priest of St. Peter’s Toronto, where he built a splendid new church and where he ministered for over eighteen years; he is now parish priest of St. Vincent’s Church, on Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, which will be one of the finest edifices in Toronto diocese. For twelve or more years Rev. Father Minehan has been connected with “The Catholic Register,” and has been identified with various organizations for the promotion of temperance, social welfare and the moral uplift of the city. He is Vice-President of the Ontario Branch of the Dominion Temperance Alliance and Vice-President of the Moral and Social Reform League. Father Minehan is as famous for his gifts as a pulpit orator as for his eloquence as a platform speaker. His magnetic personality, frankness and loyalty have given him an assured place in the esteem of all classes. He is a man of indefatigable energy, opposed to intolerance and bigotry, with a mind fixed on the promotion of the highest ideals in all walks of life. He is a frequent contributor to the press, and is a writer of force and choice diction. His reverence favors a Canadian Navy and the development of a policy of protection under the British Flag. He exercises a wide influence both as a clergyman and a private citizen, and at his Silver Jubilee, in 1909, was presented with many proofs of his personal worth, and great popularity. Of him it has been said that he is “truly Catholic in spirit and in service and charity.”


L’Esperance, Hon. David Ovide (Quebec City), Member of the Senate and Chairman of the Harbor Commission of Quebec, was born in the thriving town of Montmagny, in the County of Montmagny, in the Province of Quebec. He is the son of Edouard L’Esperance, his mother’s maiden name having been Morin. His career as a business man, banker and broker, has been a successful one, his connection with sundry influential exploiting firms having given him an influence in public circles which has been enhanced by his acumen as a parliamentarian. He has been for years a Director of the Quebec Railway Light, Heat and Power Co., a Director and President of the Quebec Exposition Board, President of the Grande Allee Apartments Company, and President of L’Evenement Publishing Company. He is President of the Amable Belanger, Ltd., Manufacturing Co., Montmagny, and of the General Car & Machinery Works of the same place. His prominence as a successful business man and his influence as a public-spirited citizen, did not fail to bring him into touch with the political circles of the Conservative Party; and in the year 1911 he was elected a Member of the Federal Parliament for Montmagny. While a member of the House of Commons, his influence as a deliberate speaker and his industry as a member of committees were acknowledged by all associated with him in parliamentary work; and, when the vacancy occurred on the Harbor Commission of Quebec, on the withdrawal of Sir William Price, he was selected to succeed the latter as Chairman of that Board. In July, 1917, he was called to the Senate. His efforts to improve the harbor facilities of the port of Quebec have been appreciated and seconded by the Federal Government and his associates in office, with due recognition of his public spirit and energy by his fellow-citizens and the country at large. In 1888, he married Miss Clara Dionne, of Ste. Anne de la Pocatiere, of the Province of Quebec. Their family residence is on Ste. Genevieve Avenue, and their summer residence at Percé, Co. of Gaspé. Mr. L’Esperance has won for himself a prominence in all the movements that have had for their purpose the advancement of the city in which he has his home. He is a loyal Quebecer. As a Conservative, he has won an influential place in his party. And as a philanthropist he has won the good opinion of his fellow-men and co-workers.


O’Reilly, His Honor James Redmond, is the eldest son of the late James O’Reilly, Q.C., M.P., and Mary Jane (Redmond), born at Kingston, Ontario, February 14, 1862, and educated at Regiopolis College, Kingston, Collegiate Institute, Kingston, St. Mary’s (Jesuit) College, Montreal, and Queen’s University, Kingston, from which latter institution he graduated with the degree of B.A., and Gold Medal in Political Economy in 1882. Called to the Bar, May, 1885. Created a K.C., 1899, successfully practised his profession at Prescott for several years until his appointment as Senior County Judge for Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, in March, 1900. His Honor was formerly a Liberal. President of the South Grenville Liberal Association for 13 years. Married December 31, 1889, Rose Mary, fourth daughter of the late James Bermingham, and is the father of two children: James, born November 16, 1891, and Wm. H., born December 26, 1896. In religion the Judge is Roman Catholic. He resides at Cornwall, Ont., and is a member of the Cornwall Club. In earlier years Judge O’Reilly had some military experience, being Bombardier in Wellington Field Battery.


Keefe, R. Daniel (Penetanguishene, Ont.), Principal of the High School of that town; was born at Iroquois, Ont., June 10, 1877, and is the son of Patrick Keefe, a native of Cork, Ireland, who came to this country when a child and later settled on the St. Lawrence in the Town of Iroquois and became a builder and contractor, erecting a large planing mill, installed an electric light plant for the Town and bought the waterworks system which was afterwards sold to the municipality. Principal Keefe’s mother was of United Empire Loyalist descent. He was educated at the Iroquois High School, McGill University, Montreal, and the University of Toronto, and the School of Pedagogy, Hamilton. Graduated in 1901 with the degree of B.A., Toronto University. On graduating, taught successively in the High Schools of Port Elgin, Colborne and Gananoque, and was then appointed Principal of the Penetanguishene High School, where he has been for over twelve years teaching Science and Classics. Principal Keefe has the reputation of being one of the best after-dinner speakers in Northern Ontario. Besides the father, one brother, W. S. Keefe, a School of Science graduate in Electrical Engineering, survives. Principal Keefe has been an active member of the Carnegie Library Board, having acted as Secretary and Chairman of the Buying Committee for several years. Is President also of the Penetanguishene Hospital. Married in 1905 to Ethel Madeline, daughter of Norval Manning, of Toronto, and is the father of two children, Beverley Hartle, born 1913, and Wilbur Neville, born 1916. He is a member of the Masonic order, being Past Master of Georgian Lodge, No. 348, and Past Z. of Kichikewana Chapter No. 67, Midland; P.G.S. of the Grand Lodge of Canada. Is keenly interested in all manner of sports and prominent in Association football, hockey and curling. Has played football in the Champion team of Eastern Ontario and the Champions of Hamilton District League, winning the Spectator Cup. Has managed several hockey teams and is a Past President and Past Secretary-Treasurer of the Penetanguishene Curling Club, and has been one of the District Tankard Skips for the past four years. In religion, Mr. Keefe is a member of the Methodist Church, and politically, a Liberal.


MacLean, Archie, R.R. No. 4, Paisley, Ont., was born in Bruce Township, County of Bruce, in 1868, of Highland Scotch parents, and glories in the fact that he has Highland Scotch blood flowing through his veins. He attended the public school in the section in which he lived until he was about thirteen years of age, when, being the eldest of the family, he had to leave school to assist on the farm. His ambition for an education was unquenched and he studied at home, and at the age of twenty-one took a three-months’ course in the public school, secured his matriculation. He went to Port Elgin and Walkerton High School and succeeded in creditably securing a second-class certificate. He taught school for a few years, but the profession at that time not being over-remunerative, he again took up farming, and also engaged in grazing and shipping cattle, which occupation he still successfully follows. In 1901 he was elected to the Township of Bruce Council, where he served for two years. In 1903-4 he was elected to Reeveship of the Township. In 1910 he again contested the Reeveship successfully and held the office until 1912. This office he did not covet for office sake, but being enthused with the true spirit of co-operation for the benefit of all he set the log rolling for the establishment of a municipal telephone system, for the benefit of nine different municipalities, his own native township being the initiating one. This enterprise is now looked upon as the greatest example of co-operation in the whole county. In his efforts he was ably seconded by men who caught his vision. He is at present one of a commission of three, the other two being, D. McNaughton, Ex-M.P.P., and J. J. Hunter, who handle the business of this system. Mr. MacLean is a man of splendid executive ability, which has been shown by his able judgment in all public enterprises with which he has been connected. It has been said that the farmer needs ideas. In his case he has ideas—big ones—and is not afraid to champion them even in the face of strong opposition. He is a leader and a safe one to follow, because of his canny Scotch nature. He is a good public speaker and has such splendid control of himself that he has never been known to show anger even under trying circumstances. In patriotic endeavor he is always to the fore, having done his part ably and conscientiously ever since the war began. As yet he has not taken unto himself a wife. He is a Liberal in politics, and his name has often been mentioned in connection with Parliamentary honors. He is a member of Port Elgin Lodge, No. 429, A.F. & A.M., Camp McCrimmon, S.O.S., and the I.O.O.F. His genial good nature, wide knowledge of municipal affairs and splendid physique, make him an outstanding farmer in any company.


Heaton, Ernest (Toronto, Ont.), born in 1861, at Bellws-yn-Rhos, North Wales. Is the son of Rev. Hugh E. Heaton, of Plas Heaton, Denbighshire, North Wales. Educated at Marlborough College and University College, Oxford (B.A., 1884). Came to Canada on his graduation and was called to the bar of Upper Canada at Osgoode Hall, 1887. Successfully practised his profession in Toronto till 1892, when he removed to Goderich; returned to Toronto in 1900. Now manager of Heaton’s Agency, Toronto. Founded a semi-official system of publications, including Heaton’s Annual, Heaton’s Provincial Booklets and Heaton’s Handbooks of Canadian Resources. Has contributed many articles to Canadian and English magazines and is the author of “Canada’s Problem” (1895); “The Trust Company Idea and Its Development” (1904); and also editor of the “Commercial Handbook of Canada.” Married Grace, daughter of H. G. Attrill, of Baltimore and Ridgewood Park, Goderich, and is the father of the following children: Helen Grace, born 1891, married Capt. Ruggles George; Hugh Attrill, born 1893; Thomas Gilbert, born 1900; Catherine Mary, born 1893. Mr. Heaton is a member of the Toronto Golf Club, Toronto Hunt Club and Albany Club; is an adherent of the Church of England, and has been a delegate to its Synods. He is a Conservative in politics.


Jones, Henry Victor Franklin (Toronto, Ont.), Assistant General Manager of the Canadian Bank of Commerce, son of the late Charles S. Jones and Helen (MacDougall); mother sister of the late Honorable William MacDougall, C.B., one of the “Fathers of Confederation.” Born at St. Mary’s, Ontario, September 28, 1871; educated at Toronto; married June 4, 1904, Bunella, daughter of the late E. W. Rathbun, Deseronto, Ontario. Entered the service of the Canadian Bank of Commerce, December 13, 1887. Was at head office and New York branch, and manager of the London, England branch of this bank. Chairman Editing Committee Journal Canadian Bankers Association, member Ontario Provincial Housing Committee. He is a member of the City Club and Conservative Club, and the Royal Colonial Institute, London, England; Richmond Country Club, New York; The York, Toronto, National, Racquet, and the Toronto Golf Clubs. Mr. Jones is the father of four children, three girls and one boy. His principal recreation is golf, racquets, fishing, shooting.


Middlebró, William S., K.C. (Owen Sound, Ont.), son of John and Margaret Middlebró. Born, October 17, 1868, at the town of Orangeville, Ont. Educated at the Owen Sound Collegiate Institute and Osgoode Hall, Toronto; called to the Bar, 1892, and created a King’s Counsel in 1910; Mayor of the city of Owen Sound, 1889, and 1900. Married, September 2, 1903, to Laura J. Trethewey, who died April 21, 1907, leaving no children; on October 22, 1913, married Pearl Irene, daughter of G. B. Ryan, of Guelph, Ont. Mr. Middlebró, who enjoys a large legal practice in the city of Owen Sound, was first elected to the House of Commons in 1908; re-elected in 1911 and again in 1917, by a majority of 2,291, to represent the constituency of North Grey. He has been a prominent member in the House since his first election to Parliament and has been Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee and Chairman of the Special Committee appointed to investigate Army boots in 1915, and also chief Government Whip of the former Borden Government and of the Union Government. Mr. Middlebró is a fluent platform speaker and well versed in all questions of National importance. He is a member of the Church of England, and belongs to the Sydenham Club of Owen Sound, and has one son by his second marriage, William George.


Marsh, Lieutenant-Colonel Lorne Wilmot (Belleville, Ont.), born at Frankford, Ont., June 29, 1871, son of John Secord Marsh and Lydia M. (Hunt), U.E. Loyalist descent. Educated at the Public and High Schools, Belleville. Matriculant of Toronto University and an Undergraduate. Married, February 13, 1894, Euretta M., daughter of John and Isabella Smith, Point Fortune, Quebec. Father of one son, John Edward, born June 16, 1900. Is a member of the Masonic Order and a Past Master, and a Member of The Chapter, a Knight Templar, A.O.M.S., also the I.O.O.F. and the I.O.F. Interested himself in the Municipal affairs of the city of Belleville, and served as Alderman five years, 1903-1907, inclusive, and elected Mayor in 1909 and 1910, Took active interest in military matters: Served in the ranks of the 15th Argyll Light Infantry. Lieutenant, 1898-9; Captain, 1899, and by gradual promotion rose to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel and Commanding Officer of the Battalion. Has been a successful manufacturer since 1897, when he took over the manufacturing business of the defunct G. & J. Brown Manufacturing Company, with the late W. H. Henthorn, which was incorporated in 1908 and conducts the manufacture incident to a foundry, machine shop and boiler shop, specializing in hoisting machinery, steel tanks and general contractors’ machinery, and has recently built a $75,000.00 plant to take care of the rapidly increasing output. The nomenclature of his business is “Marsh Engineering Works, Limited.” Lieutenant-Colonel Marsh is a Methodist in religion, and has been classed as an Independent Liberal.


Hebert, Zepherin, President, Hudon, Hebert & Co., Ltd., Montreal, Quebec, Wholesale Grocers and Wine Merchants, importing direct from manufacturers in Europe, China, Japan, Asia Minor and United States. Born in the city of Montreal on February 6, 1866, the son of Charles P. and Rose (Busseau) Hebert, the subject of this sketch is in the prime of life. Having attended the Catholic Commercial Academy and St. Mary’s College, Mr. Hebert received a liberal education, and to this fact, marked business ability, which he displayed at an early age, and a winning personality are due his rapid rise, and present recognized position in the Eastern Metropolis. Mr. Hebert’s business career and his advancement is worthy of note. He joined his present firm as clerk in 1883, when but seventeen years of age; admitted partner ten years later; became Director and Assistant Manager, 1906; elected Vice-President, 1908; President, 1911. This business was established, 1839, under the name of E. & V. Hudon; later, V. Hudon, J. Hudon & Co.; Hudon, Hebert & Cie, 1883; incorporated under present name, 1906, the late C. P. Hebert being first President. They now employ a staff of 170, and have 25 travelling salesmen constantly visiting all Canada and selling their goods from the Atlantic to the Pacific oceans; their turn-over ending January 31, 1913, was $4,000,000, an increase of $1,000,000 over the past two years’ business. For the last twenty-five years Mr. Hebert has been a member of the Montreal Board of Trade, second Vice-President in 1915, first Vice-President in 1916, and in 1917 was accorded the honor of being elected President of that influential body, being the first French-Canadian upon whom such a signal mark of distinction has been conferred. He was appointed a member of the Council in February, 1913; elected member Transportation Bureau December, 1913; has held most of important offices, Dominion Grocers’ Guild, and is now President; Chairman, Prize Committee, Province Quebec; President Montreal Wholesale Liquor Association; Treasurer and Governor, Notre Dame Hospital; Governor Montreal General Hospital, Governor Laval University. Mr. Hebert is a dominant force in the cultivation of harmonious relations between the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec, and was one of the promoters of the Bonne Entente movement, having presided as Chairman at the Conference when the idea was first crystallized, which led to such happy results, and is at present a member of the executive. Of broad opinions, and liberal views, he has been described as “a thorough-going Canadian.” He is an ardent admirer of British institutions, with a fine pride of his own race and its splendid traditions. His opinions on economic questions, of which he has been a close student, are held in the highest regard and his addresses before the Canadian Credit Men’s Association on “Credit and Co-operation,” and before the Wholesale Grocers’ Guild, on “Evolution of a Credit Plan” were considered masterly expositions of the subjects dealt with. Mr. Hebert has had a distinguished military career. He served with the 65th Regiment, Mount Royal Rifles, as private, 1882; saw active service in the North-west Rebellion, 1885; promoted to Sergeant and Captain, and retired with the rank of Major, after eighteen years of service. With such a fine record he is enthusiastic on the winning of the war, and prominent in all undertakings of a patriotic nature. With admirable diction he is able to speak English and French, and has all the courtesy and charm of manner which characterizes the educated French-Canadian. He married Blanche Robidoux, daughter of J. O. Robidoux, Oct. 9, 1894; has two sons, Charles P. and Jacques Robidoux, and two daughters, Marielle and Gertrude. He belongs to the following clubs: Canadian, Jockey. Recreations: General, military affairs. Politics, Independent Liberal. Religion, Roman Catholic. Address, Montreal, Quebec.


L. J. Breithaupt, Kitchener.
Hugh Paton, Montreal.


McMahon, Edward (Ottawa), arrived in Canada from Ireland in 1882, and immediately entered into the real estate business as agent for the owners of By Estate. In 1891 he was appointed to the Secretaryship of the Central Canada Exhibition Association, and held that position until 1916, when he retired. During this period he remained in the real estate business and was also Secretary-Treasurer for Registered Sale Pure Bred Cattle. Mr. McMahon is a member of the firm of Bate & McMahon, builders of Connaught Rifle Range, South March (1913), and member of the firm of Bate, McMahon & Co., Contractors with the Dominion Government for the construction of Valcartier Camp, Quebec; Camp Sewell, Manitoba; and Camp Hughes, Alberta; Camp Borden, the largest Military Camp in the world; also builders of Aviation Camps, viz., Borden, Mohawk and Leaside, under contract with the Imperial Munitions Board. Mr. McMahon is also senior member of the firm of E. McMahon & Son, Insurance and Real Estate Agents, and is on the Board of Directors of the following companies, viz., Dominion Hardwoods, Limited; the Ottawa Construction Company; the Standard Paving Company, and the Ottawa Artificial Ice Company. It was owing to Mr. McMahon’s marked business and executive ability during the twenty-five years that he held the Secretaryship and, practically, the General Management, that the Central Canada Exhibition Association, next to Toronto, is now the best institution of the kind in Canada. Each year, from the time of his appointment, it grew stronger, more attractive and more valuable, until to-day it is second only to Toronto’s Great Annual Exhibition. Mr. McMahon came to Canada from Monaghan, Ireland, where he was born, January 17, 1862. His father and mother were Edward McMahon, farmer and accountant, and Jane Mitchell. He was educated at the National and Collegiate Schools and graduated with honors. He married Susan Jane Haram, daughter of Robert Haram, Ottawa, and has two sons and one daughter, viz.: H. E. McMahon, Lillian M. McMahon and Robert M. McMahon. He is a member of the Loyal Orange Institution and a Mason; is a Conservative in politics and a Protestant in religion. He resides at 87 James St. and has offices in the Central Chambers.


Jacobs, Samuel W., K.C., M.P., senior member of the legal firm of Jacobs, Couture & Fitch, Montreal, Que. Has been President of the Baron de Hirsch Institute, 1912-1914, and is a member of the Canadian Committee of the Jewish Colonization Association of Paris, which administers the Baron de Hirsch Fund. He is an Honorary Vice-President of the Jewish Publication Society of America, and was a director and member of the governing board of the Montreal Reform Club for many years. Mr. Jacobs has contributed numerous papers on legal subjects to various law Reviews, and is the author of “Railway Law of Canada,” also joint editor of Jacobs and Garneau’s Code of Civil Procedure. He was born in Lancaster, Glengarry County, Ontario, the son of William and Hannah Jacobs, and received his early education at Montreal High School, graduating from McGill University in 1893, as B.C.L., with first rank honors, and from Laval University in the following year as LL.M. cum Laude. He was elected to the House of Commons at the general elections in 1917 for the George Etienne Cartier Division of Montreal by over 6,000 majority, defeating two opponents. In 1906 he was created a King’s Counsel. Mr. Jacobs married Miss Amy Stein, daughter of the late Michael Stein of Baltimore, Md., in April, 1917, and they have issue one daughter, Hannah, born in 1918. He is a member of the Jewish religion, and a Liberal in politics.


Boyer, Major Gustave, son of Benjamin Boyer and Angelique Latour (both French-Canadians), born November 29, 1871, at St. Laurent, Jacques Cartier County, near Montreal. Educated at St. Laurent College and Laval University. Married April 10, 1907 to Pamela, daughter of François Rheaume of Montreal. Formerly a public lecturer on agriculture for the Quebec Government. Has been connected with both “La Patrie” and “Le Canada,” as agricultural editor. Founded the “Echo de Vaudreuil,” 1897; was alderman and mayor of the town of Rigaud for nine years. Has had an active military career, being Major and Second in Command of the 17th Regiment Duke of York’s Royal Canadian Hussars, of which he organized B. Squadron in Vaudreuil County, and afterwards organizer and first commanding officer of the 33rd Regiment of Hussars, Vaudreuil and Soulanges. First elected to the House of Commons as a Liberal at the general election of 1904, and re-elected in 1908, 1911, and 1917. Major Boyer is recognized as an authority on all matters pertaining to agriculture.


Crothers, Hon. Thomas Wilson, B.A., K.C., son of William and Nancy (Grey), was born at Northport, Prince Edward County, Ontario, January 1, 1850. Educated at the Public School, Northport, and Albert College, Belleville, and graduated from Victoria College with the degree of B.A. in 1873, taught public schools in Lennox and Prince Edward for two years and was head master of Wardsville High School 1874-75-76. Studied law in the office of Foy, Macdonald & Tupper, and Messrs. Bethune, Osler & Moss, in 1877-78-79. On being called to the Bar, began practice of Law in St. Thomas in 1880 and for a number of years was in partnership with Samuel Price, formerly Mining Commissioner for Ontario, under the firm name of Crothers & Price. Appointed a K.C. in 1906; contested West Elgin as Liberal Conservative candidate for a seat in the Legislative Assembly for Ontario at the general elections in 1879, was defeated by the late Dr. Cascadden, who was elected by a majority of 7. Was Chairman of the Text Book Commission appointed by the Ontario Government in 1906 to enquire into the price of Public and High School Text Books, which enquiry resulted in the price being very greatly reduced, when he declined to receive any emolument for his services; appointed governor of Toronto University 1908. First elected to the House of Commons at the general elections in 1908 as a Conservative member for West Elgin, and re-elected at the general elections in 1911 and sworn in as Privy Councillor and appointed Minister of Labor in the Borden Government, Oct. 10, 1911. In 1917 elected as a Unionist and retained the portfolio of Minister of Labour until November last, when he resigned owing to ill health. Upon accepting this office was returned by acclamation. The Hon. Mr. Crothers accompanied Premier Borden on his western tour June, 1911, and is recognized as a platform speaker of splendid presence and much force. Married July 26, 1883, Mary E., daughter of the late Dr. J. A. Burns, of St. Thomas. The Minister is a member of the First Methodist Church, St. Thomas.


Pyne, Lieut.-Colonel the Hon. Robert Allan, M.D., LL.D., Minister of Education for the Province of Ontario, was born at Newmarket, Ontario, October 29, 1853; son of Thomas Pyne, M.D., and Hester Jane Roberts, cousin of Field-Marshal Earl Roberts; educated at public schools, grammar school and University of Toronto; physician and surgeon; M.B., M.D. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, of which he was for many years secretary and registrar; LL.D. (hon.) University of Toronto, 1905, and Queen’s University, Kingston. Married Mary Isobel, daughter of His Honor Judge Macqueen, County of Oxford; has issue: Mona Aileen, Frederick Roberts, Frank Herbert. As a youth played football and cricket as member of the Toronto Cricket and Lacrosse Clubs. Practised his profession in Toronto and took active part in public affairs as member of Toronto School Board, Public Library Board and Toronto Board of Health. While resident of Haldimand County served in the 37th Haldimand Rifles and was subsequently Assistant Surgeon, Royal Grenadiers, Toronto. Having been prominent in politics, was elected to Ontario Legislature as Conservative member for East Toronto, at the general elections of 1898, and on the redistribution of the city in 1914 was chosen to represent North-East Toronto, which seat he resigned in 1918. Recently appointed a Governor of the University of Toronto. On the formation of the Whitney Administration (1905-1914) was appointed Minister of Education, and reappointed to the same office in the Hearst Administration (1914—). In 1918 he resigned to give place to Hon. Dr. Cody and accepted the post of Clerk of York County. During his term of office the educational system was greatly developed, the legislative grants to schools largely increased, the policy of cheap text-books inaugurated, and a complete organization for technical training and agricultural teaching in elementary and secondary schools effected. The successful expansion of the Provincial Schools for Deaf Children (at Belleville) and for blind children (at Brantford), is due in great measure to his encouragement and his knowledge as a physician. In 1915 he was requested by the Ontario Government to visit England in connection with the gift by the province of a Military Hospital for wounded soldiers, and gazetted a lieutenant-colonel in the Canadian Army. The hospital was built at Orpington, Kent, England, under his supervision, and has been pronounced the best equipped and organized institution of its kind erected during the war. Has twice visited the Canadian forces on the battle line in France. Is prominent in a number of societies, including the Masonic Order, the Orange Association, Sons of England, etc., etc. In religion a member of St. Paul’s Church of England. Clubs: Toronto, Albany, Royal Canadian Yacht, Canadian Military Institute, Riverside Athletic Club. Residence, 21 Dunbar Road, Toronto.


Shier, Walter C., M.D. (Uxbridge, Ont.), is the son of James Shier and Mary Ann Mooney, and was born at Leaksdale, Ont., June 23, 1869, and educated at one of the Public Schools of Scott Township and the High School of Uxbridge, in the County of Ontario, and also at Toronto University, graduating in Arts with the degree of B.A. in 1897, and in Medicine with the degree of M.B. with honors, in 1907. Doctor Shier’s grandfather, John Shier, was one of the early settlers of the Township of Brock, where he located in 1827, a little north of the present West Brock Anglican Church, and was of Irish Palatine stock. His great-great-great-grandfather was driven out of the Palatinate by the wars of Louis XIV of France. He left his native country in 1709 and among thirteen thousand of his countrymen, threw himself upon the generosity of the British Government. After living one summer in England, he settled at Balligarane in Limerick County, Ireland, August, 1709, on the estate of Lord Southwell. The Doctor’s progenitors were all of the farming class. The story of the expulsion of his ancestors from that portion of France which is now known as the Provinces of Alsace-Lorraine, is of absorbing interest. Dr. Shier after considerable trouble and research, has traced the history of his forefathers during the interesting period referred to, and has written a book entitled “A Family from Balligarane,” being a history of the Irish Palatines. Dr. Shier was married on the 4th of February, 1908, to Martha Kaufmann, daughter of the late Henry Kaufmann, of Wellesley, Ont., and has one adopted daughter, Elsie Grace Ball, age 7. He is a member of the Oddfellows and of the Masonic Order, being Past Master of Zeredatha Lodge, A.F. & A.M., Uxbridge. In religion he is a Presbyterian and a Conservative in politics. The Doctor has been Coroner of the County of Ontario for some years and Surgeon of the G.T.R. He devotes his attention very closely to his profession and specializes on Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat, Consultations and Anæsthetics. He is an ardent motorist and expert marksman. The Doctor is a man of fine literary tastes and exceedingly well posted on all matters of national importance. He entertains very decided opinions on public questions and is never afraid to have them known.


Robertson, Wm. John (St. Catharines, Ont.), son of John and Emma (Rudsdale) Robertson. Father, a Scotch Canadian; mother, a native of Yorkshire, England. Born Westmeath, County Renfrew, Ontario, Sept. 12, 1846; educated Perth High School, Toronto University (B.A. with gold medal in metaphysics, ethics and civil polity; silver medal in mathematics; 1st honors in history and Prince of Wales prize for highest standing in 1873); and Victoria University (LL.B., 1883). Married, 1887, Margaret K., youngest daughter of John Junkin, St. Catharines, Ontario, for a time assistant to late Professor Kingston, Meteorological Bureau, Toronto, and 38 years as chief teacher of mathematics and history, St. Catharines Collegiate Institute; for 7 years was examiner in metaphysics, ethics, modern history, and political science, Toronto University; was also examiner for Upper Canada College and McMaster University; was Ontario Representative on the Committee of the Dominion Education Association for securing and revising Canada manuscripts from a Dominion standpoint, 1892; first President Canadian History Association, 1895; founded Robertson Prize in Canadian Constitutional History, Toronto University; formerly a Senator Victoria University; Pres. Ontario Library Assoc., Mathematics Assoc., and chairman St. Catharines Free Library Board, also Vice-Pres. Y.M.C.A. Ont. and Quebec; Pres. Canadian Club, St. Catharines, and Pres. Local St. Andrews Society. Member of the St. Catharines College Institute Board, Pres. of the Local Branch Bible Society. Author, sketch of “Canadian Banking and Currency since 1867,” “The Teacher’s Relation to the State,” “A Comparison of the Political Institutions of Canada with those of Great Britain and Ireland, and with those of the United States,” “The Growth of the Canadian Constitution,” “The High School History of England and Canada,” “The Public School History of England and Canada,” for many years of other authorized Text Books in Ontario and other provinces, and of numerous other works of a like nature and reputation. In politics an Independent Liberal; a Methodist in religion. A member of the Methodist Board of Education, and for 32 years a Delegate to the General Conference and member of Superannuation Fund Board of the Church; a believer in Free Trade as far as it can be obtained; the development of a Canadian sentiment and literature; and the moderation of party feeling. Member of the Golf Club, St. Catharines, and of the Canadian Club.


Seguin, Paul Arthur, B.S., LL.B. (L’Assomption, Que.), son of Felix Seguin and Vitaline Noiseux, both French-Canadians. Born October 2, 1875, at Charlemagne; educated at L’Assomption College and Laval University, from which latter institution he graduated with the degree of B.S. and LL.B. Married, October 30, 1899, to Marie Anna Rivest, daughter of François Rivest and Delphine McGoun, and is the father of the following children: Roland, Rolande, Jeanette, Fernande and Pauline. Mr. Seguin is a Notary Public by profession and has been Secretary-Treasurer of the town of Terrebonne from 1900 to 1907, and Secretary-Treasurer of the Parish of St. Paul l’Ermite from 1907 to 1912, and now practises his profession at the town of L’Assomption, of which town he is the Mayor, and member of the School Board. Mr. Seguin was first elected to the House of Commons as a Liberal in 1908 and again in 1911, and also at the general elections in 1917. He has always been a staunch Liberal and a member of the Roman Catholic Church.


Smith, John Charles, B.A., son of William Smith and his wife Sarah Josephine Whitlow, was born at Kingston, Ont., November 28, 1875. Educated at Kingston Public Schools, Kingston Collegiate Institute, and Queen’s University, Kingston, from which latter institution he graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1898, with honors in Classics. Mr. Smith taught in the Public Schools in Frontenac County, Ont., and was subsequently Classical Master in Dutton High School and in Dundas High School, afterwards Classical Master and Principal in the Wingham High School, and filled a similar position in the Ingersoll Collegiate Institute. In 1916 was appointed Inspector of Public Schools for the Inspectorate of Elgin East. Married Rose, daughter of John Critchley, of Toronto, and has one child, Hugh Cyprian Whitlow. Mr. Smith is a member of the Canadian Club and the Masonic and Orange Orders, and of the Canadian Order of Foresters. He is an Anglican in religion and a member of Trinity Church, St. Thomas, at which city he resides.


Samuel, Sigmund, one of the most interesting of Toronto’s wholesale merchants is Sigmund Samuel, son of Lewis Samuel, who, with his wife, formerly Miss Kate Sickleman, came to Toronto in 1855, where Mr. Samuel founded his iron, steel and metal business, now located at the corner of King and Spadina Avenue, Toronto, at 120 Broadway, New York, and 18 Philpot Lane, London, E.C., England, and is also vice-president of the Metallic Roofing Co. of Toronto. It is now the oldest established firm in direct succession in Canada in this branch of industry. The present head of the firm was born in Toronto on October 24, 1868, and educated at the Model School and Upper Canada College, from which he graduated in 1884. In 1898 he married L. May Mandelson, daughter of L. P. Mandelson, a retired merchant of London, England, and their family numbers four: Kathleen May, Lewis Sigmund, Norman Sigmund and Florence May. Of Jewish religion, in politics Conservative, Mr. Samuel’s chief recreations are golf and motoring. He is a member of the York Club, Toronto Hunt Club, the Albany, the Lambton Golf and Country Club, the Caledon Mountain Trout Club and, in England, of the Carlton Club and the Hanger Hill Golf Club. He is also a member of the council of the Art Museum of Toronto. Nor is Mr. Samuel neglectful of philanthrophy, for he is a life member of the Western Hospital, Toronto, and a governor of the Children’s Hospital, Great Ormond St., London, England. Mr. Samuel is truly Imperialistic in maintaining his English connections, and maintains his English address at 64 Porchester Terrace, London. His Canadian home is at 140 Madison Avenue, Toronto.


Rose, Hon. Mr. Justice Hugh Edward, (Toronto). Son of the late Hon. Mr. Justice J. E. Rose, LL.D., Judge of the Supreme Court of Judicature for Ontario. Born in Toronto the 16th of September, 1869. Educated at Toronto Collegiate Institute and the University of Toronto, from which latter institution he graduated in 1891 with the degree of B.A., and received the degree of LL.B. in 1892. Called to the bar in 1894. Created K.C. in 1908. Before his elevation to the Bench, was a member of the firm of Fasken, Cowan, Chadwick & Rose. Some time Examiner in Law, Toronto University, and one of the examiners of the Law Society of Upper Canada. Appointed to the Bench the 4th of December, 1916. Member of the following clubs: Toronto Club, and Toronto Golf Club. In religion, Mr. Justice Rose is a member of the Church of England.


Mills, Charles Henry, M.L.A. (Kitchener), was born at Clinton, Ont., October 27, 1861; son of Rev. John Mills and his wife, Eliza Coleman. Educated at the Grimsby High School. Was President of the Kitchener Board of Trade, 1904-5, and Alderman for the City, 1911-12. Has been member of the following boards in the City of Kitchener: Parks Commissioner, Light and Power Commission, and Collegiate Institute. Was first President of the Canadian Club in his home City in 1908. First elected to the Ontario Legislature at a by-election, October 28, 1912, as the Conservative representative for the constituency of North Waterloo and again returned in the General Election of 1914 by a majority of 1454, being the largest majority ever given a Conservative candidate in the riding. In religion, the member for North Waterloo is a Methodist. He married Bernice Mitton, daughter of William J. Mitton of Dutton, September 7, 1898, and is a member of the Kitchener and Waterloo Clubs and of the following societies: Masonic, Canadian Order of Foresters, and Knights of Pythias.


Hazen, Hon. Sir John Douglas, K.C.M.G., K.C., LL.D., O.C. (St. John City and County). Descended from Edward Hazen, who moved from Northumberland, Eng., to Massachusetts in 1648, and more immediately from John Hazen, who, with his brother William, came from Haverhill, Mass., and settled at Portland, New Brunswick, in 1775. Son of the late James King Hazen, mother a daughter of the late Hon. John A. Beckwith. Maternal grandfather was Provincial Secretary of New Brunswick and member of the Legislative Council. Paternal grandfather was an officer in H.M. Army, and Sheriff of Sunbury County for over 25 years. Born at Oromocto, Sunbury County, New Brunswick, June 5, 1860. Educated at Collegiate School, Fredericton, and University, New Brunswick; degrees, B.A., B.C.L., LL.D., University New Brunswick. Married Sept. 22, 1884, Ada C., daughter of James Tibbits, of Fredericton. Five children: Douglas King, Katie Elizabeth, Frances Edith, James Murray (Lieutenant C.E.F., died of wounds in France) and Ada A. A barrister-at-law. Director of the Eastern Trust Co., Senator of the University, New Brunswick and ex-President Alumni Society thereof. Ex-President of the Barristers’ Society, New Brunswick. Was Alderman of Fredericton for three years and Mayor too. Removed to St. John, 1890. President of Horticultural Society. Returned to House of Commons, general election, 1891, for St. John city and county. In 1891, moved address in reply in House of Commons; an unsuccessful candidate 1896; elected to House of Assembly 1899-1903 and 1908 (Sunbury County). Chosen 1899 Leader of the Opposition. The Opposition Party under his leadership administered a crushing defeat to the Robinson Government at the general election, March, 1908, and at the close of the polls he found himself at the head of a contingent of 31 supporters, as against 12 adherents of the government. Upon the resignation of Premier Robinson and his colleagues, Mr. Hazen was summoned by His Honor the Lieut.-Governor to form a government, which he did, assuming the portfolio of Premier and Attorney-General. The Cabinet was sworn in, March 24, 1908, and all the members thereof re-elected by acclamation April 7. Retained office until Oct. 10, 1911, when he was sworn of the Privy Council and appointed Minister of Marine and Fisheries in Premier Borden’s Cabinet. Dr. Daniel, the M.P. elect for St. John City and County, retiring, Mr. Hazen was placed in nomination and elected by acclamation. Member of Inter-Provincial Conference, Ottawa, and of Maritime Provincial Conference (1910), attended coronation of King George and Queen Mary (1911) as representative of the Province of New Brunswick. Delegate to Washington on two occasions in connection with the Hague Award re North Atlantic Fisheries and delegate to England with Premier Borden, re Naval affairs (1912). In the latter part of 1917 he became Chairman of the Canadian Section of the International Fisheries Commission to settle all outstanding fisheries questions between Canada and the United States; appointed Chief Justice New Brunswick November, 1917. Created a K.C.M.G. for public services same year. Member of Union Club, St. John; Mount Royal Club, Montreal; Rideau Club, Ottawa; Royal Colonial Institute, London Eng., and of the following societies: St. George’s, Loyalist, New Brunswick, Historical, and Natural History, St. John, N.B. Recreation, golf and motoring. Member of St. Paul’s (Anglican) Church, St. John, New Brunswick. Address, St. John, N.B.


Sinclair, Victor Albert, B.A., LL.B., born May 16, 1872, at Tilsonburg, Ont., son of Dr. Lachlin C. Sinclair and Roxilana Nan Norman, both Canadians. Dr. Sinclair contested North Norfolk on three occasions in the Conservative interests against the late Hon. John Charlton. Educated at the Public and High Schools of Tilsonburg, the University of Toronto and Osgoode Hall; graduated B.A. in 1892 with first-class honors in Political Science and English, took degree of LL.B. with honors in 1894; called to the Bar at Osgoode Hall, in 1895, receiving medal. Commenced practice at Tilsonburg with W. A. Dowler, K.C., as Dowler & Sinclair, has practised alone for past eight years, entered Municipal Council of his native town in 1896, and served three years as councillor and two years as Mayor, was high school trustee from 1910 until 1919, member of Council, Board of Trade. President of Tilsonburg Conservative Club, President Tilsonburg Horticultural Society 1910-1919, Vice-President Bowling Club, Vice-President Tilsonburg Shoe Company, Limited. The subject of this sketch was first elected to the Ontario Legislature for South Oxford at the general elections of 1914 by a majority of four over Colonel T. R. Mayberry; on recount this majority was increased to five, and on appeal reduced to one. Mr. Sinclair is recognized as a valuable member of the Legislature, he was acting Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee during the session of 1916, he is a member of several fraternal societies, including the Masonic, of which he is now Worshipful Master, C.O.F., A.O.U.W., also O.C.H.C., of which he is Supreme Leader for Canada, and has made a special study of Municipal and Company law. He enjoys a large practice, and is the solicitor for several townships in the counties of Oxford, Elgin, and Norfolk. Married February 6, 1901, to Gertrude L., daughter of George Draper, of Listowel, and is father of two children: Mildred Roxilana, and Gertrude Helen. In religion the member for South Oxford is a Methodist. His chief recreation is bowling and horticulture.


Robertson, Norman (Walkerton, Ont.), author of “The History of the County of Bruce,” and Treasurer of the County of Bruce, Walkerton, Ont., was born on June 27, 1845, in Belleville, Ontario. His father, Peter Robertson, was a merchant of Scottish birth and the son of a Presbyterian minister, at Kilmaurs, Ayrshire. Mr. Robertson’s mother, Sarah Ross, was born in England, although of Highland descent, her grandfather being one of those who followed “Bonnie Prince Charlie” into England in 1745. Norman Robertson attended the Grammar School at Belleville, but left school when only eleven years of age, that he might accompany his father and assist him in his business when he came to the County of Bruce and settled at Kincardine in 1856. The disadvantage arising from leaving school at so early an age was in part overcome by private study and tuition. In 1863 he went to Montreal, taking a position in a wholesale dry goods warehouse, rising to the position of English buyer. In 1877 he returned to Kincardine and took over the business of his father, who retired. He was married at Montreal in 1871, to Lilla M. Warren, daughter of S. R. Warren, builder of church organs at Montreal, and afterwards at Toronto. His family consists of three sons and two daughters. In religion Mr. Robertson is a Presbyterian, and has been an active worker in Sunday School work for over fifty years. In politics he is a Conservative. The position of Treasurer of the County of Bruce became vacant in 1887, and Mr. Robertson was chosen from among twenty-five applicants. A desire to have put in book form and so preserved, the records of the settlement of the County of Bruce, induced the County Council in 1896 to offer a prize for a Historical Sketch of the County. The sketch prepared by Mr. Robertson carried off, jointly with another, the prize. This initial effort was followed in 1906 by a volume of 560 pages bearing the title “The History of the County of Bruce.” This work has been very favorably commented upon and classed as one of the best of the County Histories of the Province that have been published. Mr. Robertson was with the Victoria Rifles, of Montreal, when that regiment went to the front at the time of the Fenian Raids in 1866, and has received his military medal therefor.


Price, Samuel, B.C.L. (Toronto, Ont.), Chairman, Workmen’s Compensation Board. Born at Caradoc Township, Middlesex County, Ont., February 16, 1863, son of Richard and Mary (Whiting) Price. Educated at local Public School, Strathroy and St. Thomas Collegiate Institutes; Trinity University (B.C.L., gold medal); Osgoode Hall (scholarship each year, gold medal, 1895). Taught school for some time; read law with McLean & Son, St. Thomas, and Magee, McKillop & Murphy, London; called to Ontario Bar, September, 1895; practised at St. Thomas; Secretary, Elgin Law Association. Royal Commissioner (Ontario) for settlement of Cobalt mining disputes, 1905; Mining Commissioner for Ontario, 1906-1912; Royal Commissioner for inquiry into alleged fraudulent action of Fort Frances Lumber Co., and Keewatin Lumber Co., 1909; Commissioner re eight-hour day for miners in Ontario, 1912-1913; reported to Ontario Government on eight-hour law and drafted Bill (now in force); Royal Commissioner to investigate mining labor troubles on Vancouver Island, 1913; assisted in general revision of Mining Act of Ontario, 1908; drafted amendments to mining laws and other Ontario legislation, 1907-1913; refused Chairmanship of Ontario Railway and Municipal Board; engaged (on recommendation of late Chief Commissioner Mabee) in consolidation and revision of Railway Act, 1912-1913; recommended by late Chief Commissioner Mabee for appointment as a member of Railway Board of Canada; appointed to present position Aug., 1914; President West Elgin Liberal-Conservative Association, 1904-1905. Member Public Library Board. Author “Mining Commissioner’s Cases,” 1910; articles on Mining Law, “Canada Law Times” and Journal Canadian Mining Institute, 1910-1911. Societies: A.F. & A.M., K.P., C.O.C.F., C.O.F. Liberal Conservative; Anglican.


Jones, George Burpee (Apohaqui, N.B.), son of Stephen Jones and Susan Eliza, his wife, both Canadians, was born January 9, 1866, at Belle Isle Bay, Kings County, N.B. Educated at Apohaqui Superior School. At twelve years of age Mr. Jones entered the employ of the late J. A. Sinnott, and after six years resigned and accepted the position of General Manager with Hugh McLean, of Salmon River, Queens County, in general business and lumber. Resigned that position in September, 1889, and commenced business in his present stand in Apohaqui and is senior member of the firm of Jones Brothers, general merchants and lumber manufacturers, of Apohaqui. Is president of the “St. John Daily Standard.” Has been a member of the School Board of Apohaqui Superior School for the past 25 years. First elected member of the New Brunswick Legislative Assembly in 1908 and re-elected at the general elections in 1912, and re-elected general elections in 1917. Is of Loyalist descent and a member of the Presbyterian Church. Married August 15, 1888, to Melissa J., daughter of William Fowler, and is the father of two children, Colby Herbert and Muriel B.


Izzard, Dennis Jabez, son of James Izzard and Elizabeth Whetstone, was born in Norton, Hertfordshire, England. With his parents he came to Canada in 1861, and for a time worked as a boy at farming. He secured his education in the schools of those early days under the excellent teachers who have left their stamp on the men and women of to-day. Growing to manhood Mr. Izzard decided to follow contracting and building, in which he achieved success for many years. Many of the public buildings in Bruce County were erected under his guidance, and stand as a monument to his ability. He made Port Elgin his home shortly after coming to the County of Bruce, and he has ever been one of its leading men. He served as councillor in the village council for a number of years. In 1880-81 he served as reeve. Retiring, he was out of municipal life until 1890-91, when he again adorned the reeve’s chair. In 1909 the people again made him their choice, and he continuously represented them from that time until 1918. At the January meeting of the Bruce County Council in 1917, he received the marked honor of being elected warden of the county, by acclamation, he being the second man in the history of the county to have been so honored. He is kindly and courteous in disposition, and nowhere has it shown to better advantage than in his able handling of public bodies he has been connected with. His advice has always been received with the fullest confidence that he knows the matters being dealt with from a first hand knowledge. In January, 1918, he was chosen by the county council of Bruce as superintendent of the good roads of the county. In politics he is a Liberal, and his parents were English Methodists. He is fond of curling, fishing, shooting, in all of which he is skilful. He is a member of Port Elgin Lodge, No. 429, A.F. & A.M. In April, 1891, he married Mrs. Frilzinger, Waterloo County. Two children were born, Stewart Elmo, deceased, and Miss Pearl E., who resides at home.


Shutt, Frank Thomas (Ottawa, Ont.), son of William D. and Charlotte Shutt. Born, London, England, September 15, 1859. Educated at London and the University of Toronto, from which latter institution he graduated in 1885 with honors in Natural Science; M.A., 1886; he also has had conferred on him D.Sc. and is regarded as one of the highest authorities on Agricultural Chemistry in America. Dominion Chemist and Assistant Director Experimental Farms. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Fellow of Chemical Society (Eng.), Fellow of the Institute of Chemistry (Eng.), and Fellow of the American Chemical Society, and also Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Since 1887 he has been Chemist of the Dominion Experimental Farms. Dr. Shutt founded the “Cawthorne Medal” in Natural Science, Toronto University, and has been examiner in Chemistry there. President of Toronto University Graduates’ Club, Ottawa, 1894-5; President of Ottawa Field and Naturalists’ Club, Ottawa, 1895; President, Ottawa Schubert Club, 1896. President Chem. and Phys. Section Royal Society 1916-17. British Judge, World’s Fair, Chicago, 1893, and is the author of the reports and bulletins of the Dominion Chemists’ Experimental Farm and of many papers on original investigations in the Royal Society of Canada. The Doctor is a man of fine musical tastes and is especially interested in the organ. He finds recreation in pictorial photography.


Montgomery, Hugh John (Wetaskiwin, Alta.), was born on the 31st of July, 1876, at Bedeque, P.E.I., son of James Montgomery and Kate McFarlane, both Canadians, born of Scotch parents. Educated at the Public School, Bedeque, P.E.I., and Charlottetown Business College. Went to Wetaskiwin in the Province of Alberta in 1898. Elected to the City Council as Alderman in 1905, and served four years and elected Mayor in 1910. First elected to the Provincial Legislature as Liberal candidate for the constituency of Wetaskiwin at a by-election on November 17, 1914, defeating his opponent by a majority of 501. Re-elected at the Provincial general elections of June 7, 1917, by a majority of 817. Married December 31, 1903, Adelaide, daughter of Clifford E. Vaughn, of Minneapolis, Minn., and is the father of two children: Kenneth Gordon, and Lawrence Vaughn. Mr. Montgomery is a successful general merchant. In religion he is a Presbyterian.


MacDonald, Selkirk M., Portage la Prairie, Man. A thorough westerner is Selkirk M. MacDonald, Deputy Clerk Crown and Pleas, C.J.D.; Surrogate Court Clerk, C.J.D., and County Court Clerk, since November 1, 1903. Mr. MacDonald, who succeeded his father, John MacDonald, in the above offices, was born in Portage la Prairie on February 1, 1875. His mother was Isabella MacKay, a daughter of Selkirk Douglas MacKay, who had the distinction of being the first white child born in Manitoba, his parents having come to Canada with the Lord Selkirk settlers. Mr. MacDonald is not only a westerner by birth and by all his traditions, he was educated in Portage la Prairie and has always taken a prominent part in the outdoor sports which are such a feature of Western Canadian life. In his youth he played hockey and lacrosse with the Victorias of Winnipeg, and the Portage la Prairie clubs and was also a member of the famous lacrosse club of Victoria, B.C. In bicycling, football, baseball, running, jumping he was always prominent, and he finds his greatest present recreations in hunting, curling, motoring and trap-shooting. Mr. MacDonald is not married, is a Presbyterian in religion, a prominent member of the Masonic Society, and a member of the Portage Club, and of the Portage Country Club.


THE LATE W. F. COWAN
Oshawa


Sainte-Pierre, F., Managing Director and Secretary-Treasurer of Credit Canada, Limitée, the largest French-Canadian Bond houses in Canada. Mr. Sainte-Pierre was born at Chicoutimi on the 13th December, 1885, a son of F. Sainte-Pierre, general merchant, and Josephine Saint-Pierre. He was educated at Chicoutimi Seminary and the Commercial Academy of Quebec, graduating at Quebec in 1902. As a student, Mr. Sainte-Pierre was a frequent contributor to the Society Magazine. He was married on 7th October, 1913, to Miss Noemi Decary, daughter of the late A. C. Decary, N.P., Registrar. He has two children, Helene and Jean Sainte-Pierre. He is a member of the Maccabees and a Roman Catholic. Mr. Sainte-Pierre is a Liberal in politics, in which he takes a keen interest, his name having been suggested as a candidate for parliamentary honors on more than one occasion. Mr. Sainte-Pierre is an enthusiastic motorist and also keenly interested in motor boating and fishing. Having been a dealer in a very large way in municipal securities, Mr. Sainte-Pierre has for the past few years given a great deal of attention to the improvement of municipal borrowing. He favors the appointment of a Government Expert Officer to safeguard and study the best methods of borrowing money, realizing that many municipalities have not the expert financial knowledge that enables them to decide on the most propitious times to float loans, he believes that the suggested reforms would be greatly in the interest, not only of the municipalities, but of the financial houses that deal in these securities. Mr. Sainte-Pierre, as the executive head of Credit Canada, Limitée, has been very active in the financing of large school municipalities and cities. His firm has handled some of the largest issues floated in the Province of Quebec in recent years. He has made various suggestions for the improvement of School municipalities in the province. Mr. Sainte-Pierre is also well known as an expert accountant, and systematizer. He is a member of several fraternal societies and it is well recognized that the prominent position obtained by Credit Canada, Limitée, is due to the energy and financial skill of Mr. Sainte-Pierre.


Mackenzie, Norman, K.C., one of the leading barristers of the Canadian West, is head of the firm of Mackenzie, Thom, McMorran, McDonald, Bastedo and Jackson, Regina, Saskatchewan. He was born at Sarnia, Ont., January 27, 1869, the son of John Alexander and Helen Mackenzie. He was educated at private schools. Upper Canada College and Osgoode Hall, Toronto. He read law in the offices of Morphy, Miller, Levesconte & Smythe, Toronto, from 1888 to 1891, and in latter year was called to the Ontario Bar. He at once went to Regina, then the capital of the North-West Territories, was there called to the Territorial Bar and commenced practice. On the division of the North-West Territories into Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan in 1905, he became a solicitor entitled to practice in both Provinces by virtue of the Act. Was created K.C. in 1907, was elected a Bencher of the Law Society of the North-West Territories in 1898, and continued to represent the North-West Territories until 1905, and since then the Province of Saskatchewan, retiring in 1919 as a Bencher ex-officio under the Act, during which period he was at different times President of the Society, served as Public Administrator from 1898 to 1910; 1916 to 1918 he was Vice-President for Saskatchewan of the Canadian Bar Association. Mr. Mackenzie finds his chief recreation in art and in his dogs. He is a member of many social organizations including the Assiniboia Club, Regina, Wascana Country Club, Regina Golf Club, Manitoba Club, Winnipeg. He is a Presbyterian and a Liberal in politics. On May 29, 1909, he married Clara Erma, daughter of Henry McMorran of Port Huron, Michigan and resides at 2336 Victoria Ave., Regina.


Johnston, Ebenezer Forsyth Blackie, K.C. (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Berwickshire, Scotland, December 20, 1850, and received a thorough scholastic training in his native country. He came to Canada in boyhood, and for a short time looked to farming as an occupation and became also interested in educational matters. The bent of his mind being in the direction of the law, he pursued the studies thereof, and in 1876 was sworn in as a solicitor, and in 1880 he was called to the Bar, and practised at Guelph for a few years, where he met with big success. Upon receiving the appointment (in 1885) as Deputy Attorney-General and Clerk of the Executive Council, he came to Toronto, and held the position for four years. He then resumed the practice of his profession and was subsequently appointed for three years Inspector of Registry Offices, which office, by reason of his increasing practice he was compelled to resign in 1894. He has frequently acted as Crown Counsel at the Provincial Assizes, being retained in several important murder trials, and in that capacity has won distinction and success, by reason of the fact that he has perhaps conducted more criminal cases than any man in Canada. To cite a complete or anything like a complete list of the cases which he has been retained for, would read like a city directory. He was a gentleman of pleasing address, yet withal a forceful orator, and had the faculty of being in a position through his remarkable tenacity to hold the jury and convince them to his way of thinking. He had a ready mental grasp, quick and clear conceptions, and was ever ready to see a point and turn it to the advantage of his client. In 1887 was appointed a Commissioner to enquire into the working of municipal institutions, and was president of the Guelph Caledonian Society, and secretary of the Reform Association for a number of years. He was appointed as Q.C. by the Ontario Government in 1890. Mr. Johnston was senior partner of the well-known law firm of Johnston, McKay, Dodds & Grant. He was a Vice-President of the Royal Bank of Canada, Chairman of the Standard Reliance Mortgage Corporation, Director on several Boards, and President of the Chartered Trust Co. He was for some years a Bencher of the Law Society. Mr. Johnston passed away January 29th, 1919.


Saint Cyr, Joseph Fortunat (Montreal), one of the well-known lawyers of that city, was born at Saint Jean, Quebec, on December 6, 1875, the son of Olivier Saint Cyr, clerk, and Rose de Lima Gosseline, his wife. He was educated at the College de Montreal and graduated in 1897 with the degree of B.A. Studied law at Laval University, where he obtained the degree of LL.L. Admitted to the Bar in 1900. He at once commenced practice as an advocate in St. John’s, P.Q., in which his talents speedily brought him to the fore. He is the author of several legal treatises, including “La Loi des Licenses de Quebec”; “La Loi pour Tous,” and a Digest of Montreal Law Reports. In 1909 he was appointed magistrate for the district of Beauharnois and Iberville, and in 1917 became Judge of the Sessions of the Peace for the District of Montreal. In 1918 he resigned the latter office to take the very important post of Chairman of the Montreal Tramways Commission. He is a Liberal in politics, a Roman Catholic in religion, and a member of the Knights of Columbus. In April, 1910, he married Cecile, daughter of L. G. Dubois and has one daughter, Lisette.


Boyd, Leslie Hale, B.A., B.C.L., K.C. (Fort William, Ont.), Chairman of the Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada, was born in Montreal, July 31, 1873, the son of Andrew and Georgiana Louisa (Hale) Boyd. He was educated at Montreal High School and McGill University, graduating B.A. in 1894, and B.C.L., 1897. He commenced the practice of law in his native city and also took a prominent part in politics and municipal affairs. He was alderman for St. George Ward from 1910 to 1917, inclusive, and also Life Governor of the Homeopathic Hospital, School Trustee, St. Henri; and a member of the Protestant Board of School Commissioners, Montreal. On one occasion he unsuccessfully contested the St. Lawrence division for the Quebec Legislature as a Conservative candidate. His appointment by the Dominion Government to the important post of Chairman of the Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada, for which his abilities and experience well qualified him, necessitated his removal to Fort William. His recreations are golf, curling and fishing, and he is a past president of the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association. His clubs are the Engineers and Canada, Montreal; the Kaministiquia, Thunder Bay Golf and Canadian, Fort William. Mr. Boyd is a Presbyterian and unmarried.


Allan, John, Member for the riding of West Hamilton in the Ontario Legislature, was born at Guelph, Ont., on May 22, 1856, the son of James and Agnes (Rodgers) Allan. His boyhood was spent in the city of which he is now an elected representative, and he was educated in the public schools there. On leaving school in 1871 he qualified himself for mechanical pursuits with William Hancock and John Taylor of Hamilton, remaining with them for three years. From 1874 to 1879 he followed his trade in the Western States and in the latter year removed to New York City. In 1885 he became a builder on his own account in the American metropolis and continued there for the next twenty-one years. He prospered to an extent that in 1906, at the age of fifty, he was able to retire from business and return to the city where he had spent his youth and for which he had always cherished a deep affection. His friends persuaded him to enter municipal politics in 1908 and he has proven a most useful public servant. He was Alderman, 1908-9; Controller, 1910-12; Chairman of the Parks Board, 1911; Mayor for the years 1913 and 1914. His regime was marked by businesslike methods and he was popular with all classes of the community. In 1914 on the retirement of Sir John Hendrie, the present Lieutenant-Governor of Ontario, who had long represented the riding of West Hamilton in the Ontario Legislature, Mr. Allan was nominated by the Conservative party and elected. As a legislator his services as a member of the standing committees of the House are especially valued. In religion he is a Presbyterian and is a member of the following organizations: Commercial Club, A.F. & A.M., and Knights of Pythias. In 1881 he married Catherine, daughter of Conrad Euler.


Stewart, Charles, first saw the light of day in the pioneer homestead, lot 13, concession 11, Township of Ashfield, County of Huron. His father was David Stewart, of Caithness, Scotland, and his mother Mary McLean, of Ross-shire, Scotland. In 1842 this estimable Scotch couple set sail for Canada, and that same year began their pioneer life on the homestead now occupied by the subject of this sketch. To their son they have imparted their sterling qualities of character. Charles Stewart received his education in the public schools of his native county, but his heart was ever in his chosen occupation of farming and he has become one of the sterling sons of the soil, proud that he knows how to farm and do it well. He is unmarried. Studious by nature, his hobby has ever been municipal affairs, and for nine years he was a member of the municipal council. Four of these, 1914-15-16-17, he occupied the honored position of reeve, retiring in 1918. He was a member of Huron’s County Council, and there as in his own council he was ever found leading in movements for forwarding the country’s interests. He is an advocate of Hydro-Electric and Hydro Radials, feeling that the peculiar geographical situation of the township in which he lives can eventually be served by these two important public utilities. He is a good debater, states his case with Scotch deliberateness, and sticks to his point in the face of all opposition, until convinced that there might be some better way than the one he advocates. Kindly and generous by disposition, he has friends by the score, and has been attested by his continuous representation in the council for so many years. He is an ardent admirer of Highland games and fond of good driving horses, though of late the automobile has superseded his once famous pacer. He is perhaps one of the most aggressive farmers in his community, and his name has from time to time been mentioned for parliamentary honors, but he has refused to be lured into the wider field of political activity. If he should ever run and be elected, he will be a distinct asset to the farmers of Canada, because he knows what they want. He is a member of Lucknow Lodge, No. 184, A.F. & A.M. In politics he is a Liberal, and in religion a Presbyterian.


Macaulay, Thomas Bassett, F.I.A., F.S.A., F.S.S., of Montreal, occupies a high position in Canadian finance, and is besides an insurance expert of international fame. He was born at Hamilton, Ont., on June 6, 1860, the son of Robertson and Barbara Maria (Reid) Macaulay, and educated at Hamilton and Montreal. He entered the service of the Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada at Montreal in 1877 and by 1880, when but twenty years of age, he had so qualified himself in the science of insurance that he was made Actuary. In 1891 he was appointed Secretary of the Company, and in 1898 was elected a Director. In 1906 he became Managing Director of the Sun Life and in 1915 President, succeeding his late father. Under his direction the company has enjoyed an immense expansion on sound and conservative lines, and its President is recognized in financial circles the world over as an expert in insurance and master of business organization. The head offices are on Dominion Square, Montreal, but it has many branches in Canada and other parts of the world. Mr. Macaulay is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Great Britain, a Charter Member of the Actuarial Society of America, and a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society. He was elected Vice-President to represent the Actuaries of the United States and Canada at the International Congress of Actuaries held at Paris in 1900, and again at the Congress held in Berlin, Germany, 1906. He is Past President of the Life Insurance Officers’ Association of Canada. His financial interests are by no means confined to insurance however. He is a director of The National Trust Company of Toronto, a Director of the Dominion Glass Company, a Director of the Illinois Traction Company, a Director of the Western Railways and Light Company, and a Director of the Barcelona Railway, Light and Power Co. Mr. Macaulay has taken a great interest in the development of closer relations between Canada and other British possessions in North America, and is President of the Canadian and West Indian League. The Navy League of Canada, of which Mr. Macaulay is Honorary President, has his active support. His chief recreation is farming, and his hobby, the breeding of fine stock. In religion he is a Congregationalist and has been twice married, firstly in 1881 to Henrietta (deceased daughter of O. T. Bragg, New Orleans); secondly in 1912 to Margaret (deceased), daughter of Rev. William Allen, London, England. He has two sons and three daughters, and resides on Westmount Boulevard, Westmount, Quebec.


Clark, Lt.-Col. Hugh, born May 6, 1861, at Kincardine Township. A son of Donald Clark and Mary MacDougall, both in Argyllshire, Scotland; father was a farmer and a school teacher. Mother died in 1909, father lived to be over 90 years of age. Educated at the public school and high school Kincardine, from which latter institution he graduated in 1887, and taught school for three years, 1887 to 1889. In 1890 was editor of the “Walkerton Herald,” and in the same year purchased the “Kincardine Review,” which he has conducted ever since, with the exception of the years 1897 and 1898, when he was managing editor of the “Ottawa Citizen.” A member of the Legislative Press Gallery in Toronto, 1900. Entered the Militia of Canada in 1892 with a Lieutenant’s commission and commanded the 32nd Bruce Regiment as Lt.-Col. from 1906 to 1911. In 1902 Lt.-Col. Clark was nominated by the Conservative party as candidate for the Legislative Assembly for Centre Bruce, and was elected with a majority of 5; unseated on petition he was re-elected in February, 1903 by a majority of 44, and re-elected in 1905 by a majority of 317 and again in 1908 by a majority of 356. In 1911 Lt.-Col. Clark resigned his seat in the Legislature to contest North Bruce for the Federal Parliament and was elected by a majority of 82. Re-elected at the general election to the House of Commons in 1917 by a largely increased majority, and became Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for External Affairs, which he held until November, 1918, when he took over the duty of Parliamentary Secretary of Soldiers Civil Re-establishment. Married September 24, 1894, to Catherine MacKay, daughter of Dr. H. M. Ross of Richard’s Landing, Ont., and has one son, Hugh Stuart Clark. Has a fine reputation as a journalist and is regarded as one of the brightest paragraphists in the country; he is a particularly effective platform speaker and has a clear and convincing style. He is exceedingly popular with all classes in the House and is recognized as being straightforward in all his election methods and business dealings. He accompanied Sir Robert L. Borden in the campaign of 1908 through Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, and toured the Western Provinces with the Premier in 1911. Lt.-Col. Clark is recognized as an authority on everything affecting the Militia of Canada and has lectured on Imperial defence. He is a Presbyterian in religion and belongs to the following orders: A.F. & A.M.; L.O.L.; I.O.O.F.; C.O.F. His principal recreations are golfing and bowling. He is a member of the Kincardine Club, Albany Club, Toronto, Rideau and Royal Ottawa Golf Club, Ottawa.


J. G. B. BUTTERWORTH
Ottawa


Sharpe, Samuel Simpson, Lieut.-Col., D.S.O. (Uxbridge, Ont.), son of George Sharpe, of Suffolk, England, and Mary Ann Simpson, of County Tyrone, Ireland, born March 13, 1873, at Zephyr, Township of Scott, County of Ontario. Educated at Uxbridge Public and High Schools, Toronto University and Osgoode Hall; graduated in 1895, degrees B.A. and LL.B. Married, August 26, 1903, to Mabel E., daughter of H. A. Crosby and granddaughter of Joseph Gould, ex-M.P. for North Ontario. Town Solicitor for Uxbridge for ten years. He lived and practised his profession in Town of Uxbridge, near the place of his birth, after being called to the bar and achieved a large measure of success. Lieut.-Col. Sharpe always took a great interest in the militia, and was formerly a member of the 34th Regiment, in which he attained the rank of Major. On the outbreak of the war he organized and recruited the 116th Ontario County Battalion and took it to France. He held a fine record for overseas service, having won the D.S.O. and having been mentioned in the despatches. It is said of Col. Sharpe that he was one of the most popular O.C.’s sent from Canada, and he never missed an opportunity of looking after the interests of his men. He returned to Canada in the end of May, 1918, after having seen much hard service, his health impaired and succumbed in a few weeks to a nervous disorder. He was elected to the House of Commons in 1898, when he defeated George D. Grant by 200 majority; re-elected in 1911, when he defeated Major H. M. Mowat, K.C., nephew of the late Sir Oliver Mowat, by 588; was appointed one of the Ontario Whips by Rt. Hon. Sir R. L. Borden, prior to the election of 1911, and was returned by a large majority at the general elections in December, 1917, during his absence at the front. Lieut.-Col. Sharpe took an active and prominent part in the councils of the Conservative Party after he became a member of the House, and was recognized as a good debater, with a full knowledge of National affairs. He was a member of the Albany Club, Toronto, and the Rideau Club, Ottawa; also a member of the Masonic Order, Independent Order of Foresters, Sons of England, and Independent Order of Oddfellows. He held the Ontario championship in tennis for two years and the undergraduate championship for one year. In religion Lieut.-Col. Sharpe was a member of the Methodist Church at Uxbridge.


Macaulay, John (Wiarton, Ontario), Manager of the Dominion Fish Co., head office, Toronto, was born April 13, 1865, at Southampton, Ont. He is a son of Donald MacAulay, of Stornoway, Scotland, and Annie MacLeod, of the same place. The father was a fisherman and sailor on the great lakes. The subject of this sketch received his education in the public schools of his native town. Early he began to follow in the footsteps of his father, and soon became one of the best fishermen on the lakes. He had splendid executive ability, and this with his tenacity of purpose soon marked him as a leader in the fishing business. The Dominion Fish Co. recognized his business acumen and made him manager of their extensive business with headquarters at Wiarton. Here he is one of the most highly esteemed citizens of the place. He is a member of Cedar Lodge, No. 369, A.F. & A.M., Offanta Preceptory, Owen Sound, and a Shriner of Rameses Temple, Toronto. His favorite pastimes are curling and bowling. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and in politics a Liberal. He was the Liberal standard bearer in the Federal Riding of North Bruce in 1917. He married Miss Margaret McLeod, of Ripley, Ont. They had a family of three sons and two daughters, Graham, Gordon, Irvine, May, and Marie (the first three named are deceased, the two latter living).


Lighthall, William Douw, K.C., M.A., B.C.L., F.R.S.C., F.R.S.I. (Montreal, P.Q.), one of the most widely known of Canadian publicists, was born at Hamilton, Ont., Dec. 27, 1857, the son of William Francis Lighthall, Dean of the Notarial Profession in Montreal, and Margaret Lighthall. His scholastic career was brilliant; he was gold medallist of Montreal High School, and Shakespeare Gold Medallist of McGill University. He was called to the Bar in 1881, and has almost ever since been a prominent figure in both the literary and public life of Canada, due to the fact that he is a man very fertile in ideas. He has an international reputation as a municipal reformer, which began with his career as Mayor of Westmount, from 1900 to 1903. In 1901, in conjunction with the late Oliver A. Howland, Mayor of Toronto, he founded the Union of Canadian Municipalities, which has effected a great work of municipal improvement in Canada. He was Chairman of the School Commission in his city for 1908-9, and is a member of the Royal Metropolitan Parks Commission, for the planning of a Greater Montreal. Mr. Lighthall’s literary and scientific interests are comprehensive. He was Representative Fellow in Arts of McGill University, 1911-3, and he originated the Society of Canadian Literature, and the Chateau de Ramezay Historical Museum. As an author his works include: “Thoughts, Moods and Ideals” (verse), published in 1887; “The Young Seigneur, or Nation Making” (a romance), 1888; “Montreal After 250 Years,” 1892; “The False Chevalier” (a romance), 1898; “The Glorious Enterprise,” 1902; “Canada, A Modern Nation,” 1904; “The Master of Life,” 1910; as well as many Ethical, Historical and Literary Pamphlets. He also devised and edited “Songs of the Great Dominion,” the most important existing anthology of Canadian verse, up to its date of publication, 1891; and also selected and edited the volume, “Canadian Poets,” issued in connection with the Canterbury Poets series, published in London, Eng., in the early nineties. Mr. Lighthall has also been actively interested in military affairs. He served with the College Company, Prince of Wales Regiment, Montreal, 1877-8; in the Victoria Rifles, 1881-3, and is a member of the Reserve of that battalion. He originated the idea of the Great War Veterans’ Association and, in 1915, was a member of the Committee of Friends of the Canadian Association of Returned Soldiers. He was an ardent advocate of conscription in the Great War and when the Government decided to adopt this policy, took the platform in support of it. He is a member of many literary, social and scientific societies, including the Royal Society of Canada (President, 1910), the Royal Society of Literature of Great Britain, the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec (corresponding member), the Antiquarian Society of Montreal (of which he is President), and the following clubs in his home city: Canada, Arts, Montreal, Canadian and University. His recreations include the collection of old pictures and camping. He married Cybel, daughter of John Wilkes, and has one son, Lieut, W. W. S. Lighthall, of the Royal Flying Corps, and 3rd Dorsets, who during the late war saw service in France, Flanders, Mesopotamia, Macedonia, and Palestine. Mr. Lighthall has a residence, “Chateau-clair,” in Westmount, Que., and a summer home, “Highbury,” at Lac Tremblant, Que.


Ellis, James Albert (Ottawa), son of James and Margaret (Hall) Ellis, and was born at Accrington, Lancashire, England, June 2, 1864, where he also received his education. He came to Canada in 1885, and has resided in Ottawa ever since. He was the leader in the establishment of the Ottawa Municipal Electric Plant in 1905; Public School Trustee from 1898 to 1900; Alderman during the years 1901-1903, 1914; Controller, 1915; Mayor, 1904-1906, 1913; City Treasurer, 1907-1912; member of Local Legislature, 1911-1914. He was appointed Division Court Clerk in 1916 and a member of the Ontario Railway and Municipal Board, October, 1918. Shortly afterwards he was placed in charge of the Housing Scheme of the Province of Ontario as Director. Mr. Ellis has been for several years Chairman of the Ottawa Hydro-Electric Commission. He was President Ottawa Horticultural Society, 1911-1912; President Ontario Municipal Association, 1906-1907. He was many years Secretary of the Ottawa Conservative Association, and afterwards its President. Mr. Ellis married Catherine Fishwick, daughter of James Fishwick, Accrington, Lancashire, England, in September, 1884, and has one son and one daughter. He is a Conservative in politics and an Anglican in religion. His address is 131 Stanley Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario.


Roche, Hon. Wm. James, M.D., P.C., LL.D., Chairman of the Civil Service Commission for Canada, is a native of Clandeboye, Middlesex County, Ontario, and was born November 30, 1859. He was educated at the public schools of Lucan, Ont., at London Collegiate Institute, Trinity Medical School, Toronto, where he studied for three years, completing his course at the Western University, London, from which he was the first graduate in medicine, and where he also took first class honors. The hon. degree of LL.D. was conferred in 1911. This was in 1883, and he immediately went to Minnedosa, Manitoba, and engaged in the practice of his profession. From 1885 to 1901 he was Territorial Representative for his district on the Manitoba Medical Council, and was very popular as a physician among the various nationalities that constituted the early population of the prairie province. He first entered politics in 1892 when he was an unsuccessful candidate for the Legislature in the Conservative interest. In the Federal Elections of 1896 he was the nominee of his party for the riding of Marquette and was elected after a stiff contest. His constituents showed their confidence in him by returning him to the House of Commons at the general elections of 1900, 1904, 1908 and 1911. When the recently chosen Parliament met in 1901 the Conservative caucus chose him as Whip for the West, a position he held until 1910 when he was elected chief assistant Whip for the Conservative party in the Commons. On the formation of the first Borden cabinet in 1911 he was appointed to the portfolio of Secretary of State and was sworn in as a member of the Privy Council on October 10 of that year, and was re-elected by acclamation. On October 27 he was transferred to the portfolio of Minister of the Interior and Superintendent of Indian Affairs in succession to Hon. Robert Rogers, who at that time became Minister of Public Works. This post he continued to fill until the autumn of 1917 when on the formation of Union Government he accepted the position of Chairman of the Civil Service Commission of Canada and retired from active politics. In 1916 Western University, London, his Alma Mater, honored him by making him Chancellor of the institution. Dr. Roche is very prominent in the Independent Order of Oddfellows, of which he was Grand Master for Manitoba in 1893. In connection with the same Order he was a Grand Representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge at Chattanooga, Penn., in 1894, and at Atlantic City, N.J., in 1895. In 1883 he married Miss Annie E. Cook of Toronto. Though long resident in Minnedosa he now by virtue of his public duties makes his home in Ottawa.


McInnes, William, B.A., F.R.S.C., F.G.S.A., Directing Geologist, Geological Survey, 37 years ago became a member of the Dominion Civil Service. He has advanced step by step from one grade to another, and to-day occupies the responsible position of Directing Geologist, to which he was appointed in 1915. He has explored geologically Northern New Brunswick, Eastern Quebec, Western and Northern Ontario, Northern Saskatchewan and portions of the North-West Territories extending to Hudson Bay, and he explored and mapped Churchill and Winisk rivers and much of the North Country lying between the Canadian Pacific Railway and Hudson Bay. Reports of these explorations are contained in the annual reports of the Geological Survey of Canada and in separate memoirs. Mr. William McInnes is the son of John and Rachael Jane McInnes, and was born at Frederiction, New Brunswick, January 1, 1858. He was educated at the Collegiate School, Frederiction, and the University of New Brunswick, graduating in 1879. The following clubs claim Mr. McInnes as a member: the Rideau, Royal Golf and Gatineau Fish and Game. He, is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Geological Society of America and Canadian Mining Institute. His religion is Presbyterian and his principal recreation is golf. He resides at the Victoria Chambers, 138 to 140 Wellington Street, Ottawa, Ontario.


Trahan, Arthur, B.S., K.C. (Nicolet, Que.), born on May 26, 1877, at Nicolet, P.Q., son of Narcisse Trahan and Rebecca Rousseau, both Canadians. Educated at the Nicolet Seminary (B.S.). Married, Sept., 1902, to Josephine R. Dufresne, daughter of H. R. Dufresne, N.P., of Nicolet. He is the father of six children: Marie Therese, Madeleine, Paul Arthur, Bernard, Jacques and Marcel. Mr. Trahan is an attorney-at-law, barrister, solicitor, etc. Was a political candidate for the first time at by-election held June 2, 1913, to fill vacancy caused by the resignation of Hon. C. R. Devlin elected for two seats, and was elected by 870 majority over D. H. Rheault, N.P. Re-elected in 1916 by acclamation. In November, 1917, resigned seat as member of Legislative Assembly to become a Federal candidate. Elected by acclamation to the House of Commons. Secretary of the Commission charged with the revision, consolidation and modification of the Municipal Code of the Province of Quebec (1910-12). In 1912 was appointed a K.C., and has been alderman of the town of Nicolet from 1911 to 1919. Moved the address in reply to the speech from the throne at the session of 1915 in the Quebec Legislative Assembly. Is a Roman Catholic in religion, and a Liberal in politics.


Campbell, Colin, Montreal and St. Hilaire, Que., is one of the most widely known horsemen of the Dominion and a very prominent figure in the social and business life of his province. He is a son of Major Campbell, C.B., of Inverawe, Scotland, an officer of Her Majesty’s 7th Hussars and a member of the same family as the famous Col. Duncan Campbell, of Inverawe, who was on the staff of General Lord Howe at Ticonderoga, and whose death in that battle, and the accompanying psychical phenomena, form the theme of one of Robert Louis Stevenson’s most thrilling ballads. Another relative was Col. de Salaberry, who commanded the French-Canadians in their heroic resistance at the Battle of Chateauguay in the war of 1812. The mother of the subject of this sketch was, prior to her marriage, Miss Duchesnay of Quebec, and he was born at St. Hilaire, on May 28, 1860. He was educated at Lennoxville Academy and later engaged in business as a merchant with great financial success. At the outbreak of the great war he organized and commanded the Mounted Section of the 1st Regiment of Reserve Militia, in which he holds the rank of Captain. Strong advocate of and keen worker for the “Daylight Saving” measure, which was passed in 1918. All legitimate sports have from youth claimed his enthusiastic support and he is noted not only as a breeder of horses, but as a skilled equestrian. As a steeplechase rider of his own horses, he won the Montreal Hunt Cup on four occasions and the Allan Cup on three. As an expert on the subject of horses he is widely known and has acted as Judge at the Olympia Horse Show, New York, as well as at similar events in Boston, Philadelphia and other cities. He is a member of the Montreal Board of Trade and of many social organizations in that city, including the Mount Royal, St. James, Montreal Hunt, Forest and Stream, Montreal Jockey, Canada, and Canadian Clubs, as well as of St. Andrew’s Society. He is a Conservative in politics and an Anglican in religion. On April 23, 1888, married Mabel G., daughter of the late Sir Hugh Allan, K.C.B., of Montreal, by whom he has had three children, Enid, Phoebie and Archie (deceased).


Coats, Robert Hamilton, Dominion Statistician and Controller of the Census, is one of the live wires in the employ of the Dominion Government. At college, in journalism, as an author and a writer on economic subjects, and as a Civil Service employee, he has distinguished himself and proved his worth. He captured the Bankers’ Scholarship in Economics and the Wyld Prize in English at the Toronto University; and from the time of his graduation in 1896, taking the degree of B.A. in Classics, to the present, he has given tangible evidence of his literary and constructive ability. Having served on the staff of the “Toronto World” and the Toronto “Globe” from 1898 to 1901, in January, 1902, he became Associate Editor of the “Labor Gazette,” the journal of the Department of Labor, afterwards editor, and continued in that capacity until 1914. On the death of Mr. Archibald Blue, in 1915, he succeeded that gentleman as Census Commissioner. Within a brief period afterwards, largely as a development of Mr. Coats’ constructive work, the Dominion Bureau of Statistics was established by Act of Parliament, and its value to the State, under Mr. Coats’ direction, is duly recognized. Robert Hamilton Coats is the son of Robert Coats, merchant, and Mary Park. He was born in Clinton, Ontario, July 25, 1874, and was educated at the Toronto University (B.A., 1896). He is a contributor to the “Journal of Economics” and other economic reviews; joint author with R. E. Gosnell of “The Life of Sir James Douglas” (Makers of Canada Series), 1908; author of “The Labor Movement in Canada,” and of “Special Reports on Prices in Canada, 1890-1909-10-11-12 and 13.” In 1912 he was appointed a member of the Royal Commission of Official Statistics of Canada, and in 1914 a member of the Cost of Living Commission. Mr. Coats is a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society of England, of the American Statistical Association, of the American Economic Association, and of the Canadian Political Science Association. In June, 1905, Mr. Coats married Marie Halboister, of Paris, France. For recreation he favors canoeing and ski-ing. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and resides at 176 Manor Avenue, Rockcliffe Park, Ottawa.


Marnoch, George Robert, President Board of Trade, Lethbridge, Alberta. Born in Aberdeen, Scotland, February 19, 1873, son of George R. and Barbara Marnoch. Educated at Robert Gordon’s College, Aberdeen. Engaged in the commercial side of mechanical engineering, Scotland, and in Ceylon, also, in connection with the growing and export of tea, rubber and tropical products, and in the supplying of the building and engineering requirements of tea and rubber estates, as well as the supplying of fertilizers for these crops, 1896-1910; came to Canada, 1910; President (honorary office) Lethbridge Board of Trade, 1914; re-elected 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918 and 1919; Member of Joint Committee of Commerce and Agriculture (The Committee of 25 business men and 25 leading farmers) of Western Canada; Vice-President, Western Canada Irrigation Association; vice-chairman (honorary office) Victory Loan Southern Alberta, 1917, 1918. Married Harriet Lund Macdonald (deceased), daughter of Alexander Macdonald, October 10, 1904; has one daughter. Club: Chinook. Independent in politics. Residence, Sherlock Building, Lethbridge, Alberta.


BRIG.-GEN. SIR JOHN M. GIBSON, K.C.M.G., M.A., LL.D., K.C.
Hamilton


Wright, William J., the late school principal (St. Mary’s, Ont.), gave his life for his country while serving in the great war as Lieutenant of the 19th Canadian Batt., C.E.F., in France. He enlisted with the 110th Perth Batt., in January, 1916, and was transferred to the 19th Canadian Battalion October, 1916. He was killed in action on August 18, 1917, while fighting against the Prussians in the battle of Hill 70 outside Lens, and is buried in the military cemetery at Fosse 10, a short distance from Bully-Grenay, France. He was born in Oxford County, Ont., the son of George and Emma Wright, of St. Mary’s, Ont., was educated at St. Mary’s Public School and the Collegiate Institute. Then he attended Toronto University, graduating in 1896 with the degree of B.A., and in 1897 was granted the degree of M.A.; was the winner of the Edward Blake Matriculation Scholarship and also won the Governor-General’s Gold Medal of the Toronto University in 1895. He was Principal of Niagara High School from 1904 to 1909 and from there went to Forest, Ont., becoming Principal of the High School of that town until 1913, when he became Principal of the Collegiate Institute of St. Mary’s, Ont., and at the time of his death was Principal-on-leave. Lieut. Wright was a frequent contributor to the local papers and the author of articles on Canadian literature, and the study of poetry in an American encyclopædia. He was married to Mary Edith, the daughter of Mr. David Robertson, of Fenelon Falls, and left three of a family. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church and an Independent in politics, with a strong leaning towards Liberalism; a member of the Niagara Historical Society and fraternally a Mason.


Ward, Lt.-Col. Henry Alfred, Judge of the United Counties of Northumberland and Durham, is the son of George Charles Ward and Harriet Amelia (Brent). His father was fifty-four years Registrar of the County of Durham, and of East Durham, when the County was divided into two ridings. He was born at Port Hope, Ont., on August 20, 1849, and educated in the local schools of his native town; called to the Bar in 1871, and created a K.C. in 1908, he successfully practised his profession in Port Hope for many years and was Mayor for a considerable period. Judge Ward is a grandson of Thomas Ward, who came from England as Secretary to Attorney-General White, in 1792, settled in Toronto, and then went to Port Hope, where he afterwards became judge of the district of Newcastle. The subject of this sketch was for a long period in the Volunteer Military Service of Canada, joining the Port Hope Rifle Company as a private in 1866; became Lieutenant in the 46th Regiment on its formation in 1867, and from 1902 to 1909 was Lieut.-Colonel of the same, and is now on the reserve of officers. Entered the House of Commons as member for East Durham in August, 1885, as successor to the late Lieut.-Colonel Arthur T. H. Williams, and represented that constituency until 1891; he was again elected in 1900. In 1904 he defeated the Hon. A. B. Aylesworth for the County of Durham, and retired from political life in 1908. In 1916 he was elevated to the Bench, a post for which his experience well qualified him. In referring to Lieut.-Colonel Ward the “Montreal Standard” said of him: “A genial gentleman, but with perhaps too fine a spirit to make a great success of the rough and tumble game of politics.” He is a member of the Masonic Order. In religion an Anglican, and a member of St. Mark’s Church of Port Hope. He has always taken an interest in amateur sports and was President of the Port Hope Baseball Club. Married July, 1895, Annie B., of Savannah, Ga., daughter of Major John C. Booth of the Confederate Army, and is the father of two children, Marjorie Lesley and Madeline Aylwin.


Garland, John L., is one of the most prominent business men of Ottawa and President of the firm of John M. Garland, Son & Co., Ltd., wholesale dry goods merchants, Queen and O’Connor Streets in that city. He was born at Ottawa on January 9, 1867, the son of John M. and Isabella (McKinnon) Garland. He was educated at Ottawa Collegiate Institute and by private tuition in England. In 1884 he began his business career as a clerk in the firm founded by his father and of which he is now the head. He became Senior Partner, December, 1906. Mr. Garland as a young man took a deep interest in military affairs and organized “F” Company of the Governor-General’s Foot Guards of Ottawa, in which he held the commission of Captain from 1896 to 1903. He is a member of the following clubs: Rideau, Ottawa Hunt and Royal Ottawa Golf. In religion he is a Presbyterian and in politics a Conservative. On January 18, 1888, he married Joanna, daughter of John Hancock, Ottawa, and has three sons and four daughters. He resides at 450 MacLaren Street, in the Canadian capital.


Pringle, Robert Abercrombie, K.C., one of the leaders of the Ottawa Bar, was born at Cornwall, Ont., December 15, 1855, the son of J. F. and Isabella (Fraser) Pringle. He was educated at the public and high schools of Cornwall, at Queen’s University, Kingston, and Osgoode Hall, Toronto. He was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1881 and practised in his native town from 1883 until 1911. In 1906 he was created King’s Counsel. In 1911 he removed to the capital and established his present practice, and is head of the firm of Pringle, Thompson, Burgess and Coté, Barristers and Solicitors, Quebec Bank Building, 122 Wellington Street, Ottawa. He has been entrusted by the Federal Government with several important commissions, notably that to inquire into news print prices and the paper industry generally in 1918. Mr. Pringle has also been a prominent figure in the politics of Eastern Ontario and is a lifelong Conservative. As candidate for that party he was elected to the House of Commons for the riding of Stormont in 1900 and proved one of the most useful members of the then Opposition. He was re-elected in 1904, but defeated at the general elections of 1908. In 1911 he was again tendered the party nomination by his own supporters, but having decided to enter into practice in Ottawa, declined. As a member of the House his courteous bearing and solid attainments made him generally liked by colleagues of all shades of opinion. He is an Anglican in religion. His chief recreation is motor boating. He belongs to the Masonic Order and is a member of the following clubs: Rideau, Royal Ottawa Golf and Albany (Toronto). In 1884 he married Ada, daughter of I. H. Vanarsdale, and has two sons. He resides at 232 Daly Avenue, Ottawa.


Scott, William Duncan, Superintendent of Immigration for the Government of Canada, is one of the best known citizens of this country both at home and in other lands. He was born at Dundas, Ont., on October 7, 1861, the son of James and Margaret (McEwen) Scott. He was educated at Dundas High School and subsequently entered a law office with a view to qualifying himself for the legal profession. He did not, however, complete his studies, for the virgin country of Manitoba, which was just then being opened up to the world, called him, as in the case of many another young man, from Eastern Canada. He went West in 1881 at the age of twenty and entered the service of the Canadian Pacific Railway, then in course of construction, and later was employed by the Manitoba Government. In 1887 he was appointed Immigration Agent for that government with offices at Winnipeg. In 1895 he removed to the city of Toronto and continued to act as Immigration Agent for Manitoba in that city, incidentally helping to populate the prairie province with many desirable settlers. His general knowledge of the resources of Canada and his qualities of good-fellowship led to his appointment as Canadian Commissioner at the Paris Exposition of 1899; and from thence until 1903 he acted in a similar capacity at other International exhibitions, at which the Government of Canada was represented by displays and bureaus of information. In the latter year he was appointed Superintendent of the Immigration Branch of the Department of the Interior and removed to Ottawa where he has ever since resided. The period of Mr. Scott’s appointment was that in which immigration to the Canadian North-West not only from Europe but from the United States was at its zenith and he was very active in assisting to build up population in the new provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan. In 1911 the post of Chief Controller of Chinese Immigration under treaties newly effected with the Government of China was added to his duties, and he is now the most important factor in all branches of immigration in this country, with a large staff under his control. In addition to his official labors he pursues the calling of a practical farmer. He is a Presbyterian in religion and his recreation is indicated by the fact that he is a member of the Royal Ottawa Golf and Laurentian Clubs. He is also a member of the A.F. & A.M.


Askwith, John E., is Ottawa’s Police Magistrate, to which position he was appointed by the Ontario Government, April 23, 1918. Mr. Askwith was born in Ottawa and, practically, Ottawa has remained his home to this day. For forty years Mr. Askwith was in business as a contractor, both on structural and railway work and the Government Bureau, the Halifax Armory, and many other public buildings bear testimony to his zeal. He has been of considerable benefit and has rendered good services to the city of Ottawa in more ways than one. For eleven years he sat in the City Council as representative for Rideau Ward. He served as Chairman of the Parks Commission and had much to do in the acquisition of Rockliffe Park. In 1901 the Conservatives of Russell County selected him as their candidate for the House of Commons and, while he met with defeat, he gave his opponent a sharp contest. For three years he was President of the Association for the Blind and was and is a hard worker in the interest of the Protestant Old Men’s Home. His contributions to the various Ottawa Public Institutions are numerous and his attentions to them so constant and earnest that he is rightfully called an unmistakeable philanthropist. Following in his father’s footsteps as an enthusiast for Volunteer Military Service, Mr. Askwith served for seven years in the Ottawa Field Battery, and on two occasions marched to the front in defence of home and country. Even now he walks with the military stride. Mr. Askwith was appointed Deputy Magistrate in 1907, and since 1916 up to the time when he received his promotion in March, 1918, had to administer the law alone as during the intervening time Magistrate O’Keefe was too ill to attend Court, and no Deputy was appointed. In addition, as Deputy Magistrate, Mr. Askwith presided over the Juvenile Court, and is doing so even now, and it is owing to his sound judgment and fatherly consideration for erring youngsters that a vast improvement has taken place in the conduct of the Juveniles in the city. In the Police Court as well as in the Juvenile Court he has been stern and wise in his decisions. He metes out law and justice with common sense and discretion and never allows technicalities or quibbles to interfere with his disposal of cases, and he holds the explicit confidence of the public. Magistrate John E. Askwith was born of English parents, in 1841, and was educated in the Little Red School House in Ottawa. On September 26, 1865, he married Annie, daughter of the late John Fotheringham, and has two sons, William R. and John F., who is a Lieutenant in service in France; he is 36 years old and in 1915 enlisted with a company from McGill University to reinforce the Princess Pats, but was transferred to a Western Battalion. He went through several important engagements in which the Canadian Forces took part, including Vimy Ridge; and two daughters Margaret F., and Bessie, who is married to O. E. Culbert, Barrister, Calgary. In religion Mr. Askwith is a Protestant, and in politics a Conservative. He resides at 24 Alexander Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.


Nickle, William Folger, K.C., B.A. (Kingston, Ont.), was born at Kingston, Dec. 31, 1869, son of William Nickle (Scotch), and Ellen Mary Folger (American). Educated at private schools, Kingston Collegiate Institute, Queen’s University and Osgoode Hall; graduated from Queen’s with degree of B.A. in 1892; called to the Bar, Osgoode Hall, 1895; member of legal firm of Nickle, Farrell & Day, Kingston. He was twice married: first, September 11, 1895, to Agnes Mary, daughter of Joseph McAdam, St. Thomas; second, June 6, 1911, to Katharine Louise, daughter of Rev. D. D. Gordon, Principal of Queen’s University. Five children, William McAdam 1897, Douglas Joseph 1899, Evelyn Marion 1902, Alexander Gordon 1916, and Catherine Maclennan Nickle 1918. He is a member of the following clubs: Kingston, Country, Yacht, Frontenac, The Rideau, Ottawa and the Toronto Club; is also a Mason, Oddfellow and a member of the Sons of Scotland. Mr. Nickle takes an active interest in all amateur sports. He is trustee of Queen’s University, Governor of Kingston Hospital; elected to the Kingston School Board in 1895, City Council in 1896, and again in 1897, for three years. He was member of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario for Kingston from 1908 to 1911, when he resigned seat to contest same constituency at the general election for the House of Commons, and was elected as the Liberal-Conservative candidate, and re-elected at the general elections in December, 1917. He is a Presbyterian in religion. The member for Kingston has played a very active part in the city of his birth and has been prominently identified with the municipal, educational and social life, and has carved a secure place in the confidence and respect of his fellow-citizens. He has greatly distinguished himself in public life, for which he has displayed much talent, and his sterling integrity is recognized by his fellow-members in the House of Commons. Mr. Nickle is a forceful speaker, with a convincing style and a pleasing and magnetic personality. His career in the House of Commons has been marked by a spirit of independence and adherence to conviction. In 1913 he took issue with the Government on the granting of certain additional aid to the Canadian Northern Railway; and maintained that if the people had to build the railroads they should own and operate them. His position at that time has since been justified overwhelmingly by public sentiment and the general course of events. In April of 1918 Mr. Nickle once more achieved great prominence as the effective voice of the Canadian people in connection with the titles controversy. He introduced a motion in the House of Commons requesting that representations be made to the Imperial Government that hereafter no hereditary titles should be granted in Canada. In a speech replete with convincing historical detail on the obsolete nature of hereditary honors he also stated his conviction that it would be better if no further titular distinctions of any kind were granted, except those of an officiary character. He felt, however, that public sentiment on the question was not sufficiently ripe to permit him to jeopardize his resolution on the subject of hereditary honors, by making it as wide as his personal views would indicate. Subsequently Mr. R. L. Richardson, M.P. for Richmond, Manitoba, moved a resolution demanding that no titular honors of any kind be granted thereafter. This was defeated on the Prime Minister declaring it to be a want-of-confidence motion. On this motion Mr. Nickle was placed in the peculiar position of having to abandon the Government or his personal convictions, but decided to stick by conviction. Another broad principle that was discussed as a result of Mr. Nickle’s original motion was whether the Government of Canada should not be consulted before titular distinctions were conferred by the Crown on Canadians resident in this country. The Prime Minister, Sir Robert Borden, announced that he had accepted this principle, except in connection with military honors, so that Mr. Nickle may be regarded as having materially aided in checking an abuse which was becoming a cause of public unrest, by precipitating discussion of the matter.


Tory, John A. (Toronto), one of the leading life insurance men of Canada, was born at Guysboro’, N.S., November 17, 1869, the son of Robert K. and Anora (Ferguson) Tory. He was educated at the public school of his native town, at the Guysboro’ Academy and Halifax Business College. He commenced his business career at the age of eighteen as a clerk in the establishment of D. G. Kerm, Antigonish, N.S., where he remained from 1887 to 1890. In the latter year he joined the staff of A. N. Whiten & Sons, Canso, N.S., becoming Manager of the business in 1892. His entry into the insurance field was made in 1895 when he became Inspector of the Sun Life Insurance Company of Canada for West Indies and part of South America. In 1897 he was transferred to Detroit and became manager of the company for the State of Michigan where he remained until 1908, when he was transferred to the management of the Toronto office of the Company. He has been instrumental in widely extending the power and influence of the Sun Life in Canada. Mr. Tory is keenly interested in all movements for social betterment, and particularly in building up a clean and healthy manhood in this country. He is a Director of the Y.M.C.A. and also a member of the Social Service Commission. He is a member of the following clubs in his adopted city: National, Royal Canadian Yacht, Queen City, Canadian, and Empire. His recreations are tennis and motoring, and in politics he is a Liberal. He is a Methodist and on December 28, 1898, married Abbie G., daughter of Dr. Buckley, Guysboro’, N.S., by whom he has two sons. Mr. and Mrs. Tory reside at 17 Elm Ave., Rosedale, Toronto, and have a summer home at Guysboro’, N.S.


Chisholm, William Craig, K.C. (Westmount, Quebec), Barrister-at-law, was born at Port Hope on August 20, 1864, his parents being His Honor Judge Chisholm, of Kitchener, and Mary Craig Chisholm. Educated at Port Hope High School and Toronto University, from which latter institution he graduated in 1885 with the degree of B.A., and first-class honors in Classics. Was created a K.C. in 1908. Mr. Chisholm was Assistant City Solicitor of the city of Toronto from 1891 to 1895, when he became City Solicitor, and was in private practice in Toronto from 1909 to 1913, in which latter year he was appointed General Solicitor for the Grand Trunk Railway System. He was a member of the Executive of the Ontario Municipal Association from 1907 to 1909. On June 30, 1894, he married Gertrude Foster, daughter of the late James Foster, of Guelph, and is the father of the following children: Capt. J. F. Chisholm, Royal Air Force, D.S.C., D.F.C. (killed in action near Arras Sept. 7, 1918); Duncan Gavin, Mary, Helen and Harry. In religion Mr. Chisholm is a Presbyterian, and a Conservative in politics. He is a member of the following clubs: University, Thistle Curling Club, Kanawaki Golf Club, Montreal; University Granite, Toronto; and Rideau, Ottawa. His recreations are golf, curling and lawn bowling.


Tetreault, Joseph Sylvini (Sherbrooke, Que.), Notary Public, was born at Ste. Madeleine, County of St. Hyacinthe, Quebec, Feb. 9, 1877, the son of Napoleon and Ombeline (Durocher) Tetreault. He was educated at St. Hyacinthe Seminary and Laval University and took up practice as a notary in Sherbrooke, in 1900. Ever since he has been a prominent figure in the social and municipal life of that city. He has represented the West Ward in the City Council since 1914 and is very prominent in many French-Canadian organizations, taking a strong interest in sports and in all measures to promote mutual goodwill among the French and English people. He is Grand President of L’Union St. Joseph du Canada, with head office at Ottawa, a mutual and benevolent society which has built up a membership of 28,000 since 1908 and of which he was a director before his promotion to the presidency. He is also a member of the Knights of Columbus, of l’Alliance Nationale, and L’Union St. Joseph de Sherbrooke, and Secretary of the Chambre de Commerce Canadienne Française du District de St. François. He is Major of the 54th Carabineers of Sherbrooke, a Roman Catholic and an Independent in politics. On Sept. 4, 1906, he married Lena, daughter of S. J. and Marie (Simard) Caron, by whom he has had three children, Rejane, Marielle and Adrienne.


Cody, Hon. Henry John, B.A., M.A., D.D., LL.D., Rector of St. Paul’s Anglican Church, Toronto, and Minister of Education of the Province of Ontario, was born at Embro, Ontario, on December 6, 1868, his parents being E. J. Cody and Margaret L. (Torrance). Educated at Galt Collegiate Institute and Toronto University, where he had a most distinguished career, winning the gold medal in classics, first-class honors in Mental and Moral Philosophy and Civil Polity, and Wyld Prizeman in English Essay. After graduation, was Classical Master of Ridley College, at St. Catharines, then Professor of Church History and Systematic Theology, and also lecturer in Latin and examiner in classics, Toronto University. Is Rector of St. Paul’s Church, Toronto, and Archdeacon of York, and Canon of St. Alban’s Cathedral. Was elected Bishop of Nova Scotia, but declined the preferment in 1904. Was a member of the Royal Commission on the reorganization of The University of Toronto, 1905-6, and a member of The Ontario Commission on Unemployment, 1914-15. One of the founders of Havergal Ladies’ College, Toronto. In May, 1918, on the resignation of the Hon. Dr. R. A. Pyne as Minister of Education of Ontario, Dr. Cody was invited by Premier Hearst to assume the duties of that most important portfolio and, on May 23, he was sworn in as Minister of Education of the Province and at once took up his duties, and was subsequently nominated for the riding of North East Toronto. His election was opposed by Sergt. William Varley, a popular soldier, who had distinguished himself overseas on active service. Dr. Cody was returned by a very large majority. The Minister of Education has special gifts for the office he has been called upon to fill. His wide learning and eminence as a scholar, his tireless energy and organizing ability, caused his selection to be acceptable by all classes and few Canadians occupy a more secure place in the confidence, respect and esteem of their fellows. Splendidly informed in all great National questions and a brilliant orator, his services have been in constant demand. Shortly after assuming the duties of his present position, the Minister, at the request of the Premier, made a trip overseas and visited the soldiers in the firing line for the express purpose of familiarizing himself with the conditions existing at the front, with a view to make his Department more efficient in the reconstruction period after the war. The Minister also conferred with leading educationalists in England and acquired a vast amount of useful and necessary information. Hon. Dr. Cody holds the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel in the Canadian Militia, is Senior Chaplain of the Queen’s Own Rifles, and is recognized as one of the outstanding figures in the Canadian public life. In 1894 he married Florence L., daughter of the late H. E. Clarke, M.P.P., and has one son, Henry Maurice Cody, Captain in C.A.M.C.


Roadhouse, William Albert, Deputy Minister of Agriculture for the Province of Ontario, was born at Malton, Peel County, Ontario, July 25, 1880, the son of Neriah and Elizabeth Roadhouse. He was educated at the Malton and Brampton public schools and on leaving school became—what so many men afterwards famous in many fields of activity have been—“A printer’s devil” in the office of the Brampton “Conservator,” where he spent six years under Samuel Charters, now member of the House of Commons for Peel. While working in the printing department he also wrote local items and on leaving the “Conservator,” took up newspaper work, joining the staff of the “Evening Telegram” in 1902. While with that paper he represented it in the Legislative Press Gallery. Subsequently he spent a year in London, England, as correspondent of the Canadian Associated Press, “covering” the general election in Britain in 1905-6 for the Canadian papers. On his return to Canada he rejoined the “Evening Telegram” staff and continued as a member of it till June 1, 1909, when he was appointed Secretary to the Minister and Department of Agriculture. During the same year he served as Secretary to the Ontario Government Milk Commission. On the retirement of the late C. C. James, LL.D., from the position of Deputy Minister, March 1, 1912, Mr. Roadhouse was promoted to his present position—being probably the youngest man ever appointed a Deputy Minister in the Province of Ontario. He has made many addresses and contributed numerous articles to the press on the subjects with which he is specially familiar. He married, July 3, 1912, Lillian Maud Wyndow, daughter of Wm. Wyndow, Toronto. He is a Protestant and a member of the A.F. & A.M. In his dealings with the public, Mr. Roadhouse is extremely courteous while in the conduct of his department, his guiding idea seems to be clear cut thinking and practical action. His address is Parliament Bldgs., Toronto.


Poulin, Stanislas, K.C., Advocate of St. John’s, Quebec, is a son of N. Poulin, farmer, and Marie Surpremant, his wife. He was born at Stottsville, Que., on August 2, 1881, and was educated at Montreal College, L’Assomption College and Laval University. From the latter institution he graduated in 1905 with the degrees of B.A. and LL.L. He entered the practice of law in St. John’s shortly after his admission to the Bar, and has been solicitor for that city since 1913. In 1916 he was appointed King’s Counsel on the recommendation of the Prime Minister of Quebec, Sir Lomer Gouin. He has distinguished gifts as a public speaker and is a liberal in politics. As a member of that party he was induced to run for the Legislature in 1913, but was defeated by a fellow Liberal. In religion he is a Roman Catholic, and was married on April 23, 1907, to Corinne, daughter of Hon. Justice A. N. Charland, Judge of the Superior Court, St. John’s, Quebec. He has two children, Claire, born June 24, 1909, and Simone, Oct. 26, 1912.


Kent, Controller Joseph, is the Accountant, etc., in the Ottawa River Works Office, a branch of the Department of Public Works of Canada. He has held that position for many years and is considered by those in authority a reliable and painstaking official. He is a Justice of the Peace for the County of Carleton, and is Chairman of the Grounds and Buildings Committee of the Central Canada Exhibition Association. During the years 1911-1912 he represented, as Alderman, Central Ward, in the Ottawa City Council, and was elected for the years 1913, 1914, 1916, 1917, 1918 and 1919, as one of the four Controllers in charge of Civic Affairs. For years previous to his aspiring to civic honors he was a conspicuous figure in all kinds of sports and was active and skilled in the games of lacrosse, football, etc. As an Alderman he was one of the men that never faltered in his duty and his value to the city may well be judged by the number of years he has been elected as Controller. Controller Kent is the son of the late William and Martha (Wallace) Kent. He was born in Quebec City on January 28, 1864, and was educated in the Public and High Schools. Mr. Kent, in 1885, married Nellie Edna Whitney, daughter of Phillip P. Whitney, of Ottawa, Ontario. He is a member of the Rideau Curling Club and the Canadian Club, and of the C.O.F., A.O.U.W., societies, and Past Master of Civil Service Lodge, number 148, A.F. & A.M. His residence is 184 Second Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario.


Baillie, Sir Frank, K.B.E. (Toronto), one of the most eminent of the younger generation of Canadian business men, and who rendered very important service in the matter of munition production during the great war, was born at Toronto on August 19, 1875. He is the son of John and Marian (Wilton) Baillie, and was educated in his native city. He commenced his business career as a clerk in the offices of the Central Canada Loan and Savings Company, Toronto, and later became private secretary to the eminent capitalist, the late Senator George A. Cox, in which capacity he obtained a very close insight into modern methods of business organization. In 1896 he was appointed accountant of the Central Canada Loan and Savings Company, and was successively promoted to Secretary (1898) and Assistant Manager (1901) of the same corporation. In 1902 he became General Manager of the newly incorporated Metropolitan Bank, being probably the youngest man ever placed in full managerial control of a chartered bank in the history of this country. In 1903 he founded the firm of Baillie, Wood & Croft, stock brokers, and members of the Toronto Stock Exchange. His position as an industrial leader began in 1910 with the organization of the Burlington Steel Company of Hamilton, Ont., of which he is still President. In 1912 he organized the Bankers Bond Company, Limited, Toronto, and in the same year the Dominion Steel Foundry Company of Hamilton, Ont. Shortly after the commencement of the European War in 1914 he organized the Canadian Cartridge Co., Ltd., of Hamilton, of which he is President, to undertake the much needed work of manufacturing cartridge cases for the British Government. He personally equipped himself with knowledge of the technical work of munition making and so successful did he prove as an industrial organizer that he was able within two years to return to the British Government over $750,000 profits earned from war contracts, as a patriotic gift. Subsequently the Canadian Cartridge Company engaged in the manufacture of anti-aircraft cases for the United States Government on a large scale. In December, 1916, Sir Frank was appointed Director of Aviation for Canada, and in the same month acting for the British Government, organized and became President of Canadian Aeroplanes, Limited, which corporation manufactured aeroplanes for the Royal Air Force in Canada and flying boats for the American Government. On January 9, 1918, shortly after the institution by His Majesty of the Order of the British Empire, to honor those who had rendered distinguished service in the prosecution of the war, the subject of this sketch was created a Knight Commander of that Order. Sir Frank is essentially an outdoor man and his recreations include golf, motoring, curling and yachting. He is a member of the following clubs: National, Toronto, Albany, Lambton Golf and Country, Mississauga Golf and Royal Canadian Yacht Club, Toronto; Victoria Club, Hamilton, and Hamilton Golf, Hamilton. In politics he is independent and in religion an Anglican. On June 8, 1900, he married Edith Julia, daughter of the late Aubrey White, C.M.G., for many years Deputy Minister of Lands and Mines for Ontario. He has three sons, Aubrey Wilton, born July 6, 1908, Frank Wilton, born November 4, 1913, and James Wilton, born December 1, 1918; and two daughters, Marion Wilton, born April 23, 1901, and Edith Wilton, born October 1, 1904. He resides at 146 Crescent Road, Toronto.


McCuaig, Clarence James (Montreal, P.Q.), Stockbroker. Born in Quebec City September 1, 1855, educated at Ontario College, Picton. Married Emma Margaret, daughter of the late J. C. Rykert, Q.C., St. Catharines, Ont., and has three sons: Lieut.-Col. D. Rykert McCuaig, D.S.O., Brig.-General G. Eric McCuaig, C.M.G., D.S.O., and Major Clarence N. McCuaig. Mr. McCuaig is Honorary Colonel of the 53rd Regiment. In 1896 he bought a seat in the Montreal Stock Exchange, the firm later becoming McCuaig Bros. & Co., in which the three sons are partners. He organized the Sherbrooke Railway & Power Company and the Southern Canada Power Company, of both of which he was President, but retired from these positions to devote himself to the business of the firm during the absence of his three sons overseas. He is a director of the Ottawa Light, Heat & Power Co., and is a member of St. James, Canada, Montreal, Hunt, Forest & Stream, Royal St. Lawrence, and Royal Montreal Golf Clubs in Montreal, and of the Rideau Club, Ottawa. He is a Protestant in religion and a Conservative in politics.


Tessier, Auguste Maurice, Barrister, Rimouski. Born 20th of July, 1879, at Rimouski, Que. Son of the Honorable Judge Auguste Tessier of the Superior Court, and his wife, Corrine Gauvreau, both French-Canadians. His grandfather was the Honorable U. J. Tessier, Judge of the Court of King’s Bench, Quebec. Mr. Tessier was educated at Quebec Seminary and Laval University, receiving degrees, B.A. (1898), LL.M. with very great distinction (1901). Married, February 7, 1907, to Yvonne, daughter of Sir Alexandre Lacoste, former Chief Justice Court of King’s Bench, Montreal. He is a director of Rimouski Land Co., and the Canada and Gulf Terminal Railway Co., Rimouski, and Cie Fonderie de Mont Joli. Admitted to the bar July, 1907, having studied in the office of Sir Charles Fitzpatrick, Quebec; practised his profession first at Richmond, with Hon. P. S. G. Mackenzie, and at Rimouski since 1905; senior member of the law firm of Tessier & Cote. Was Crown Prosecutor for the District of Rimouski, 1909-1913. Created K.C. in 1912. Is Mayor of the parish of Rimouski, Warden of the County of Rimouski, and President of the Agricultural Society of the County of Rimouski and has been Warden of the County. First elected to the legislature at the general elections, 1912, as a Liberal for the riding of Rimouski and still continues to represent the County, being re-elected in May, 1916. A Roman Catholic in religion, he is the father of two children, Yves and Maurice. He is a member of the following clubs: Montreal Reform, Quebec Garrison, Snellier Fish and Game Club, Kidgewick Game Club.


Cane, James Gilbert, 97 Delaware Ave., Toronto, and one of the best known business men of that city, was born at Weston, Ont., the son of Martin and Nancy (Morrison) Cane. He was educated at Weston Grammar School, and as a youth had a thorough business training. Subsequently he engaged in the wholesale lumber business on his own account and built up one of the most extensive connections in Toronto. As a young man he took an active interest in military matters and enlisted in the Royal Grenadiers. As a member of that famous regiment he served in the North-West Rebellion of 1885. He was present at the actions of Fish Creek and Batoche, and was awarded the medal for that campaign. Subsequently on the formation of the 48th Highlanders of Toronto he became an active member of that battalion. Mr. Cane is a Liberal in politics, though he has never been a violent partizan. At the legislative by-election for North-West Toronto in 1916 when Hon. W. D. McPherson sought re-election, on his elevation to the post of Provincial Secretary, Mr. Cane, on account of his universal popularity was induced to become a sacrifice candidate in order that the party organization might be kept alive. The contest that ensued was one of the cleanest and most courteous ever conducted in Canada, the two candidates being on terms of personal friendship; and Mr. Cane polled a vote that surprised many purely on his personal qualities. Mr. Cane is a Protestant in religion and a member of the Masonic Order. He married Margaret B., daughter of the late Andrew Henderson of Toronto, and has ten children, James M., Donald A., William, Charles, Gordon G., Nellie, Margaret, Annie, Nora and Lillian. Three of his sons, James, William and Charles, saw service with the Canadian army overseas in the great war and won honorable records.


Wilkes, Alfred John, LL.B. K.C., (Brantford, Ont.) is a distinguished member of the Ontario bar, and prominent in the commercial and social activities of his native City, where he was born on December 15, 1847. He is the son of the late Lieut.-Colonel James Wilkes, formerly City Treasurer of Brantford. His father was a native of Birmingham, England, who came to Canada in 1821, and carried on a mercantile business in the City of Toronto until 1823, (muddy Little York then had a population of 800 and only three brick houses), when he removed to the site of the present City of Brantford, continued his business as a general merchant, and was for twenty-six years City Treasurer. His mother, Eliza (Elliot) Wilkes, was a Canadian by birth. Educated at the Public and High Schools of Brantford until the age of sixteen, the subject of this sketch matriculated at Osgoode Hall, at the age of sixteen, and commenced the study of law, being articled to Hon. S. H. Blake, of the then legal firm of Blake, Kerr, and Wells, Toronto, and was called to the bar in 1869, heading the list, at the early age of twenty-one. Subsequently the degree of LL.B. was conferred on him by Toronto University on passing the usual examinations. Returning to Brantford on being admitted to the bar, he entered into practice with the late Daniel Brooke, for three years. Then, after practising one year alone, he formed a partnership with Hon. Arthur Sturgis Hardy, late Premier of Ontario, which continued from 1873 to 1898. In 1890 Mr. Wilkes was created a Queen’s Counsel by the Ontario Government, a distinction richly merited. In 1894 he became Acting County Crown Attorney, and five years afterwards was appointed to that office, and on the 3rd of January, 1885, was gazetted Deputy Judge of Brant County, acting for the late Judge Jones, once for three months and again for six months. Mr. Wilkes enjoys an enviable distinction in the legal profession and has long had a large and successful practice; was City Solicitor, in partnership with Hon. A. S. Hardy, and later also with Lt.-Col. Jones and the present Judge Alex. D. Hardy of Brant County from 1873, and only recently resigned on account of advancing years; was also solicitor for Waterous Engine Works Company and for late Bank of B.N.A., and was and now is solicitor for the Bank of Montreal, with which that bank is amalgamated, and many other corporations doing business in the City of Brantford. Always taking a deep interest in educational matters, Mr. Wilkes was for many years a member of the School Board of the City of Brantford, and for four years Chairman. He has had an extended military career, was an ensign in the Reserve Militia in his early years, and was also for many years a Captain in the 38th Dufferin Rifles. He assisted in forming the 25th Brant Dragoons, of which he was gazetted Lieut.-Col., retiring retaining the rank of Lieut.-Col. Mr. Wilkes is a Director of the Royal Loan and Savings Company, and Vice-President of the Manufacturers Life Assurance Company, and interested in many other large financial institutions. He is a Fellow of the Royal Canadian Institute, a Mason, being Past Master of Doric Lodge, and has long been prominently identified with the Canadian Order of Foresters, having been High Court Solicitor. From 1897 to 1901 he was Bencher of the Law Society of Upper Canada. A member of the Church of England, and for several years a Churchwarden. Before his acceptance of the office of County Crown Attorney he was a Liberal in politics. He is a member of the Brantford Club, University Club, Military Institute, and the Empire Club, Toronto. Married, June 22, 1887, to Esther Frances, daughter of Francis H. Haycock, late Collector of Customs at Paris, Ontario, and his family comprise Marjorie H. (wife of Lieut.-Col. F. Logie Armstrong, O.B.E.), Captain A. Burton Wilkes, overseas with the Canadian Army Medical Corps, Captain F. Hilton Wilkes, with Royal Canadian Dragoons in France, Captain J. F. Ransom Wilkes, late of Military Headquarters Staff, Toronto, now of Can. Siberian Expeditionary Force, Vladivostok, Russia, and Miss E. Gwendolyn Wilkes.


Jno. E. Askwith, OTTAWA
Thomas Birkett, OTTAWA


Workman, Mark (Montreal, Que.), was born in Buffalo, N.Y., on August 4, 1864, the son of Isaac and Sarah (Rosenthal) Workman. He received his education in the public schools, and came to Montreal with his father in 1876, joining with him in the clothing business. The lad became the head of the business in 1880, at the remarkably youthful age of sixteen years. With unusual business instinct and untiring industry, the young Workman piloted his enterprise along the course of steady growth until, in 1906, the company of which he remained head was incorporated, and expanded until its travellers covered the whole of Canada, from Atlantic to Pacific. For nearly twenty years now (1917) the Mark Workman Company has been contractors for the British and Canadian Governments for military clothing, and has been responsible for many enormous contracts during the present war. Beyond the confines of his own business, Mr. Workman also found scope for his enterprise and ability. He interested himself extensively in Canadian industry, notably the Dominion Steel Corporation, of which he is one of the largest shareholders and was elected President in 1916. Endowed with foresight and courage, attributes which helped to raise him to his enviable position in the business world, he believed that the formation of the Dominion Iron and Steel Company, with its adjunct, the Dominion Coal Company, would not only open the way for a gigantic steel enterprise in Canada which would take care of the big domestic business in the Dominion, but also extend to other parts of the Empire and to foreign countries. He believed in the future of the undertaking, invested money in it, fought it successfully through the dark days of its early experience, and won out. In 1911 he became a director of the Corporation, and his active interest in the management resulted in his being made chairman of the finance and selling committees of the directorate. Mr. Workman is also the Vice-President of the Federal Parquetry Company, of Lexington, Ky.; vice-president of the Jacobs Asbestos Company, Ltd., of Thetford Mines, Que., and is interested in the B. Gardner Company, of Montreal. While the success that came to Mr. Workman brought him great wealth and influence, his business activities did not prevent a generous and personal interest in many charitable works, his yearly benefactions to worthy causes and individuals being estimated at fifty to sixty thousand dollars. He is a life Governor of the Montreal General Hospital and other hospitals and charitable institutions, to the funds of which he is a liberal contributor. He has given most generously to the Patriotic Fund and to the various regimental funds, and was a subscriber to the extent of $200,000 to the Canadian War Loan. Mr. Workman is also prominent in philanthropic work among the Jewish population of Canada and is president and actual upbuilder of the Mount Sinai Sanatorium for fighting the white plague. A sample of his deep interest in the race was his remarkable response to the appeal of Mr. Leopold Rothschild since the outbreak of the war on behalf of Jewish sufferers in Russia. Mr. Workman forwarded an immediate cash contribution of $5,000, with an appended offer to supplement that gift by the subscription of $1,000 per month. Mr. Workman married, when twenty years of age, Miss Rachel Lewis, of Syracuse, N.Y., on February 18, 1886. He has one son, Edward, a Lieut. in the Canadian overseas army, and four daughters, Mrs. Nathan Gordon, of Montreal; Mrs. Harry Rosenthal, of Ottawa, and the Misses Nina and Daisy Workman. He is a member of the Masonic and the Royal Guardians.


Wrong, Professor George McKinnon, M.A. (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Gravesend, County of Elgin, Ontario, June 25, 1860, is a son of Gilbert Wrong, of Aylmer, Ont., and Christina McKinnon. Educated at the University of Toronto, from which he graduated with the degree of B.A., 1883; M.A., 1896; also Wycliffe College, Oxford University; took Orders in the Church of England, 1883, but has since been engaged continually in Academic work; succeeded in 1894 the late Sir Daniel Wilson, as Professor of History in the University of Toronto. Was a lecturer on History and Apologetics and Dean of Wycliffe, 1883 to 1892. Received the degree of F.R.C.S., 1908. Appointed a member of the Canadian Historical Manuscript Committee, 1887. Is a Senator of Toronto University, and is the author of several historical works, among which may be mentioned “The British Nation, a History” (1903), “The Earl of Elgin” (1905), “The Review of Historical Publications,” “The Crusade of 1883.” Appointed by the Canadian Institute a member of the Fleming Electoral Reform Committee. Has been a Director of Havergal Ladies’ College, Ridley College and the Working Boys’ Home. Is a member of the Royal Historical Society, Secretary Champlain Society. In 1886 married Sophia Hume Blake, daughter of the Hon. Edward Blake, K.C., M.P., and is the father of the following children: Margaret Christian, born 1887, Edward Murray (1889), Harold Verschoyle (1891), Humphrey Hume (1894), Agnes Honoria (1903). Professor Wrong is a member of the York Club, Toronto; The Golf Club and Savile Club, London, England, and is recognized as being one of the foremost scholars of the present day.


Arnold, Wm. McCullough, General Manager of the Ottawa Car Manufacturing Company, was born at Ottawa, October 26, 1879, and is the son of William and Georgiana (Eaton) Arnold. He was educated at Model and Public Schools, Ottawa. At the age of sixteen (in 1895) he commenced his business life by joining the firm of H. N. Bate & Sons, wholesale grocers, as clerk, where he remained for five years. In 1900 he was appointed accountant in the firm of T. Lindsay & Co., at that time extensive retail dry goods merchants, Wellington Street, Ottawa, and remained with the firm for two years. In 1902 he was appointed by the then Minister of Customs, Hon. William Patterson, appraiser in the Customs Dept., where he remained until 1911. In 1912 he became Purchasing Agent for the Ottawa Car Manufacturing Company, and a year later was promoted to the position of Assistant General Manager. In the early part of January, 1918, Mr. Arnold became General Manager of the Company. Aside from the immense business carried on by the Ottawa Car Mfg. Co. in the manufacture of cars of all descriptions—wagons, street and railway cars, etc.—under Mr. Arnold’s management the company have erected, facing on Albert Street, and running back to Slater Street, the largest and best equipped and, architecturally, the handsomest garage to be found in the Dominion of Canada. It covers a floor space of 60,000 square feet and holds 300 automobiles. On December 5, 1900, Mr. Arnold married Pearl Gladys Ritchie, daughter of William D. Ritchie, Rockcliffe, Ont. He has two sons, William Russell and Lewis Arthur, and one daughter, Dorothy. He is a prominent member in the A.F. & A.M. and the I.O.O.F. Societies, a member of the Canadian Car Manufacturers Association, and of the Connaught Park Jockey, the Laurentian and the Canadian Clubs. Mr. Arnold is a Presbyterian in religion, and a Liberal in politics. His recreations are hockey, lacrosse, bowling and automobiling. He resides at 149 First Ave.


Wilson, James Lockie (Toronto, Ont.), is of Scottish ancestry, the third son of Robert Wilson and Agnes Logie, was born at Alexandria, Ont., November 12, 1856, and educated at the Public and High Schools of Glengarry. Is at present Superintendent of Agricultural and Horticultural Societies of Ontario, and Managing Director of the Ontario Vegetable Growers’ Association. Secretary of Fairs and Exhibitions Association; Secretary and Managing Director Ontario Ploughmen’s Association, and Secretary Ontario Horticultural Association; was President of the Glengarry St. Andrew’s Society; President of the Agricultural Society; President of the Farmers’ Institute; President Patrons of Industry of Canada; President Farmers’ Association of Canada; President Sons of Scotland Athletic Association, Toronto; President Burns Literary Society; Grand Master Ancient Order United Workmen; Grand Chieftain Sons of Scotland; Director Toronto Playgrounds Association; Director Vacant Lots Garden Association; Vice-President American Civic Association, Washington; was first President of Ontario Civil Service Association; Farmers’ Candidate for Glengarry, House of Commons, 1896, his opponent being Colonel R. R. McLennan. The most successful breeder of pure-bred cattle (Ayrshires, Shropshires and Berkshires) in Eastern Ontario, and a large prize winner at all the leading exhibitions in Canada; the author of various official reports. The great success of the Fairs and Exhibitions throughout the Province held under the auspices of the various Agricultural Societies are in a large measure due to the untiring efforts of Superintendent Wilson. The subject of this sketch was married to Mary, daughter of late Andrew Hodge, of Cornwall, Ont., and is the father of six: Winnifred May (deceased), Jennie, Margaret, Georgina, John Ruthven, winner of Military Cross 1918, and Marion. He is a member of the following Clubs and Societies: Empire Club, Toronto, and the Canada Lawn Bowling Club, Burns Literary Society, and Ancient Order of United Workmen, and Sons of Scotland. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and a supporter of the Conservative Party.


Camaraire, Alfred Frederick (St. John’s, Que.), is a son of Joseph Camaraire, Superintendent of M.L.H. & P. Co., of Montreal. He was born May 12, 1881, and educated at St. John’s Academy and St. John’s High School, later taking a commercial course at Montreal Business College, to qualify himself for a banking career. He now holds the position of Manager of the St. John’s (Que.) branch of the Royal Bank of Canada. He still retains affiliations with Montreal and is a Lieutenant in the 87th Battalion, as well as a member of the Canadian Club, the Y.M.C.A., the Amateur Athletic Association and the Engineering Club, of that city. He is also connected with the Knights of Pythias and the Royal Arcanum. In religion he is a Roman Catholic and in politics a Conservative. He was married in October, 1904, to a daughter of C. D. Hust (retired), of St. John’s. His eldest son, Roland, born 1906, was killed by a motor accident on Oct. 11, 1918, and he has a second son, Conrad, born 1910.


Studholme, Allan (Hamilton) is of English origin having been born at Drake’s Cross, Worcestershire, near Birmingham, England, December 8, 1846. Son of John and Hannah Studholme. Came to Canada in 1870; went to Australia in 1887, returning to the Dominion in 1892. Has always been a strong advocate of everything which would advance the cause of Labor, and was first elected to the Ontario Legislature for the Riding of East Hamilton as a straight Labor candidate, in December, 1906, and re-elected 1908, 1911 and 1914. Has refused to identify himself with either Party and has preferred to maintain his independence. Bill protecting telephone girls from working more than five hours a day was framed in 1907 to meet a strike. Strike being settled, bill was withdrawn. Favors an eight-hour day for male adults. Is a member of the General Executive, Ontario Single Tax League. Has been Vice-President of the Social and Moral Reform Council for Canada. Is a Stovemounter and member of the Executive of the Stovemounter and Steel Range Makers’ International Union. Is popular with the members of both sides of the House and is recognized as one of the most fearless and independent members of the Legislature. Married, April 27, 1874, to Priscilla Stearne and is the father of the following children: Foster, married Helen Holder; Gordon, married to Josephine Holder; Edward, married to Lois Young, and May, married to Earle R. Morrow March 24, 1915. Religion, Methodist.


Tourigny, Alfred F. X., Advocate (Magog, Que.), was born at Batiscan, Champlain County, Que., the son of a farmer, L. E. Tourigny and Eugenie Trudel, who is a sister of the Honorable F. X. A. Trudel. Deciding to get a thorough education, he studied at Three Rivers, Que., and graduated with the degree of B.A. He studied law at Laval University, and graduated with the degree of LL.B. On August 10, 1898, he married Clara Marchand, the daughter of Louis Marchand, manufacturer, of Ste. Genevieve de Batiscan, Que., and has eight children—Olivier, Charles Edouard, Alfred, Anselme, Henri, Louis, Claire and Ives. In religion he is a Roman Catholic and a Conservative in politics, and at the present time he is Secretary-Treasurer of the town of Magog.


Widdifield, John W., Agriculturist (Uxbridge, Ont.), comes from Pennsylvania and New Jersey stock and is of United Empire Loyalist descent. After he graduated from the Ontario Agricultural College, he returned “to the land,” on the farm which had been homesteaded by the family for five generations; another branch of the family, the Lundys, pioneering on historic soil in the Niagara peninsula during this time. He has served as Reeve of Uxbridge Township, as Ontario County Councillor, as editor of the “O.A.C. Review,” as Secretary of the North Ontario Farmers’ Institute, and as Chairman of the County Committee on Agriculture. Mr. Widdifield has been a frequent contributor to the press, besides travelling extensively as a lecturer on Agricultural and Natural Science topics. In the general elections of 1914 he contested North Ontario in the Liberal interests, unsuccessfully, against Hon. W. H. Hoyle, Speaker of the Ontario Legislature. At the by-elections for the Ontario Legislature in Feb., 1919, as an Independent Farmers’ Candidate, he again entered the lists, at this time successfully contesting the riding with Major Harry S. Cameron. Born in Uxbridge Township, March 16, 1869, the son of Watson P. and Annie (Frankish) Widdifield, he was educated at the Uxbridge High School and Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph, Ont., being admitted to the status of A.O.A.C. in 1894, and granted the Degree of B.S.A. by Toronto University in the following year. He married Lucy, daughter of Cornelius Dike, July 3, 1895, and has one daughter, Annie Enid Widdifield, born July 24, 1896.


Watt, John Ralston, Barrister (Claresholm, Alta.), was born in 1875 at Ayr, Scotland, and educated at Ayr Academy, Wimbledon and the Glasgow and Cambridge Universities. Graduated in 1896 with the degree of B.A. (Cantab.), is a director of the Alberta Agricultural Fairs Association and Secretary of Claresholm Agricultural Society; has written on “The Turf” and other subjects to various periodicals in Canada, the United States and Great Britain under the signature of “Craignorth.” In 1914 he was married to Jessie G. Young.


Wallis, Horace (Toronto, Ont.), born in London, England, 1862. Has had extensive newspaper experience and understands the work of a practical printer in all branches of the craft. Has had a successful career as an editor, journalist and parliamentary correspondent, having been editor and managing director of “The Quebec Chronicle,” and Associate Editor of the “Mail and Empire,” Toronto, for which paper he acted as Parliamentary correspondent, 1887-91, and resident Ottawa Correspondent, 1894-8; presented with silver service by the citizens when leaving Ottawa. Resigned position of Associate Editor of “The Mail and Empire,” 1905, to become Secretary to the Prime Minister of Ontario, and has been Deputy Minister of the Department of the President of the Privy Council since 1914. Has been President of the Parliamentary Press Gallery at Ottawa and Toronto; Vice-President of the Quebec Associate Press. Interested in motoring and golfing and identified with the Masonic Order. Has taken an active part in the establishment of Temperance organizations, and in the promotion of the Prohibition movement. A. F. Wallis, Registrar of the Surrogate Court of the County of York, is a brother, who has also had a distinguished career as a journalist. Mr. Wallis married in 1893, Miss Margaret J. Tripp, of Toronto. He is an Anglican in religion and has received many tributes to his worth and acknowledgements of the esteem he is held in by his fellow citizens.


Hagedorn, Charles Kappler (Kitchener, Ont.), was born in the County of Waterloo, February 5, 1859, son of Ernest A. P. Hagedorn and Mary Kappler, his wife. His father was a farmer who came from Hanover, Germany, when an orphan of twelve years old, settling in Waterloo County, where he worked at farm labor and by his diligence and economy acquired land and began farming on his own account, which he continued successfully until his death, in 1875. He was one of the early settlers of the county, clearing the homestead of 100 acres and endured all the difficulties and privations of pioneer life. The subject of this sketch was reared on his father’s farm and received a primary education at the public schools which was completed at the Normal school, Toronto. In 1877 Mr. Hagedorn began teaching in the public schools of his native county, which he continued until the end of 1884, when he turned his attention to mercantile life and acted as travelling salesman throughout the Province of Ontario until 1889, when he began the manufacture of suspenders and buttons. In 1895 he organized the Berlin Suspender and Button Company; in 1900 the present plant on King St. was erected. The company was later incorporated and subsequently, when the name of the city was changed, it became The Kitchener Suspender Company, Limited. The company employs a large number of skilled operators, and their product is known favorably throughout Canada. Mr. Hagedorn has given fully of his time and ability to his fellow citizens and served as Alderman in the City Council for a number of years, acting as Chairman of the Original Commission which operated the Electric and Gas Plants when these public utilities were taken over by the city. He has been an active member of the Board of Trade and was for two years president. Mr. Hagedorn is a Presbyterian in religion, and has been Superintendent of the Presbyterian Sunday School and an Elder for many years, taking a deep interest in temperance work. He has been President of the Waterloo Temperance Alliance for a number of years. Mr. Hagedorn was married on May 15, 1889, to Emily, daughter of John Cairns, of Kitchener, who was a pioneer farmer of North East Hope Township, now retired. He is the father of three children, Lloyd Elmo, Grover Cairns, and Edna Aleen. Politically he is a Reformer; in business affairs and in his private life he is a man of strict probity, and has always displayed promptness, reliability and sterling honesty in all his relations with his fellow citizens, by whom he is held in the highest esteem. He is well informed and is regarded as being a progressive man thoroughly in touch with modern progress.


E. C. WHITNEY
Ottawa


Pennington, David Henry, one of the prominent lumber merchants of Quebec City, formerly a member of the Legislative Assembly, and later a member of the Harbor Commission of Quebec, was born in that city on February the 14th, 1868. He is a son of William Pennington of Preston, England, who for many years lived at Montmorency Falls, while engaged in the office of the G. B. Hall Lumber Company. Entering as a junior clerk of that company, the subject of this sketch worked his way up to the post of general manager of the Company’s branch of operations in the Eastern Townships. Eventually buying out the interests of the Company in the Townships, he established himself at Lyster, there possessing two saw-mills, a large dressing lumber mill, and a pulpwood storing station. His business activities were soon felt in the community, making it, as they did, an important business outlet on the Grand Trunk Railway route between Quebec and Richmond, for the adjacent counties of Lotbinière and Megantic. During the twelve years he resided at Lyster he was Mayor of the place for nine of them, besides being Warden of the County of Megantic. In 1908 he was elected to represent that county in the Local Legislature at Quebec, where his intimate knowledge of French as well as English, won an influence for him at once. In 1912 he sold his properties at Lyster, and returned to Quebec, there to continue his successful career as a lumber merchant. During these years there has passed through his hands an annual output of from sixty to seventy thousand cords of pulpwood alone. He was among the first to export pulpwood to the United States, and was one of the promoters of the Wayagamack Pulp and Paper Company of Three Rivers. He has been largely interested for years in the asbestos industry in the Thetford Mining district, and has a large business interest in timber limits on and near the Lower St. Lawrence. As a public-spirited citizen he takes high rank, having in 1916 been appointed by the Federal Government at Ottawa to the highly responsible position of one of the three Harbor Commissioners of his native city. He has given two of his sons to the Service of the Empire, his eldest, Lieut. Ronald N. Pennington and his younger brother Frank, having distinguished themselves with Canada’s “bravest” at the front. Mr. Pennington has been married twice, first to Miss S. E. Neil, the mother of the two lads just mentioned; and, second, Miss Mary S. Stewart, the daughter of the late Duncan Stewart of Inverness. By the latter he has one son and one daughter. Mr. Pennington’s mother was born in St. John’s, Newfoundland. He is a Warden of the Anglican Cathedral and a member of the Board of Trade, being prominent in all the public and patriotic movements of the city.


MacLean, Hon. John Duncan, M.D.C.M., M.L.A. (Victoria, B.C.), is a son of Roderick A. MacLean and his wife, Effie Mathieson MacLean. Was born at Culloden, P.E.I., on November 8, 1875. Educated at Prince of Wales College, Charlottetown. Taught school in British Columbia and Alberta until 1901, when he entered McGill University, from which institution he graduated in 1905, with the degree of M.D.C.M. with Honors in Surgery and Pathology. Successfully practised medicine in Arizona, U.S.A., Rossland and Greenwood, B.C. Was a candidate for the first time in the Liberal interests at the general Provincial Elections for the Province of British Columbia in 1916, when he was elected for the constituency of Greenwood, and was subsequently appointed Minister of Education and Provincial Secretary for British Columbia, being called to the Cabinet on the formation of the new Liberal Government after the election. Before taking up his residence in Victoria, the capital, the Hon. Dr. MacLean resided at Greenwood, B.C., of which municipality he was Mayor, 1914-16. He is a member of the Masonic Order, Independent Order of Oddfellows, and Knights of Pythias, and in religion is a Presbyterian. Married, 1911, to Mary Gertrude, daughter of Joseph Watson of Owen Sound, Ontario, and is the father of four children—Jessie Marion, Roderick Watson, Elizabeth, and John Angus. The Provincial Secretary is a member of the Pacific Club of Victoria and the Greenwood at Greenwood. He takes a lively interest in sports, and his principal recreation is trap shooting and curling. The Minister’s ancestors were Highland Scotch of the Isle of Skye, Inverness. His parents came to Canada in 1834, settling in Prince Edward Island, where his father engaged in farming.


O’Hara, Francis Charles Trench, Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce for Canada, and one of the best known citizens of Ottawa, was born at Chatham, Ont., November 7, 1870, the second son of Robert O’Hara, Master of Chancery in that city, and Maria S. (Dobbs) O’Hara. He was educated at the Chatham Collegiate Institute and in 1888 entered the service of the Canadian Bank of Commerce. His inclinations led him to literary pursuits, however, and in 1891 he left the service of the bank to enter newspaper work in Baltimore, Maryland. In this field he showed great promise, but in 1896 Rt. Hon. Sir Richard Cartwright, having entered the first Laurier cabinet as Minister of Trade and Commerce, persuaded him to return to Canada and become his private secretary. Since then Mr. O’Hara has continued to reside in Ottawa, and has been a vital factor in the Department of Trade and Commerce, of which, since 1908, he has been Deputy Minister. He was Superintendent of the Trade Commissioners Service, to extend Canada’s markets in various parts of the world from 1904 to 1911, and from 1908 to 1911 Chief Controller of Chinese Immigration. During the late war he rendered very important service as Chief Canadian officer in charge of British and United States Import and Export Trade Restrictions; until that work was assumed by the War Trade Board in 1918. He was also a member of the Ships Licence Committee, the Editorial Committee on Government Publications, and officer in charge under H.M. Ministry of Munitions of the distribution in Canada of Industrial diamonds. Since June, 1918, he has been also Deputy Commissioner of Patents. He is a Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society and of the Royal Colonial Institute. In 1907 the late Earl Grey, then Governor-General of Canada, induced him to become Honorary Secretary of his Musical and Dramatic Trophy Competitions, which for six years did admirable service in stimulating public interest in these arts. In 1914-16 he was Local Officer for Canada for the Dominion Royal Commission to inquire into there sources of the Overseas Dominions. Mr. O’Hara wields a skilful pen as evidenced by numerous magazine and newspaper contributions. He is also a Captain of the Corps Reserve of the Governor-General’s Foot Guards. His recreations are golf, fishing and shooting, and he is a member of the Rideau, Country and Royal Ottawa Golf Clubs, Ottawa. He married Helen R., a daughter of the late Senator Corby of Belleville, Ont., and has one daughter. His residence is at 125 Wurtemburg Street, Ottawa.


Henderson, William Andrew, Barrister, Toronto, Ontario, was born at the Provincial Capital on August 10, 1878, his parents being Andrew Henderson and Mary Elizabeth (Carpenter). On his mother’s side he is of United Empire Loyalist stock. A portion of the Crown grant made to his mother’s great grandfather by George the Third, of land in Halton County is still in the possession of the family. Educated at the Toronto Public Schools, Jarvis Collegiate Institute, Trinity University and Osgoode Hall. Studied law under James Milton Godfrey and Thomas Cowper Robinette, K.C., and on being called to the Bar in 1908 became a member of the firm of Robinette, Godfrey, Phelan and Henderson, and so practised until 1913 when he formed a partnership with Austin G. Ross, under the firm name of Henderson and Ross, which continued until 1915 when he practised alone until 1918 when he entered into partnership with W. N. Irwin (Henderson & Irwin). Mr. Henderson has achieved a marked distinction in his professional conduct of famous criminal cases and has probably defended more people, since commencing practice, charged with capital offences than any other Ontario Counsel in recent years. Among the notable trials which greatly enhanced Mr. Henderson’s fame as an able advocate may be mentioned, the baby adoption case, in which Mabel Turner was indicted on a charge of murder; Peter Snider, Krystik and Strinkaruk, known as the Rosedale mystery; Hassan Neby (Tucker murder); Archie McLaughlin (the Uxbridge tragedy); a cause celebre. Mr. Henderson has defended no less than nine persons charged with murder and many others charged with serious offences and has a wide reputation as a successful criminal lawyer. He has held numerous briefs in civil cases, particularly those involving Mercantile law, being solicitor for several large corporations. A sound lawyer with an incisive style of cross-examination, he is able to present the law and the facts to the Court or Jury in a convincing and effective manner. An Anglican in religion and a Conservative in politics. He is a member of the Masonic Order. Married July 6, 1918, to Beatrice Helen, daughter of Donald Graham, of Toronto. Mr. Henderson has always been interested in amateur sports and prominent in local baseball circles. He is also proficient in boxing and swimming. A native of Toronto he is widely known and regarded as one of the most prominent and popular members of the Ontario Bar.


Earle, Rufus Redmond, LL.B., K.C., 1995 19th Ave. West, Vancouver, B.C., was born May 8, 1873, in Winchester Township, Dundas County, Ont., the son of Rufus Earle, a farmer, and his wife Catharine Redmond, a distant relative of the late John and Major William Redmond, the noted Irish parliamentary leaders. He was educated at the public schools of Winchester Tp., Morrisburg High School, Ottawa Normal School, and Ontario High School Teachers’ Institute, Toronto. He taught school at Cass Bridge, Ont., 1892-3, and Morrisburg Model School, 1894-5. In 1896 he went to Manitoba and was principal of the Killarney High School for three years, subsequently entering Manitoba University and taking up the study of law with the present Mr. Justice Metcalfe, of the Court of King’s Bench, Winnipeg, and the late Hon. J. H. Agnew, Provincial Treasurer of Manitoba, Virden. He was called to the Manitoba Bar in 1904. Removing to Saskatchewan in 1905, he was immediately called to the Bar of that province and that of Alberta also. He began practice in Battleford, Sask., in partnership with ex-Chief Justice McGuire, of the Bench of the North-West Territories, and played a prominent part in public affairs. He was elected Mayor of Battleford in 1912, having previously served as a member of the School Board and a Director of the General Hospital there. In 1914 he was chosen President of the Battleford Board of Trade, and military affairs also claimed his attention. In 1911-12 he was Provisional Major and O.C. of “D” Squadron 22nd Saskatchewan Light Horse. He was also a Director of the Saskatchewan Anti-tuberculosis League and a Bencher of the Law Society of the province. President of the Law Society of Saskatchewan 1917. In 1918 he removed to Vancouver, where he was called to the bar of British Columbia and at once took a prominent place in legal circles. He is a member of the Terminal City and Canadian Clubs, Vancouver; of the Shaughnessy Heights Golf Club and the Masonic Order. His recreations are golf, tennis, swimming, motoring, and all outdoor sports generally. He is a Presbyterian in religion, a Liberal in politics, and was married on December 26, 1908, to Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Barry, Morrisburg, Ont. He has two daughters, Mona Redmond and Marjory Kathleen, and two sons, Barry Redmond and Max Redmond.


Buckles, Daniel, K.C., Barrister and Solicitor (Swift Current, Saskatchewan), was born at Margaree, Nova Scotia, April 11, 1876, son of Archie and Bridget Buckles. His father was a farmer. Mr. Buckles was educated at the Public Schools of Margaree and Dalhousie University, Halifax. On graduation, he taught school for a number of years in Nova Scotia. Admitted to the Bar of Nova Scotia, September 24, 1907, and successfully practised his profession at Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia, until July, 1911, when he removed to Swift Current, and is at present head of the firm of Buckles, Donald, McPherson, McWilliam & Thompson, which was formed in 1913. Appointed Crown Prosecutor, 1913, for the Judicial District, Swift Current. Elected a Fellow of the Royal Colonial Institute, 1916. Appointed King’s Counsel 1919. Mr. Buckles, who is a Liberal, has taken a prominent part in politics as a speaker and organizer, and has been active in Red Cross work, and has addressed recruiting meetings in different parts of the Province of Saskatchewan. He is deeply interested in educational matters and is a member of the Swift Current School Board. On January 4, 1912, he married Edna I. Murray, daughter of S. Murray, of Milton, Nova Scotia. He is a member of the following clubs and societies: The Canadian Club, Knights of Columbus, C.M.B.A., F.O.E. and the Royal Colonial Institute. He is a Roman Catholic in religion. His recreations are walking, shooting and skating.


Jarvis, Ernest Frederick, is one of the important officials of the civil branch of the Department of Militia and Defence, Ottawa, in which he holds the offices of Assistant Deputy Minister and Secretary of the Militia Council. He was born at St. Eleanor’s, Prince Edward Island, on September 16, 1862, the son of Edward Fitzgerald Jarvis, M.D., and Lucy DesBrisay Harding, his wife. He was educated at Summerside, P.E.I., and entered the public service of the Dominion on March 23, 1881, before he had completed his nineteenth year. In 1892 he was appointed Secretary to the late Hon. J. C. Paterson, Minister of the Crown in the cabinets of Sir John Thompson and Sir Mackenzie Bowell, and remained with him until Mr. Paterson was sent to Manitoba as Lieut.-Governor in 1895. Continuing in the civil service Mr. Jarvis was appointed Chief Clerk of the Department of Militia and Defence by Sir Frederick Borden in January, 1903. He became Secretary of the Militia Council on November 28, 1904, and Assistant Deputy Minister on September 1, 1908. His expert knowledge of departmental organization was recognized when the administration of Sir Robert Borden appointed him a member of the Royal Commission to inquire into the state of records in the public departments of the Dominion, 1912-14. During the late war and the demobilization period Mr. Jarvis whose duties were enormously augmented has given proofs of his great abilities as a departmental officer. He was appointed a Companion of the Imperial Service Order on June 3, 1918. He is an Anglican in religion and in 1892 married Ethel Colborne, daughter of the late E. A. Meredith, LL.D., of Toronto. He resides at 347 Stewart Street, Ottawa.


McCuish, Robert George (Regina, Saskatchewan), was born at Parkhill, Ont., April 12, 1877, the son of Donald John and Flora McCuish. His father was a farmer and, the family moving to the West when he was a child, Mr. McCuish was educated at Morden (Man.) High School and at Manitoba University. In 1898 he joined the staff of the Winnipeg “Tribune,” and served as Sporting Editor for some years. From 1901 to 1905 he published the “Chronicle,” of Morden, Manitoba, and in 1905 founded the Fort William “Evening Herald,” which he continued to conduct until 1907, when he decided to enter the life insurance business in Winnipeg. He was Manager of the Ætna Life for two years, and then became Manager of the Manufacturers Life, and in 1912-13 served as Vice-President of the Dominion Life Underwriters’ Association. In the latter year he came East and became Montreal Manager of the Manufacturers Life Insurance Company, and on July 1, 1915, accepted the position of Manager for Saskatchewan of the Canada Life Assurance Company, with headquarters at Regina, a post he at present holds. Among the many important offices identified with his name are those of President of the Regina Liberal Association; Past President of the Regina Life Underwriters; Honorary Life Member and Past President of the Western Canada Press Association. He is a member of the Council of the Regina Board of Trade. Clubs: St. George and National of Montreal, the Wascona Country Club, Regina, and Assiniboia Club, Regina. His recreations are curling and golf. He is a Knight of Pythias and a Mason; at the present time is Deputy Supreme Chancellor for Saskatchewan of the order K. of P., and a P.G.C. of the order for Quebec. He is a Presbyterian in religion and on Sept. 14, 1904, married E. Maud, daughter of Andrew Macfarlane, for many years Superintendent of the William Hamilton Foundry, at Peterboro, Ont. He has one son, Donald Emmerson McCuish.


Patrick, John Alexander Macdonald, K.C. (Yorkton, Saskatchewan), one of the best known barristers of that province, was born at Ilderton, Ont., June 28, 1873, the son of George B. and Alecia Patrick, both deceased. His father was a farmer and the son was educated at the Collegiate Institute and Model School, London, Ont. Later he took a course at the Normal School, Regina, in 1896, and taught school for six years, concurrently taking up the study of law with Mr. Gifford Elliott, of Yorkton, in 1899. Subsequently, in 1903, he entered the office of George W. Watson, Yorkton, and in 1904 that of the late Hon. G. W. Brown, ex-Lieutenant-Governor of Saskatchewan. In the latter year he was called to the bar and since 1905 has practised in Yorkton. He is at present head of the firm of Patrick, Doherty, Killam & Walton. He was created King’s Counsel in 1913, is ex-President of the Law Society of Saskatchewan and has been a Bencher of that body since 1906. He is also a member of the Executive of the Canadian Bar Association. Mr. Patrick has also taken a prominent part in public affairs and was Mayor of Yorkton for four terms, 1908-9 and 1913-4, and President of the Board of Trade from 1910 to 1913, inclusive. Earlier he held the post of Public School Trustee from 1906 to 1909, inclusive. He is a Conservative in politics and was an unsuccessful candidate for the Legislature at the provincial elections of 1917. He is also a member of the Executive of the Navy League of Saskatchewan, and of the Executive of the Canadian Patriotic Society for that province. In religion he is a Methodist and a Governor of Regina College, affiliated with that religious body. He is a Past Grand Master for his province of the I.O.O.F., and his recreations are big game hunting and farming. On Oct. 15, 1905, he married Sadie Pearl, a daughter of the late William A. Hawkins, retired contractor, of Yorkton, Sask., and has six children, William Alexander, John Arden, Ethel Cecilia, Sadie Alecia, Hugh-Arthur and Mona Ione.


T. B. MACAULAY
Montreal


Hogg, Andrew Brydon, Barrister (Lethbridge, Alberta), was born at Flesherton, Ont., on January 24, 1883. Educated at the Public and High Schools of Toronto and Toronto University, at which latter seat of learning he graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1904 and in 1916 received the degree of LL.B. from Alberta University. Studied law with the Hon. Arthur Meighen, Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, afterwards Solicitor-General of Canada, with whom he subsequently formed a partnership, and with whom he practised law from 1908-10, the firm being known as Meighen and Hogg. From 1910-14 he practised alone at Carmangay, Alberta. In 1914 he formed a partnership with Mr. Russel, the firm name being known as Hogg & Russel, removing to Lethbridge in 1916, where he practised alone, and in 1917 he formed a partnership with C. F. Jamieson, the firm style being Hogg and Jamieson. On May 10, 1917, he married Ada Wright, adopted daughter of D. H. Elton, Barrister, Lethbridge. He is an adherent of the Presbyterian Church and a Conservative in politics, and a member of the Masonic Order. Mr. Hogg’s recreations are golf and motoring.


Todd, John Lancelot (Montreal), son of the late Jacob Hunter Todd and Rosanna (Wigley) Todd. Was born in Victoria, B.C., December 10, 1876. Educated at Upper Canada College and McGill University, B.A., 1898; M.D., C.M., 1900; M.R.C.S., London, 1907; D.Sc. (Hon.) Liverpool University, 1909; a member of the staff of the Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal, 1901. Sent by Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine to Gambia Protectorate and to Senegal to study trypanosomiasis (sleeping sickness) and report on sanitation, 1902. Sent by Belgian Government and Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine to Congo Free State to study the same disease and report on sanitation of the Free State posts, 1903; Director of the Tropical Research Laboratories, Liverpool School of Tropical medicine at Runcorn, 1905-7; has published observations on trypanasomiasis in men and animals, on spirochactoris (tick fever), and on other tropical and insect-borne diseases; decorated commander of the Order of Leopold II, by the King of the Belgians in recognition of his scientific services, 1905; awarded Mary Kingsley Gold Medal by Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, 1910. Since June, 1907, has been Associate Professor of Parasit., McGill University; author of reports and papers in association with the late J. Everett Dutton (embodied in the memoirs of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine and elsewhere). Married M. Clouston, a daughter of Sir Edward Clouston, Bart., Montreal. Is a member of the Mount Royal Club, University Club, Montreal, and York Club, Toronto. Dr. Todd holds the rank of Major in the Canadian Army Medical Corps, and is a member of the Board of Pension Commissioners for Canada.


Adamson, John Evans, B.A. (Winnipeg, Man.), was born at Nelson, Manitoba, on Sept. 9, 1884, and is the son of Alan J. and Julia Adamson. He was educated at the public schools of Manitoba and Saskatchewan and graduated from St. John’s College, Winnipeg, with degree of B.A. in 1907. Called to the Bar in 1910. Member of the law firm Adamson & Lindsay, Winnipeg. Married Mary Turriff, daughter of Senator J. G. Turriff, Ottawa, on April 8, 1912, and is the father of two children. Is a member of the Carlton and St. Charles Country Club and also a member of the Masonic Order. In religion he is an Anglican and a Liberal in politics. His recreations are golf and motoring.


Peuchen, Lieut.-Col. Arthur Godfrey, Capitalist, retired Manufacturer, son of Godfrey E. Peuchen and Eliza Eleanor Clarke of Hull, Eng. born in Montreal, April 18, 1859; educated in private schools there. His father was a Railroad Contractor in South America and built a railroad from Laguero to Caracas, Venezuela; his grandfather was manager of the London, Brighton and Midland Railway in England. Canada is indebted to Col. Peuchen for his ingenuity in being the first man to grasp the possibility of utilizing the unmarketable portions of our hardwood forests in a scientific way. In travelling he observed that England and France had virtually no forests, and knowing that the Canadian lumberman was only taking from our woods the flotable timber, leaving the unmerchantable coarse hardwood, he conceived the idea of turning this waste into the manufacturing of valuable chemicals: Acetic Acid, Acetate of Lime, Acetone, Wood Alcohol and Formaldehyde, the latter being so important for the successful growing of wheat in Canada, and the former for the dyeing industry; also benefited the English War Office by being the first man under the British Flag to produce acetone direct from wood, which he supplied the Admiralty in large quantities for the manufacture of high explosives, such as cordite. Introduced our present system of charcoal distribution in paper bags. With Sir Wm. McKenzie and others he organized the Standard Chemical Company with a small capital, which he gradually through his unbounded energy increased to five millions—beginning in 1897 by distilling only 22 tons of wood per day, eventually by 1913 this distillation was increased to over 1,000 tons. The production of these chemicals meant a tremendous export trade. He erected factories at: Fenelon Falls, Deseronto, Longford Mills, South River, Sault Ste. Marie, Fassett and Cookshire, and operated factories at Thornbury, Parry Sound and Mount Tremblant; erected refineries in Montreal, London, England, France and Germany, where crude alcohol was shipped and refined; bought and operated blast charcoal furnaces at Deseronto, and built one at Parry Sound. Was President and General Manager of the Standard Chemical Company from 1897 to 1914. Was active in military circles: Lt., Q.O.R., 1888; Captain, 1894; Major, 1904; Lieutenant-Colonel, May 21st, 1912. Went to England with the Queen’s Own in 1910 as Major, for the Imperial Fall Manœuvres at Salisbury Plain, and part of this period was in charge of the regiment under General French. Was Marshalling Officer in command of escort of officers of Indian Cavalry, Royal Procession, Coronation of King George, 1911; Officer Commanding Home Battalion Q.O.R., 1914 and 1915. Officer’s long service decoration. Was in the “Titanic,” disaster, of which he was one of two only surviving males in Canada. President of the Imperial Land Co.; owner, McLaren Lumber Company, of Blairmore, Alberta, which controls all the large green timber in Southern Alberta, also saw mills and branch retail yards. Clubs: National, Toronto Hunt, Ontario Jockey, Life Member Military Institute; ex-Flag Officer and Life Member of Royal Canadian Yacht Club, having held the positions of vice and rear Commodore. Was owner for several years of the famous yacht “Vreda,” which crossed the Atlantic under her own canvas and won more races in her class than any other yacht in Canada. Member of St. Paul’s Anglican Church and a Governor of Grace Hospital. In politics a Conservative. Col. Peuchen has a strong personality, frank and genial in manner, easy and interesting in conversation; has crossed the Atlantic 30 odd times and travelled extensively in many lands. Recreations, golf, riding, yachting. He married Margaret Thompson, daughter of John Thompson, of Orillia, 1893. One son, Lieutenant Godfrey Alan Peuchen, Imperial Royal Field Artillery, Asst.-Adjt. H.Q. to the 26th Brigade of Artillery during the War; daughter, Jessie, married Lieutenant Harry C. Lefroy, M.C., of the Imperial Royal Field Artillery. Residence during the War: Queen Anne’s Mansions, St. James Park, London, England; summer home, “Woodlands,” one of the most picturesque spots on Lake Simcoe.


Forin, John Andrew (Nelson, B.C.), Judge of the County Court of West Kootenay, is a son of John Forin, Architect, of Belleville, Ont., where he was born on July 20, 1861. He was educated at Albert College, Belleville, and at Osgoode Hall, Toronto, and was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1885. He saw service in the North-west Rebellion of that year as a private in the Queen’s Own Rifles of Toronto, and holds the medal and clasp for that campaign. Later he practised in British Columbia and received his present judicial appointment in 1896. He still retains his connection with military affairs and at the time of writing is Officer Commanding of the 107th Regiment, B.C., with the rank of Major. Since 1915, the Internment camp at Morrissey, B.C., and the guards at the Trail, B.C., Smelter have been details of the regiment mentioned. He has also devoted some attention to literary pursuits and has published essays on legal and sociological subjects. His recreations are curling and golf; he is a member of the Nelson and Rossland Clubs and of the Scottish Clan Society. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and on May 18, 1895, was married to Mary, daughter of Peter T. Dunn, merchant, of Vancouver, B.C. He has five children, Jean Victoria, Isabel Dunn, John Douglas, Peter McLaren, and Mary Edith Forin.


Coburn, John W. (Nanaimo, B.C.), one of the leading lumbermen of the Pacific Coast, was born at Harvey, New Brunswick, the son of A. W. Coburn, farmer and contractor, and Elizabeth Messer, his wife. He was educated in the public schools of his native province and, later, in private schools in British Columbia. As a youth he took up railroading and had sixteen years’ experience therein, principally as a passenger conductor. Subsequently he went into the lumber business and was extremely successful. His interests are now very extensive. He is President of the Ladysmith Lumber Co., of Nanaimo; the Ladysmith Hardware Co., and of the Last West Lumber Co., which latter corporation does retail business in the Western Provinces. He is also a director of the Shawinigan Lake Lumber Co. He has shown a progressive and energetic spirit in public affairs and is an ex-President of the Nanaimo and Ladysmith Boards of Trade. He has also filled the following municipal offices: Mayor of Wellington, B.C., and of Ladysmith, B.C. (for three terms) and School Trustee and Alderman for three terms, when his business interests prevented him continuing in further civic affairs in Nanaimo. He is a member of the Masonic Order, is a Presbyterian in religion and a supporter of Union Government. On Feb. 8, 1899, he married Ellen Cowie (his second wife), a daughter of Alexander Cowie, Elora, Ont., by whom he has three children, Wallace, Gordon and Lorna Maud.


Ingram, George C., B.A., 1167 2nd Ave. N.W., Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, one of the well known business men of that province, was born in Aberdeen, Scotland, on October 16, 1867, the son of James and Elizabeth (Leith) Ingram. When nine months old his parents emigrated to Tipton, Iowa, where the subject of this sketch spent twenty years on a farm. He was educated in the local schools of Tipton and later took a course at the Northern Indiana Normal School, Valparaiso, Indiana, taking the degree of B.A. In 1890 he removed to Minnesota, where he practised as a surveyor for two years, after which he founded the Ingram Lumber Co., of Sank Centre, Minn., continuing in business there until 1910. In the latter year he moved to Saskatoon, Sask., as special representative of the Western Retail Lumbermen’s Association, a post he held until 1912, when he became General Manager, Director and Secretary of Security Lumber Company, Limited, of Moose Jaw, a position he still holds. While a resident of the United States he was President (1905-6) of the Northwestern Lumbermen’s Association, Minneapolis. He has served as an Alderman and is a Liberal in politics. His recreation is golf and he belongs to the Prairie Club, Moose Jaw, and to the A.F. & A.M. (Shriner). On Sept. 22, 1896, he married Lulu, daughter of the late David Wilcox, and has three children, Howard C., Hildred and George L. Ingram.


Shepherd, Simpson James, 614 11th Street South, Lethbridge, Alberta Barrister-at-law, is a native of Uttoxeter, Lambton County, Ont., where he was born February 6, 1877, the son of James and Mary (Dowler) Shepherd. His father was a farmer and he was educated at Forest High School, and later at McGill University. He had a brilliant career in the latter institution and graduated in 1906 with the degree of B.C.L., capturing a Macdonald travelling scholarship in law. After graduation he was thus enabled to spend one year in France, and later decided to settle in the West, going to Lethbridge in 1908, when he was called to the Alberta Bar and formed a partnership with Mr. W. C. Simmons. The latter was appointed a judge of the Supreme Court of the province in 1910, and Mr. Shepherd then formed a partnership with Mr. Allen E. Dunlop, previously of the Nova Scotia Bar. Later Mr. George A. Rice joined the firm, which is now known as Shepherd, Dunlop and Rice. He is a member of the Alberta Returned Soldiers Commission, and of the Chinook and Lethbridge Golf Clubs, as well as the Masonic Order. His recreations are golf, curling and shooting. He is a Liberal in politics and a Methodist in religion. On September 7, 1908, he married Ethel M. S. Dixon, daughter of Mr. John Dixon, merchant of Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, and has three daughters, Marjorie C., Nancy D., and Joan Douglas by name.


Edwards, Hon. William Cameron (Rockland, Ont.), was born in Clarence, May 7, 1844, and is a son of the late William Edwards, a native of Portsmouth, Eng., who came to Canada about the year 1820, and settled in the Township of Clarence, County of Russell, Ont., and his wife Ann Cameron, a native of Fort William, Scotland. He was educated at the Ottawa Grammar School. Upon the completion of his education he became an extensive lumber manufacturer, and his business has grown to one of the largest in Canada. He is known as a successful stock raiser, and takes a keen interest in agriculture generally, having been President of the Russell Agricultural Society for many years. He established the lumber firm of W. C. Edwards & Co., in 1868; is a director of the Canadian Bank of Commerce; a director of The Toronto General Trusts Corporation, Toronto, and many other Toronto corporations and companies. After making a success of his own business interests, he was induced to enter politics by many of his closest friends, and became the Liberal Candidate for the House of Commons for Russell at the general election of 1882, and was defeated, but was later elected at the general elections of 1891, 1896 and 1900, and became one of the foremost members in Parliament, and a very close friend of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, the then Premier of Canada. In January, 1885, he married Catherine M., eldest daughter of the late William Wilson, of Cumberland, Ont., and since their marriage they have drawn many warm personal friends to them both at Ottawa and their home town, Rockland. At the outbreak of the War in 1914, between Germany and her Allies, and the British-French-Russian Allies, Mr. Edwards displayed much generosity, and gave freely both of his time and money in the interest of the Motherland, and continued his services until the close of the War. On March 17, 1903, he was summoned to the Senate, as a reward for the many sacrifices made by him during his political and business life, and has filled the position with marked ability.


Rust, C. H., C.E. (Victoria, B.C.), was born in Essex, England, on Christmas Day, 1852; he received a thorough elementary and technical education, both in the Mother Country and in Canada. He entered the service of the City of Toronto, Ont., as rodman in 1877, and continued in that capacity until 1881, when he was promoted to the position of assistant engineer, and in 1883 was made assistant engineer in charge of sewers. Mr. Rust held this position until 1891, and during his incumbency in this office superintended the construction of 150 miles of sewer. From 1887 until 1891 he was principal assistant engineer. In 1892 Mr. Rust was made acting chief engineer, and in July, 1898, he was appointed to the office of Chief Engineer of the city, and filled that office to the general satisfaction not only of the city, but also of the citizens. His work entailed much labor. He had charge of sewers, roadways, sidewalks, bridges and waterworks, besides which all routes of street cars and style of cars used had to be approved by him. In 1887 Mr. Rust was elected a member of the Canadian Society of Engineers, and in 1901 he became one of its presidents. In 1899 he was elected a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, and was elected one of the Vice-Presidents in 1913, and he is very prominent in his profession. In the beginning of 1912 Mr. Rust decided to resign the office of City Engineer to accept a similar position in the city of Victoria, B.C., and upon leaving Toronto he was presented with testimonials from all sections of the community showing the high esteem and appreciation in which he was held as a public servant and citizen.


Barry, Walter H. (Montreal, Que.), Merchant, is the son of George Barry and Margaret Bond, and relative of Arthur Barry and John A. Barry; was born in Toronto, June 14, 1870, and educated at the High School. Married Isabel L. Logie, daughter of Robert Logie, a merchant of New York, and has one son, Gerald A. Barry, now Lieut. Gerald A. Barry. He is a member of the Masonic Fraternity and member of the Royal Victoria and Montreal Clubs, attends the English Church. His recreations are golf, fishing and curling.


Adamson, Alan Joseph, is the son of John Evans Adamson, of “Kill House,” Clifton, County of Galway, Ireland, and Harriette Bell, his wife, who was a daughter of the Rev. James Bell, of Baragher, Queen’s County, Ireland. He was born at Kill House, Clifton, on August 1, 1857, and educated at the High School in Dublin. His father was a landed gentleman in Ireland and the proprietor of the Kill estate, and the great-grandson of the fifth earl of Carberry. Mr. Adamson married in the year 1882, Julia, daughter of Robert Turriff, of Quebec, and a sister of J. G. Turriff, M.P. (Assiniboia), and is the father of the following children; John Evans and Christopher Arthur, Barristers, Winnipeg, the latter of whom was elected as Rhodes Scholar for the Province of Saskatchewan, in 1907; Allan Bell, Inspector, Winnipeg; James Douglas, Captain C.A.M.C.; Herbert, Lieut. 27th Winnipeg Battalion; Lily, wife of Capt. A. S. Bell, Engineer; Harriette, Nurse, Winnipeg General Hospital, and Gilbert, St. John’s College, Winnipeg. He is a member of the Manitoba Club, the Canadian Automobile Club, and Colonial Institute, London, England. He is a member of the Church of England, and the Masonic Order, and is a Liberal in politics; represented the constituency of Humboldt, in the House of Commons 1904-1908. The subject of this sketch was a director of the Northern Bank and of the Saskatchewan Valley & Manitoba Land Company. He went originally to Winnipeg and embarked in the grain trade in 1883; was Secretary-Treasurer of the Manitoba Grand Company in 1896; removed to Rosthern in 1899; was largely instrumental in attracting American capital and settlers to that region, and while there organized Canadian Territories Corporation, of which he was President and Manager. This body holds the record for the value of its transactions among all the corporations existing in the west. Is an Anglican in religion and resides at 160 Mayfair Avenue, Winnipeg, and has also a residence at “Carberry Hill” Limona, Florida. His principal recreation is golf.


Diver, Frederick (Toronto, Ont.), was born in London, Eng., and came to this country with his parents when a youth. Mr. Diver learned the business of electrotyping and stereotyping, engraving, designing and “The Art Preservative of All Arts,” namely, printing. Some years ago, Mr. Diver established the Central Press Agency, Limited, of which he is the President. The head offices of the Company are situated at 110-16 York St., Toronto, and the Company has large business connections throughout the Dominion of Canada. Mr. Diver owes his success to his untiring industry, complete knowledge of the details of the various branches of the work of his Company, and to his practical business ability. His wife died a few years ago leaving her surviving children: Lt. F. G. Diver, who was since killed in action at the Battle of the Somme on Oct. 21, 1917; Ethel May, now wife of Halsey Wells of Detroit, U.S.A., and Victor Diver, Vice-President of the Central Press Agency, Ltd. Mr. Diver is a member of the National, Rosedale and Mississauga Clubs; of the Masonic Order, and also of the Church of England.


Bellemare, Adelard (St. Paulin, Que.), was born March 2, 1871, at St. Paulin, County of Maskinonge, P.Q., son of François Bellemare and Delima Julien, both French-Canadians. His grandfather was a teacher in 1845. Was educated at Three Rivers Seminary. Was formerly professor for three years at the College de Joliette and St. Laurent. Married, Feb. 2, 1898, to Parmelia, daughter of Edmond Bourgeois of Joliet, and is the father of six children: Hector, Lucien, Maria, Albert, Jeanne and Cecile. Was lecturer for the C. N. d’Economie. Elected to the House of Commons at the general elections in 1911, as an Independent Conservative, to represent the constituency of Maskinonge. In religion Mr. Bellemare is a Roman Catholic.


Birkett, Thomas, was born in Bytown (now Ottawa), February 1, 1844. He is the son of Miles and Elizabeth (Wren) Birkett, who came to Canada from Cumberland, England, in 1838, and who saw that he received a good education at the Public and Grammar Schools, and that he was thoroughly prepared for commercial business life. That their efforts were not in vain was shown at an early date, in the rapid and successful progress that greeted his efforts and ventures. But, and in addition, they had the good fortune to see their son make his mark in School, Municipal, Provincial and Dominion and other public affairs and to be elected to many public offices of trust where he distinguished himself in various ways and established an enviable record for progressive, reliable and lasting service. In every public office, to which he was elected he devoted the attention and care that was made so evident and pronounced in his private business with the result that he not only made good, but cemented and enlarged the confidence and esteem of those who had selected him as their representative. Whether as director or trustee of a public institution, as member of the city council, mayor of the city, or as member of Parliament, his conduct was the same and the result the same, viz., conscientious devotion to duty attended by successful results. Many a time it has been proclaimed, even by those who were politically opposed to him, that having rendered to the State the continuous and valuable public services that he did, and in a manner so effective, that he would long ago have been called to the Canadian Senate, and great has been the surprise that he has not been. But being still robust in health, mentally and physically, and his activities being as marked as they were in former years, it may not be out of place to say that a seat in the Senate will be honored by his presence at an early date. Having served as an apprentice in the hardware trade to Mr. Isaac, in 1866, Mr. Birkett opened a retail hardware store on Rideau Street, prospered, and soon had to remove to larger premises. For thirty years he kept in the retail business, which year by year assumed larger proportions and supplied goods to the many prosperous and wealthy manufacturing towns and villages and thriving agricultural districts in the Ottawa Valley. Finding the demand for his goods still on the increase in 1896 he converted his private firm into a joint stock company, of which he became president, his son Thomas M. Birkett, vice-president, and other members of the family shareholders, and launched into the wholesale business under the title of Thomas Birkett & Son Company, Limited, of Ottawa. To-day this wholesale firm is one of the most extensive, if not actually the largest hardware house in Eastern Ontario and is known from one end of Canada to the other. The building forms one of the best business blocks in Ottawa and is most advantageously situated, the warehouse doors opening direct on the wharves of the Rideau Canal basin. Mr. Birkett served as School Trustee from 1869 to 1873; as Alderman, from 1873 to 1878; as Mayor, during 1891 and 1892. Since 1900 he has been Trustee, Ottawa Collegiate Institute. In 1893 he declined nomination to the House of Commons, but in 1900 he was elected by a large majority. He ran in 1904 and 1908 and was defeated. Mr. Birkett is President, Thos. Birkett, Son & Co., Ltd., Wholesale Hardware Merchants, Canal St., Ottawa; Director, Pritchard-Andrews Engraving Co.; Life Director, Carleton County Protestant Hospital; Life Director, Protestant Hospital for the aged. He was instrumental in erecting the Lady Stanley Institute for Trained Nurses; is Honorary Director, Central Canada Exposition Association. In 1871 he married Mary Gallagher, daughter of Thomas Gallagher. She died in March, 1902. In August, 1904, he married Henrietta Gallagher, his deceased wife’s half-sister. He is a member of the following clubs: Ottawa Hunt, Rivermead Golf (director), and of the A.F. & A.M. (32nd degree), the Oddfellows, and St. George’s Societies. His recreation is golf. Politics, Conservative. Religion, Methodist, and he resides at 306 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa, Ontario.


Anderson, Alexander James (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Adelaide Township, Middlesex County, July 1, 1863, and was educated at Strathroy High School and Osgoode Hall. Toronto is as famous for its Bar as it is in its commercial and manufacturing industry, and in alluding to its leading members, prominent mention must be made of the subject of this sketch. Mr. Anderson started his professional career with J. S. Fullerton & Co., which partnership continued from 1891 to 1897; from 1894 to 1906 he practised alone; from 1907 to 1909 was a member of the firm of Anderson & Gray, and entered his present partnership as senior member of the firm (Anderson & McMaster) in 1910. Having municipal aspirations, Mr. Anderson was elected to the Council of Toronto Junction from 1899 to 1902; was corporation solicitor for West Toronto until the amalgamation with the city in 1909, when he was elected alderman to represent Ward Seven in the City Council. He was for four years a member of the West Toronto School Board, and was elected Chairman of that body in 1899. During the elections in 1904 he was unanimously selected by the Liberals of South York as the party standard bearer, and though defeated he made a very creditable showing at the close of the polls. Mr. Anderson has many warm friends and supporters in the western portion of the city, and he will show unexpected strength should he again become a candidate. He is a Mason and takes an active interest in the welfare of the Order.


Barnard, Hon. George Henry, K.C., Member of the Senate of Canada (Victoria, B.C.), is a son of Francis Jones Barnard, a Canadian who went to British Columbia from Ontario, when gold was first discovered in the Fraser River, in 1859, and shortly afterwards became the founder of the stage and express line from Yale, head of navigation on the Fraser, to Barkerville, 400 miles to the north. On the famous Yale-Cariboo Road the elder Barnard long operated a line of stages and carried the mail to the mountain settlements of the district. The maiden name of the mother of the subject of this sketch was Ellen Hillman, and he was born at Victoria, B.C., Oct. 9, 1868. Sir Frank S. Barnard, K.C.M.G., Lieut.-Governor of British Columbia, is a brother. He was educated at Trinity College School, Port Hope, and qualified for the law, entering practice at Victoria. He was appointed King’s Counsel on Dec. 24, 1907. Senator Barnard took an active interest in municipal affairs and served as Alderman, 1902-3. In 1904 he was elected Mayor of Victoria and continued in office for two years. He was first elected to the House of Commons for that city at the general elections of 1908, as a Conservative and was re-elected in 1911. On Oct. 23, 1917, he was elevated to the Senate of Canada by the newly-formed Union Government of Sir Robert Borden. Senator Barnard is a prominent social figure both at Victoria and Ottawa, and is a member of the Union Club, Victoria, the Vancouver Club, the Rideau Club, Ottawa and the Constitutional Club, London, Eng. He was married on June 5, 1895, to Ethel Burnham, daughter of Lieut.-Col. H. C. Rogers, Postmaster of Peterboro, Ont., is an Anglican in religion and a Unionist in politics.


Ashby, Joseph Seraphin Aime, M.L.A. (Lachine, Que.), son of George Ashby and Eprosime Messier, both French Canadians; was born at Ste. Marie de Monnoir, Province of Quebec, April 30, 1876. Educated at the college of Ste. Marie de Monnoir. Married Hectorine Ste. Marie, daughter of Pierre Zotique Ste. Marie, of Longueuil, Que., and is the father of two children, Lucette, born November 7, 1908, and Georgette, born August 7, 1910. Mr. Ashby is a Roman Catholic in religion, and is a member of the Montreal Reform Club, the Order of Catholic Foresters, the Alliance Nationale, Union St. Joseph de Lachine, and The Knights of Columbus. Was elected to the Quebec Legislature as the Liberal representative for the constituency of Jacques Cartier on May 16, 1916. Mr. Ashby is a Notary Public by profession.


Gariepy, Wilfrid, B.A., B.C.L., K.C., M.L.A. (Edmonton, Alberta), was born at Montreal, P.Q., on March 14, 1877. He is the son of Joseph H. Gariepy, for many years a pioneer and leading merchant in the city of Edmonton, an alderman and school trustee, and, by the way, a native of St. Lin, P.Q., where was also born Sir Wilfrid Laurier. In days gone by the Gariepys and the Lauriers intermingled considerably and Sir Wilfrid when a boy attended the parish common school along with the grandfather of the hero of this sketch. It was only natural that our subject should at his birth be christened after the renowned Liberal Leader, who in 1877 was already in the political limelight. Four generations of Gariepys were born and lived on the same homestead at St. Lin, three miles from the parochial church. The mother of Mr. Wilfrid Gariepy, Etudienne Boissonneault, who is yet living and residing in Edmonton, as well as her husband, is a daughter of Noel Boissonneault, one of the founders of the Town of Morinville, Alberta, as he came from the Province of Quebec with the first contingent of colonists brought west in 1891 by the late Father J. B. Morin, one of the most enthusiastic colonization agents of his day. Noel Boissonneault was at one time a leading Liberal politician in the Eastern Townships and for some years was the moving spirit of the St. Onge Gold Mining Company, which did business on the Gilbert River in Beauce County, P.Q. A maternal ancestor of our subject was among the French-Canadian soldiers who fought for the British Crown in 1812. On the other hand it is worth noting that another figured in the uprising of 1837-1838, in favor of constitutional government, on the shores of the St. Lawrence. Mr. Wilfrid Gariepy was educated at the Sisters of Providence Academy, “Le jardin de l’enfance,” on St. Denis Street, in Montreal, beginning in September, 1881; at Notre Dame College, Côte des Neiges, Montreal, where he spent two years; at St. Laurent’s College with the Fathers of the Holy Cross, remaining there until January, 1891, when ill-health compelled him to abandon his classical studies. He was then in the middle of versification. Deciding to turn his activities into other channels, he attended the Montreal Business College for some months and afterwards became a clerk in his father’s store: first, in general groceries on St. Paul Street, Montreal, and later in Edmonton, on Jasper Avenue, to which town the family moved in March, 1893. In Montreal, although very young, Mr. W. Gariepy indicated his political tastes by being one of the active members of the “Club Letellier,” one of the oldest Liberal organizations, and also by taking a hand in a mayoralty campaign in favor of the Hon. James McShane, the famous “people’s Jimmy,” and by working for the Hon. Honoré Mercier and his candidates after the famous “renvoi d’office.” In 1893 Edmonton had just become a town, with a population of less than 1,000, no modern conveniences, with the exception of a rudimentary telephone and electric light system. Needless to say, streets were unpaved and there were not even any sidewalks. Still the town had a Mock Parliament, and we find our subject a member of it, with a portfolio in its government. Mr. W. Gariepy was elected one of the secretaries of the Liberal Club and also became, in 1894, at its foundation, secretary to the Société de St. Jean Baptiste of Edmonton. In 1895, with the Hon. Frank Oliver, who had just been selected as Liberal candidate of Alberta, Mr. W. Gariepy made a tour north of Edmonton, during which he addressed several meetings. It was in September, 1895, that Mr. Gariepy found his health and other circumstances such that he was able to return to the St. Laurent College to complete his classical course. He stayed in that institution until June, 1897, during which period he for one year filled the presidency of the Literary Academy of the college. In the rhetoric bacheloriate on papers submitted by Laval University, Mr. Gariepy succeeded with great honors. He next went to the Seminary of Philosophy with the Sulpician Fathers, to follow a two years’ course in philosophy, which gave him the degree of Bachelor of Arts of Laval University. He chose the profession of law and became articled in Montreal to Mr. Matthew Hutchinson, now a judge of the Superior Court, in Sherbrooke. P.Q., with whom he remained for three years, in the meantime following the law lectures at McGill University, from which institution he received, in April, 1902, the degree of Bachelor of Civil Law. In 1901 Mr. Gariepy had the honor of being selected by the McGill Faculty of Law to represent it at the Laval Law Students’ Banquet, at the city of Quebec.

In the federal and provincial campaigns in 1900, Mr. W. Gariepy for several months addressed meetings, spending the bulk of his time in the constituency of Terrebonne, at the request of the late Honorables Raymond Prefontaine and Jean Prévost. At that period, at the formation of a Liberal Students’ Association in Montreal, he was elected its Secretary, while the Vice-President thereof was Walter Mitchell, the present Provincial Treasurer of Quebec. Having been admitted to the Bar of the Province of Quebec in January, 1903, Mr. Gariepy immediately secured his enrolment in the Bar of the North-West Territories and opened an office in Edmonton on the same spot where years before he had been carrying on work as a clerk in his father’s store. In the following May a by-election having been called to elect a member for the constituency of St. Albert, in the North-West Territories Legislature, at a convention, Mr. Gariepy accepted the nomination but for personal reasons subsequently withdrew from the contest. For three years Mr. Gariepy was a member of the law firm of Taylor, Boyle and Gariepy, the senior member being Judge H. C. Taylor, of Edmonton District, and the other member, the Hon. J. R. Boyle, now Minister of Education in the Alberta Government. From 1907 to 1911, Mr. Gariepy was a member of the law firm of Gariepy & Landry, his partner being Mr. Hector Landry, son of the late Sir Pierre Landry, of New Brunswick. Mr. Gariepy is now the senior member of the firm of Gariepy, Dunlop & Pratt. This firm is among the leading firms of the City of Edmonton, and while his present political activities prevent our subject from devoting much time to law, he has always paid great attention to his law practice. He has had the distinction of figuring as leading counsel in two murder cases—one, the Gladu Brothers, who were acquitted, and the other the Barrett case, that life convict who was condemned to capital punishment after having been convicted of wilfully killing with an axe, Deputy-Governor Stedman, of the Edmonton Penitentiary. For six years Mr. Gariepy was a member of the Separate School Board of Edmonton, being chairman of the commission for two years. It was under his chairmanship that the Separate School on Third Street was erected. In December, 1906, he was elected an alderman of the city of Edmonton, and although running for the first time in the city at large, as there are no wards, he came second on the list, the first one beating him only by one vote. Two years later Mr. W. Gariepy was re-elected, this time at the head of the list, having some 300 more votes than the next man. While an alderman he held the chairmanship of several important committees and was delegated on two occasions: first, to Chicago with ex-Mayor J. A. McDougall, to inspect the automatic telephone system, which was eventually to be installed in Edmonton; and, second, to Ottawa with ex-Mayor Lee, to interview the Dominion Government respecting the Dominion’s contribution towards the construction of the C.P.R. high-level bridge between Strathcona and Edmonton. It was during Mr. Gariepy’s term of office that the Edmonton automatic telephone system was installed; that the street railway system was completed and put in operation; and that the C.P.R high-level bridge was completed and opened for traffic; and that negotiations for the amalgamation of Edmonton and Strathcona were begun. In 1910 Mr. Gariepy was chairman of the civic committee that organized such a splendid reception as was tendered to Sir Wilfrid Laurier, then Prime Minister, on the occasion of his visit to the Capital of Alberta, and it was at that time that Mr. Gariepy secured the adoption of a resolution by the city council giving to a park the name of “Laurier Park.” Mr. Gariepy took a leading part in the federal campaigns of 1904, 1908 and 1911. In 1909 he was the unsuccessful Liberal candidate in the provincial constituency of St. Albert, his successful opponent being also a Liberal, as there was no Conservative candidate running. In 1911 he was elected Grand Knight of the Edmonton Council of the Knights of Columbus; in 1907 he was elected president of the Edmonton Société de St. Jean Baptiste; in 1912 he was elected vice-president of the French-Canadian Alberta Convention, held in Edmonton, and by that convention was elected as the only delegate to represent it at the French-Canadian Congress held that year in the city of Quebec; in 1913 he was elected president of the Society du Parler-Français of Alberta, and as such presided over the French-Canadian congress of Alberta, held at Edmonton in 1914. On September 9, 1903, Mr. Wilfrid Gariepy married Albertina Lessard, daughter of Jean P. Lessard and Annie Davidson, of Cranbourne, P.Q., a sister of the Hon. P. E. Lessard, M.L.A., for St. Paul, and a former business partner of Mr. J. H. Gariepy. We may note that Mr. P. E. Lessard had previously married Miss Hélène Gariepy, the eldest sister of our subject. From the marriage of Mr. W. Gariepy with Miss Lessard have been born four children: Hormidas, Marcelle, Wilfrid and George. Mr. Gariepy is a member of the Y.M.C.A. and a lieutenant in the 101st Edmonton Fusiliers. In 1912 he was elected as president of the Edmonton Liberal Association; on March 17, 1913, he was elected a member of the legislature for Beaver River. At the first session of that parliament, in the following September, he was chosen to make the speech in moving the adoption of the Speech from the Throne. On November 28, 1913, he was sworn in as Minister of Municipal Affairs, becoming a member of the administration headed by the Hon. Arthur L. Sifton. On December 15, 1913, Mr. Gariepy was re-elected for Beaver River, by acclamation. On December 22, 1913, at the Cecil Hotel, as a compliment on his becoming a member of the government, his French-Canadian compatriots, numbering some four hundred, tendered him a banquet. In September, 1915, Mr. Gariepy represented, with the Hon. Mr. Sifton, the Province of Alberta at a national tax conference held in San Francisco, California. In March, 1913, Mr. Gariepy was made a King’s Counsel for the Province of Alberta. In August, 1915, the same honor was conferred on him by the Province of Quebec. At the date of writing this biography, Mr. Gariepy has been for over five years a member of the Alberta Government and his friends predict that he has yet a long public career to fulfil. As Minister of Municipal Affairs for Alberta Mr. Gariepy has been responsible for the introduction of legislation which has been a landmark in the western provinces, namely: The Wild Lands Tax Act and the Municipal Hospitals Act.


SENATOR W. C. EDWARDS
Ottawa


Byrne, Daniel J., Vice-President and General Manager, Leonard Fisheries, Montreal, Que., producers, curers and packers of sea and lake foods. Entered the employ of that firm as a lad in 1886, and steadily rose to his present responsible position with a reputation as one of the leading authorities in Canada on all questions relating to the fishing industry. Leonard Fisheries, which started business in 1875, and is now one of the leading concerns in its line, was incorporated under its present form in 1917, as a result of the consolidation Leonard Bros., Matthews & Scott, and A. Wilson & Son. This was brought about largely through the efforts of Mr. Byrne, with the object of effecting economies in organization and distribution. The firm has branches in many parts of the Maritime Provinces, notably St. John, N.B., and Halifax, N.S. The subject of this sketch was born in Montreal, April, 1871, and married Mary Louisa, daughter of William Dalt, of Montreal, July, 1900, by whom he has one son, John W. In 1915 he was called on to address the Conservation Commission at Ottawa on the subject of “Canada’s Fisheries.” Mr. Byrne is a member of the following Clubs: The Engineer’s, Country and Rotary. He is a Roman Catholic in religion and Independent in politics. His recreation is golf, fishing and motoring.


Harper, John Murdoch (Quebec City), the Canadian educationist and author, came to Canada in the year of Confederation, 1867, to take charge of an Academy in New Brunswick. He was born in Johnstone, Renfrewshire, Scotland, on the 10th of February, 1845, the eldest son of Robert Montgomery Harper, the founder of the first newspaper published in that town. His grand-uncle was Robert Montgomery, who was for many years a mill-owner and manufacturer in Johnstone. From school he entered the Glasgow E. C. Training College, after taking a Queen’s Scholarship, and graduated as a teacher from it with the highest certificate of his year granted by the Lords of the Council of Education, London, and with special certificates from the Science and Art Department, Kensington. After coming to Canada he became a graduate of Queen’s University, Kingston, and thereafter received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy, from the Illinois University, after completing the three years’ post-graduate course in the section of metaphysical science. In 1881 he was unanimously elected a Fellow of the Educational Institute of Scotland, an honor seldom conferred on teachers laboring outside of Great Britain. For a time he acted as principal of the Model Schools of Nova Scotia, and afterwards as principal of the Victoria High School of St. John, New Brunswick. While there he was asked by the Premier of Prince Edward Island to become Superintendent of Education in that province, which he declined to accept. But when the Victoria School buildings were destroyed in the great fire of St. John, he was induced to accept the principalship of the Provincial Normal School in Charlottetown and the Supervisorship of the City Schools, while St. John and its school buildings were being rebuilt. At the end of three years spent in inaugurating the new system of schools in Prince Edward Island, he was invited, in face of his inclination to return to his former position in New Brunswick, to take charge of the Quebec High School as its Rector; and, accepting the appointment, he thus became identified with the educational interests of the Province of Quebec, where he has labored ever since, closing his career as an educationist in active service as Inspector of the Protestant Superior Schools of that province. While holding that office he entered upon his vocation as an author, having been for many years editor-in-chief of the “Educational Record,” a contributor to the “Educational Monthly” of Ontario, the “Queen’s Quarterly,” and other periodicals, besides being associated with Dr. Thomas Morison, of Glasgow, one of the most distinguished of the educationists of Scotland, in the compilation of sundry text-books. His earlier essays and addresses on “The New Education,” and “Cause and Effect in School Work,” led to his issue of “A Manual on Moral Drill,” in line with his pleadings for an educative “Mental and Physical Drill” in the schools of the day. His plan for a definite moral training is thus spoken of by a New York educationist and author of high standing: “Dr. Harper’s work is entirely original. It is sound. It is eminently practical and it should be most heartily adopted by all who have the training of the young in hand, and who earnestly desire that the rising generation may develop into a ‘coming race,’ in whom moral rectitude will be natural and spontaneous.” As an author, Dr. Harper has had a career as full of the best kind of literary work, as has been his career as an educationist in advice with his co-workers in school progress throughout Canada. The list of the books he has written is all but incredibly large. His chef-d’ouvre is unquestionably his drama of “Champlain,” which has given him rank, as one critic says, as the greatest of our Canadian dramatic poets since the days of Heavysege. The late George Murray, of Montreal, a writer of just discrimination, claimed that Dr. Harper is one of the most versatile and prolific of Canadian litterateurs. A partial list of his literary output from year to year includes the following: “The Development of the Greek Drama,” “The Chronicles of Kartdale,” “Sacrament Sunday and the Bells of Kartdale,” “The Earliest Beginnings of Canada,” “The Montgomery Siege,” “The Little Sergeant,” “The Seer of Silver Lake,” “Domini Domus, or the Chateau St. Louis,” “The Songs of the Commonwealth,” and “A Guide to Good Will in the Empire.” Three uniformly bound volumes of his series of “Studies in Verse and Prose,” have so far appeared, including “The Battle of the Plains,” and “The Annals of the War,” supplementary to his “Champlain, a Drama.” With the influence of his earlier years clinging to him, he has not failed to produce many pieces that depict the scenes of the land of his birth; and his poetic status as a versifier in the Doric of the Scottish Lowlands has been duly recognized by Dr. John D. Ross in his volume on “The Scottish Poets in America,” as well as by the gifted author of the book entitled “The Scot in America.” Dr. Ross pays a high tribute to the author of “Sacrament Sunday,” “Saint Andrew’s Day,” “The Old Graveyard,” “Auld Jeames and His Crack,” “Horace in the Doric,” and others of Dr. Harper’s Scottish odes, in such words as these: “Sweet as the note of a bird in the wildwood, strongly embued with patriotism, fervent in religious sentiment, eloquent in thought, pure in expression, and noble in purpose, form a few of the characteristics of Dr. Harper, the Canadian educationist and author.” In addition to all this, Dr. Harper is a loyal Canadian. In all his public utterances and in the pleadings of his prolific authorship in book or magazine or newspaper, he is a Canadian citizen who upholds as a British subject the ample patriotism of the British Empire. He has been twice married, his first wife’s maiden name having been Miss Agnes Kirkwood, daughter of William Kirkwood of Stanley Muir, near Paisley, and his second, Miss Elizabeth Hastings, daughter of Andrew Hastings, of St. John and step-daughter of William Nossack, a former Mayor of Quebec. His family has comprised two sons and five daughters. His grandson, Major John Harper Evans, has been a soldier at the front, after his training at the Kingston Royal Military College.


Brennan, John Charles. In 1854, when but a boy, when Ottawa (then By-Town) had only some 7,000 inhabitants, when the old Ottawa and St. Lawrence Railway was just built—the only line of railway connecting Ottawa with other towns at that time—when houses were few and far between and when there was no prospect of the place being selected by Her Most Gracious Majesty the late Queen Victoria as the Capital of the Dominion of Canada, the subject of this sketch became a member of the wholesale grocery firm of S. Howell & Co., with which he remained for twenty-seven years, retiring from business in 1881. While giving his untiring care to the affairs of the firm, and by his energy and business tact adding in a marked degree to its advancement—its commercial and financial success—Mr. Brennan, with full confidence in the future that he perceived was in store for Ottawa, never lost an opportunity to place his time, ambition and money in channels leading to its improvement and, with other enterprising citizens, exerted his every endeavor to stimulate its growth and importance. To-day, with marked pride, he sees the seven thousand population increased to one hundred and twenty thousand, the once fields and uncared-for lanes converted into beautifully paved streets, parks, and gardens, the costly Parliament Buildings, standing in all their grandeur upon the hill overlooking the Ottawa River; huge commercial, financial and office buildings and apartment houses galore facing the eye at every angle, and handsome modern residences in abundance. Aside from his other real estate holdings, Mr. Brennan, on the corner of Bank and Queen Streets, in the very midst of the Capital’s commercial and financial activities, has placed that large and solidly-constructed office building, “The Trafalgar.” Mr. Brennan has ever taken a keen interest in Ottawa’s hospitals, charitable institutions, churches, etc., and has unstintingly contributed to their support. Whenever called upon to help advance their interests he has freely contributed his quota, and more. During the great war, his moral, physical, intellectual and financial aid have ever been given to promote the successful operations of the Government, and to afford the war workers, the boys at the front and the returned soldiers, material help. Mr. Brennan has grown up with the city and together both he and it have prospered. Although solicited on many occasions to enter into public life he has steadfastly refused, being satisfied in his private capacity as a citizen to do his share in making general progress his goal. Mr. John Charles Brennan was born at Frankville, Ontario, January 23, 1839. He is the son of John and Amelia Maria (Howell) Brennan; he was educated in the Public Schools and private tuition. June 5, 1899, he married Alice Maud Wilson, daughter of Zachariah Wilson of “Clandeboye,” late Collector of Customs at the Port of Ottawa. He has one son and two daughters—John Charles, Amelia Elizabeth and Jocelyn Maud Wilson. He is a member of the Ottawa Hunt, Connaught Park Jockey, the Gatineau Fish and Game, and the Rideau Fish and Game Clubs. For recreation he indulges in hunting, fishing and travelling. In politics he is a Conservative, in religion a Methodist, and his place of residence is 150 Cooper Street, Ottawa.


W. BULMAN
Winnipeg


Bulman, William John (Winnipeg, Man.), one of the most prominent and progressive business men of Manitoba, was born at Toronto on April 5, 1870, the son of William and Frances (Cable) Bulman. He was educated in the Toronto Public Schools and, on leaving school at the age of sixteen, learned the art of the lithographer, in which he was employed in his native city for six years. In 1892 he went to Winnipeg and founded the business of Bulman Bros., Ltd., Lithographers, of which he is President and which is one of the most important firms of its kind in Canada. In promoting the advancement of Winnipeg he has been indefatigable. He was one of the founders of the Winnipeg Industrial Bureau, and was its President from 1911 to 1913. He was Hon. Secretary of the Manitoba branch of the Canadian Manufacturers’ Association for some years and subsequently became 2nd Vice-President for Canada. At the annual convention of the C.M.A., held at Winnipeg in the summer of 1918, he was elected President of that body, an office which is coveted by all Canadian business men. He is also a member of the council of the Winnipeg Board of Trade. Mr. Bulman has also been very prominent in educational affairs and was for a number of years a member of the Advisory Board of the Manitoba Education Department. He has been a School Trustee of Winnipeg since 1912 and Chairman of various Committees. During the great war he was very active in support of patriotic objects, and was Vice-President of the Manitoba Patriotic Fund. He is the originator of the Imperial Home Reunion Association, which aims at assisting the man who desires to make a home for himself in the West to bring the members of his family to this country. This idea has had the approval of many eminent Imperial thinkers. He is also the originator of the movement for citizenship through the schools, now a national one, with a National Conference to be held in August under the patronage of His Honor the Governor-General. Winnipeg possesses no citizen more popular with all classes of the community and he is Honorary President of the Manitoba Conservative Association. He is a member of the Carleton and Manitoba Clubs and the National Club, Toronto, and his recreations are motoring, motor boating, cruising and fishing at his summer home, Kenora, Ont. He is a Methodist in religion, and in 1894 married Lily, daughter of Samuel Thompson, of Toronto, and has five children, Eileen, Bessie, Dorothy, Lillian and John. He resides at 104 Wellington Crescent, Winnipeg.


Freiman, Archibald J., who conducts one of the leading department stores of Ottawa, at 73 Rideau Street, was born at Wirballen, Poland, on June 6, 1880, the son of H. and Hannah Freiman. His early education was received in Poland, which was supplemented on his coming to this country in 1893, by courses in the public schools of Hamilton and at Hamilton Business College. He commenced his business career in 1899, by establishing the Canadian House Furnishing Company, at Kingston, Ont., in partnership with M. Cramer. In 1902 the business was removed to Ottawa owing to the limited possibilities for development in Kingston. In 1905, Mr. Cramer’s interest was purchased by Mr. Freiman, Sr., who remained in partnership with his son until 1910, when Mr. A. J. Freiman bought his father out and has since conducted the business in his own name. He has been a pronounced success from the outset and is recognized as one of the leading retail merchants of Eastern Ontario. He is an orthodox Hebrew in religion and president of the Congregation Adath Eshuroon. He is vice-president of the Zionist Federation of Canada; a member of the A.F. & A.M., Knights of Pythias and I.O.O.F.; a director of Perley Home for Incurables; director of Central Canada Exhibition Association; director of Protestant Hospital; member of Laurentian Club and Kiwanis Club, Ottawa; and Montefiore and Maimondis Clubs, of Montreal. Is an enthusiastic motorist and member of the Ontario Motor League. On August 18, 1903, he married Lillian, daughter of Moses Bilsky, and has one son and two daughters. He resides at 149 Somerset Street, Ottawa.


Breadner, Robert Walker, Commissioner of Taxation of the Department of Finance and Dominion Appraiser, Department of Customs, Ottawa, is one of the leading economic experts of the Dominion of Canada. He was born at Athelstan, Quebec, on January 13, 1865, the son of the late Major Joshua and Beatrice Dudgeon (Walker) Breadner. He was educated at the Protestant Separate School of his native village, and later at the High School of Port Henry, N.Y. He entered the civil service of the Dominion in 1884 as a clerk in the Post Office Department, Ottawa. He was transferred to the Customs Department in 1892 and in 1894 became chief Check Clerk of that branch, a post he continued to hold in connection with other duties until 1908. From 1898 to 1906 he also held the position of Dominion Appraiser and in the latter year became Inspector of Customs, holding the position until 1908. Throughout this period he was also a member of the Board of Customs. It will be seen that few men had had such a detailed experience in dealing with all the manifold questions relating to tariffs, and in 1908 the Canadian Manufacturers Association induced him to leave the service of the Government and become manager of their Tariff Department. In this position he remained for four years. In 1912, because of his expert knowledge, the newly formed Borden Government induced him to return to the Civil Service as Confidential Tariff Officer, also appointing him to his old position as Dominion Appraiser and member of the Board of Customs. When during the war the Government decided on its policy of taxing business profits, Mr. Breadner was put in charge of the details and has given great satisfaction by his efficient organization of the difficult task. In addition to his many other duties Mr. Breadner found time to serve on the Ottawa Board of Education for four years. He is a member of the following clubs: Laurentian, Ottawa; Canada Bowling (Toronto), and these societies: I.O.O.F., I.O.F., L.O.L., A.O.U.W., Royal Arcanum. He is a Presbyterian in religion and on September 7, 1887, married Nellie, daughter of Andrew D. Fraser, Ottawa. He has one son and four daughters, and since his duties compelled his removal to Toronto has resided at 41 Albany Ave. in the latter city.


Gordon Grant, Ottawa
Stewart McClennaghan, Ottawa


Black, Henry, 2322 St. John St., Regina, Saskatchewan, one of the large realty owners of that city; was born in Grenville County, Ontario, on February 14, 1875, the son of William John and Elizabeth Black. His father, who was a farmer, died when the subject of this sketch was twelve years old. His education was obtained in the Grenville Township Public School, and as a youth he removed to British Columbia, finally settling down in Regina, as a builder and contractor. He is now the owner of two blocks of apartments and of a business block in the capital of Saskatchewan, and is counted one of her most solid and progressive citizens. He has taken an active part in municipal affairs, was alderman in 1915-6-7 and Mayor in 1918 and 1919. On Dec. 15, 1910, he married Jennie Lanona, daughter of C. W. Barker, and has three children, Henry Kenneth, Charles Russell and William Franklin. In religion he is a Presbyterian.


Dargavel, John Robertson (Elgin, Ont.), is the son of Robert Dargavel and Miriam, his wife, both Scotch, was born May 3, 1864, at the Township of Crosby, in the County of Leeds. Educated at the public schools of South Crosby. Is a successful merchant, dairyman and farmer. Married, September 26, 1870, to Mary Jane, daughter of the late Robert Hopkins, merchant, of Newboro. Is President of the Eastern Ontario Dairymen’s Association; Clerk of the Township of South Crosby for the past 30 years; a member of the Elgin School Board for the past 20 years. Is a member of the Masonic Order being P.D.D.G.M. for Frontenac District, also a member of the I.O.O.F. Mr. Dargavel has three children, viz.: Helen, James Sawtell, and Mary. He was first elected to the Ontario Legislature as a Conservative at the General Elections of 1905, and re-elected at the general elections of 1908, 1911 and 1914. Has been Chairman of the Agricultural Committee of the Legislature, where his knowledge of agriculture and dairying has been very valuable to the Assembly. Has also served on the Prison Labor Committee and the Provincial Milk Commission. Is a member of the Church of England and a delegate to the Diocesan and General Synods.


Ethier, Joseph Arthur Calixte, was born at St. Benoit (Two Mountains), Quebec, May 26, 1868. Son of J. B. Ethier and wife, Julie Boyer. Educated at Montreal College. Married, first, Therise Fortier, daughter of Dr. L. A. Fortier, and secondly, Hedwidge Fortier, also daughter of Dr. L. A. Fortier, and is the father of the following children: Marie Therese and Marcelle. Deputy Prothonotary of the District of Terrebonne, 1888-1895. Crown Prosecutor for the District of Terrebonne; Mayor of the Village of St. Scholastique for six years; Secretary-Treasurer of Schools, rural municipalities of St. Scholastique and St. Columbin; Secretary of “La Compagnie d’Assurance Mutuelle de la paroisse de St. Scholastique.” Is a brilliant Advocate and King’s Counsel; is President of the Ontario Cobalt Mining Co., Ltd. First elected to the House of Commons, June 13, 1896, for the constituency of Two Mountains, Quebec; re-elected in 1900-1904 and re-elected by acclamation in 1911. Appointed Chairman of Committee on Miscellaneous Private Bills during the Session of 1907. Mr. Ethier was again re-elected at the General Election held in 1917. He is a Liberal and a Roman Catholic.


Grierson, Hon. George Allison, Minister of Public Works, Winnipeg. Born, April 11, 1867, at Brantford, Ont. Son of George Grierson and Margaret Edmundson. Educated at Brantford, Ont., and Winnipeg Public School and Collegiate Institute. Went to Manitoba in 1879, attending the Winnipeg Collegiate Institute, 1883-4, obtaining First Class Teacher’s Certificate; attended Normal School, 1885, and was the first candidate to pass newly authorized First-Class Teachers’ Professional Course, 1886. Was Principal Minnedosa Public School, 1887-90, 1892-1902. Married, December 28, 1892, to Christina, daughter of Samuel Matheson, of Kildonan, Manitoba. A member of the Masonic Order and a Veteran Oddfellow. Was interested in lacrosse in the earlier days, and at present finds recreation in curling. Member of the Presbyterian Church. Was Councillor of the Town of Minnedosa for some years and Mayor, 1914-1915. Was a Liberal candidate for Marquette for the House of Commons in September, 1911, but was defeated by Hon. W. J. Roche. First elected to Legislature for the Province of Manitoba, in the general elections, 1914, as a Liberal candidate for Minnedosa, and re-elected in 1915. Was Liberal Whip in the Manitoba Legislature during the sessions of 1914-15-16. Was re-elected for the Constituency of Minnedosa at the last elections and is at present Minister of Public Works in the Norris Government. The Honorable Mr. Grierson is a gifted speaker and an indefatigable worker, and thoroughly versed in the details of his department.


Gale, George Charles, Secretary Gale Manufacturing Company, Ltd., Manufacturers, Toronto, was born in Toronto, where he has for some years successfully carried on business, on the 26th of April, 1874. Son of James William Gale and Matilda Sophia Pitt. Educated at Jarvis Street Collegiate Institute, and Upper Canada College. Married, February, 1907, Etta F., daughter of T. B. Taylor, and is the father of one son, George Taylor Gale, born May 19, 1913. Mr. Gale always takes a prominent part in Amateur Athletics and was actively identified for many years with the Toronto Lacrosse Club, being one of the players of that famous organization. He is a member of the National Club, Lambton Golf and Country Club, and the Victoria Club and also the Masonic Order, being a member of Ashlar Masonic Lodge, St. Paul’s Chapter. In religion he is an Anglican.


Flavelle, William M., of Lindsay, Ont., is a sound, progressive business man, who has played an important part in the development of that section of Central Ontario adjacent to the home town. He was born at Peterboro in March, 1853, where he attended the Public and High Schools. His parents were John and Dorothea Flavelle; Sir Joseph Flavelle, Baronet, of Toronto, is a brother, as also is Mr. J. D. Flavelle, of Lindsay, Chairman of the Board of Ontario License Commissioners. The subject of this sketch is one of the pioneers of the Cold Storage business in Canada. Over thirty years ago he recognized the necessity and value of the same as being of untold benefit to the country, by means of which dairy and other perishable products of the farm could be garnered in the seasons of their greatest production, and conserved for future use in the non-producing intervals. The growth of the enterprise has been of immense benefit to both producer and consumer, as now many commodities, which would not be otherwise available, may be freely purchased at any season in the year. The great advancement of the business from the first simple storage, when natural ice was used as the refrigerator, to the special brick structure standing prominently on Lindsay’s main street, equipped with every modern device and appliance, is the evidence of one man’s splendid vision, business acumen, and sagacity. A natural adjunct to the Lindsay Cold Storage Plant has been added in the way of a creamery, the first, and one of the finest of its kind in Canada. Here the cream is received from the farmers, tributary to the district, tested and manufactured into the finest creamery product, to the mutual advantage of the farmer and the country in general. In 1886 Mr. Flavelle married Mary Helen Aird, daughter of Robert Aird, of Montreal. Six children blessed the union, four sons and two daughters, viz.: Aird D., Stewart A., Gordon A., Guy A., Jena L. and Helen Grace. He is President of Flavelle, Limited, The Victoria Loan and Savings Company, The Lindsay Cemetery Company, Dundas & Flavelle, Limited, and a member of the Public Library Board. With his varied interests, Mr. Flavelle is a very busy man, but finds relaxation and recreation in golf, motoring and boating. He is a Methodist in religion, and a Liberal-Conservative in politics. Public spirited, with a fine business reputation, he takes more than a passing interest in matters of National importance and is keenly concerned in all measures which will advance the community in which he has held a prominent place for so many years.


Hore, George Charles (Hamilton, Ont.), was born in the Township of West Flamboro, County of Wentworth, July 20, 1868, and was educated at the West Flamboro Public School, the Hamilton Public Schools and the Woodstock Baptist College. His father was Francis William Hore, who came to Canada about the year 1837, when quite a young man, in company with his parents, brothers and sisters; he was born in Sussex, England, and was a grandson of Joseph Hore, of North Mundham, Chichester, Sussex, England; his mother was Sophia Fearman, who in the year 1833, with other members of their family came to Canada from Norfolk, England, in the New York Packet ship “Ontario,” being on the ocean six weeks, and two weeks on the Erie canal to Oswego, N.Y., and from that port took passage on a schooner to Port Dalhousie; thence to Hamilton in a farmer’s hay rack. F. W. Hore, father of the subject of this sketch, was a man of exceptional ability and was one of the earlier settlers who helped to build up the manufacturing industries of this country to their present high position, as is shown by the magnificent factory standing to his credit in Hamilton, known as F. W. Hore & Son, Limited, manufacturers of Fine Carriage, Waggon and Sleigh Wood-work. Following in his footsteps, George C. Hore commenced work in his father’s factory at the age of fifteen years, to learn the business, and with the exception of a short time at College, has been at it continuously and steadily ever since. The Company of F. W. Hore & Son, Limited, are extensive manufacturers, and their product is well and favorably known from the Atlantic to the Pacific. They have the pleasure of showing in their office, records of many first prizes and medals taken in the pioneer days of their business, testifying to the quality of their product. They are believers in the old saying that “quality will be remembered long after the price is forgotten.” The business has been established between forty and forty-five years, and Mr. Hore is ably assisted in the management by his brother and other officers of the Company. He was married September 21, 1912, to Miss Emma Lenz, of Hamilton. In religion he is a member of the Church of England; in politics, a Conservative, and is fond of outdoor sports—being a member of the Victoria Bowling Club and the Hamilton Gun Club.


Morehouse, Oscar Emery, M.D., M.L.A. (Upper Keswick, N.B.), son of Elisha Morehouse, a farmer (English) and his wife, nee Crouse (Dutch); was born at Upper Keswick, on August 5, 1857, and was educated at common schools and McGill College (M.D.), (C.M.), Montreal; of U.E.L. stock. He has been twice married: (1st) to Alberta, daughter of the Rev. William McKiel, of Fairville, N.B., on June 17, 1890, who died in December, 1902, to whom one child, Dorothy Eunice, was born; (2nd) to Maud, daughter of Henry Burtt, of Upper Keswick, N.B., to whom three children were born, Elsie Muriel, Oscar Emery, and Alberta Evelyn. Mr. Morehouse became interested in public life at an early age, and was first elected a member of the County Council in 1896, continuing in that office until 1903; was Warden of the County Council when the Duke of Cornwall and York (the present King George of England) visited Canada, and presented him with an address at the public reception given in his honor at St. John, N.B. He was first elected to the Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick on March 30, 1911, with the large majority of 1,215, as a supporter of the Hazen Government, and was re-elected with the full ticket on June 20, 1912, their opponents losing deposits. He has acted as a Coroner in his home locality for the past twenty-five years, and is looked upon as a leader in his profession throughout the whole Province of New Brunswick. In the year 1890, he organized the first Board of Health in York County, and was Chairman of the Board for six years. Mr. Morehouse has never been associated with Clubs to any extent, but has taken a keen interest in all work connected with the New Brunswick Medical Society, as well as the Canadian Medical Association. He has taken an active interest in all patriotic work since the outbreak of the War (1914), and has given freely of his time and money. His name will rank among the first who did their duty at home when the history of the War is written for future generations. In religion he is an Episcopalian, and in politics a staunch Conservative.


Thoburn, William (Almonte, Ont.), Woollen Manufacturer, Member of Parliament and ex-Mayor, came to Canada in the year 1857, from Portsmouth, England, where he was born on April 14, 1847, and received his early education at Pakenham School, Pakenham, Ontario. He removed to Almonte in 1867, and for eleven years was engaged in mercantile business. For the last thirty-six years he has been extensively interested in the manufacture of woollens, having built up a large business and his goods are known the world over. Having made a success of his own business affairs, he was persuaded to offer himself as the Conservative Candidate for the House of Commons for North Lanark, and was first elected in 1908, and re-elected in 1911, and was one of the few members in his seat in the Chamber of the House of Commons the night of the terrible fire, when that beautiful building was totally destroyed, Feb. 3, 1916. Besides his many business and political duties, he connected himself with many Boards, and is Vice-President of the Ker-Ben Stove and Furnace Foundry; director of the Trusts and Guarantee Company, Toronto; director of the Almonte Knitting Company, Almonte; life director of the General Hospital, Ottawa, and director of the Rosamond Memorial Hospital, Almonte. He served for several years as a school trustee and councillor, and was for seven years Mayor, and has always taken a keen interest in everything pertaining to the good and welfare of the Town of Almonte. Mr. Thoburn is a widower and has two children: Annie, married to Percy Jamieson, Almonte, and Mae Elliott, married to A. M. May, Toronto. He is a member of the Methodist Church, and much interested in Church and Missionary work; a member of the Rideau Club, Ottawa, and in politics a staunch Conservative. Mr. Thoburn took an active part in patriotic work during the war, and was always one of the first citizens in his district to contribute financially and otherwise whenever called upon. In his parliamentary duties he is looked upon as a man of good judgment and his advice on many matters is often sought by his colleagues.


White, Gerald Verner (Pembroke, Ont.), Member of Parliament for North Renfrew, Ontario, was born in Pembroke, Ontario, July 6, 1879, the son of the late Hon. Peter White, P.C., and Janet Reid White. His early education completed at the Pembroke Public and High Schools, Mr. White proceeded to McGill University, where he graduated as Bachelor of Science in Mining Engineering with the class of 1901. As a native of the Upper Ottawa, however, he turned naturally to lumbering for a vocation, and his success can be judged from the positions which he now holds as President of the Cunningham Lumber Co., of Pembroke, and a director of the Pembroke Lumber Co. Mr. White is also President of the Pembroke Standard, Ltd., a Director of the Thomas Pink Co., Ltd., of Pembroke, and of the Pembroke Woollen Mills. The name of White is one distinguished in the public life of the country and Gerald V. White was elected to the Federal House of Commons at a by-election, in October, 1906, for the Constituency of North Renfrew, which had been rendered vacant by the death of his father, the Hon. Peter White, being subsequently re-elected at the General Elections of 1908 and 1911. Mr. White married Mary Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. D. L. Trites, of New Brunswick, and has two daughters and one son, Muriel Elizabeth, Mary Jeannette and Gerald Peter. He is a Presbyterian in religion and a Conservative in politics. Among the Clubs of which he is a member are the Rideau Club, the Hunt Club and the Golf Club, all of Ottawa. The Member for North Renfrew takes a strong interest in military matters, holding a commission as captain in the 42nd Regiment, Canadian militia, and is at present (1917) in England as Lieutenant-Colonel in command of the 224th Canadian Forestry Battalion.


Crossland, E. F. (Toronto, Ont.), was born at Port Dover, Ont., in 1866, was educated at Windsor, N.S., came to Toronto in 1886, and two years later he entered the Steele-Briggs Seed Co., Limited, and is at the present time the Second Vice-President. Being a man with a practical knowledge of this business, he has been a valuable asset to the Steele-Briggs Company, and much credit is due him for the high position that firm holds in the esteem of the Canadian people to-day. While his active business career requires considerable of his time and attention, still he is a citizen of more than ordinary worth, and he takes no small interest in all measures that have a tendency towards furthering public welfare, and is also a worthy friend of both religious and charitable enterprises. He is a Dominion Council member of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew and an ex-member of the Executive Committee; rector’s warden of St. Matthew’s Anglican Church, a member of the Toronto Board of Trade, and Masonic Order. Mr. Crossland is a man who makes many friends by his pleasing manner. In politics he is a Conservative, but believes that the future prosperity of Canada largely depends upon her public men, irrespective of their political leanings.


ZEPHERIN HEBERT
Montreal


Dickson, Rev. James A. R., B.D. (Galt, Ont.), was born in Tranent, Scotland, on October 22, 1839. His father was David Dickson, a pious man, who was careful of the godly upbringing of his children, and being a zealous Free Churchman, instructed them in the standards of that church. Mr. Dickson came to Canada in the summer of 1857 to an uncle in Brantford, who was engaged in business there, where he resided for some time. His uncle attending the ministry of the Rev. John Wood, of the Congregational Church, he went with him, and under the faithful preaching of Mr. Wood, experienced the great change which altered the entire current of his life. He was active in Christian work in the Sabbath school and Y.M.C.A., but an irrepressible longing for wider usefulness led him to prepare for the Christian ministry. He took private lessons in Latin and Greek, attended the Brantford Grammar School for several sessions, and in 1860 entered the Congregational College of B.N.A. in Toronto, which was then under the principalship of Adam Lillie, D.D. While pursuing theological studies here, he attended classes in Logic, Hebrew, Latin and Greek in University College; mathematics, metaphysics and other subjects being taken up by special masters appointed by the board of the Congregational College. In 1864 the college being removed to Montreal, he attended the McGill College, studying zoology, botany and geology under Sir William Dawson, LL.D.; Hebrew under Dr. De Sola, and logic, English literature and moral philosophy under Canon Leach. He graduated in 1865, and was called to the Congregational Church in London, Ontario, where he remained for six years. While here he edited for three years The Gospel Message, a monthly, published in Montreal. He published “Working for Jesus,” which is now and has been for the past thirteen years, issued by the American Tract Society of New York, and the Religious Tract Society of London. Also a 32-page tract, “Saved or Not?” and “Counsels for Young Converts.” In June, 1867, he married Isabella E., eldest daughter of Walter Fairbairn of London, Ontario. In 1871 he was called to the Northern Church, Toronto. Here he remained about eight years, till he changed his ecclesiastical relations, returning to the church of his fathers. While in Toronto he was honored with the highest position in the gift of the Congregational churches, being elected Chairman of the Congregational Union, of Ontario and Quebec in 1877. Here he began to write for the “Sunday School Times,” “Sunday School World,” and “Canada Presbyterian,” to which he has been a frequent contributor. He published “Immediately,” “The Rest of Faith,” “Christian Culture,” “A Good Minister of Jesus Christ,” tracts which have had an extensive circulation. He was chosen secretary of the Upper Canada Tract Society in 1874, which he held until 1879. On resigning his charge in Toronto, he visited for five months the branch societies of the Upper Canada Tract Society. He filled Dr. Cochrane’s pulpit in Brantford for three months, while the Doctor was in Britain in 1879. While here he was called to Galt, and settled there on October 13, 1879. Since his settlement in Galt he has published “Expository Bible Readings,” “Working for the Children,” and a tract entitled “A Word in Season.” On the regulations being issued for the conferring of the degree of Bachelor of Divinity, Mr. Dickson went to Montreal Presbyterian College, and passing the examinations proper to the degree, took it in March, 1883. The congregation of Galt built for him in 1881 one of the handsomest ecclesiastical structures in Canada. It is mentioned in “Picturesque Canada.” In 1887 the Religious Tract Society of London, England, published a little volume of Mr. Dickson’s entitled “How We Are Saved.” In 1891 Mr. Dickson had conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), by Wooster University, Ohio, one of the great schools of learning belonging to the Presbyterian Church in the United States. He attained the degree by a stated course of special study in Political Economy and Social Science, and by examinations therein. He prepared also a paper to lay before the faculty on “Conscience the Living Source of Human Law.” In 1896 the Religious Tract Society of New York published a volume by Dr. Dickson, entitled “The Truth that Saves and How to Present It.” In 1904 Dr. Dickson wrote and published “The History of the Central Presbyterian Church, Galt,” bringing the story of the church’s life up to that time.


Choquette, Philippe Auguste, LL.B. (Quebec, Que.), Advocate, Senator and Judge of the Sessions, Quebec, was born on the 6th of January, 1854, at Beloeil, County of Vercheres. His ancestors came from Amiens, Picardie, France, in 1643, and settled in Varennes, in the county where the subject of our sketch was born. His parents were Joseph Choquette, farmer, and Marie Thais Audet. He received his education at St. Hyacinthe College, and at Laval University, Quebec, and graduated B.C.L., from the latter institution in 1880, having previously taken the silver medal given by the then Governor-General, Lord Lorne, receiving, in 1899, the degree of LL.D. While he was prosecuting his studies at Laval, he acted as private secretary to the late Hon. Honore Mercier, then solicitor-general in the Joly administration, and later on Premier of Quebec Province. He held for about three years and a half the position of commercial traveller in a wholesale boot and shoe establishment in St. Hyacinthe, before he began to study law. He moved to Quebec in 1887, and entered the office of the Hon. François Langelier, then a Member of Parliament and Mayor of Quebec (who died in 1915 as Lieutenant-Governor), to study law. After being admitted to the bar of Lower Canada, in 1880, he removed to Montmagny, where he successfully practised his profession. Since 1877 he has been a contributor to “L’Union,” of St. Hyacinthe, director of “Le Soleil” in 1905-06, having before, in 1883, founded “Le Sentinelle,” of Montmagny, still existing under the name of “Le Courier de Montmagny.” In 1878 he began to take an active part in politics and in 1882 he ran for a seat in the House of Commons against A. C. P. R. Landry, now Senator, the then Conservative candidate, but was defeated by a majority of 120 votes. At the general election held in 1887, he again presented himself in opposition to Mr. Landry, and this time carried his election by a majority of 195 votes, and was re-elected in 1911-1916 by large majorities. Mr. Choquette has travelled through the principal parts of the United States and Europe. He has been Secretary of the Reform Club of the County of Montmagny. In politics he is a strong Liberal, a free trader, and in favor of commercial union. In 1898, was appointed a Judge of the Superior Court; resigned in 1904 and was called to the Senate. In 1915 was by the local Government named Judge of the Sessions of the Peace for Quebec District. He is an adherent of the Roman Catholic Church, but objects to the clergy interfering and mixing in political contests. On the 29th of August, 1883, he was married to Marie, daughter of A. Bender, prothonotary of the Superior Court, and granddaughter of the late Sir E. P. Tache, baronet, A.D.C. to her late Majesty the Queen, and one of the promoters of Confederation. As recreations he favors music and sports, and has been President of the Quebec Hockey Club from 1913 to the present time (1917). He resides at 56 Conroy St., Ottawa.


Choquette, Ernest (St. Hilaire, Quebec), son of Joseph Choquette and his wife, Thais Lapointe. Born at Beloeil, Vercheres County, Quebec, November 18, 1862. Educated at St. Hyacinthe’s College and Medical Faculty of Laval University, Montreal, from which he graduated with the degrees of M.B. and M.D. Married, October 16, 1889, to Eva Perrault, daughter of Dr. Perrault of Beloeil. He has been a frequent contributor to various journals and reviews and is the author of several books, his chief works being: “Les Ribaud,” “Claude Payson,” “Les Carabinades,” “La Terre,” and “Madeline Rabaud.” He has successfully practised his profession for many years at St. Hilaire and has been Mayor of his parish for a considerable time. First entered the Legislative Council for the Province of Quebec as a Liberal on March 14, 1910, as the representative of the Constituency of Rougemont. Is a Roman Catholic in religion and is the father of the following children: Fernande, Claude, Lucas, Yves, and Girard.


Cave, James G. James Gilbert Cave is one of those sterling Canadian business men who are the backbone of this country. Mr. Cave was born in Weston, Ontario, his parents’ names being Martin Cave and Nancy Morrison, and graduated from the Weston Grammar School, after which he entered the wholesale lumber business. He married Margaret B., daughter of Andrew Henderson, and has ten children: James M., Donald A., William, Charles, Gordon G., Margaret, Annie, Nora, Nellie and Lillian, three of whom, James, Charles and William, are serving overseas with the Canadian forces. Mr. Cave is a Protestant, a Liberal and a Mason, and has been a member of the Royal Grenadiers and the 48th Highlanders, serving in the North-West Rebellion of 1885. His present address is 97 Delaware Avenue, Toronto.


Tytler, William, B.A., Inspector of Public Schools, Guelph, Ont., was born on Jan. 5, 1842, in the Township of Nichol, near Elora, Wellington County, Ontario. His father was William Tytler, and his mother, Jane Inglis Forbes, aunt of Archibald Forbes, the celebrated special war correspondent. Mr. Tytler pursued his educational studies in the town of Elora, attending the Grammar school of that place, after he had passed the primary departments. A university course was planned, and he matriculated at the University of Toronto. His course here was characterized by industry, and he was especially distinguished in science and classics. He graduated in 1862, taking the gold medal for natural sciences. Mr. Tytler has likewise something of a military record. He has been a private in the Queen’s Own, Toronto University Company, and has been a member of volunteer companies at Carleton Place and at Smith’s Falls, Lanark County. The City of Guelph was the first to take advantage of the free libraries act; and in 1862, a library was established there, Mr. Tytler being secretary and chief worker in connection with that institution. He married on the 23rd July, 1879, Martha C. Harrison, younger daughter of Milner Harrison, of St. Mary’s. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church. We may say that Mr. Tytler at once turned his attention to the work of teaching upon graduation; and his record has been a very creditable one since he was head master of the Carleton Place Grammar School, during 1863 and 1864; of the Smith’s Falls Grammar School from 1865 to 1868; of the St. Mary’s High School from 1869 to 1874; and was appointed head master of the Guelph Collegiate Institute, in February, 1875. Mr. Tytler, it can be said without any exaggeration, stands in the front rank of the Canadian teaching profession. He is a sound scholar; and he brings both industry and enthusiasm into his work. In 1892, owing to ill health, he resigned his position, and was soon afterwards appointed Inspector of Public Schools for the city of Guelph, a position which he still holds.


Commeford, James W. (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Toronto, April 6, 1877, and was educated in the public and high schools. Having decided to follow life as an electrical engineer and contractor he gave considerable of his time in educating himself along those lines and when satisfied as to his ability he branched out into business for himself on College Street, where he is located at the present time. He has been very successful and has to his credit to-day one of the largest electrical businesses in the city, carrying a large staff of employees the year round. Mr. Commeford was induced to offer himself as a candidate for alderman in Ward Four, many citizens believing that his expert knowledge as an electrician would be beneficial to the city at large, and was defeated by a very small margin, meaning a great loss from a city standpoint, owing to the installation of the Hydro-Electric System, when his services would have been invaluable. However, youth is on his side, and Mr. Commeford will not only be elected alderman, but will fill higher offices should he desire the honor. He is widely known in yachting circles and acquatic sports, being a member of the Queen City Yacht Club, National Yacht and Skiff Club, Alexandra Yacht Club and Rochester Yacht Club. He is honorary president of the Lake Sailing Skiff Association and President of the Canadian Power Boat Association. He has donated the Motor Cycle Championship Cup, and the Long Distance Endurance Cup of the Canadian Power Boat Association. Mr. Commeford has saved thirty-three lives from drowning in Lake Ontario and received four medals from the Humane Society for his brave and timely acts. In politics he is a Conservative and an active party man.


Conant, Gordon Daniel (Oshawa, Ont.), Barrister, was deputy Reeve of Oshawa, 1914, and Mayor, 1916-1917; Secretary South Ontario Reform Association, 1915-1916. He is genial in manner, quick and easy in expression, goes straight to the point of things and is likely to be heard of in a wider field in the not distant future. Mr. Conant is the only son of Margaret and the late Thomas Conant, farmer and journalist, Oshawa, who was an extensive traveller and writer, contributing articles on travel, history and general subjects to the Toronto “Globe” for years. The subject of this sketch was born in Oshawa, January 11, 1885, and was educated at the High School of that place, afterwards graduating from the University of Toronto in 1905, with the degrees of B.A. and LL.B. and from Osgoode Hall in 1912, as Barrister-at-Law. He married Verna Rowena, daughter of Senator the Hon. E. D. Smith, manufacturer, Winona, Ont., June 25, 1915. He has one son, Douglas Smith, born in 1914, and one daughter, Verna Genevieve, born in 1916. He is a Methodist in religion and a Liberal in politics. Mr. Conant is a member of The Thirty and Golf Clubs, Oshawa, Ontario and Royal Canadian Yacht Club, Toronto, and of the Masonic Order.


Perry, Nathaniel Irwin (St. Catharines, Ont.), Rector of St. Thomas Church, and Archdeacon of Lincoln and Welland since 1911. Spent fifteen months in the British Isles, travelling and studying, where he also represented the Colonial and Continental Church Society and the Church Missionary Society in different places. He is the President of St. Catharines Ministerial Association and Lincoln County Clerical Patriotic Association. Until 1913 he was Chaplain of the 2nd Dragoons. His parents are Martha and William Perry, farmer, in the Township of King, where he was born on February 10, 1867. The Rev. Mr. Perry received his education at the Newmarket High School, University of Toronto, and Wycliffe College, graduating in Arts as M.A., 1891, and in Theology, 1893. Was for some time Joint Editor of Church Record Sunday School Publications and wrote both for the “Empire Magazine,” London, England, and the “Cambridge Magazine.” On October 12, 1897, he married Jennie B., daughter of Dr. J. H. Harris, Yarmouth, N.S., by whom he has two sons, Karl Raymond, born 1900, and Ronald Harris, born 1902. Mr. Perry is a clergyman of the Church of England, a member of the Canadian Club, St. Catharines, and also of the Masonic, Oddfellows, and Orange Societies.


Hill, Hamnett Pinhey, is a member of the legal firm of Greene, Hill & Hill, solicitors for the Bank of Ottawa, the Bank of British North America, and other large financial and commercial corporations, and has established for himself in the legal profession and in other spheres of life in Ottawa, a valuable reputation. Both the Dominion and the Ontario Governments recognizing Mr. Hill’s ability as a lawyer, and his reliability as such, in 1915 sought his services, respectively, as a Royal Commissioner and Official Arbitrator. In that year, owing to the charge of the Auditor-General that improprieties had arisen in the purchase of coal for the dredges fleet in British Columbia, the Dominion Government appointed Mr. Hill a Royal Commissioner to investigate and hear evidence re the charge. He performed his duties, on that occasion, with marked ability. And in the same year, owing to the many disputes that had arisen in the city of Ottawa between the city and the owners of land, the Ontario Government appointed Mr. Hill as Official Arbitrator and in that capacity he is now employed. He has also, on several occasions, been called upon to act as Chairman of Conciliation Boards appointed to settle disputes between employers and employees. In 1918 Mr. Hill was appointed a Special Returning Officer under the Military Voters Act with headquarters in Paris. Mr. Hamnett Pinhey Hill was born in Ottawa on December 18, 1877, and is the son of the late Hamnett Pinhey and Margaret (Christie) Hill. He was educated in the Public and High Schools in Ottawa, and the Toronto University (B.A., 1898). He read law with McDonald, Shepley, Middleton & Donald, Toronto, and was called to the Bar in 1902, when he became a partner in the legal firm of Christie & Green, which is now, owing to the death of Mr. Christie, known as Green, Hill & Hill. Mr. Hill was President of the Canadian Club, Ottawa, during 1907-1908; President of the Liberal-Conservative Association, 1912-1914; is a member of the Executive of the Board of Trade, and was Honorary Secretary of the St. John’s Ambulance Association of Canada for the year 1917. He holds the commission of Lieutenant in the Army Service Corps. In 1917 he was elected President of the University Club of Ottawa. On September 21, 1907, Mr. Hill married Beatrice Sarah Lindsay, daughter of the late Arthur Lindsay. One son and two daughters have blessed the union. Mr. Hill is a member of the Rideau and Royal Ottawa Golf Clubs, and of the Sons of England and Orange Societies. His recreation is golf, his politics Conservative and his religion Anglican. His residence is 253 Bronson Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario.


Street, Lieut.-Col. Douglas Richmond, one of the leading figures both in the business and military life of the Canadian capital, is a native of New Brunswick. He was born at Fredericton, N.B., on June 10, 1864, the son of C. F. Street, M.A., formerly of the Finance Department, Ottawa, and Lucy Audubon (Kendall) Street. His grandfather was the late Hon. J. A. Street, K.C., one of the prominent public men of New Brunswick, and for some years Attorney-General of the Province. Col. Street’s education was received in the Separate Schools of Ottawa and at Ottawa University. On graduation he decided to adopt a business career in which he proved very successful; and he is now Secretary-Treasurer of the Ottawa Electric Company, Secretary-Treasurer of the Ottawa Gas Company, and Secretary-Treasurer of the Consolidated Light, Heat and Power Company of Ottawa. Despite his business duties he has long taken an active interest in the Canadian Militia. As early as 1893 he was gazetted a second lieutenant in the Governor-General’s Foot Guards, the crack infantry regiment of Ottawa and became its commanding officer, with the rank of Lieut.-Col. in 1908. In that capacity he commanded his regiment at the Quebec Tercentenary celebration of 1908, when a large body of Canadian troops was assembled to do honor to the Prince of Wales, now His Majesty King George the Fifth, and at which Lord Roberts, General Pole-Carew and many other distinguished soldiers were present. He also commanded his regiment at the Tercentenary Celebration of the Discovery of Lake Champlain in Plattsburg, N.Y., and Burlington, Vt., in 1909. When the late war broke out Col. Street was one of those who placed his services at the disposal of the Empire. He organized, trained and became Commanding Officer of the 77th Overseas Battalion, which he took to England in June, 1916. In the various engagements which followed the battalion of Col. Street’s creation rendered most distinguished service. Col. Street now commands the 8th Infantry Brigade M.D. No. 3. Col. Street is a member of the Rideau Club, the Ottawa Golf, and the Ottawa Hunt Club. He is a Roman Catholic in religion and is married to Elizabeth Bauld, daughter of John H. Christie, Bras D’Or, Cape Breton, N.S. He resides at 12 Range Road, Ottawa.


Odlum, Edward, M.A., B.Sc., 1710 Grant Street, Vancouver, B.C., is one of the most versatile and able citizens of the Coast Province, with a wealth of experience such as has fallen to the lot of few Canadians. He was born at Tullamore, Peel County, Ont., on November 27, 1850, the son of John and Margaret (McKenzie) Odlum. The father was a gentleman farmer and a son of Capt. Odlum, one of Wellington’s officers. The subject of this sketch was educated at the schools of Tullamore and Goderich, Ont., and later at Victoria University, at a time when it was located at Cobourg, Ont. He graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1879, and subsequently took the degrees of M.A. and Bachelor of Science. Twenty years of his life were spent as educationist, beginning with the common schools and rising through all grades to college work as a professor of Classics and the Sciences. He was for some years at the head of a large college in Tokio, Japan, and his special studies were Botany, Geology, Ethnology, History and Prophecy. His scholastic tastes have found expression in several important publications, including “God’s Covenant, Man,” “A Criticism of Rev. Dr. Campbell’s New Theology,” “The Old Book Stands,” “The Cone-shaped Holes of Bandai-San made by Falling Stones.” In fact, he is one of the ablest defenders of the orthodox view of the Scriptures. In 1899 he gave up his position as an educationist in Japan and came to British Columbia, where he speedily established himself as an important figure in financial, mining and industrial circles. He is Manager of the business of Clapp, Anderson and Odlum, Ltd.; Director Mercantile Mortgage Company, Ltd.; and Director of Mills Ross, Ltd. Though active in commerce, his pen has been an active one, and much newspaper and magazine correspondence has flowed from it in addition to the works mentioned. Of late years he has given much study to the ancient languages, including the Greek, Latin, Hebrew, Assyrian and Egyptian. At present, in his spare moments, he is preparing a dictionary, alphabetically arranged, of the Assyrian and also of the Egyptian. His recreations are gardening, travel, and writing; he is a member of the Orange Order and the I.O.O.F.; is a Methodist and a supporter of Union Government. He has been prominent in the municipal affairs of Vancouver as an Alderman and has acted as Chairman of the Finance, Fire and Light, and Police Committees of the Council. As a youth he served for four years in the 36th Peel Battalion and saw service in the Fenian Raid of 1866, for which he received the medal and the Ontario Government’s land grant of 160 acres. He is a member of the Board of the Carnegie Public Library. He was first married in May, 1878, to Mary E., daughter of O. W. Powell, by whom he had four sons, Edward Faraday, Victor Wentworth, Garnet McKenzie and Joseph Wellesley. Some years after her decease he married Martha M. Thomas, Toronto, by whom he had two sons, Arthur E. and Oswald. Brigadier-General Victor Wentworth Odlum, of the C.E.F., has had a very distinguished career in the war. One son was lost in the South African War and another at Ypres, April 24, 1915. Yet another son is in the 231st Highlanders.


Lennie, Robert Scott, 1737 Matthews Ave., Shaughnessy Heights, Vancouver, B.C. Barrister, of the firm of Lennie, Clark, Hooper & O’Neill, was born at Smith’s Falls, Ont., on August 16, 1875, the son of Rev. Robert and Catherine (Harcus) Lennie. He was educated in the schools of Ontario, British Columbia and California. He took up his residence in British Columbia at the age of eleven and was called to the Bar of that province in 1898. Subsequently he took up practice at Nelson, B.C., and continued there until 1910, first as a member of the firm of Elliot & Lennie and then of Lennie & Wragge. He removed to Vancouver in 1910, when his present firm was formed. Mr. Lennie has long been active in the politics of his province and was president of the Nelson Conservative Club from 1904 to 1910; and President of the Kootenay District Conservative Association, having charge of the organization in nine ridings, during the same period. While resident at Nelson he was also elected a Bencher of the Law Society of British Columbia and was Chairman of the British Columbia Fire Insurance Commission, appointed by Order-in-Council, the findings of which in 1910 were the basis of important legislation. Under the Military Service Act of 1917 he was Registrar in charge of the operations of the draft in British Columbia. Apart from his legal practice, Mr. Lennie has important financial interests. He is a Director of the following corporations: Forest Mills of B.C., Ltd.; Silver Ring Mines, Ltd.; Nugget Gold Mines, Ltd.; Colonial Trust Co., Ltd.; and New B.C. Lands, Ltd. His recreations are golf and motoring and he is a member of the following clubs: Vancouver, Union (Victoria), and Shaughnessy Heights Golf, and Jericho Country Club. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and on Oct. 19, 1898, married a daughter of the late Benjamin Douglas, merchant, of New Westminster, B.C., by whom he has three children, Robert Douglas, Gerald Scott, and Edith Beatrice Catherine.


Landry, Hon. David V., M.D., M.A., is a leading and representative Acadian, having been born on July 14, 1866, at Memramcook, Westmorland County, New Brunswick, the son of Vital J. Landry and Matilda D. Cormier, both French Acadians. Educated at the local schools, and the University of St. Joseph, N.B., graduating with the degree of M.A., and receiving the degree of M.D. from Laval University, Montreal, in 1892. Subsequently practised his profession at Buctouche, engaged in agriculture and has been a practical farmer on a large scale. Was municipal councillor for the parish of Wellington in Kent County, N.B., 1899-1900. Elected to the Legislature of his native province representing the County of Kent in the general elections of 1908, and entered the Hazen Administration on the 24th of March of that year as Commissioner for Agriculture and held the same portfolio in the Fleming Ministry up to January 22, 1912, when he resigned and accepted the portfolio of Provincial Secretary and Treasurer in the Clarke Government. Hon. Dr. Landry married, October 6, Annie, daughter of Felix Michaud, of St. Leonard, N.B., and is the father of eight children, i.e.: Huberta, Germaine, Lionel, Anne, Rosarine, Raoul, Leopold, and Alberta. Hon. Dr. Landry, who is a brother-in-law of Pius Michaud, M.P. for Victoria-Madawaska, N.B., is a very public spirited citizen and recognized as a fine speaker. In religion he is a Roman Catholic.


Ami, Henry M., M.A., D.Sc., F.P.S. (Can.), F.R.G.S., F.G.S., consulting geologist and Palaeontologist, Ottawa, Ontario. Was born at Belle Riviere, County of Two Mountains, north of Montreal, Que., November 23, 1858, the son of the Rev. Marc. Ami and Anne Giramaire. He received his early education by private tuition, at Ottawa Public and Grammar Schools and Ottawa Collegiate Institute, then proceeded to McGill University, where he graduated as Bachelor of Arts in 1882; receiving his M.A. in 1885, D.Sc. (Queen’s) in 1892, and D.Sc. (McGill) in 1902. Mr. Ami won the Redpath Exhibition and three Macdonald Scholarships, besides being Dawson Prizeman while an undergraduate at McGill, and was for over twenty-nine years a member of the Technical Staff of the Geological Survey of Canada (1882-1912), only retiring from active government service through impaired health. He has been the author of many government reports upon the geology, palaeontology, and resources of the Dominion and a contributor to numerous scientific magazines and publications. Problems relating to the geology and stratography of the lower St. Lawrence, and of the Maritime Provinces, have engaged his attention, while, in 1903, he was awarded the Bigsby Gold Medal by the Geological Society of London, Eng., for his eminent researches and results achieved, especially in the palaeozoic wells of Canada, having definitely helped to solve the vexed problems as to the age of large areas of carboniferous and other strata in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and other provinces. Mr. Ami has been a Fellow of the Geological Societies of London and Switzerland since 1885, and of America since 1900. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, of the Royal Geographical Society, London, the Anthropological Society of America, Council of the Archæological Institute of America, and a Director of the American School of Archæology. This eminent Canadian is also a member of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada and a corresponding member, or member of numerous scientific societies of Canada, the United States and Europe. He was for years Editor of the “Ottawa Naturalist,” and for some twenty years Associate Editor of the same publication in his special field. He studied under the late Sir William Dawson, formerly Principal of McGill University, and later wrote a sketch of the life of his master; in Europe he carried on researches in Graphalites under Professor C. Capsworth, and contributed much to the Bibliography of Canadian Geology and Palaeontology, as also on the geography of the Dominion, in European and North American publications. Dr. Ami is a member of the International Congress of geology and of the Congress of Anthropology and Pre-Historic Archæology recently held in Geneva, where he represented the Royal Society of Canada. In 1907 he represented Canada and the Geological survey at the Centenary Celebration of the Geological Society of London, also the Royal Society of Canada on that occasion. In 1903 he prepared a special report on the resources of the country along the line of the National Transcontinental Railway between Quebec and Winnipeg, furnishing the information necessary to Parliament in connection with the estimates for that great enterprise. Dr. Ami is now in London completing a work on “Canada and Newfoundland,” to form part of the Compendium of Geography and Travel, Vol. 1, North America, to be published shortly by Edward Stamford, Esq., F.R.S.S., geographer to H.M. the King. Since his retirement from Government service he has travelled in Europe, Asia and Africa, visited Algeria, Egypt, Palestine, Turkey and Greece, paying some attention to geological and archæological questions of interest as his health allowed. Dr. Ami married Clarissa Jane, eldest daughter of the late G. B. Burland, for many years President of the British American Bank Note Company, and has one daughter, Marguerite Ami. He is a member of the Rideau Club, Ottawa; Golf and Country Club, Ottawa; Hunt Club; Royal Societies’ Club; Author’s Club, and Royal Colonial Institute, London, Eng. His amusements are, skating, golf, anthropological and geological excursions and photography. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and independent in politics.


Bulyea, George Hedley Vicars (Edmonton, Alberta). A genuinely British Canadian is His Honor George Hedley Vicars Bulyea, of Edmonton, Alberta, Chairman of the Board of Public Utilities Commission for the Province of Alberta. Mr. Bulyea is the son of James Albert Bulyea and Jane Blizzard, both of United Empire Loyalist descent, and was born, February 17, 1859, at Gagetown, Queen’s Co., New Brunswick. His father was a farmer and Mr. Bulyea was no exception to the rule that farmers’ sons have brilliant careers. Beginning his education at the grammar school, he graduated from the University of New Brunswick in 1875, received his honorary LL.D. degree in 1910 and his honorary LL.D. from the University of Alberta in 1908. In 1885, he married Annie Blanche, daughter of Robert T. Babbit, Registrar of Deeds, Gagetown, N.B. Their only child, Percy, died in February, 1901. Mr. Bulyea is a Baptist in religion, a member of the Edmonton Club, but has had very little time for recreation in the manifold duties of his exacting political career. He was elected a member of the North-West Council at the general territorial election, 1894. In 1897 he accepted office as a non-resident member of the Haultain-Ross Executive Council, formed October 1, 1897. In January, 1898, he became Yukon Commissioner for the territorial government and from 1898 to 1903 was Minister of Agriculture and Provincial Secretary. From 1903 to 1905 he was Minister of Public Works, and in 1905 he became the first Lieutenant-Governor of Alberta, a position he filled with distinction until 1915, when he accepted his present appointment as Chairman, Public Utilities Commission.


Higinbotham, John D., J.P., 620 12th Street, Lethbridge, Alberta, is a son of Lieut.-Col. Nathaniel Higinbotham, formerly Member for North Wellington (Ontario) in the House of Commons, and Margaret (Allan) Higinbotham. His grandfather was David Allan, Esq., a prominent citizen of Guelph, Ont., and his father after his retirement from politics, became Registrar of Wellington County. The subject of this sketch was born at Guelph, November 23, 1864, and was educated at the Guelph Academy and the Guelph Collegiate Institute, Dr. Tassie’s famous school at Galt, Ont., and the Ontario College of Pharmacy, Toronto. In 1884 he went to Lethbridge and founded the wholesale and retail business as chemist and druggist, which still bears his name. Growing up with the city and province he has held a great many important offices. He was postmaster of Lethbridge from 1886 to 1910 and is also a Juvenile Commissioner for Alberta, a Senator of Alberta University, a Governor of Alberta Ladies’ College, and has also been Chairman of the Lethbridge School Board, Vice-President of the Board of Trade, President of the Citizens’ League, President of the Alberta Pharmaceutical Association, President of the Alberta Sunday School Association and Director of the Y.M.C.A. He is a Presbyterian and in 1885, when but 21, organized Knox Church Sunday School in Lethbridge and has been its superintendent continuously from that day to this. He is a man of scholarly tastes and has contributed articles to “The Week,” founded by Goldwin Smith; “Grip,” the once famous comic weekly, and the “Westminster Magazine.” He is an antiquarian, traveller and art connoisseur, and his outdoor recreations include lawn tennis, golf and cricket. He is President of the Lethbridge Lawn Tennis Club and a member of the Aquatic and Country Clubs. He is a supporter of Union Government and a member of the North Star Lodge A.F. & A.M., having been District Deputy Grand Master in 1897. In 1899 he married Anna, daughter of Rev. R. Torrance, D.D., of Guelph, Ont., Moderator of the Presbyterian General Assembly. His children are: Lieut. Harold Torrance, of the 13th Battalion (b. 1894); Norman Lindsay (1900), a student of McGill University, Montreal; Helen Phyllis, B.A. (Toronto) and R.N. (John Hopkins, Baltimore) (1890); Marjorie (1899), of Havergal Ladies’ College, Toronto; and Mary Mewburn and Muriel Dryden (twins, 1904).


Anderson, Prof. George R., University of Toronto, was born in the Shetland Islands, Scotland, the son of an artisan, who died while he was an infant. Coming to Canada at an early age he was educated at Seaforth High School in Huron County, Ontario, and on matriculating at the University of Toronto, entered on what was to prove a brilliant scholastic career. He graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1893, taking honors in mathematics and physics, and received that of M.A. in the same institution, 1899. In 1905 Harvard University conferred on him the degree of A.M. At present he is a member of the Science faculty of the University of Toronto and is professor in charge of the Department of Engineering Physics, and is also in charge of the Physics section, at the Royal College of Dental Surgeons, Toronto. He has contributed extensively to scientific journals. His chief recreations are boating and fishing. He is secretary and a member of the Board of Directors of the Madawaska Club, which has its headquarters at Go-Home Bay, in the Georgian Bay District, where Prof. Anderson has a summer home. In religion he is a Presbyterian and was married in 1901 to Margaret, daughter of D. D. Wilson, merchant, of Seaforth, Ont.


Wade, Mark Sweeten, M.D., 37 St. Paul St., Kamloops, B.C., was born at Sunderland, Durham County, England, on November 23, 1858, the son of Samuel John and Mary (Sweeten) Wade. The father was a merchant and the subject of this sketch was educated at Gainford School, England, and at Anderson’s College, University of Glasgow, from which he graduated in 1882, with the degree of M.D. He first paid a visit to Canada in 1881 and resolved to make his home in British Columbia, where he settled in 1883, practising first at New Westminster. In 1884 he was appointed a surgeon in connection with C.P.R. construction and continued in the service for a year. From 1885 to 1889 he practised at Clinton, in the interior of British Columbia, and in the latter year removed to Victoria, where he remained until 1895, finally establishing himself at Kamloops where he added journalism to his professional attainments. He became editor of the “Inland Sentinel” of that town, and also editorial writer on the Nelson “News.” In 1904 he purchased the “Sentinel,” and continued to conduct it until 1912. He now holds the position of Judge of the Small Debts Court and Police Magistrate at Kamloops, offices for which his intimate knowledge of British Columbia and its people eminently fit him. He is also an ex-Coroner, ex-President of the Board of Trade, and ex-President of the Liberal Association. He has been very active with his pen and has published a monograph, “The Founding of Kamloops,” and a book, “The Thompson Country,” as well as articles in “The Fortnightly Review,” “To-day,” “Canadian Courier,” “Canadian Magazine” and the Vancouver “Province.” His recreations are motor boating and photography. He is an Anglican in religion and a Liberal in politics. On March 10, 1886, he married Emma M., daughter of James B. Uren, a stockraiser, of Savona, B.C., and Cornwall, England, and has two sons, Mark Leighton, born 1889, and Daryl Frederick, born 1892.


Asselin, Olivar, Major (Montreal, Que.), one of the most widely known of French-Canadian writers and publicists, was born at Malbay, Charlevoix, Quebec, on November 8, 1874, the son of the late Ricule and Cedulle (Tremblay) Asselin. He was educated at Rimouski College and later became Principal of the Evening School for French-Canadians at Woonsocket, R.I. While a resident of the United States he was a frequent contributor to the newspapers and shortly after his return to Canada in 1898, was appointed City Editor of “La Presse,” a post he resigned to become private secretary to Sir Lomer Gouin, Prime Minister of Quebec, filling this position from 1901 to 1903. In 1902 he founded the Nationalist League of Quebec and became President of the Montreal Branch, and in 1904 he re-entered journalism by founding “Le Nationaliste,” of which he became editor. His articles in this and other publications excited widespread attention in Canada, notably his brochures, “Feuilles de Combat” and “A Quebec View of Canadian Nationalism.” Mr. Asselin was always a man of military enthusiasm and in 1898 served for a time as a private with the U.S. Army in Cuba, during the Spanish-American War. When war broke out between Germany and the Entente powers, in 1914, he threw himself heartily into the cause of France and Great Britain and helped to organize the 22nd Battalion (French-Canadians), which has had a glorious record in France, and in which he holds the rank of Major. His own service has been marked by great sacrifice and personal bravery, and he is generally regarded as one of the coming men in French Canada. On August 3, 1902, he married Alice, daughter of Charles LeBoutillier, Gaspé Basin, and has three children, Jean, Paul and Pierre. In religion he is a Roman Catholic.


HON. W. G. MITCHELL
Quebec


Ballantyne, James. That Ottawa East is now a portion of Ottawa City, is largely due to the efforts of Mr. James Ballantyne, Justice of the Peace, who, when Ottawa East was a village, was the most active, efficient and prominent man in the vicinity. It was he, as one of its public men, who looked after the finances, who was active in placing the water works system on a paying basis, and to whom credit is due for the many improvements that were made in its streets, roadways, parks, and other general matters. He took good care of the baby settlement, watched and guarded the progress, and succeeded in having it become annexed to the city of Ottawa; and now, in his advanced years, he sits contentedly in his home and views with delight the rapid progress that is being made in the erection of buildings, the handsomely paved streets and the increase in population. Mr. James Ballantyne is a member of the firm of J. & T. Ballantyne, Coal Merchants, 80 Elgin St., Ottawa. He is the son of Francis and Marion (Nichol) Ballantyne, and was born at New Castleton, Scotland, May 9, 1835. He was educated at the Public and High Schools, and at Queen’s College, Kingston. He started in business with J. & T. Ballantyne, manufacturers of woodenware in Ottawa in 1863, and in 1890 established the present firm of J. & T. Ballantyne, Coal Merchants. At one time he was Manager and Director of the Ottawa East Water Co., was a member of the County Council for nine years, and Secretary-Treasurer of the Ottawa East Public Schools for fifteen years. In 1862 Mr. Ballantyne married Mary Foster, daughter of Adam Foster, of Cumberland, England. Two sons and two daughters have blessed the union. Mr. Ballantyne is a Protestant in religion, a Liberal in politics, and he resides at 54 Main Street, Ottawa East, Canada.


Hudson, Hon. Albert Blellock, LL.B., K.C., Attorney-General and Minister of Telephones and Telegraphs in the government of Manitoba, was born at Pembroke, Ont., on August 21, 1875, the son of Albert and Elizabeth Hudson. His parents removing to Manitoba, he was educated at Portage la Prairie and Manitoba University, Winnipeg, where he took the degree of LL.B. He was called to the Bar in 1899, and commenced practice in Winnipeg, where his forensic abilities soon attracted attention. He is a Bencher of the Law Society and was appointed K.C. in 1914. In that year he successfully contested South Winnipeg for the Manitoba Legislature as a Liberal candidate and was re-elected in 1915, in the contest that resulted in the defeat of the Roblin administration. When Hon. Mr. Norris was called on to form a government he invited Mr. Hudson to become Attorney-General, a post he has held ever since, discharging also the important duties in connection with public control of telephones and telegraphs. As Attorney-General he had much to do with the cleaning up of political conditions which had become a public scandal. He is a member of the Manitoba, Winnipeg Golf and Assiniboia Curling Clubs, and is a Presbyterian in religion. In 1908 he married Mary B., daughter of the late William Russell, Crown Timber Agent, Pembroke, Ont., and resides at 208 Dromore Ave., Winnipeg.


Carson, Hugh, is one of Ottawa’s most successful merchants and his firm—Hugh Carson Company, Limited—has a successful branch at Brandon, Manitoba. Starting out in 1886, at Shelburne, Ontario, as a harness-maker, in 1890 he went to Ottawa and became connected with the well known firm of S. & H. Borbridge, Trunk and Harness Manufacturers, Rideau St. Three years later, in 1893, he went into business for himself and established a large trade. In 1900 he was burned out, but in 1904, having secured his present commodious premises, corner Elgin and Queen Sts., he opened up on a larger scale than ever and the business has grown to such vast dimensions that orders from all over Canada, and, since the war began, from Europe, have compelled the engagement of hundreds of extra hands to cope with the situation. Mr. Carson is President and Managing Director of the Hugh Carson Company, Limited, Manufacturers of Harness, Trunks and Valises, 47 Elgin St., Ottawa, and a director of the following companies: Ottawa Dairy Company; Ottawa Bakeries, Limited; Laurentian Realty Company, Limited; Canada Turpentine, Limited; and Ottawa Cartage Company, Limited. He was born at Orangeville, Ontario, February 8, 1868, and is the son of Gilbert and Ellen (Little) Carson. For years he was Quartermaster of the 5th Princess Louise Dragoon Guards and is now Captain. He has been prominent in all kinds of sports and has been a leading figure in rowing, yachting, lacrosse, curling and hockey contests. Mr. Carson is a member of the Laurentian, the Ottawa Hunt, Rivermead Golf, Jovial Fish and Game and Ottawa Motor Boat Clubs. From 1890 to 1898 he was captain of the Capital Lacrosse Club, which held the championship for that period. Mr. Carson attends the Presbyterian Church. His residence is 324 Cooper Street, Ottawa.


Woods, Lieutenant-Colonel James W. (Ottawa, Ont.). Born at Kildare, Que., April 10th, 1863, son of Russel Woods, a successful farmer and lumberman, whose ancestors were from Kildare, Ireland, and Anne J. (Davis) Woods, of Canadian parentage, she being born at Longueuil, Montreal. Educated at private schools and Montreal College. At an early age entered service of Rankin, Beattie & Co., Montreal, later served with A. W. Ogilvie & Company, three years; next associated himself with Hodgson, Summer & Co., Montreal. Established business on his own account, 1895, and by his own effort and ability has built up the largest and most successful contractors’ and lumbermen’s supply house in Canada. This progressive concern, now known as Woods Mfg. Co., occupies a large factory, covering many acres, at Hull, Que. Besides constructing this plant he is also the builder of and owner of the Woods Building, now occupied by the Government and housing the Militia Department, also the Canadian building adjoining the same, as well as the Roxborough Apartments building. All of these splendid structures are of stone and modern in every respect. Woods Ltd., and Smart-Bag were merged as Smart-Woods Limited (the name being changed in 1918 to Woods Mfg. Co., Ltd.) with Colonel Woods as President, Jan. 1, 1913, with factories at Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Ottawa. Mr. Woods is one of the most active and progressive manufacturers, and a most substantial public-spirited and patriotic citizen of the Dominion of Canada. Is Vice-President, Canadian Manufacturers Association; President, Ashbury College, Rockliffe; and numerous other corporations. President, Ottawa Board of Trade, 1907-8, and was active in promoting the welfare of Ottawa. Chairman of Citizens’ Committee of Finance that raised a fund of $200,000 for the Y. M. C. A. of Ottawa, and one of the most active members of that body. President, Carleton General Protestant Hospital; President, Woods Mfg. Co., Ltd., largest contractors and Lumbermen’s Supply House in Canada; President, Imperial Realty Co.; President, Ottawa Uplands, Ltd.; President, Elgin Realty Co.; President, Empire Cotton Mills, Ltd., Welland; Lieut.-Colonel of Governor-General’s Foot Guards. Was elected an honorary member of famous Guards’ Club, London, England, during the time—1909, 1910—he was attached to the Coldstream Guards, England’s most exclusive military body. Is permanent Chairman of Finance of the Earl Grey Musical and Dramatic Competition, which is held in various parts of the Dominion for the purpose of promoting the higher forms of musical and dramatic art. Is a great lover of art, and has in his collection at Kildare House, Ottawa, examples of most of the Barbazon and Dutch schools of art—such men as Corot, Jacques, Daumier, Mauve, Israels, L’Hermith, Harupignies, etc. Married Ida E. Edwards, daughter of John C. Edwards, Ottawa, Oct. 18, 1893, and has three sons and two daughters. The eldest son, Captain J. R. Woods, was the first colonial to secure a commission in the household Brigade. He was killed in action in the Great War in the battle of the Somme on the 16th of September, 1916, receiving honorable mention in the despatches and made a captain on the field before he was twenty-one years of age. Captain Woods went through many notable engagements and was on active service for nineteen months before he met his death so gallantly on the field. Lieutenant-Colonel Woods belongs to the following Clubs: Ottawa Hunt (was its first president, H.R.H. The Duke of Connaught being Honorary President); Rideau Club; Country Club; Mount Royal (Montreal); Toronto (Toronto); Manitoba (Winnipeg); York Club, Toronto; Windham, London (Eng.); and numerous others. He is Vice-President of the Red Cross; President of the British Sailors’ Relief Fund and President of Finance of the Patriotic Fund. He is a member of the Church of England and Independent in politics. His principal recreations are golf, fishing and riding. He has a beautiful summer residence known as “Kildare Lodge,” St. Patrick, on the lower St. Lawrence.


Harrison, Nathaniel Isles, Principal Willis Business College, 139½ Sparks Street, Ottawa, Ontario, was born in Pembroke, Ont., July 13, 1877. He is the son of John and Margaret (Isles) Harrison, and was educated at the Public and High Schools in Pembroke and Renfrew Model School. He taught school in Renfrew County from 1896 to 1898, when he engaged in the lumber business in the Ottawa Valley, where he remained until 1902. In 1903 he accepted a position as teacher in Willis Business College, and left in 1904 to become Chief Accountant for J. Oliver & Sons, Ottawa’s extensive furniture manufacturers. In 1906 he went to British Columbia and became Secretary and Business Manager of the Cranbrook Electric Light Company, Limited; the Water Supply Company, Limited, and the Kootenay Telephone Lines, Limited, resigning from office in 1910, he branched out as auditor, Accountant and liquidator on his own account, at which he remained until 1912, when he returned to Ottawa. In June, 1913, he purchased the Willis Business College, of which he is now President. On January 20, 1908, Mr. Harrison married Helena Scott, daughter of David Scott, Merrickville, Ontario. He has one son and two daughters. He is a member of the Canadian Club, Glebe Curling Club and Kiwanis Club, the Business Men’s Club, and of the A.F. & A.M. society. In religion he is a Methodist. He is an ardent canoeist. His recreations are hunting, fishing, curling, canoeing. His address is 131 Sunnyside Avenue, Ottawa.


Berthiaume, Arthur (Montreal), one of the best known of French-Canadian publicists and who holds the position of President and Managing Director of “La Presse,” the most widely circulated newspaper published in Canada in either the French or English language, was born in Montreal on April 10, 1874. He is the son of the Hon. Treffle and Hermina (Gadbois) Berthiaume. He was educated at the Ste. Hyacinthe Seminary, St. Laurent College and Laval University, where he graduated with the usual degrees. His father designed him for the Bar and he read law with Beaudin, Cardinal & Loranger of Montreal. He was called to the Bar of the province of Quebec in 1906 and for a time practised his profession as a member of the firm of Beaulieu & Berthiaume. At the same time he has been connected with “La Presse,” of which Hon. Treffle Berthiaume was President, his connection having begun in 1900 when the property changed ownership. In 1906 the subject of this sketch was appointed General Manager of the newspaper, and in 1915 on the death of his father succeeded to the Presidency, abandoning the practice of law to devote his whole attention to “La Presse.” Great as was its position and influence previously these factors have been greatly extended under his fostering care. Not only is it the most widely circulated and influential of French language newspapers in Canada but it has a very wide following among the many French-Canadians settled in the New England States. These fields combined give “La Presse” the premier position in the Canadian newspaper field in the matter of circulation. The wise and moderate conduct of its columns also give its editorial utterances great weight with all classes of the community. In politics Mr. Berthiaume is an Independent and in religion a Roman Catholic. He is a well known social figure in Montreal and is a member of the following clubs: St. Denis, Chapleau, National, Athletique Canadien, Automobile (Director) and Engineers. On September 2, 1902, he married Blanche, daughter of Nazaire Bourgoin, Montreal and has three sons and one daughter. His residence is at 197 St. Catherine Road, Outremont, Montreal.


Galbraith, Walter Stuart, M.D., C.M. (Lethbridge), one of the most prominent physicians of Alberta, was born at Guelph, Ont., August 1, 1866, the son of the late Francis William and Jane Elizabeth Galbraith. The father was a well known merchant of that city, and Dr. Galbraith was educated at the Public and High Schools of Guelph, and went to Alberta in 1891. Subsequently he entered McGill University, Montreal, from which he graduated with the above degrees in 1899. He at once commenced practise in Lethbridge as a member of the firm of Mewburn & Galbraith, but since 1907 has practised alone and includes among his many professional activities those of surgeon of the Galt mines. His high standing among his fellow practitioners was signalized by his election as President of the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta in 1917; and he has been a Senator of the University of Alberta since the incorporation of that institution. Dr. Galbraith has also played a prominent part in municipal affairs, was Mayor of Lethbridge in 1907, and has been a member of the Public School Board for nine years, holding the post of Chairman in 1912. He is President of the Bow River Collieries, Ltd., and a Director of the British Canadian Trust Co., Ltd. In religion he is a Methodist, and is a supporter of Union government; is a member of the A.F. & A.M. and the Canadian Order of Foresters. He also belongs to the Chinook Club, Lethbridge, and his recreation is motoring. On August 6, 1901, he married Matilda S., daughter of Oliver Gallinger, a farmer of Mediva, Ont., and has four children, Ruth Eleanor, Francis Oliver, Jean Alexandra and Aileen Stuart (deceased).


Laidlaw, Lorne Nelson, Barrister, Medicine Hat, Alberta, was born at Kitchener (then Berlin), Ont., on February 6, 1882, and his parents subsequently moving to Manitoba, he was educated at Brandon Collegiate Institute and Brandon College. He was called to the Manitoba Bar 1908, and practised at Brandon, 1908-10. In 1911 he went to Medicine Hat and formed the legal firm of Laidlaw & Branchard. Both as a lawyer and a business man he quickly achieved a prominent place in the community and in 1914 was elected President of the Medicine Hat Board of Trade. In religion he is a Presbyterian and in politics a Liberal; is a member of the Knights of Pythias and of the Cypress Club, Medicine Hat. His recreations are motoring and shooting. On December 7, 1910, he married May, the daughter of the late Robert Hall, of Brandon, and has two children.


Wilson, Henry George Wilberforce, K.C. (Indian Head, Sask.), Barrister and Solicitor, was born at Arnprior, Ont., on March 31, 1873, the son of George and Mary Cecilia Wilson. His father was a merchant, and he was educated at Almonte High School, and later qualified for the law at Osgoode Hall, Toronto, where he graduated in 1897. He first practised at Renfrew, Ont., as a member of the firm of Craig and Wilson, but went to Indian Head, Saskatchewan, in 1900, where he not only engaged in his own profession but took up farming on an extensive scale. He is in fact one of the great agricultural leaders of his province, for he owns and personally farms 2,060 acres in the Indian Head district. These interests have not prevented him from building up a large legal practice. He was appointed King’s Counsel on December 31, 1913, is solicitor for the Town of Indian Head, and also for the rural municipality of the same name; solicitor for the Bank of Montreal and the Union Trust Co., Ltd., and also a member of the High School Board of his town. He belongs to the Masonic Order, to the Indian Head and Union Clubs, Indian Head, and the Assiniboia Club, Regina. His chief recreation is motoring. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and in politics a Liberal. On June 21, 1910, he married Elizabeth Cameron, daughter of Mr. A. H. Edwards, lumber merchant, of Carleton Place, Ont.


Baskerville, William Joseph, is the son of George Baskerville by his wife, Mary McDonnell, and was born at Townland, Ballyrushen, Tipperary, Ireland, October 2nd, 1843. His father was the son of Benjamin Baskerville, who was descended from an old Norman family which settled in Ireland about the time of William the Conqueror, in 1066. The family records were unfortunately destroyed by fire in 1858 and included a great deal of matter that would have been of interest to the public. His father, George Baskerville adopted the calling of a farmer in Ireland, but in 1847 concluded to come to Canada. In the summer of that year he landed in Bytown, now Ottawa, and engaged in the trading and grocery business. In the fire of 1858 they lost all their household effects, as well as whatever savings they had accumulated, and having no insurance, the family had to start anew in life, and at the time of their father’s death, in 1875, they were again in comfortable circumstances. Their mother died in 1867. They had nine of a family. The subject of this sketch, William Joseph Baskerville, was the fifth son. He received his early education in the common schools, and later at Ottawa College, now the University of Ottawa. In 1870 he formed a partnership with his brothers, Patrick and George, under the firm name and style of P. Baskerville & Bros., carrying on a retail grocery and liquor business until the year 1880, when they discontinued the retail, and carried on a wholesale business only. The business was carried on until the year 1904, when his two brothers having predeceased him, he retired. Since that he has been engaged in real estate, stocks, and bonds and building operations. In the year 1880, although still a partner in the firm of P. Baskerville & Bros., he engaged in the contracting business, along with James O’Connor and Patrick Cassidy. They were the successful bidders for the Locks at Saint Anne’s de Bellevue, which work they completed in 1884. He was always a keen admirer of good sport, particularly lacrosse, and was a Director of the Capital Lacrosse Club from 1892, the year of their amalgamation with the Ottawas, until 1898. He was also a Director of the Capital Athletic Association until 1901. He is a shareholder in the Ottawa Electric Railway, the Ottawa Car Company, Rideau Townsite Company, Nipissing Mining Company, Mining Corporation of Canada, the Bytown and Aylmer Union Company, the Northern Life Insurance Company, the Moose Jaw Electric Railway, the Southern Canada Power Company, Ltd., the Canada Cement Company, the Rosemont Realty Company, the British Columbia Permanent Loan, and is director of the Ottawa Electric Light Company, the Moose Jaw Electric Railway, the Rideau Townsite Company and the Rosemont Realty Company. Mr. Baskerville is a Roman Catholic, and in politics a Liberal-Conservative. He resides at 236 Stewart Street, cor. Stewart and Chapel Streets, Ottawa, Ontario.


R. H. GALE
Vancouver, B.C.


Godfrey, Oswald Julius (Indian Head, Sask.), Chartered Accountant, was born at Sedbergh, Yorks, England, on October 7, 1875, the son of Robert and Margaret Godfrey. His great-grandfather was Julius Cæsar Ibbetson, a leading painter of the latter years of the eighteenth century, and his grandfather was Rev. Isaac Green, known to annalists as the closest friend of the family whose most celebrated member was Samuel Taylor Coleridge, the poet. His father was a civil engineer by profession and he was educated at King Edward the Sixth’s School at Birmingham, England, and later had a thorough training in all branches of accountancy. He came to Canada in 1903, locating first at Qu’Appelle, Sask., and later founded the firm now known as Godfrey, Heathcote & Nicholl, Chartered Accountants, with offices at Indian Head, Medicine Hat and Prince Albert. Mr. Godfrey is known as an expert throughout Canada, and was President of the Dominion Association of Chartered Accountants, 1915-16, and of the Saskatchewan Institute of Chartered Accountants 1912-13-14. He was also President of the Saskatchewan Union of Municipalities for three years, 1915-16-17. On the practice and theory of his profession Mr. Godfrey has written many important treatises. His published work, “Municipal Finance and Accounting” has been especially valuable as a text book for the guidance of the growing municipalities of the West. His recreations are cricket, motoring and gardening, and he is a member of the Canada Club, Regina, and the Union Club, Indian Head. He is a member of the A.F. & A.M., and in religion an Anglican. On July 17, 1905, he married Cecile Maud, daughter of Robert Challoner, Warwick, England, and is the father of three boys and two girls.


Wright, George (Toronto), is one of the most widely known of Canadians, not merely in the hotel trade, with which he is especially identified, but in business circles generally. He was born in Glasgow, Scotland, November 19, 1866, the son of William Wright of Barrhead and Elizabeth (McFayden) Wright of Islay, Scotland, and educated in the public schools of his native city. At the age of 12 he joined the British Navy, and at 19 entered the merchant marine as an ordinary seaman, serving on various seas. He came to Canada from Japan in 1887, settling at Vancouver, which remained his headquarters for six years, during which he served as steward with the C.P.R. Coast and Hotel Service. In 1893 he went to Winnipeg and was there engaged with the C.P.R., first in the news department and later with the dining car service until 1900. From 1901 to 1904 he was in charge of the C.P.R. dining station service at Brandon, Man., which he developed to a high point of efficiency; and also conducted hotels on his own account at Macleod, Alta., and Oak Lake, Man. In 1904 he purchased the Hotel Brunswick, Winnipeg, which he conducted for nearly two years; and in 1905 purchased the Walker House, Toronto, which has ever since been one of his properties. Later he acquired a large interest in the Grand Union Hotel, Toronto, and changed its name to the Carls-Rite. Mr. Wright in addition to conducting the Walker House is Secretary-Treasurer of the Hotel Carls-Rite Co., Ltd.; President of Wright-Carroll Investments, Ltd., and Vice-President of Carroll-Wilson, Ltd., Edmonton, Alta. In the last week of December, 1918, he was elected Vice-President of the American and Canadian Hotel Keepers Association of the United States and Canada for the fourth consecutive year. He is also a director of the Peterson Lake Mining Co., Ltd. Mr. Wright has of late years taken an active part in public affairs. He was the promoter of the First Municipal Year Book in Toronto. When in July of 1918 several hundred of the civic employees of Toronto went on strike he was appointed by the Ontario Government one of the Royal Commission to inquire into the grievances and settle the dispute, and was largely effective in reaching an amicable solution of the difficulty. He also served as a member of the Canada Food Board from 1917 until the close of the war, and was able, because of his great practical experience, to render the cause of food conservation signal service. In 1918 he was appointed a Member of the Hydro-Electric Commission, a most important executive office. He is a Conservative in politics and a Presbyterian in religion, and belongs to the following organizations: Canadian Red Cross (life member), Overseas Club (life), Navy League (life), St. Andrew’s Society (life), Caledonia Society (life), Y.M.C.A., Board of Trade, Scarboro Golf, Toronto Swimming Club (life), and Caer Howell Bowling Club (life). On March 3, 1897, he married Jessie Oswald, daughter of George Motion of Nelson, B.C., and has two children, Oswald George, and Jessie Ellen.


Mackie, George D., City Commissioner (Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan), was born at Perth, Scotland, on March 8, 1878, son of James and Jane Mackie. Educated at the Perth Academy and the Glasgow Technical College, Scotland, where he had a distinguished career, obtaining several degrees. Mr. Mackie was married on September 3, 1902, to the daughter of John Carnegie, of Edinburgh, Scotland. He is the father of two children, Douglas and Victor. Prior to coming to Canada, he was Engineer at Crieff, Scotland, 1900-05; Water Works Engineer of Clydebank Water Trust, Scotland, 1905-09; The Galt Engineering Company of Winnipeg, 1910-12; City Engineer at Swift Current, Saskatchewan, 1913-14, when he assumed his present position of City Commissioner of Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. Mr. Mackie is a Presbyterian in religion, and a member of the Prairie Club of Moose Jaw.


Payne, Francis Freeman (Nelson, B.C.), one of the best known newspaper men of British Columbia, is a native of Worcestershire, England, where he was born November 8, 1888, the son of E. R. and Helen Freeman Payne. He was educated privately and at Bromyard Residential School, and as a very young man decided to come to America, finally settling in the growing centre of Nelson, B.C., and later becoming manager of the “Daily News,” the leading publication of that town, which serves a widely extended territory. Mr. Payne is widely popular in his district and a keen, progressive young journalist. On August 2, 1910, he married Ruby Virginia, daughter of Mr. J. Irving, San Francisco, Cal.


Chauvin, Hon. T. Hector, Judge of the Superior Court of Quebec Province, was born at Terrebonne, Que., on October 9, 1862, the son of Adolphe Chauvin, merchant, and Luce Limoges, his wife. He was educated at Montreal College and Laval University and qualified for the Bar, reading law with the firm of Lacoste, Globensky, Baisillon and Brosseau, Montreal. On being called to the Bar in 1887, he entered the firm of Brooke, Chauvin & Devlin, of Hull, Quebec. He was defeated as Conservative candidate for Labelle in 1908, and a few years later was appointed to his present position. In September, 1887, he married Henriette, daughter of Napoleon and Azelie (Papineau) Bourassa, and has five children, Adine (wife of Mr. W. Shanks), Françoise, Gustave, Marguerite and Henri. He is a Roman Catholic and resides at 103 Sherbrooke St. East, Montreal.


Hopkins, Arthur George, D.V.M., B.S.A., B.Agr. (Surbiton, Saskatchewan), is one of the great agricultural leaders of that province and farms 900 acres of his own. He is also a widely-known expert in veterinary science. He was born in London, Eng., March 9, 1869, the son of the late George and Sarah (Fairall) Hopkins. His father was Superintendent of the Foreign Branch, General Post Office, London, and G. Lionel Hopkins, Provincial Auditor for Saskatchewan, is a brother. He was educated at St. Mark’s College, Chelsea, S.W., Eng.; Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph, Ont.; Ontario Veterinary College, Toronto; Iowa State College, Ames, Ia.; and University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis. He came to Canada in 1885, as a farm pupil with John Gardhouse & Sons, Weston, Ont., and went to Manitoba in 1891, where he was in business at Hartney and Neepawa, prior to locating on his present farm. He has held many important professional positions at various times. He was assistant in animal husbandry at the College of Agriculture, University of Wisconsin, 1889-1901; Editor, “Farmer’s Advocate,” Winnipeg, 1901-2, and later, in 1904-5-6; was Veterinary Quarantine Officer for Canada in Great Britain, 1902; Chief Veterinary Inspector for the Dominion Government, in British Columbia, 1903; and Saskatchewan, 1908-10. In 1912 he filled the position of Reeve of Fertile Valley, No. 285, Saskatchewan. He is also the author of “Veterinary Elements,” a valuable handbook for students and farmers, which has run through two editions. As a stock breeder he specializes in Shire horses, Shorthorn cattle and Yorkshire swine. On Shorthorns he is a well-known authority and has done considerable judging at Stock Shows, and has also lectured at Farmers’ Institutes and at the University of Saskatchewan on agricultural subjects. He at one time served in the 45th Battalion under Col. (now Gen. Sir) Sam Hughes, and holds a commission as Lieutenant in the Canadian Army Veterinary Corps. He is an Anglican, a Liberal, a member of the A.F. & A.M., I.O.O.F., and the Saskatchewan Grain Growers’ Association. He married first (1894) Ellen M. Dewar (deceased), by whom he had one daughter, Dorothy M.; secondly (1899), Jean S. Habkirk (deceased), by whom he had Leonard P. and Gladys Ellen (twins), and George Edward; thirdly (1908), Edith Sealy Jones, by whom he had five children, Phyllis, Margery, Geoffrey, Audrey and Betty.


Taylor, Hon. George Edward (Moose Jaw, Sask.), was born near the City of Winnipeg, Man., December 27, 1878, his parents being George and Mary A. Taylor, of New Liskeard, Ont. Educated at London, Ont., and Osgoode Hall, Toronto. Called to the Bar in 1902, created K.C. for the Province of Saskatchewan, 1913, and appointed Judge of the King’s Bench, Sask., on March 2, 1918. Judge Taylor married Mabel Cecilia Ryan, daughter of the late Charles F. Ryan, on January 1, 1904. He is the father of the following children: Mabel Cecilia Moore, George Edward S., Glendolen and Dorothy. His Lordship is a member of the Prairie Club of Moose Jaw and the Assiniboia of Regina. In religion he is a Presbyterian. He finds recreation in golf and motoring. Thomas W. Taylor, ex-M.P.P., of Winnipeg, is an uncle.


Cross, Alexander S. G., 369 Metcalfe Ave., Westmount, Que., is a Justice of the King’s Bench for Quebec and was born at Ormstown in that province, on August 12, 1858. His father was George Cross, a yeoman, and his mother, prior to her marriage, Miss Barbara Brodie. He was educated at Stoney Creek High School, Huntingdon Academy and McGill University. From the latter institution he graduated in Arts in 1879, and in Law in 1881, and holds the degrees of B.A. and B.C.L. He is a prominent member of the University Club, Montreal, and his chief recreation is agriculture. He is a Protestant in religion and was married in 1898 to Anna M., daughter of Mr. James J. Buchanan, yeoman, of Dundee, Que. He has one son, George E. Cross, born March 14, 1899.


Campbell, Donald Grant, M.D., one of the leading physicians of Montreal, was born in that city on April 21, 1883, the son of Rev. Robert Campbell, D.D., one of the most widely known of Canadian clergymen. His mother’s maiden name was Margaret Macdonell. He was educated in Montreal High School and later entered McGill University, where he graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1904. Deciding to follow medicine, he remained another four years at the institution, achieving the degree of M.D.C.M. in 1908. Ever since he has practised in his native city and during the war has held a position in the Army Medical Corps, with the rank of Captain. He was married on April 13, 1914, to Sophie Edith, daughter of Albert Field, M.D., a well-known physician of Barbadoes, British West Indies. Like his father, Dr. Campbell is a Presbyterian in religion and in politics is a Conservative. He resides at 755 Shuter St., Montreal.


Cassils, Charles, 118 Notre Dame St. West, Montreal, one of the prominent capitalists of that city, was born at Renton, Dumbartonshire, Scotland, on June 16, 1841, the son of John and Margaret (Murray) Cassils. After a sound education in his native country he entered the Glasgow Iron Office in 1853, and after twenty years’ experience in the iron trade, came to Canada in 1873, becoming a member of the firm of Cochrane, Cassils & Company, of Montreal, for many years representatives in Canada of the Carnegie Steel Company, of Pittsburgh. His financial interests are very wide. He is Vice-President of the Bell Telephone Company of Canada; Director, Dominion Bridge Company; President, Canadian Transfer Company; President, Structural Steel Company; Director, Northern Electric Company; Vice-President, Dominion Bridge Company; and Director, Windsor Hotel Company. In social organizations he is prominent and has been President of the Montreal Philharmonic Society for a considerable period, and is also a past President of St. Andrew’s Society. He was Chairman of the St. James Club for some time and is also a member of the Mount Royal, Montreal Hunt, Forest & Stream, Montreal Jockey and Canada Clubs. He belongs to the Masonic Order, is a Conservative in politics and a Presbyterian in religion. He first married, in 1865, Agnes Shearer, of Glasgow, who died in 1868, and in September, 1876, espoused Ermina Maria, daughter of Senator M. H. Cochrane, of Compton, Que. His home is at 753 University Street, Montreal.


Cousins, George Vipond, Barrister, Montreal, was born at Ottawa, Ont., on January 16, 1885, the son of Charles and Margaret (Vipond) Cousins. His education in its more important phases was obtained at McGill University, Montreal, from which he graduated in 1906 and in which he holds the degrees of B.A., M.A. and B.C.L. Subsequently he took a course at the University of Wisconsin, at Madison, which was followed by his appointment as one of the lecturers in history in that justly celebrated institution. His scholastic career was marked by the attainment of first rank honors in history, political science and economics. Returning to Canada he took up the study of law at McGill, obtaining the B.C.L. degree as above stated, and has since practised in Montreal. He is a skilled and thoughtful writer and the author of various articles on economic and legal subjects, and is prominent in the social organizations of his province. He is a member of the University, Royal Montreal Golf, Royal St. Lawrence Yacht, and Canada Clubs, Montreal; and of the Garrison Club, Quebec. During the world war he qualified as a Captain at the Royal School of Infantry, Halifax, N.S., in order that he might be able to meet the call of his country. In politics he clings to the old-fashioned name of Tory, and in religion is a Presbyterian. On April 16, 1912, he married Geraldine Osborne Chapman, of Amherst, N.S., a grand-niece of the late Sir Charles Tupper, Bart., at one time Prime Minister of Canada, and has two daughters, Ruth Tupper and Beatrice Vipond Cousins.


Heakes, Francis Riley (Toronto, Ont.), was born in Toronto, July 30, 1858, the youngest son of the late Samuel Heakes, of London, England, and Elizabeth Isabella Riley, of Birmingham, England. Mr. Heakes’ father came to Toronto in 1845 and established a retail dry goods business on King Street, opposite Toronto Street. Mr. F. R. Heakes received his education in public and private schools of his native city, studied architecture in the office of the late Wm. Irving, a prominent architect of his time, and practised his profession privately till 1883, when he received the appointment of assistant to the late Kivas Tulley, architect for the Public Works of Ontario and succeeded that gentleman as Chief Architect for the province in 1896. Since that time a very large number of Government Buildings have been designed and erected by him throughout the province, including Court Houses, Hospitals, Educational and Agricultural Buildings, and recently the new Government House, which is designed after the French Chateau style, and is a splendid example of the architecture of the period of Louis XVIth, harmonizing most admirably with its picturesque environment. “In it,” writes “Construction,” the architectural journal, in its February number, 1916, “the architect has produced a gem that will stand as an enduring monument to his professional skill and artistic taste. Citizens of Toronto have every reason to be proud of the Official Home they have erected for the King’s Representative.” Mr. Heakes’ duties are many, varied and onerous, but he attends to them diligently and with marked ability. He married Susan Pemberton, the fourth daughter of the late Thomas Wood, and has three sons and two daughters. Of his sons, Alfred is a manufacturer, while Lieut. Vernon of the R.A.F., and Sergt. Harold of the 10th Canadian Siege Battery, have fought for their country and world liberty in France. Mr. Heakes is a Presbyterian, a member of the Masonic Fraternity and of St. George’s Society. His residence is No. 489 Euclid Ave.


Maj. W. E. Lincoln Hunter, Toronto
F. C. Sutherland, Toronto


Wallace, Thomas George (Woodbridge, Ont.), eldest son of the late Hon. N. Clarke Wallace, M.P., ex-Controller of Customs, Grand Master Orangemen of British North America, and Belinda Gilmor (Wallace), Canadians of Irish descent. Born May 7, 1879, at Ottawa. Educated at Woodbridge Public School and Weston High School; general merchant and flour miller. Has had distinguished military career. Gazetted Captain of the 30th Regiment, Dec. 15, 1897. Resigned commission to go to South Africa in the Boer War, as private in the Royal Canadian Regiment (1st Contingent) 1899-1900. Was in first engagement the Canadians took part in at Sunnyside, 1st January, 1900. Medal with three bars, viz.: Cape Colony, Paardeberg and Driefontein. Prominent in the Orange Order, being Grand Director of Ceremonies of the Orangemen of British America. Anglican, Rector’s Warden of Christ’s Church, Woodbridge. Ranched for some time at McLeod, in the Province of Alberta. Well-known athlete, football and lacrosse enthusiast. Was Conservative Candidate Centre York for the House of Commons in by-election, December, 1907, when defeated by 26 votes. First elected to Parliament as representative of Centre York, at the general elections 1908, re-elected by 510 in 1911, and re-elected at the general elections in 1917 by a majority of 7,300 votes. Member of the Albany Club, Toronto. Captain Wallace is popular with all classes and a most useful member of the House of Commons.


Mondou, Alberic Archie, B.A., LL.B. (Pierreville, Que.), born February 2, 1872, at St. François du Lac, son of Eusebe Mondou, general merchant and farmer, St. François du Lac, and Georgianna Desmarais, both French Canadians; educated at Nicolet College and Laval University, Montreal, from which he graduated with the degrees of B.A. and LL.B. Married, September 16, 1895, to Augustine, daughter of Michel Cardin, of Yamaska, Que. Is a Notary Public by profession. President and General Manager of the Strathcona Fire Insurance Co.; Vice-President and General Manager of the Quebec and Western Canada Land Syndicate, Limited; was Local Manager Provincial Bank of Canada at Pierreville, Que., 1902-1911. He was elected, May 11, 1897, to the Quebec Legislature for the constituency of Yamaska and ran for the House of Commons for the same riding in 1900 in the Conservative interest at the general election, but was defeated; he was elected at the general election in 1911, retiring in 1917. He is a Roman Catholic in religion. Mr. Mondou is Independent in politics, he is a member of the Canadian Club of Montreal, and has long been recognized as a successful business man of sterling worth, prominently identified with various large enterprises.


Merner, Jonathan Joseph (Zurich, Ont.), born in Stanley Township, County of Huron, April 2, 1864, son of Gottlieb Merner, a Swiss, and Mary Ann Bleam, an American, a nephew of the late Senator Samuel Merner. Educated at Public School, Township of Hay, and subsequently went into the employ of Mr. D. D. Steinbach, General Merchant, at Zurich, where he acquired a good business training. Mr. Merner later embarked on his own account as a general merchant in Zurich, where he received his early mercantile experience and success has crowned his industrial activities and intelligent efforts. In connection with the business, a large evaporator and apple jam factory is operated. Mr. Merner also controls an extensive farm in the fine Township of Hay, and has large real estate interests in Western Canada. He first entered political life in the year 1911, when he was returned to the House of Commons as a Conservative to represent the riding of South Huron, and re-elected at the general elections in Dec. 1917. Mr. Merner, with his practical experience as a farmer and a merchant, and his large faith in the destinies of the Dominion, is most highly regarded by his constituents. On Oct. 3, 1900, he married Edith, daughter of Edward Graham, of Goderich, Ontario, and has six children, three girls, Minnie, Greta and Beatrice, and three boys, Edward, Clare and Borden. In religion Mr. Merner is a Methodist.


Lumsden, John. Ever active, progress followed the efforts of Alexander Lumsden, one of the pioneer lumbermen of the Ottawa Valley, and the father of John Lumsden, his only son, the subject of this sketch. On the death of his father in 1904, John Lumsden came into possession of large and rich timber limits in the Temiskaming region and a fleet of steamers for the transportation of men and supplies to the camps on the edge of Lake Kippewa. Inheriting his father’s energy and vitality and his determination to keep ahead of the times, Mr. John Lumsden is ever found at the helm directing his business and carefully sees that there is no lagging in the performance or execution of the necessary work. The lively town of Lumsden Mills, of over 500 inhabitants, lighted by electricity and with its planing mills, head offices, large general store, church, school, bakery, lumber, boat works and handsome homes—the creation of this great lumber industry and owned entirely by Mr. Lumsden—is nothing but hustle and bustle from morning till night and the abode of a happy and contented people who take great delight in watching the wheels of industry spinning and in doing their share towards the successful termination of each day’s labor. At his mills between 125,000 and 130,000 feet of lumber and 30,000 laths and pickets are turned out per day and sent to the piling grounds ready to be shipped to the markets of the world—to wherever the demand calls for them. While Mr. Lumsden has all these details and commercial and financial responsibilities resting upon his shoulders and demanding his careful administrative and executive attention he can, and does, find time to make his racing establishments truly representative on the American turf at Maryland, Saratoga and other places. His horses represent a big investment—there are between 20 and 30 of them—two-year-olds, three-year-olds, seasoned campaigners, jumpers, etc., and most of them are a gilt-edge breeding of British and Irish Stock and racers of the swiftest class to whom many prizes and honors have fallen. Mr. Lumsden is President, Dominion Explosives, Ltd., La Banque Nationale Building, Ottawa; President, Lumsden Lumber Company, Ltd., Ottawa; Director, Forwarders, Ltd., Kingston; Director, Caledonia Realties, Ltd., Montreal; Director, Security Life Insurance Company of Canada; Life Governor, St. Luke’s Hospital, Ottawa, and is closely associated with many other philanthropic and business interests. He was born at Ottawa, June 24, 1870, and is the son of the late Alexander Lumsden, M.P.P., and Margueretta Lumsden, of Scottish descent. He began his business career in the lumber business with his father and served apprenticeship as a machinist with the Patterson Law of Ottawa. He was chief engineer on a lake steamer from 1891 to 1893; was with the Laurie Engineering Company, Montreal; associated with his father, 1903-1905. In the latter year he went into business for himself. He established Dominion Explosives and became President in 1910. He organized the Lumsden Mining Co., and became President in 1906; organized the Lumsden Lumber Co. and became President, 1913. He is part owner of the Lumsden Building, Toronto; sole owner of the town of Lumsden Mills, Township of Gendreau, Province of Quebec. A member of the Ottawa Board of Trade; Director, Ottawa Horse Shows; offered building at Lake Temiskaming to K.E. Memorial Hospital for Consumptives. On May 11, 1905, Mr. Lumsden married Emily E. MacPherson, daughter of John MacPherson, Pioneer Mill Builder, Chelsea. He is a member of the following Clubs: Laurentian, Connaught Park Jockey, Royal Hunt, Rivermead Golf, Ontario (Toronto), Wabinini Hunting and Fishing, and of the A.F. & A.M. Society. His recreations are motoring, walking, reading. In politics he is a Liberal. In religion, a Presbyterian, and he resides at 38 Charles St., Ottawa.


McNeeley, John Strachan Lewis, Police Magistrate, Carleton Place, Ontario. Is the son of Joseph L. and Susan McNeeley, and is a barrister-at-law by profession. Born in the Township of Beckurth, November 28, 1870. Educated at Carleton Place High School and Trinity University, Toronto, from which latter institution he graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1893, and received the degree of M.A., 1895. Was called to the bar in 1897. Married, 1899, to Harriet Helen, daughter of the late Wm. Frost of Ottawa, and is the father of the following children: Harriet Helen, Madeline, Isabelle, Hilda, Dorothy and Edna Marion. He is a member of the Masonic Order and an Oddfellow; in religion, he is an Anglican. P.M. McNeeley has occupied his present position as Magistrate for the Town of Carleton Place since 1895. He was appointed member of the Corporation of Trinity University, Toronto, by the Anglican Synod of the Diocese of Ottawa in 1905, which position he held for several years. He was elected member of the Board of Education of Carleton Place in 1909 and has been a member of the Board ever since, being chairman in 1910-11. In politics Mr. McNeeley is a Conservative.


Weichel, William George (Waterloo, Ont.), born at Elmira on July 20, 1870, son of Michael Weichel and Margaret Schmidt, the subject of this sketch is and has been one of the most prominent men in his native county for several years, and has been connected with its political, commercial and social progress and activities in a large way. He received his education at the Public School of Elmira, which place he left at the age of twenty to enter the employ of Shurly & Dietrich, saw manufacturers, Galt, where, after gaining a thorough knowledge of the business, he represented his firm for several years as travelling salesman. Later he bought out the hardware firm of J. W. Fear & Co. Has been President of the Board of Trade and President of the Canadian Club, of Kitchener, and Alderman, Deputy Reeve, and Mayor of the Town of Waterloo in 1911, in which year he was elected to the House of Commons as Conservative candidate for the riding of North Waterloo, defeating Hon. W. L. MacKenzie King, the Minister of Labor, by a majority of 315. Since his entry into Parliamentary life Mr. Weichel has greatly distinguished himself as a public speaker, and has been especially fearless and outspoken in support of the Military Service Act and of the Union Government. Mr. Weichel, although of German origin, is very loyal to the country of his birth, and to British institutions. In the general elections held in 1917 Mr. Weichel was again a candidate, but was defeated owing to the peculiar war-time conditions existing in the riding he had so brilliantly and faithfully represented. He has a good platform presence and speaks with fluency and earnestness in support of his convictions, doing everything in his power to promote harmony and a good understanding among his constituents and to secure the successful termination of the great conflict in favor of the British Empire. Mr. Weichel married, on August 19, 1896, Jessie R., daughter of Richard Kinsman, of Galt, and has three daughters, Norine, Minota and Audrey. He is a member of the Berlin Club and the Waterloo Club. His chief recreations are lawn bowling and curling. In religion he is a Lutheran. Progressive, loyal, public spirited, with a high sense of duty, a talent and taste for public affairs, Mr. Weichel is a credit to his native county.


McBrien, Frederick George (Toronto, Ont.), was born at Orangeville, in Dufferin County, in the year 1887, son of James C. and Abigail McBrien. He removed to Toronto at an early age, where he attended the public and high schools, and afterwards embarked in the hardware business, establishing a large trade, exhibiting much capacity and securing the confidence of the community by his enterprising qualities and fair methods. Subsequently he designed and built a large number of residences and apartment houses. He was elected as alderman of Ward Six in 1910, at the age of 22, being one of the youngest members of the City Council, and re-elected in the years 1911, 1912 and 1913. In 1914 he was nominated for Mayor, and in an election in which he was opposed by three candidates, ran second, polling nearly 18,000 votes. He retired from municipal life for two years and was again elected to the City Council as a representative of Ward Six in 1916-17. Retiring as Alderman for Ward Six, he was nominated as one of the Representatives of Ward three, and was elected, and at present is Chairman of the Property Committee. Alderman McBrien’s municipal career has been a most useful one and he brings to bear on all civic problems, an analytical mind enriched by practical experience and a consideration for the taxpayers. He has specially interested himself in the welfare of the soldiers at the front and their dependents in his home city. A brother, Major Wm. Carson McBrien, has been overseas for some time, and won promotion. A good platform speaker and a keen debater, Alderman McBrien’s sincerity is at all times convincing. In politics he is a Conservative and is identified with the Masonic, and Orange Orders and is an Oddfellow. A member of the Methodist Church. He is also a Justice of the Peace. On Sept. 9, 1912, Alderman McBrien married Irene Zella, daughter of John Edward Jarrott and Mrs. Jarrott, of Toronto, and has two children, Frederick George and Muriel Irene.


Matthews, George Sands (Brantford, Ontario), born at Lindsay, Ontario, February 17, 1867; son of George and Ann Matthews; educated at Lindsay Public and High Schools, and graduate of Woodstock College, 1884. Married June 25, 1895, to Frances, daughter of Rev. Frederick Ratcliff. The union has been blessed by four children: George F., James J., Margaret R., and Howard S. Mr. Matthews has devoted his energies to mercantile life and is identified with many large well-known industrial enterprises, among which may be mentioned: Matthews-Blackwell, Ltd., of which he is a Director, and was Manager at Brantford from 1903 to 1914; Vice-President of the Brantford Roofing Co., Treasurer of Niagara Silk Co., Ltd. Mr. Matthews was President of the Brantford Board of Trade in the year 1911, and Chairman of the Brantford Board Park Commission, 1910-1914. He is Vice-President of the Brantford Industrial Realty Co. and is financially interested in eight of the city of Brantford’s leading industries. He took a prominent interest in military matters for over 20 years, 1885 to 1906, joining as a private in the 57th Battalion, Peterboro Rangers, in which he rose to the rank of Captain. He is a member of the National Club, Toronto, and the Brantford Club in his home city. In religion he is a Baptist, and in politics an Independent Conservative.


Marcile, Joseph Edmond (Acton Vale, Que.), son of Vital Marcile and Elizabeth Jacques, his wife. Born at Contrecœur, County of Verchères, Que. Educated at Actonia High School and Academy, Que. Married first, Sept. 7, 1880, to Melvina Masse, who died March 2, 1884; secondly, Sept. 9, 1884, to Gracia Courville. Began his mercantile life as a clerk in a general store, from 1872-85, and was a dry goods merchant from 1885-1914, in which latter year he sold out his business and became a gentleman farmer and manufacturer, and is at present a shareholder in the Acton Biscuit Co., Quebec. Has been Councillor, Mayor and Chairman of the School Board of Acton Vale. First elected to the House of Commons as the Liberal Representative for the County of Bagot at a by-election caused by the death of a sitting member, M. Dupont, when he received 1,431 votes as against 1,384 cast for his opponent, M. Brodeur. Re-elected by the general elections in 1900 by a majority of 156 over Honorable L. O. Taillon, and re-elected in 1904, 1908, 1911 and 1917. Is the father of the following children: Charlotte, Berthe, Albert, Therese, Alice, Gaston, Contran, Philippe, Gertrude, Marie Ange, Gerard, and Yolande. He is a member of the following societies: Alliance Nationale, Artisans Canadien Français, St. Joseph. Two of Mr. Marcile’s sons, Gaston and Philippe, are at the front in the 150th Regiment. In religion, the member for Bagot is a Roman Catholic.


Doherty, Hon. Charles Joseph, K.C., D.C.L., LL.D., son of the late Hon. Marcus Doherty, a Judge of the Supreme Court for the Province of Quebec and Elizabeth (O’Halloran) Doherty, born at Montreal, May 11, 1855. Educated at St. Mary’s (Jesuit) College and McGill University, Montreal, from which latter institution he graduated with the degree of B.C.L., and took the Elizabeth Torrance Gold Medal, 1876, D.C.L., 1893, LL.D., Ottawa University, 1895. Married, June, 1888, Catherine Lucy, the daughter of Edmund Barnard, K.C., Montreal. Admitted as Advocate, 1887, and appointed K.C. under Lord Lansdowne in 1887; ably practised his profession in Montreal where he became one of the leaders of the Bar; successfully pleaded before the Privy Council in England; was for many years Professor of Civil and International Law, McGill University; was President University Literary Society; appointed Judge of the Superior Court for the Province of Quebec which office he filled from October 1891, to November, 1906, when he retired. Was a candidate for the representation of Montreal West in the Quebec Legislature, December, 1881, and candidate for the representation of Montreal Centre in Quebec Legislature in October, 1886. Defeated both times. First elected to the House of Commons for St. Ann’s division, Montreal, in the Conservative interests, and at the General elections in 1908; re-elected, 1911, and again in 1917. Sworn in as member of the Privy Council for Canada and appointed Minister of Justice, October 10, 1911. After accepting office was re-elected by acclamation. Presented with a life-size portrait in oils by the Montreal Bar, 1907; elected a Governor of Laval University, 1903; elected Director of La Banque Provinciale, 1907; elected a Director of Montreal City and District Savings Bank, 1908; elected Director Prudential Trust Company, 1911; elected a Director of the Capital Life Assurance Company, 1911; elected President Canadian Securities Corporation, 1910; President St. Patrick’s Society, Montreal, 1903-04; also Director International Truth Society, and a Trustee of St. Patrick’s Orphans’ Asylum, Montreal. As a young man was President of the Shamrock Lacrosse Club and the Shamrock Amateur Athletic Association; formerly President Irish National League, Montreal. A supporter of Home Rule for Ireland; was Captain in the 65th Mount Royal Rifles and retired, retaining rank in 1887, after serving through the North-west Rebellion. He is the father of the following children: Kathleen, Eileen Margaret, Elizabeth and Marcus. A Member of the following clubs: Mount Royal, St. James, University Club, Montreal, Rideau Club, Ottawa, Country Club, Golf Club, Ottawa, Catholic Club, New York. The Minister of Justice is recognized by men of all shades of political opinion as an honorable man of exceptional ability and energy, and is greatly esteemed by all classes for his splendid character, his capacity, probity, worth, and public spirit.


Starr, J. R. L. (Toronto, Ont.), was born October 5, 1865, and after receiving a thorough primary and Collegiate education at the Collegiate Institutes of Collingwood and Whitby, matriculated in 1883. He then entered Victoria University, where he obtained honors in classics the first two years, and in philosophy the last two years. In 1887 the Alma Mater conferred upon him the degree of B.A., and in 1890 the degree of LL.B. The same year he was admitted to the Bar, having been articled to Mr. W. H. P. Clement, of the well-known firm of McCarthy, Osler, Hoskin & Creelman, where he remained for one year, and was for a like period of time associated with Mr. Clement. Mr. Starr then embarked in the active individual practice of his profession until 1895, when he formed a co-partnership under the firm name of Thorne, Warren & Starr which firm continued until 1900, when the present well-known partnership of Masten, Starr & Spence was formed. Mr. Starr numbers among his large and constantly increasing clientele some of the leading corporations of the city, his firm being solicitors for the Bank of Nova Scotia and other large corporations. Mr. Starr is a member of the National Club and Orange Society, and is well-known in Conservative political circles. Mr. Starr, in addition to the arduous duties of his profession, for many years found time to devote much of his energy to public affairs, sitting on the Board of Education for seven years and being twice elected as a member of the City Council. While a member of these important bodies he was prominent in the agitation for better play grounds for the children of the city, and was largely instrumental in bringing about the betterment and enlargement of such grounds. Mr. Starr is always in earnest in the conduct of his business, and amongst the profession has an enviable reputation for honesty and straightforwardness. These qualities make the practice of his profession with his fellow-lawyers particularly agreeable and friendly, and he is frequently able to settle difficult matters where others might fail. He is better known as a “settler” of law suits than as a counsel. He is a prominent Methodist and very active in church work. In politics he is a staunch Conservative and a possible future member of Parliament.


MacAulay, Brock, was born in Southampton, Ont., March 14, 1871. He is a son of Donald MacAulay and Annie McLeod, of Stornoway, Scotland. He is a merchant in Southampton and also interested in two fishing tugs which fish out of that harbor. In the realm of sport the name of Brock MacAulay is known from one end of Canada to the other. His two great pastimes are bowling and curling. In years gone by he and his great rink of curlers have brought honor and fame to Southampton. No big bonspiel was complete without these hardy men from the Bruce Peninsula, and they demonstrated, under the guidance of Brock MacAulay, that they knew the roarin’ game to perfection. When they were not winners, they were runners up, and seldom have they returned home without annexing a good share of the trophies. In bowling it was the same, and they also brought the name of their town to the fore. Brock MacAulay in both games, is a skip of rare judgment, and it is in the tight places that his brilliancy shines. He seldom fails to draw to the T or kitty when it is required of him. He is a good sportsman, and win or lose he has always been noted for his great good nature. In private he is a good story teller and an interesting companion. He is a member of St. Lawrence Lodge, No. 131, A.F. & A.M., of Southampton, the Sons of Scotland, and the I.O.F. He is a Presbyterian in religion and a Liberal in politics. He married Miss Jean Webster, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Webster, of Lion’s Head. They have one daughter, Helen, and one son, Douglas.


Paquet, Eugene, M.D., born at Agaipt, Lotbiniere County, Que., October 23, 1867, son of François Paquet, farmer, and his wife, Clarisse Bergeron (French-Canadians). Educated at Seminary, Quebec, and Laval University, from which he graduated with the degree of M.D. Received his degree in 1892, passing with great distinction. He has practised medicine at St. Aubert, L’Islet County, since graduation. Elected to the House of Commons at the general election of 1894, re-elected in 1908 and 1911. A Roman Catholic in religion and a Conservative. A frequent contributor to “Le Peuple de Montmagny.” Married May 30, 1893, to Elise Lafrance at Quebec, a daughter of Victor Lafrance of that city, and is the father of one child, Lucienne Paquet, born Nov. 23, 1894.


St. Jean, Ulric (Contrecœur, Que.), is the son of the late Antoine St. Jean and was born on April 22, 1869, at Contrecœur. Educated at the Model School of his native place where he was for five years President of the Commissioners of Schools. Always took an active part in the political life of his County before his appointment as Registrar in June, 1914, being President of the Liberal Club twice, for Vercheres County. Married Marie Joseph Guyon, daughter of Ludger Guyon, and is the father of the following children: Jeanne, Annette Simone, Gilberte Etiennette. Mr. St. Jean is a member of the Board of Trade in Montreal and in religion is a Roman Catholic.


Cash, Edward L., M.D. (Yorkton, Sask.), son of David Cash (English) and Elizabeth Eckardt, his wife (Canadian), born December 26, 1849, at Markham Village, Ont., where he attended the Public and High Schools, afterwards the Victoria University, Cobourg, graduating with the degree of M.D. in the year 1871, and being licensed by the Ontario College of Physicians and Surgeons the same year. Married, January 10, 1898, Mary B. Simpson, daughter of Wm. Simpson. Resided for some years, 1871-1896, in the United States, and was elected County Clerk of the District Court for Rock County, Nebraska. Commenced the practice of medicine in Yorkton in 1897, and soon established a large practice, where he was elected to the House of Commons at the general election for McKenzie as a Liberal in the general elections of 1908-1911. He is a Congregationalist in religion. Dr. Cash is the father of three children, i.e., Abbie Ruth, Nellie Katherine, and David E. L. He is a member of the Masonic Order, an Oddfellow, A.O.U.W., K.O.T.M., and also of the Canadian Club and Yorkton Club.


Sine, Frederick (Sydenham, Ont.), was born at Madoc, Ont., January 24, 1877, and is the son of George William Sine. Educated at the Collegiate Institute of Collingwood and Meaford High School, and Queen’s University, Kingston, from which latter institution he graduated with first-class honors in Chemistry and Physics, and also received the degree of M.A. in 1906; also took the degree of B.Sc. in Geology and Mineralogy at the School of Mining, Kingston, 1908. While at Queen’s University he was Demonstrator in Chemistry. Mr. Sine taught Public Schools in Grey County and Hawkesbury, and High Schools at Hawkesbury, Dundas and Sydenham. He married Annie, daughter of James Watson, of Dundas, Ont. In religion, he is a member of the Methodist Church, and politically, is a Liberal.


Labelle, Alfred Eugene, Brigadier-General, Managing Director of the St. Lawrence Flour Mills Co., Montreal, Que. Started in the milling business as Secretary to W. W. Ogilvie (the late Canadian Flour King) in 1884, and rose to the position of local Manager at Montreal, for the Ogilvie Mills Co., from which he retired in 1910 to form the present company, of which he is Managing Director. General Labelle served as a Lieutenant in the North-West Campaign of 1885, was in command of the 65th Regiment for two terms, 1896-1912, in command of the 12th Infantry Regiment, 1912-1916; in command of the Canadian Bisley Team, 1908; promoted to the rank of Brigadier-General, 1916; and chairman of the Council of the Dominion Rifle Association, 1916-17. He has been decorated by the French Government a Commander of the Legion of Honour, and also wears the North-West Rebellion Medal and the long service and Diamond Jubilee Decorations. General Labelle has been President of the Montreal Chambre de Commerce, Director of the Montreal Com. Exchange, and several Companies, and a Commissioner of the Harbor of Montreal since 1913. He was born at Montreal, August 23, 1866, the son of Hospie Labelle and Leocadie Masson, receiving his education in government schools and Bishop’s Academy. He married Amelie, daughter of Judge L. W. Sicotte, Montreal, April 30, 1890, by whom he has five sons and one daughter. He is a member of the following clubs: St. James, St. Denis, Montreal, Canadian and Chapleau, all of Montreal. By religion General Labelle is a Catholic, and a Conservative in politics.


Weir, William M., President of the Canada Foundries & Forgings, Ltd., Westmount, Que., was born in Quebec City, July 26, 1873, the son of Mary A. McGoldrick and W. E. Weir, Quebec, and graduated from Ottawa University. He is a Director of the following companies: Canada Foundries & Forgings, Ltd.; Carriage Factories, Ltd.; J. H. McKay Co., Ltd.; Eastern Canada Fisheries, Ltd., and Ateras Wharf & Warehousing Co., Ltd., Havana, Cuba. On November 25, 1903, Mr. Weir married Florence E., daughter of J. J. Weville, Ottawa, Ont., and has seven children, Mary Doris, William Dermand, Marion Lucille, Irene Grace, Florence Elizabeth, Joseph Harrison, and Margaret Ruth. Mr. Weir is a Captain in the 55th Regt. Irish Canadian Rangers, and a member of the St. James and Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Clubs, Montreal, also of the Welland and Brockville Clubs. He is a Roman Catholic in religion.


Mackenzie, Hugh Blair (Westmount, Que.), General Manager of the Bank of British North America, began his banking career with the Canadian Bank of Commerce, at Brantford, Ont., in 1884, and in 1887 joined the forces of the Bank of British North America at Brantford; was transferred from there to St. John, Que., and then to Montreal, where he became Secretary to the General Manager in 1893. He was appointed Accountant in London, Ont., in 1894, and Assistant Inspector in 1895, which position he held until 1903, when he became Chief Inspector, acting in this capacity until he was appointed Manager at Victoria, B.C., in 1905. He became Superintendent of Central Branches at Winnipeg, in 1907, removing to Montreal in 1909, to the position of Superintendent of Branches there, and held this post until 1912, when he was appointed to his present office as General Manager. He was born at Ingersoll, Ont., December 14, 1867, the son of Venerable Archdeacon C. C. Mackenzie, D.C.L., late rector of Grace Church, Brantford, Ont., and Helen (Boomer) Mackenzie, and is a brother of Prof. M. A. Mackenzie, of Toronto University. His earlier education took place in the Public School at Kincardine, Ont., going from there to the Collegiate Institute at Brantford, and then to Trinity College, Port Hope, Ont. On October 11, 1902, Mr. Mackenzie married Maude Marion Weir, daughter of the late Oswald Weir, a banker, of Brantford, Ont., and has three children, Amy Maxwell, born October 10, 1903; Maxwell Hibbard Weir, born June 30, 1907, and Malcolm Blair, born April 19, 1913. He is a member of the Anglican Church and of the Mount Royal Club, Montreal. For recreation he takes an active interest in golf, being a member of the Royal Montreal and Kanawaki Golf Clubs.


McKay, Honorable James (Regina, Sask.), one of the Judges of the Supreme Court of the Province of Saskatchewan. Before his elevation to the bench in 1915, his lordship was a prominent barrister at Prince Albert, Sask., and Public Administrator and Official Guardian of the Judicial District of Saskatchewan. Registrar of the Diocese of Saskatchewan and Solicitor for the same; Director Prince Albert Victoria Hospital. Was born in Manitoba, 1862, son of Wm. McKay, Factor in Hudson Bay Company. Married 1900, Florence, daughter of J. Lestock Reid. Educated at St. John’s College, Manitoba. Winner of Dufferin Medal for Ancient and Modern History; University Medal in Classics. Graduated at the University of Manitoba (B.A. Honor Classics). Called to the Bar of Manitoba, 1886, and to the North-West Territories Bar, 1887; practised at Prince Albert, Sask., until elevation to the bench. Was Crown Prosecutor for Saskatchewan, 1888-1897; appointed Q.C. in 1894; has been Councillor for Prince Albert. Actively engaged with the Militia and took part in the suppressing of North-West Rebellion in 1885, doing special duty with French’s Scouts. Candidate for the Liberal Conservatives, Dominion General Election, 1896, when defeated by Sir Wilfrid Laurier, elected as member of the House of Commons for the Constituency of Prince Albert in 1911, at the General Elections, which seat he resigned on being appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of Saskatchewan, being succeeded by Lt.-Col. Samuel James Donaldson, who was elected to fill the vacancy by acclamation. His lordship has one daughter, Marion. He is a member of the Church of England and a Free Mason, and a Forester. Recreations, shooting, riding, tennis and bowling.


Hannon, James Willson (Regina, Saskatchewan), son of Rev. Jas. Hannon, D.D., a prominent clergyman of the Methodist Church, and Sarah Margaret Willson; was born at Hamilton, Ontario, October 11, 1870. Educated at Provincial, Public and High Schools and matriculated with honors in Classics at Toronto University; subsequently studied law, and was called to the bar at Osgoode Hall, Toronto. In his earlier years he taught in Ontario rural schools, but went West in 1898, and has since been largely identified with the history and progress of Saskatchewan; being successively Crown Prosecutor of the Old Judicial District of that Province; Agent of Dominion Lands, and Crown Timber Agent at Prince Albert, Saskatchewan; and Registrar of Land Titles at Battleford, Saskatchewan, leaving the latter place in 1909, having been appointed District Judge at Regina, the Provincial Capital. Judge Hannon married Emma Orilla, daughter of Charles Campbell Woods, of Toronto, on July 25, 1900. He is a member of the Board of Governors of Regina College, and also of the Police Commission of that city, and a member of the I.O.F. In religion Judge Hannon is a Methodist.


Leblanc, Sir Pierre-Evariste, K.C. (Quebec, Que.), Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Quebec, comes of an historic family which was among those driven from Acadia, Nova Scotia, and settled at L’Isle Jesus, Laval County, Que. He is the son of Joseph Leblanc and Adele Belanger, born at St. Martin, August 10, 1853, and educated in the Academy of that place and Normal School of Jacques-Cartier. The present Lieutenant-Governor was called to the Bar in 1879, and was for several years a teacher. In 1893 he was created King’s Counsel by Lord Stanley, of Preston, and was a member of the Provincial Legislature of Quebec from 1882 to 1908, during which time he was speaker of the Assembly under the de Boucherville, Taillon and Flynn Governments. His Honor was appointed Lieutenant-Governor of the province in 1915, and K.C.M.G., June 3, 1916. He married Herminie, daughter of Theodore Beaudry and Catharine Vallee, January 12, 1886, by whom he has three children—Lieutenant Beaudry Leblanc, C.E.F., Mrs. Juliette L. De Costa, Buenos Ayres, and Mrs. Arthur Perodeau, Montreal. He is a member of the Garrison Club, Quebec; Mount Royal, Montreal Hunt, and St. James Clubs, all of Montreal. In religion His Honor is a Roman Catholic, and in politics a Conservative.


Stewart, Dougald, B.A., M.D., M.P. (Lunenburg Co., N.S.), born December 5, 1862, at Upper Musquodoboit, Halifax County, Nova Scotia, son of John Sprott Stewart, a Scotch-Canadian, and Sarah J. Archibald, an English-Canadian. Educated at Pictou Academy, Dalhousie College, University of New York, Degree B.A., 1886, M.D., 1892. Married, October 18, 1892, to Dora Helma, daughter of William T. Kelley, of Shelburne, N.S.; has two children, Evelyn Jean and Dorothy. On graduation as a Medical Doctor, he settled in Bridgewater, in 1892, where he has since had a large practice, was elected member of the Bridgewater Town Council in 1901, and was mayor for four successive terms, 1907-1910, was a member of the Board of Trade and elected President in 1910, which office he held for several terms. In 1911, Doctor Stewart was selected as the Conservative Candidate for the County of Lunenburg, N.S., in the House of Commons, and was returned. In his college days, the doctor was prominent in athletics. He is identified with several fraternal organizations and societies and is at present Grand Master I.O.O.F. for the Maritime Provinces. A Presbyterian in religion, and a member of St. John’s Church, Bridgewater.


Demers, Joseph, born November 11, 1861, at St. Julie, County of Megantic, Province of Quebec. Son of Edouard Demers, carriage maker, and Olympe Demers, both French-Canadians. Educated at St. Julie. The subject of this sketch is emphatically a self-made man and has been the architect of his own fortune. He started clerking in 1877 with Georges Turcotte, of St. Julie, and remained with him until 1883, when he decided to locate at Thetford Mines, which was then only a small village with a few houses and which has since grown into a thriving centre. In this place Mr. Demers started a general store and has been very successful. He was Councillor from 1890 till 1893, Mayor from 1893 to 1895, and Alderman from 1903 to 1905. First elected to the Quebec Legislature as a Liberal representative for the County of Megantic at the general elections on May 15, 1912, when he defeated B. H. Pennington, the former member, by a majority of 401 votes, and continued to represent the county until 1916. He is a director and promoter of the Compagnie Hydraulique of St. François. Married September 30, 1885, to Mary, daughter of Louis Roberge, merchant, of St. Julie, and is the father of the following children: Leonard, Honore, Jean, Marie Ann, Antoinette and Gabrielle. Is a member of the Canadian Club and the City Club, and also of the Knights of Columbus. In religion is a Roman Catholic.


SIR LOMER GOUIN
Quebec


McLean, The Hon. Daniel, M.L.A., of Orangedale, Inverness County, Nova Scotia, is a Presbyterian, a Liberal and a Mason. Born at Whycocomah, March 22, 1864, he received a good education in the public schools of his district. He is a son of Donald and Sarah McLean, and a nephew of the late Hon. James Macdonald, M.P.P. Donald McLean was a farmer and the Hon. Daniel is a general merchant. From 1894 to 1897 he was a member of the municipal council. On October 4, 1894, the Hon. Mr. McLean married Ella C. McPhie, daughter of Angus McPhie, a farmer and blacksmith, of West Bay, Inverness. They have four daughters, Maud, Ella, Margaret, and Irma.


Vance, His Honor George Montgomery, Senior Judge of the County of Simcoe, is a son of William and Elizabeth Vance, of Millbrook, Ont., and was born in the township of Cavan, County of Durham, on October 4, 1866. Educated at the Millbrook High School and Osgoode Hall. Studied law in the office of W. L. Walsh, K.C., Orangeville, now Honorable Justice Walsh of the Province of Alberta. Called to the Bar in the fall of 1893, and immediately commenced the practice of law in the Village of Shelburne, in the County of Dufferin, which he continued with marked success until 1913, when he was appointed Senior County Judge and Judge of the Surrogate Court of the County of Simcoe. Before his elevation to the Bench His Honor took a large interest in the affairs of the Village of Shelburne and the County of Dufferin both municipally and politically. He was Reeve and Chairman of the School Board, and took a large interest in its social and political life. When at the Bar Judge Vance enjoyed a large practice and was solicitor for several corporations and townships, and also the village of Shelburne, and has always taken a prominent part in advocating all educational and patriotic movements and those calculated to stimulate a strong national sentiment. A man of large practical experience and a sound lawyer, His Honor is a fluent and convincing speaker, and his judgments have been characterized by sound reason and a large vein of common sense. He is an ardent motorist and has owned and driven a car for several years. He was married July 2, 1894, to Mary S., daughter of Peter Johnston, and is the father of two daughters, Lois and Ruth. He is a member of the Anglican Church. Residence, Barrie, Ont.


Power, William, son of William Power and B. Fitzgerald, his wife, both Irish, was born in the parish of Sillery, Quebec, February 21, 1849, educated at the Parochial schools of his native parish. Mr. Power married July 4, 1881, Susan Winnifred, daughter of James Rockett, Que., and has five sons and two daughters. He is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and belongs to the Knights of Columbus and the Garrison Club, and the Fish, Game and Yacht Club of Quebec. He is ex-President of the Board of Trade of the City of Quebec, President of the La Fontaine Lumber Company, and Vice-President of the River Ouelle Pulp and Lumber Company and a member of the firm of W. & J. Sharplen. First elected for the Constituency of Quebec West in the House of Commons, January 15, 1902, to replace Hon. Mr. Dobell, who died in England. Re-elected at the general elections of 1904. Defeated in 1908 and again elected at the general elections in 1911.


Proulx, Edmond, M.P. for Prescott, son of the late Isidore Proulx, who was M.P. for Prescott County from 1891 till his death, July 28, 1904, and Philomene Lalande, his wife, both French-Canadians. Born at St. Hermas, in the County of Two Mountains, Que., on the 21st of May, 1875. Educated at Bourget College, Rigaud, Que., St. Michael’s College, Toronto, Ottawa University, and the Law School, Osgoode Hall, Toronto. Was married January 2, 1907, to Madame Elliott Fraser (née Renee Audette), daughter of Randolph Audette, of the City of Quebec, wholesale merchant, and President of La Banque Nationale, and is the father of two sons, Henri and Marcel, and two daughters, Therese and Cecile. Is a Public School Trustee of the town of L’Orignal, a member of the C.M.B.A., Artisans and C.F., and Union St. Joseph of Canada. Has been Reeve of the town of L’Orignal, and Vice-President of The Ontario General Reform Association; first elected to the House of Commons as member for the County of Prescott at the general elections 1904, and subsequently at the general elections of 1908, 1911 and 1917. Is a Liberal in politics. In religion Mr. Proulx is a Roman Catholic. He is very popular among all classes of the community and has a splendid command of both the English and French languages.


Donogh, John Ormsby, Lumber merchant, Toronto. Was born at Toronto on the 25th of March, 1854, son of William Donogh and Elizabeth Hayward, his wife; was educated at the public schools in the Township of Mono and afterwards in the City of Toronto. Mr. Donogh has been long recognized as one of the pioneer lumber merchants of the City of Toronto, and for many years carried on business with Joseph Oliver, formerly Mayor of the City of Toronto, the firm name being “Donogh & Oliver.” He was instrumental in organizing and promoting of the Methodist Union of Toronto and was President for four years. The Union takes charge of all missionary and church extension work in the provincial capital. For many years Mr. Donogh has been prominent in the I.O.O.F. and has been past Grand Master for many years, and at present is Grand Treasurer of the Order. He was married on Sept. 21, 1874, to Miss Wordley; and is a member of the National Club of Toronto, a Mason, and an Oddfellow. He is a man with a large viewpoint and of sterling integrity, and has in the past supported the Liberal Party. His recreation is golf.


Jones, James William (Kelowna, B.C.), is the son of James and Tryphena Searles, both Canadians. Was born at Utica, Ont., on September 21, 1869, educated at the High Schools of Uxbridge and Port Perry, and was a general merchant in Grenfell, 1894 to 1906. Moved to Kelowna, B.C., 1907, where he took an active interest in developing a large tract of irrigated lands in the Okanagan Valley, at Kelowna. Is Secretary-Treasurer of Central Okanagan Land & Orchard Company of Kelowna, he is also prominent in mercantile life, being President of Lawson’s Limited, dry goods and furnishings, also President of McKenzie Trading Company of Kelowna. Was Mayor of Kelowna for five years, 1912-1917, inclusive, and was elected at the last election as Conservative member in the British Columbia Legislature for South Okanagan. Mr. Jones married in 1893, Adam M., daughter of M. T. Bird, of Grenfell, Sask., and is the father of four children: Ethelwyn, Clarence, Vivian and Nellie. He is a member of the Masonic Order and also of the Independent Order of Foresters. In religion he is a Methodist.


Watson, Sir David, K.C.B. and Brigadier-General (Quebec City), promoted to take command of the 4th Canadian Division of the forces at the front in April, 1916, is a native of the city of Quebec, having been born in that city on February 7, 1869. He is the only son of Mr. William Watson, his mother’s maiden name having been Miss Jean Grant, daughter of one of Quebec’s well-known merchants of Lower Town. From school and after some preliminary training in municipal work, he passed into the “Chronicle” office, when Mr. John J. Foote was manager and proprietor of the paper, and there worked his way up through the various departments of journalism, until he finally became the managing director of the establishment. He has held the office of President of the Quebec Press Association, and visited London for a first time as a delegate to the Imperial Press Congress, held in that city in 1908, and a third time as commander of the 8th Royal Rifles during the royal celebration of 1901. In the military life of Quebec he has been interested for over twenty years, and during that time was given promotion step by step until he was in command of his battalion as its Colonel, a position which he had held for two or three years before the European War broke out. Having been selected to take charge of the 2nd Battalion in the 1st Brigade of the 1st Canadian Division, in August, 1914, he proceeded from the Valcartier Camp with troops in charge, for their further training at Salisbury Plains; and, after spending the early winter months there, he proceeded to the front in January, 1915. He was by this time a Colonel in full rank. At the seat of war he was continuously engaged as a commanding officer all during the campaigning up to the summer of 1917, having taken part with his Division in the operations of Neuve Chapelle, in March, 1915, as well as in the second battle of Ypres in April, in the fight at Festubert in May, and that of Givenchy in June. In recognition of his skill and prudence in these engagements he was promoted to command the 5th Brigade of the 2nd Canadian Division in the month of August following, and forthwith as a Brigadier-General, he led his Brigade in the successive engagements of Wytschaete, Kemmel, and St. Eloi, during the spring of 1916. Subsequently he was placed in charge of the 4th Canadian Division and made extended raids in the Ypres salient and at St. Eloi, and thereafter, for forty-nine days without intermission, he and his Brigade shared in the exciting engagements along the River Somme. No less than three attacks were made by General Watson and his Division, one on the 11th of October, another on the 22nd of that month, and one on the 18th of November, 1916, all of these accumulating renown by their intrepid approach on the enemy. Nor was the commander’s bravery overlooked by the War Office, since General Watson has come in for special mention in the despatches exchanged between the general Field Staff and the War Department no less than four times. He was awarded the high honor of Commander of the Bath, and in 1918 was further honored by a Knighthood in that order. The record of the General’s active service at the front is a fitting complement to a career of over twenty years’ experience in military operations, from the days of his entering the 8th Royal Rifles, made up of his Quebec fellow-citizens, to the time of his being a General in full command of the battlefields of Europe. His career savors of romance. A newspaper employee, a prominent business man in his native city, a volunteer of the ranks, a captain, a major, a colonel, and at last a general, form the grades of a ladder overcome step by step which his fellow-Canadians cannot but contemplate with pride. It was taken for granted that in the event of Sir Arthur Currie’s transfer to another command Sir David would succeed him as Commander-in-Chief of the Canadian army in France. General Watson married Miss Mary Browning, of Quebec, on September 11, 1893, and has a family of three daughters.


Thompson, Alfred (Dawson City, Yukon Territory), Physician and Surgeon, son of James A. Thompson and Jane Thompson, both Canadians. Born June 6, 1869, at Nine-Mile River, Hants County, Nova Scotia. Educated at Public School by private tutor, and graduated from Dalhousie University, Halifax, N.S., with degree of M.D.C.M., in 1898. Married Elsie Miller, daughter of Jacob Miller, of Elmsdale, Nova Scotia, March 7, 1894. Went to Klondyke in 1899 and began practice of his profession; elected to Yukon Council in 1902. First elected to the House of Commons at the general elections of 1904, as an Independent. This was the second election held for the House of Commons in the Yukon, when Dr. Thompson was opposed by F. T. Congdon, K.C., who resigned the Governorship of the Territory to contest the seat. Dr. Thompson resigned his seat on the Yukon Council at the same time. The vote stood: Thompson 2,113, Congdon 1,495, a majority for Dr. Thompson of 618. Nomination was held on November 18, election on December 16, and the return was received at Ottawa on March 13, 1915. Retired at end of Parliamentary term and resumed practice; again elected to House of Commons in 1911 at the general elections, over his former opponent, F. T. Congdon, K.C., by a majority of over 450, and again returned at the last general elections held in the Yukon Territory, which were deferred until December 31, 1917. Dr. Thompson’s election was due to the vote of the soldiers overseas which he received as the Unionist Candidate. Is a member of the Masonic Order and of the Zero Club, Dawson, Yukon Territory, and is a Presbyterian. Father of two children, Alfreda, born December 30, 1904, and Norman, born August 5, 1909. Dr. Thompson is a supporter of the Unionist Government and a dominant force in the Yukon Territory, where he has resided for upwards of eighteen years, and has done much to promote the growing importance of the district.


Struthers, James Douglas, M.D. (Tiverton, Ont.), first became a member of his father’s family on April 7, 1886, in the County of Bruce, near the village of Underwood. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. James Struthers, of Port Elgin, who for many years were residents of Bruce Township, and whose farm was one of the best, the owner having brought his splendid Scotch knowledge into one of the finest settlements in the Dominion, where success and shrewd business ability crowned his labors. This son of worthy parents had a longing for knowledge and professional life, and as a youth was studious in S.S. No. 8, Bruce, having his thirst for knowledge awakened and developed along proper lines. His next step was to the High School in Port Elgin, from which he successfully matriculated. He then went to business college for half a year, which was followed by duties in railroad office work. While thus employed he decided that his life work would be that of a doctor. He attended Toronto University and was awarded the degree of Bachelor of Medicine in 1911. Of a likeable and charming disposition he was ever a favorite at college, and was honored by his fellow students in the University by being made Treasurer of the “At Home” Committee of the year ’11. His Scotch ancestry and faithful application to his profession have made him friends, and few young men have reached the splendid position he now occupies. He came back home and settled in the village of Tiverton, where his practice is large and continually growing. Success has crowned his ambition, which was to be able to relieve the sufferings of humanity, and his splendid abilities are often called for in consultation with his surrounding fellow practitioners, all of whom esteem him most highly. Determination and decision are two faculties he possesses. Added to these are a bright and sunny disposition, with a broad and charitable outlook on life which make for him friends of a lasting character. He is a member of Tiverton Masonic Lodge, No. 341, A.F. & A.M., the I.O.O.F., and the C.O.F. In religion he is a Presbyterian and in politics a Liberal. His friends truly say of him: “You were aye leal and true, Jamie.”


Kastner, Gideon, of Wiarton, Ontario, son of John Kastner and Margaret Litt, of Alsace-Lorraine, was born July 8, 1865, in Perth County, Ont. He received his education in the public and high schools of that county. At twenty years of age he went to Wiarton, where he engaged in the lumbering business, which was a thriving industry at that time. He also followed contracting, building piers and public wharves. In business he has been exceptionally successful. He had a liking for municipal politics, and first served in the town council in 1895. He was elected Reeve of Wiarton in 1910-11, and again in 1915-16-17-18. At the January meeting of the County Council of Bruce in 1918 he was elected to the honorable position of warden. His popularity is not solely due to his genial good nature, but to the fact that he is a keen business man and takes a deep interest in every enterprise he is connected with. He served as President of the Wiarton Board of Trade for many years. He has been Chairman of the Board of Managers of St. Paul’s Presbyterian Church for a number of years. When the recruiting campaign for the 160th Bruce Battalion was in full swing Gideon Kastner was one of its whirlwind supporters. He probably got his enthusiastic military ardour from his grandfather who served with Napoleon through many campaigns. He is a loyal supporter of all patriotic movements, lending his energy to every cause that tends to win the war. His great pastime is bowling. In politics he is a Liberal. He married Annie Symon, of Wiarton. They have one son and four daughters, and their home in Wiarton is one of the most hospitable in the county.


Sayles, Edwin Roy, Editor and proprietor of “The Port Elgin Times,” is one of the leading men to-day publishing a country newspaper. He was born in Norfolk County on April 21, 1875. His education was secured in the public and advanced schools of Courtland and the City of Brantford. In the latter place he resided for many years. Choosing newspaper work as his career, he joined the staff of the “Brantford Expositor,” on which paper he remained for many years. Later he became business manager of the “Brantford Courier,” and at the time he purchased the “Port Elgin Times” held this position. On taking possession of the “Times” he at once put his splendid business ability into the enterprise and established it upon sound business principles. Under him the “Times” has become one of the brightest country weeklies in Ontario. He has ideas which he is not afraid to put forward, and his paper is ever for the uplift and moral reform of the community which he so ably serves. He is a splendid platform man, speaking with ease and fluency. He has given much of his time to the Canadian Press Association, and for three years, 1914-15-16, was chairman of the weekly section of that body. He has also been on the executive Board of that body for a number of years. He is Past President of the Bruce County Press Association, and has done much to improve the standing of the country publisher and place his business upon the high plane it to-day occupies. He is a member of Port Elgin Lodge, No. 429, A.F. & A.M., the C.O.F., and the A.O.F. In religion he is a Baptist, taking a deep interest in the work of that body. In politics he is a Liberal, with a slight tendency toward radicalism. Though of many activities he finds time for public service, as has been evidenced by his arduous work in recruiting and patriotic efforts, which has claimed so much of the time of busy men. He takes an interest in the boy scout movement. His pastimes are bowling, shooting, and motoring. He married Miss M. Galbraith, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Galbraith, of Middlesex County. They have one daughter, Eleanor Jean.


Honeywell, Major Frederick Henry, B.A., is a prominent Ottawa barrister and military man who, during the late war, distinguished himself by serving his country at the front. He was born in Carleton County, Ont., on Dec. 12, 1877, son of Elkanah and Marie (Baldwin) Honeywell, and received his education at the public schools of Westboro’, Carleton County, at Ottawa Collegiate Institute and at Toronto University. He qualified for the law and after being called to the Bar established himself in practice at Ottawa, where he is head of the firm of Honeywell, Caldwell & Wilson, Barristers and Solicitors, Central Chambers. The firm has a large connection in the adjacent county, where Major Honeywell still maintains his residence. He has served as Reeve of Nepean township and as Warden of the County of Carleton. He has always taken a keen interest in military affairs, and at the time the war broke out held the commission of Major in the 5th Princess Louise Dragoon Guards, Ottawa. Offering himself for service overseas he was appointed Major of the 8th Canadian Mounted Rifles in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, in which capacity he went to the front. He was later attached to the 26th Battalion of the British Expeditionary Force in France, on active service, and participated in several noted engagements. He is essentially an outdoor man and his recreations include curling, skating, ski-ing, golf, motoring and motor boating. He is a Liberal in politics, a Protestant in religion and a member of the A.F. & A.M. and I.O.F. His residence is at Woodruff, Carleton County, Ont.


D. M. FINNIE
Ottawa


Wainwright, Arnold, K.C., B.C.L., one of the leading barristers and publicists of Montreal was born in that city on June 13, 1879, the son of William and Mary Emily (Arnold) Wainwright. His education was unusually complete. After a course at Montreal Collegiate Institute he entered McGill University, from which he graduated in 1890 with the degree of B.A. and honors and medal in mental and moral philosophy. This was supplemented by a course in law and in 1902 he obtained the degree of B.C.L. with a medal. Subsequently he took a post-graduate course at the University of Montpelier, France. He was called to the bar in 1902 and is now a member of the firm of Davidson, Wainwright, Alexander & Elder, Advocates, Transportation Building, Montreal. In 1912 he was created King’s Counsel on attaining the requisite ten years’ service at the bar. He was elected President of the Junior Bar Association of Montreal in 1910 and a member of the Council of the Montreal Bar for 1911-12. In addition to being recognized as a brilliant speaker both in the forensic and political arenas, Mr. Wainwright is a recognized authority on the academic side of his profession and is Lecturer on the Laws of Evidence and the Laws of Persons in the legal faculty of McGill University. In politics he is a Liberal and was a member of the Council of the Montreal Reform Club, 1910-11. He is an Anglican in religion and a member of the following clubs: St. James’, University, Beaconsfield Golf, Country, Canada, and Reform. In 1913 he married Norah, daughter of William Prentice, Montreal, and resides at 4 Seaforth Ave. in that city.


Bates, Joseph Lever, an Ottawa business man of widely extended interests, was born at Easton’s Corners, Ont., in 1850, the son of Nathaniel Bates. He was educated in the public schools of his district and afterward engaged in the granite business. In 1907 he founded the International Land and Lumber Company, 283-285 Bank Street, Ottawa, of which he is President. His other interests include the Presidency of the British Canadian Industrial Co., Ltd., which maintains offices in London, England, as well as in this country. He is a member of the Canadian Club, Ottawa, and of the Masonic Order. In politics he is a Liberal and in religion a Methodist. On December 21, 1875, he married Juliet, daughter of Mr. C. J. Lighthall of Montana, and has three sons. His residence is at 50 McLaren Street, Ottawa.


McConnell, Richard George, Deputy Minister of Mines, and Director of the Geographical Survey for Canada, was born at Chatham, Quebec, March 26, 1857, the son of Andrew and Martha (Bradford) McConnell. He was educated at the Caribou Academy and at McGill University, from which he graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1879, taking first class honors in Natural Science. On graduation he immediately went to the Canadian West as assistant to the famous Canadian geologist, Dr. G. N. Dawson, whose name is immortalized in Dawson City, the capital of the Yukon Territory. Upon his return to the East in 1881 Mr. McConnell entered the service of the Canadian Geological Survey and made many explorations in behalf of the government which resulted in valuable discoveries in Western Canada, British Columbia and the Yukon. In 1887 and 1888 he headed one of the most extensive exploratory expeditions on record, traversing almost the whole country drained by the Stikine, Liard, Mackenzie, Porcupine, Yukon and Lewis Rivers. The results of his investigations are to be found in many reports and articles on the Geological and Mineral Resources of Western Canada. On this subject he is recognized in professional circles throughout the world as the chief living authority. In fact it is doubtful whether any man, past or present has acquired such an intimate first-hand knowledge of the great Sub-Arctic areas of Western Canada. As a geologist his fame is international, and he is a prominent member of the Geological Society of America as well as of the Royal Society of Canada. His recreations are curling and golf and he is a member of the Ottawa Golf Club. In religion he is a Presbyterian, and was married in November, 1898, to Jeannie, daughter of E. H. Botterell, Montreal. His family consists of one son and one daughter, and his home is at “Edgehill,” Rockliffe, Ottawa.


Currie, General Sir Arthur William, C.B., G.C.M.G., Commander-in-chief of the Canadian Army on the Western front during the latter stages of the great war, was born at the village of Napperton, Middlesex County, Ontario, December 5, 1875, the son of William Garner and Jane Currie. He was educated at the public school of his district and later at Strathroy Collegiate Institute. Going to British Columbia in 1893 when but eighteen years of age he first engaged in school teaching at Sidney, B.C. Later he located in Victoria, B.C., and entered on a business career. At the time the war broke out he was the head of the firm of Currie & Power, one of the leading real estate concerns of Vancouver Island. Nearest to his heart, however, were military pursuits, and he early identified himself with the 5th Canadian Garrison Artillery, in which he served fourteen years, rising ultimately to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. With him, however, military activity was not merely a case of dress parades, but a real pursuit. He devoted himself seriously to the study of modern tactics, not only in connection with his own arm of the service but infantry as well. He used his influence to encourage rifle shooting, and from 1907 onward was President of the British Columbia Rifle Association. On the outbreak of the war followed by the decision of the Canadian Government to send an Expeditionary Force to the front, Col. Currie was recognized as one of the most efficient volunteer officers in this country, and when Sir Sam Hughes telegraphed him asking him to accept a command he did not hesitate to offer his services. He was assigned to the command of the Vancouver Highland Battalion, which trained at Valcartier Camp, and went overseas in the late autumn of 1914 to complete its training on Salisbury Plain. The regiment was one of the first Canadian units sent to France, and in the terrible fighting at St. Julien and Langemarck in connection with the second battle of Ypres, April, 1915, had its baptism of blood. This was the engagement of which Viscount French reported to the War Office “The Canadians saved the day.” In this severe test Colonel Currie won a reputation for leadership and courage of the highest order which has distinguished him ever since. He received enthusiastic praise from General Alderson, the Imperial officer then in command of the Canadian division, and on the latter’s recommendation was accorded the coveted D.S.O. and given command of a brigade. His service as brigade commander proved so completely successful that his work won the attention of the British Headquarters Staff, and when a reorganization of commands ensued as a result of the arrival of two new Canadian divisions in the field, he was elevated to the rank of Major-General and placed in charge of the First Division of the Canadian Army. In this post he commanded his division at the Battle of Hooge, when it resisted the full force of the German assault in what was described as “this particular hell of Hooge.” His cool and brilliant handling of what was admittedly a critical situation for all forces on the bloody Ypres salient won him the unstinted praise of his immediate chief-in-command, General Sir Julian Byng, and all the other British military experts. The correspondent of the London “Times” reported that nothing finer was ever seen in warfare than the manner in which the lines over Maple Cape, Observatory Ridge and Armagh Wood were held by the troops under General Currie’s command. Sir Julian Byng in his report said “I am proud of the Canadian troops under my command. Their behaviour has been magnificent. I have never known fiercer or more deadly barrage, nor have I seen any troops fight with more earnestness, courage and cheerfulness.” He especially praised General Currie’s counter attack with the Canadian division at 1.30 on the morning of June 13, 1916, on a front of 500 yards extending from Sanctuary Wood to Hill 60, when heavy losses were inflicted on the Germans and prisoners taken. The spring of 1917 was marked by glorious achievement on the part of the Canadian troops, including the captures of Messines Ridge and Vimy Ridge, and finally attaining the investment of Lens. In the midst of the spring campaign Sir Julian Byng was shifted to the command of a British Army. General Currie was at once recognized as his logical successor and became the Chief-in-Command of the Canadian Army in the field with four divisions under him. The victory of Vimy which was heralded throughout the world as a great military achievement, was generally credited to General Currie’s masterly powers of preparation and organization. It was in recognition of these services that His Majesty King George knighted him on the field of Vimy as a member of the Order of St. Michael and St. George. Earlier still he had been made a Companion of the Bath. It was on June 19, 1917, that he assumed the chief command, and one of his first achievements was the capture of Hill 70 on his own initiative, rendering the important mining city of Lens, which had been in German occupation for nearly three years, untenable for military uses by the enemy. General Currie could have occupied Lens any time during the summer of 1917 that it was deemed desirable, but owing to the belief of the French Government that its capture would only result in further destruction, without military advantage, the word to advance was withheld. Instead, during the autumn of 1917 General Currie and his army were assigned by Sir Douglas Haig to one of the most terrible tasks that was ever allotted to a military force. It was that of taking Passchendaele Ridge in Flanders with a view to getting to Roulers and cutting off the U-Boat bases of Zeebrugge and Ostend. Sir Douglas Haig assigned the task to the Canadians because he believed that under the command of General Currie they had developed into the best “shock” troops in the world. The Germans on the other hand believed that Passchendaele Ridge was impregnable, and many military experts agreed with them; but the U-Boat menace was such that the attempt was deemed to be justified by necessity. Before the attack General Currie personally addressed his men, and did not disguise what they had to face, but so fired them with the spirit of victory that despite terrible losses they carried the Ridge. It was one of the tragedies of the war that the Flanders winter closed down so suddenly that it was impossible to reap the full fruits of victory by advancing to Roulers. By spring the situation had been absolutely changed by the great German offensive of March, 1918, and Passchendaele was temporarily abandoned. This circumstance did not alter the greatness of the original achievement, attained in obedience to the orders of the Headquarters command. In the final stages of the war which gave the Allies victory the Canadian army under General Currie played a role of immortal lustre. They entered in the fighting in full force on August 8, 1918, and from thence onward until the signing of the armistice on November 11 victory after victory crowned their banners. The greatest of their achievements was perhaps the breaking of the Drocourt-Queant Switch Line, a part of the great “Hindenburg” defence system, which the Germans had also boasted was impregnable. When General Currie achieved this victory and opened the road to Cambrai it was at once recognized by war experts, and even by German critics, that Marshal Foch’s strategy could succeed in a much shorter period than had been anticipated if such efforts could be repeated on other parts of the Allied front. As everyone knows this prognostication was not falsified. Before the war was over General Currie and his army had to their credit the capture of Cambrai and of Valenciennes, two of the most vital points in the German resistance. Two hours before the armistice was signed General Currie rode as a conqueror into Mons, the point where the old “contemptibles” of the original British Army had first shown their prowess against the Germans in 1914. During the cleaning-up operations following the war, his administrative abilities have proven most valuable. On New Year’s Day, 1919, his services were further recognized by bestowing on him the honor of Grand Cross of St. Michael and St. George, an order in which he was already a Knight. It must not be forgotten also that in the critical period when Canada’s maintenance of her forces in France was in doubt, General Currie’s voice had great weight in determining the action of the people of this country. He strongly urged on Sir Robert Borden and other ministers that this country should do everything in its power to help win the war and meet the condition caused by the falling off of enlistments, a condition which was threatening the dissolution of his ever-victorious army. The result was the decision of the Canadian Government to adopt the policy of conscription. During the election campaign that ensued he sent the following message to the Canadian people on behalf of himself and his staff: “We sincerely sympathize with endeavors to arouse our countrymen to the necessity of remaining united and firm in their determination to furnish troops in the field all necessary support. We deeply deplore the fact that the wisdom of doing so has become a subject for debate and controversy by those at home. If support is now withheld or even delayed it means that additional burdens will have to be borne by men already doing the seemingly impossible.” This message coming from the most eminent of Canadian soldiers and one who in private life had been a political opponent of the Borden administration, could not fail to bring thousands of electors to a sense of their duty to the soldier in the field. There have been rumors that an effort would be made to induce General Currie to enter Canadian politics as a Liberal leader on his return from the front, but so far he has refused to assent to any such proposals. He is an Anglican in religion and was married in 1901 to Miss L. S. Chaworth-Masters of Victoria, B.C., by whom he has one daughter. A quiet man of iron determination and marvellous powers of organization, he is, however, certain to play a prominent role in the life of Canada in future, whatever path he may elect to follow.


Girard, A. D., one of the leading advocates of St. John’s, Quebec, was born at Ste. Hyacinthe in that province on May 10, 1841, the son of Michel and Sophie (Cheicoine) Girard. He was educated at Ste. Hyacinthe College and at St. Mary’s College, Montreal. He qualified for the law and was called to the Quebec bar (of which he is now one of the honored veterans) on April 4, 1864. From that year until 1879 he practised alone at Waterloo, Quebec, and in the latter year removed to St. John’s where he has ever since resided. Until 1911 he practised by himself but then took a partner, and the firm of Girard & Demers, which has offices on St. John’s Street in above named city, is well known throughout the district. Until his retirement from public life a few years ago Mr. Girard was a prominent figure in Quebec politics and a supporter of the Conservative party. He was the candidate of that party for the Legislature as early as 1875, in the riding of Sheppard. In the elections of both 1900 and 1904 he contested St. John’s in the same interest. His counsel has been much sought by the younger politicians of the day. In religion he is a Roman Catholic and was married on February 13, 1877, to Cordelli, daughter of F. X. Bousquet of Montreal.


Wilson, Peter Edward, B.A., LL.B., Barrister-at-law, Prince George, B.C., was born at Bond Head, Ont., August 28, 1871, the son of Charles Wilson, farmer, and Rachel, his wife. He was educated at Brampton High School, Toronto University and Osgoode Hall, Toronto, and after being called to the bar, went to British Columbia in 1896, first practising at Nelson. In 1905 he was appointed judge of the County Court of East Kootenay, a post which he held with honor to himself and to his office until 1912, when he resigned to resume practice at Fort George, B.C., where he has ever since resided. He is City Solicitor of that place and has also filled the offices of President of the Board of Trade and Chairman of the School Board. During 1917-8 he was a member of the Exemption Tribunal under the Military Service Act, for the district of Fort George. He is an Anglican in religion and Independent in politics. His recreations are gardening and curling. On Dec. 10, 1896, he married Christine, daughter of George Brown, a gentleman of Maidenhead, Eng., by whom he has seven children.


Mann, Alexander Robert, 3690 Selkirk Ave., Shaughnessy Heights, Vancouver, B.C., one of the most prominent business men of the Pacific Coast and a brother of the famous Canadian railroad magnate, Sir Donald Mann, is a native of Halton County, Ontario. He was born in the Village of Acton on July 29, 1861, the son of Hugh and Helen (Macdonell) Mann, his father being a farmer. He was educated in the public and high schools of his native place, and had practical experience on the farm before going to Winnipeg in 1879, where he took up railroading. Subsequently he engaged in the lumber business at Fort Frances, Ont., and in 1890 graduated into railroad construction. Among the various western lines which he took part in building were the Long Lake branch, C.P.R. (1890); Calgary and Edmonton Railway (1892-3); Soo Line, Saskatchewan (1892-3); Cusp and Slocan Railway, B.C. (1893-4); Columbia & Western Railway (1898); Rainy River Branch, C.N.R. (1899-1901); Neepawa to McCreary section, C.N.R. (1903-4); Greenway Branch, C.N.R. (1903-4); James Bay road, Toronto to Sudbury (1904-6); Goose Lake line C.N.R. (1906-7). From 1895 to 1897 he also handled ore in the Slocan silver region. From 1898 to 1904 he operated under his own name as a railway contractor and in the latter year formed the Northern Construction Company of Vancouver, of which he is still President. He is also President of the Dominion Products, Ltd., and the Canadian Kelp Company, Ltd., of Vancouver and a Director of the Winnipeg Aqueduct Co. He is recognized throughout Canada as a type of the sound, constructive business man, to which this country owes its rapid development during the past quarter of a century. He is a member of the Vancouver Club, the Albany Club (Toronto), and the Carleton Club (Winnipeg), and his chief recreation is golf. He is a Presbyterian in religion and on June 19, 1908, married Jennie, the daughter of Robert Malton, Owen Sound, Ont., by whom he has two daughters.


W. J. BASKERVILLE
Ottawa


Cartwright, Lt.-Col. Robert, C.M.G., one of the most prominent officers in the Canadian permanent forces, and who, at the time of writing, is stationed at Military Headquarters, Belmont House, Victoria, B.C., is a son of the eminent Canadian statesman, the late Sir Richard Cartwright, K.C.M.G., and was born at Kingston, Ont., Nov. 4, 1860. He was educated at the Royal Military College, Kingston, in 1881, entered the service of the Canadian Militia, has been stationed at many of the military districts throughout Canada, and has steadily risen in rank. Col. Cartwright is widely known as an efficient, painstaking and resourceful officer and has seen considerable service. He holds the North-West Medal, earned in the rising of 1885, and the South African Medal with four clasps. When the South African war broke out in 1899, he was Assistant Adjutant-General at Headquarters, Ottawa, and relinquished his appointment to go as a member of the Canadian contingent. Later he was given the honor of Companion of St. Michael and St. George. He established and was commandant of the Canadian School of Musketry, at Rockliffe, near Ottawa, the value of which has been proven as a training school for Canadian officers in the present war. Col. Cartwright’s own duties during the latter years of the war have been those of Musketry Officer of M.D. No. 11, Victoria, B.C. In addition to his military activities, he is a successful fruit farmer, and his recreations are skating, riding, motoring and sailing. He is a Liberal in politics and a man of advanced opinions, being a member of the Single Tax Association, the Anti-Poverty League, as well as of the Army and Navy Veterans, and the Rideau Club, Ottawa. He is an Anglican in religion and was married on Sept. 20, 1885, to Ivy Marion, daughter of Benjamin Canning Davy, Kingston, Ont., by whom he has had three children, Marion, Vida Lois and Francis (deceased in early childhood).


Marshall, Lieut.-Colonel Noel G. L. (Toronto, Ont.), Merchant, is one of those “British Born” who have carved out for themselves successful careers in Canada, although, since he was but four years old at the time of his parents’ removal to this country, his view-point is essentially Canadian. Born in London, December 30, 1852, the son of Kenric R. and Charlotte A. Marshall, he was educated in the Public Schools of Toronto and entered the service of L. Coffee & Company at the age of fifteen. Subsequently he was employed by George Chaffey Bros., Coal Merchants, and in 1879 purchased an interest in the C. J. Smith Coal Company. In 1888, Noel Marshall, in company with Sir William Mackenzie, bought out the entire business and three years later changed the corporate name to that of The Standard Fuel Company. For the past sixteen years he has represented the Toronto Board of Trade at the Canadian National Exhibition, of which he is now Honorary President. Among other business connections, Mr. Marshall is President of the Faramel Company, Ltd., of Toronto; and the Dominion Automobile Company, Ltd.; Vice-President of the Imperial Guarantee and Accident Company; of the Chartered Trust & Executor Company; Director of the Sterling Bank, Western Canada Flour Mills Company, Ltd.; Canada Northern Prairie Lands Company, Ltd. Noel Marshall was a member of the Toronto Board of Education, 1890-91; member of the Toronto Board of Trade since 1899, and a member of the Council of that organization for several terms. He was created Knight of Grace of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem in 1915, and was gazetted Honorary Lieut.-Colonel in the same year. He is at present Chairman of the Central Council and Executive Committee, Canadian Red Cross Society; President of the Open-Air Horse Parade Association; Vice-President of the National Chorus and Provincial Council, Canadian Boy Scouts; member of the Ontario Parole Commission; Treasurer, Laymen’s Missionary Movement of the Church of England; Governor of the Western Hospital, Toronto; Vice-President of the Hospital for Incurables; member of the Board, Children’s Aid Society, Orphan Boys’ Home, Working Boys’ Home, British Welcome League, Imperial Home Re-union, Imperial Daughters of the Empire, Women’s Welcome Hostel, Georgina Houses, and Bishop Strachan School. Colonel Marshall married Harriette Isabel, daughter of John Hogg, M.P., York Mills, Ont., in 1879, who died on December 4, 1904. He has two sons. Col. Kenric R., D.S.O., and Noel Clifford. He is a member of the York, National, Albany, Granite and Royal Canadian Yacht Clubs, all of Toronto. He is a Conservative in politics and an Anglican in religion.


Turnbull, Walter Renwick (Brantford, Ont.), President of the Turnbull Cutcliffe Hardware Company, Ltd., was born in Brantford Township, the son of William Turnbull, his father being a farmer and for many years the Secretary-Treasurer of the Brant Mutual Fire Insurance Company. He has served six years as Alderman of the City of Brantford and is Chairman of the Brantford Municipal Railway Commission. Mr. Turnbull married Alice Ada, daughter of Wm. Buck, Stove Manufacturer, Brantford, on December 3, 1890; he has one son—William Archibald. His recreations are bowling and motoring, being a member of the Brantford Social and Bowling Club. He is a member of the A.F. & A.M. and a life member of Doric and Ozias Masonic Lodges. Mr. Turnbull is a Liberal and a Presbyterian.


McClennaghan, Stewart. Who is there in Ottawa that has not heard of, or does not know, Stewart McClennaghan? Yes! who does not know him? No one in the city, or for that matter for many miles of country surrounding the Capital of the Dominion, can be found that does not know the President and General-Manager of the famous 2 Macs, Limited, dealers in fine tailoring, hats, furnishings, clothing and boots and shoes, for men and boys, with entrances on Sparks, Bank and Queen Streets, at the busy Corner—corner of Sparks and Bank Streets, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. Not only is he well known: he is also one of the most popular business men, social companion, lover of sports, and general good fellow with all his friends, acquaintances and customers to be found in any community, and his success in life, and his popularity, are what have sprung from his open, genial and straightforward conduct towards and with all who have had the good fortune to come in contact with him ever since he arrived in Ottawa in 1879 when he became an apprentice in the dry goods business in which line he served for ten years. Mr. McClennaghan has held almost every public office in the gift of the citizens of Ottawa—Public School Trustee, member of the Collegiate Institute Board, Controller of the City of Ottawa, Chairman of the Carnegie Library Board, President of the Central Canada Exhibition Association, Justice of the Peace, Member of the Board of Trade, Chairman of the Boxing Committee of the Ottawa Amateur Athletic Club, Vice-President of the Sportsmen’s Patriotic Association, President of the Liberal Conservative Association, Promoter of the Connaught Park Jockey Club and a member of the Original Committee who started the Prescott and Ottawa Highway Scheme which to-day is receiving such prominent attention from all lovers of good roads and from the Ontario Government—and could have held them all and been elected to others of equal or even more importance had he so desired. Whenever he was put forward as a candidate for any office—public, political, educational, sporting or social, his election was assured, and when he consented at a most critical time in the history of Ottawa’s Municipal Administration, to be a candidate for Controller he polled the largest majority ever secured by any man running for public office in the city. In addition Mr. McClennaghan is profoundly patriotic and public spirited and ever since the war started has been active, energetic and generous in helping forward Canada’s effort. His son, Lieut. Stewart Lyon McClennaghan served in France with distinction in the Royal Flying Corps, and his nephew, Lieut. Vivian S. C. McClennaghan of the Canadian Engineers, son of Mr. James McClennaghan of the Marine Dept., has been awarded the Military Cross for bravery while in charge of an important tract which was being heavily shelled and bombed and completed his task though twice buried by shell fire. In 1889 Mr. Stewart McClennaghan formed a partnership with the late Mr. M. D. MacKay as merchant tailors under the name of the 2 Macs—McClennaghan & MacKay. Three years later, in 1892, Mr. McClennaghan bought out Mr. MacKay and continued in the business until 1904 when he organized a joint stock company under the name of the 2 Macs, Limited, he becoming President and Managing-Director. To-day the business is recognized as one of the largest outfitting establishments in Canada, handling everything in boys’ and men’s wear, and occupying some 5,000 square feet of floor space, with a frontage of 100 feet on Bank Street, 66 feet on Sparks Street, and 33 feet on Queen Street, with the prospects in evidence that considerably more space will shortly be necessary if the business continues to expand as it has during the past decade. From 1900 to 1908 Mr. McClennaghan was a member of the Public School Board and was chairman for two years, and from 1908 to 1911 he was a member of the Ottawa Collegiate Institute Board from which he resigned to run for Controller of the City of Ottawa, as above stated. During the existence of the City’s Publicity Board Mr. McClennaghan was Chairman. Mr. McClennaghan is Chairman of the Carnegie Library Board and has been a member of the Board for many years. He is President of the Central Canada Exhibition Association. His first year of office, 1917, terminated with the Exhibition showing the largest receipts ever obtained in the history of the Association. He is a Justice of the Peace for the City of Ottawa and for the County of Carleton. He is a member of the Council of the Board of Trade, and has been a member of the Board for years. In amateur sports Mr. McClennaghan has been prominently identified for many years. In 1890 he won the gold medal presented by the Ottawa Amateur Association for the one mile snow shoe championship of the city. He was President of the Ottawa Bicycle Club and a member of their racing team. He was Chairman of the Board Committee of the Ottawa Athletic Club for several years. He is one of the promoters of the Connaught Park Jockey Club, became Vice-President, and is now Chairman of the Management Committee. He is Vice-President of the Sportsmen’s Patriotic Association, and it is he who is responsible for and was one of the original Committee who started the Prescott and Ottawa Highway Scheme. From 1916 to 1918 Mr. McClennaghan was President of the Ottawa Liberal Conservative (now Unionist) Association. Mr. Stewart McClennaghan is the son of William John (Contractor) and Sarah (Boyd) McClennaghan and a nephew of Mr. N. K. Boyd, ex.-M.P. for MacDonald, Manitoba. He was born at Oxford Mills, Ontario, July 14, 1866, and he was educated at the Ottawa Public Schools. August 19, 1895, he married Matilda A. Lyon, daughter of the late John G. and Victoria Lyon, of Ottawa. The union has been blessed with two sons and five daughters—Lieut. Stewart Lyon, Nora Boyd, Hilda Brook, Ruth Hasley, Helen Read, Hugh John, Doris Victoria. He is a member of the following Clubs: Laurentian, Rivermead Golf, Victoria Yacht, Abitibi Fish and Game, and of the following Societies: Masonic, Oddfellows, Foresters and Workmen. In religion he is Anglican and in politics Conservative. For recreation he indulges in golf, hunting and yachting. His military career was spent in the ranks of the Princess Louise Dragoon Guards. His place of residence is 330 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario.


Buchanan, William A., M.P. (Lethbridge, Alta.), Publisher, was born in Fraserville, Peterboro County, Ont., July 2, 1876; the son of Rev. Wm. Buchanan. His earlier education took place in the Public and High Schools of Trenton, Brighton and Norwood, Ont. He first became interested in newspaper work in Peterboro, Ont., and later was News Editor of the “Evening Telegram,” Toronto, removing from there to accept the position of managing director of the St. Thomas Journal; remaining in that position until 1905, when he decided to try his fortune in the West, locating at Lethbridge, Alberta, where he established and became publisher of the “Lethbridge Herald,” first as a weekly and, in 1907, changed it to a daily. For two years he was President of the Alberta and Eastern British Columbia Press Association, and Director of the Western Associated Press. He entered politics in 1909, in the Liberal interests, and was elected as the first member to represent Lethbridge City in the Alberta Legislature, and became a member of the Rutherford Government in the fall of the same year. In 1911 he resigned, over a difference of opinion on a railway bargain, and then contested the Constituency of Medicine Hat for the House of Commons, defeating the late member, C. A. McGrath (Conservative) by a majority of 1,500. Mr. Buchanan was a member of the Special House of Commons Committee on old age pensions and on redistribution. In the general elections of 1917 he was a candidate as a Unionist Liberal, and was elected by a majority of several thousand. He is now Unionist Whip for Alberta. In 1918 he was a member of the party of Canadian Journalists invited to visit the Western front and Great Britain. During the war he was actively engaged in patriotic movements, more especially the Patriotic Fund and Belgian Relief Fund. While living in Ontario, Mr. Buchanan took a great interest in military affairs and became Quartermaster of the 25th Regiment, at St. Thomas. He is interested in all kinds of sports and takes a keen pleasure in golf; was Secretary and Treasurer of the Ontario Hockey Association during John Ross Robertson’s Presidency, and was the first Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Alberta Amateur Athletic Association; is a member of the Chinook and the Country Clubs of Lethbridge; Ontario Club, Toronto, and the Laurentian Club, Ottawa. For two years he was President of the Canadian Club, of Lethbridge. Mr. Buchanan married Alma Maude Freeman, daughter of Edwin B. Freeman, of Burlington, Ont., and has one son, Donald W., born April 9, 1908. He is a member of the Methodist Church.


Williams, Herbert Hale, head of the firm of H. H. Williams & Co., Toronto, Ont. The name of H. H. Williams is a familiar one in the Canadian real estate field. For many years now his firm, that of H. H. Williams & Co., with headquarters in Toronto, Canada, has occupied a prominent place among the old-established and conservative real estate businesses of the Dominion. Mr. Williams himself, who is the active head of the firm, is a native of Toronto. Born on September 21, 1862, he received his education in the local public schools and the Toronto Grammar School. For a short time after matriculating from the latter institution, he studied law in the office of George Morphy, but presently relinquished the idea of becoming a lawyer in favor of following a mercantile career. His first employment was obtained in the office of Taylor Bros., paper manufacturers, Toronto, where for two years he filled the position of book-keeper. Then he turned his attention to the lumber business, in the prosecution of which he met with much success. He succeeded in developing an extensive connection with the railroads of the country, furnishing them with the timber and manufactured lumber needed in construction and also built up a considerable export trade to the United States in clear lumber. In 1886 Mr. Williams withdrew from the lumber business and entered the real estate field. He founded the firm of H. H. Williams & Co. and began those operations which have subsequently established his reputation as a sane, far-sighted and reliable dealer. To give some idea of the extent and importance of the undertakings which Mr. Williams has handled during the past few years in Toronto, mention might be made of the following large transactions, all of which were carried through in their entirety by the firm of H. H. Williams & Co.: The purchase for the Canadian Pacific Railway Company of the right-of-way along the Esplanade; the purchase, also for the C.P.R., of the old Government House property on King Street, together with three blocks of land extending from Simcoe Street to Spadina Avenue, south of King Street, in connection with the establishment of freight terminals; the purchase of the two blocks bounded by Yonge, Carlton, Church and Alexander Streets, which with subsidiary properties involved an investment of over five million dollars; the purchase, on behalf of the Dominion Government, of properties required for a new general post office, a new railway postal station and an enlarged customs house; and the purchase of the two blocks bounded by Yonge, College, Teraulay and Hayter Streets, comprising nine acres of land in the very heart of Toronto and forming one of the most important retail locations in the city.


Deroche, William Paschal (Napanee, Ont.), Local Registrar of the Supreme Court of Ontario, is the son of Paschal and Elizabeth Jane Deroche, and married on January 1, 1919, Helen Aylesworth Asselstine, daughter of the late Benjamin Asselstine, of Kingston, Ont. He was born at Newburgh, Ont., on August 27, 1854, and educated at Newburgh Academy. After graduation, Mr. Deroche taught school at Deseronto (then Mill Point) and other places for five years successfully, and began the study of law in 1878 with his brother, the late H. M. Deroche, K.C., and Judge Madden, at Napanee, and also with the well-known firm of Beatty, Blackstock & Co., at Toronto. He was appointed local Registrar of the Supreme Court of Ontario, Clerk of the County Court and Registrar of the Surrogate Court in June, 1887, and has been a member of the Public Library Board in Napanee for several years. Outside of these offices, however, Mr. Deroche has sought no public honors, devoting his entire energies and finding his best reward in discharging them to the satisfaction of the public and the members of his chosen profession. He is a member of the Anglican Church and a Liberal in politics. Judge Deroche, W. D. M. Shorey, Barrister, both of Belleville, Ont.; Col. Alex. P. Deroche, Director of Works and Buildings at Ottawa; and H. M. P. Deroche, Barrister, of Melville, Sask., are all nephews of Mr. Deroche. With the possible exception of Chief Justice Sir Glenholme Falconbridge, of Toronto, all the Judges of the High Court who were on the Bench when Mr. Deroche was appointed to his present position, are dead. His brother, H. M. Deroche, K.C., died March 10, 1916.


Forster, J. W. L., Artist (Toronto, Ont.), was born at Norval, Ont., and was educated at the Brampton Grammar School. Of him, an eminent public man gives us the following: “Canada, though in some senses a young country, has already produced a group of noted artists, whose depiction of her landscape and life is helping to make the Dominion known throughout the world. Among the leaders in this group is John Wycliffe Lowes Forster, than whom none of our artists has done so much for our national portraiture. Not only has he painted more of our public men than any of his contemporaries, but he is the only Canadian artist who has devoted his whole genius to the painting of portraits. If all Mr. Forster’s portraits of famous Canadians, which hang in public buildings and noted homes, were gathered together, they would in themselves constitute a large national portrait gallery, and this gallery would be quite representative of the great leaders in all walks of life. Among our statesmen—Sir John A. Macdonald, Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Alexander Mackenzie, John Sandfield Macdonald, Sir John Thompson, Robert Baldwin, Wm. Lyon Mackenzie, William S. Fielding, Sir George Ross and Sir James P. Whitney, constitute a comprehensive group. In divinity, such noted personalities as Punshon, Cavan, Carman, Primate Archbishop Machray, Primate Archbishop Sweatman, Bishop O’Connor, Milligan, Kellog, Maclaren; in the Judiciary—Chancellors Moss, Boyd, Meredith and Mulock; in University life—Paxton Young, Geikie, Nelles, Burwash, Rand, Wallace, Loudon and Galbraith; among noted military men—Wolfe, Brock, Roberts, Denison, Merritt and Otter; in other walks—Strathcona, Goldwin Smith, General Booth, Egerton Ryerson, Sir Sandford Fleming, Senator Cox, Senator Jaffray, MacKenzie King, Sir Gilbert Parker and George Brown are representative of a brilliant galaxy preserved to posterity by Forster’s indefatigable genius. Added to his Canadian clientele, Mr. Forster has in recent years painted many distinguished portrait subjects in the United States. Born in Halton County in the middle of the Nineteenth century, of cultivated English stock, he was reared, like other men of genius, amid the simpler pursuits of country life, and his pictures are therefore remarkable for subtle insight into character, and have at the same time the refined atmosphere of old world culture.”


Englehart, Joel Lewis (Toronto, Ont.), Chairman of the Temiskaming and Northern Ontario Railway (owned by the Province of Ontario), is the son of Joel and Hannah Englehart, and was born on November 2, 1847, in Cleveland, Ohio, and received his education there. He arrived in Canada in January, 1869, and soon afterward engaged in the oil business in London, Ont., becoming a producer, then a refiner and exporter, with offices in New York, and in 1881, when only thirty-four years of age, became Vice-President of the Imperial Oil Co., which position he still holds. In 1882 he removed to Petrolea, where he became, and still is, President of the Crown Savings & Loan Company, of Petrolea, and he is also Vice-President of the London & Western Trusts Co.; Director of the Bank of Toronto; ex-Governor of Toronto University and President of the Petrolea Liberal-Conservative Association, in addition to having many other business interests. In 1891 Mr. Englehart married Charlotte Eleanor, daughter of the late Thomas Thompson, of Adelaide, Ont., who died in 1908, and in whose memory he founded the Charlotte Eleanor Hospital in Petrolea in 1910, which is on the site of his old homestead and surrounded by thirty-five acres of land. In 1909 he gave an X-Ray equipment to St. Michael’s Hospital, Toronto, and in the following year a chime of eleven bells, one of the finest in the Province, to Christ Church, Petrolea, and it is safe to assume that his private generosity has more than kept pace with his public benefactions. In March, 1905, Mr. Englehart was appointed Chairman of the Temiskaming & Northern Ontario Railway Commission and his success in developing what he is pleased to call “Greater Ontario” has amply justified the late Sir James Whitney’s choice in placing him in this responsible position. He has been accustomed to business on a large scale, involving powers of comprehension, quick perception and careful calculation, and on his appointment, turned his ability and experience to good account in the service of the Province. He is very much interested in the extension of the road and the development of the vast farming, timber and mining country it serves, as may be judged from the fact that only eleven times during the twelve years he has been Chairman of the Commission has he missed his monthly trip over the road, and only once has he taken a month’s holiday. He believes that “Greater Ontario” is the biggest asset Canada has and is firmly convinced that no spot on the continent affords such opportunity for success as the territory traversed by the T. & N.O. Railway System and that to which it has not yet extended. In support of this claim, Mr. Englehart refers to a series of articles published in the “Globe” of August, 1916, which has previously been somewhat critical, written by that paper’s farming editor, and giving statistics to show that the production both in roots and grain per acre in “Greater Ontario” was far in excess of the best returns in the older sections of the Province. Mr. Englehart is both the apostle and the prophet of the North, enthusiastically proclaiming its unrivalled potential possibilities, and as he is better informed on the subject than any other man, his statements may be accepted at face value. Mr. Englehart is an Episcopalian in religion and a Mason. His clubs are the New York, Toronto, Albany, Empire, Toronto Hunt and Ontario Jockey, and the London, of London, Ont. Genial, a versatile and convincing conversationalist, alert and strong willed, he works actively in the immense field he supervises and takes keen pleasure in its development.


MacKenzie, John Angus, who was born at Guelph, Ontario, October 20, 1878, was educated at the Public and High Schools, Harriston, and the Model School, Guelph, Ontario, and taught school at Hanover, Ontario, from 1897 to 1898. From 1899 to 1901 he was assistant to C. M. Hayes, General Manager of the Grand Trunk Railway, Montreal. Arriving in Ottawa in the latter year he started in business for himself, and to-day is President of MacKenzie Limited, Manufacturers of Railway and Lumbermen’s Supplies, 132 to 136 Lyon Street, Ottawa, whose trade extends throughout Canada and to other parts of the world. From 1903 to 1907 Mr. MacKenzie served as Lieutenant of Company A, Governor-General’s Foot Guards. His brother, James David MacKenzie was killed on September 28, 1918, while fighting at the front in the great World War. Twice before he had been wounded and had just returned to the front in France when he met his death. Two brothers, W. M. and Thomas, served King and Country, the former being gassed and wounded, and a sister, Margaret, served as a nurse at the Orpington Hospital, England. Mr. MacKenzie in 1901 married Jean Andrew, daughter of Archibald Andrew, one of Ottawa’s most charming vocalists, as a result of which he has one son and one daughter. Mr. MacKenzie’s father and mother, Kenneth and Mary MacKenzie, reside on Melgund Avenue, Ottawa. Mr. MacKenzie is a Liberal in politics, and for years was Secretary of Ottawa Reform Association. He is a member of the A.F. & A.M. Society. His recreations are fishing and tennis, and his place of residence 229 Clemow Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario.


Harkin, James B., is one of those successful journalists who have been selected by the Dominion Government to occupy important positions in the service of Canada. In appointing Mr. Harkin to the responsible position of Commissioner of Dominion Parks, the Government of Canada made a happy selection, and his work in connection with the Government-owned Parks of Canada—in his descriptive and handsomely printed and illustrated publications, in his general ability for such work and in his careful and personal attention to their care and improvement—is well seen in the vast improvements that have taken place and in the publicity that they have had. When Hon. Sir Clifford Sifton was Minister of Interior in 1903, he selected Mr. Harkin as his Private Secretary, which office he held with that distinguished gentleman until the latter resigned his portfolio in 1905. Hon. Frank Oliver, succeeding Sir Clifford as Minister of Interior, retained the services of Mr. Harkin until 1911, when he appointed him to his present position, viz., Commissioner of Dominion Parks. If anything, Mr. Harkin has proven more competent in his present position than he was when occupying the position of private secretary, and that is saying something. Mr. Harkin was born at Vankleek Hill, Ont., January 30, 1875, and received his education in the Public School, Vankleek Hill, and at the High School, Marquette, Michigan. He became connected with the newspaper work in Montreal in 1892 and served on the staff of the Ottawa “Journal” from 1893 to 1900. Mr. Harkin is the son of William and Eliza (McDonnell) Harkin, is a member of the Ottawa Civil Service and the Rivermead Golf Clubs. He is a Roman Catholic in religion and resides at 138 Lewis Street, Ottawa, Ontario.


Ewart, David, Chief Architect of the Department of Public Works, Ottawa, was born at Penicuik, near Edinburgh, Scotland, on February 18, 1843. He was educated in his native place and at the Edinburgh School of Art, where he obtained a thorough grounding in architecture. In 1871, four years after the establishment of Canadian Confederation, he was appointed Assistant Engineer and Architect of the Department of Public Works for Canada, and took up his residence in Ottawa. In 1897 he was promoted to the position of Chief Architect. In the early days of his service he had charge of the completion of the main tower of the beautiful Parliament Buildings at Ottawa, which were destroyed by fire during the great war. He also took charge of the erection of the Canadian buildings at the Paris Exposition, the Chicago World’s Fair and at other famous international expositions. He was decorated by the French Government, and in 1903 was honored by the King with the Imperial Service Order. He was appointed a Member of the Board of Assessors in connection with additions to the Parliament Buildings at Ottawa in 1906, and was elected a Councillor of the Royal Architects Institute of Canada in 1909. In government circles he is looked on as one of the Nestors of the civil service. In May, 1877, he married Margaret Segsworth, daughter of Segsworth Simpson, Barnsley, Yorkshire, England, and resides at 135 Cameron Street, Ottawa.


Armstrong, Samuel, M.P.P. (Parry Sound, Ont.), one of the early pioneers of the District of Muskoka and Parry Sound, having settled in Muskoka in 1862, and Parry Sound in January, 1867. Many miles of the old Colonization Roads were made by him for the Government in Parry Sound District. He was interested in lumbering and saw mills, also railroad contracting, besides keeping a general store at McKellar, Ont., until elected M.P.P. for Parry Sound District, December 26, 1886. In May, 1895, he was appointed Sheriff of Parry Sound, which office he still holds; acted as reeve for McKellar Township for twelve years, and is a member of the Orange Order and Royal Templars. His parents were Samuel and Harriett Hughes Armstrong and he was born in Ireland, town of New Ross, County of Wexford, February 24, 1844, and educated at the Public Schools of Thorold and Toronto. He was married to Catharine Taylor, daughter of John and Elizabeth Taylor, Lanark County, Ont., and has five children—Harriett Elizabeth, John Egbert, Frank, Milton Taylor and Mary Emma Winnifred. In politics he styles himself an Independent, is a member of the Methodist Church and a delegate to the Toronto and Winnipeg Conferences.


McNeil, Most Reverend Neil (Toronto, Ont.), Archbishop of Toronto since 1912, when he was transferred from the Archbishopric of Vancouver, B.C., to which he was appointed in January, 1910, was born at Mabou, N.S., November 23, 1851, the son of Malcolm McNeil and Ellen Meagher. He was educated at St. Francis Xavier College, Antigonish, N.S.; in 1873 he entered the College of the Propaganda in Rome, where he remained for six and a half years. He was ordained Priest in 1879, in the Basilica of John Latern by the late Cardinal Patrizzi, and in the same year received the degrees of Doctor of Philosophy and Doctor of Divinity, afterwards making a post-graduate course of one year in the University of Marseilles, France. He joined the staff of St. Francis Xavier College in 1880, and was Rector of the College from 1884 to 1891. He became Bishop of Nilopolis and Vicar Apostolic of St. George’s, west coast of Newfoundland, being consecrated at St. Ninan’s Cathedral, Antigonish, 1895. During the war Archbishop McNeil especially endeared himself to all classes of the community by his active support of all patriotic enterprises, no matter what their religious complexion.


Harris, William Gean (Toronto), is one of the pioneers and leaders of the metal industry in Canada. He was born in the Muskoka district of Ontario on February 17, 1862, the son of William Gean and Mary (Hunter) Harris. He was educated in the Toronto public schools and at the age of 18 started his present business in a small way. It has now developed into the Canada Metal Manufacturing Company, Ltd., and is engaged in smelting ores, making lead pipe, rolling sheet lead, and the manufacture of brass bullets and shells. Its wares are known throughout the Dominion of Canada, the result of 30 years of constant expansion and progressive methods. The Harris organization is now recognized as one of the indispensable factors in Canadian industry of the most diverse aspects. In building up this great industry Mr. Harris has for a considerable number of years been blessed with the active assistance of his son. By instinct a captain of industry his chief recreation in leisure hours is the study of the betterment of conditions relating to business in all its phases. Mr. Harris is a member of the A.F. & A.M., I.O.F., A.O.F., S.O.E., a Conservative in politics and a Methodist in religion. In 1887 he married Ada Florence Grove, daughter of George Grove of England, and has one son and one daughter. Mr. Harris’s business address is Fraser Ave., Toronto, and his home is at 408 Indian Road in that city.


MacDonald, Donald D. (Toronto, Ont.), Public School Principal, son of John F. MacDonald and Jean Smith, was born at Bowmanville, Durham County, Ont., on July 24, 1874, and received his education at the Clark Union Public School, the Bowmanville High School, the Toronto Normal School and the Hamilton Normal College. He subsequently took the University course in Arts extra-murally and graduated with B.A. degree in 1915. He married Laura Stewart, daughter of John Stewart, of Toronto, and to them was born one son, Donald Stewart. Mr. MacDonald was one of a family of five boys, four of whom entered the teaching profession for a time, and one of whom, Dr. N. S. MacDonald, B.A., in addition to himself, is still in the profession as one of the Public School Inspectors of Toronto. He enjoyed the advantage of being brought up in the country, the public school which he first attended being two miles distant from his home. When but a lad he determined to follow the vocation of teaching and trained himself to this end. He secured his Primary and Second-Class Teaching Certificates at the Bowmanville High School, and at once embarked upon his career as a teacher, taking charge of the public school at Providence, three miles out of Bowmanville, for three years. He then entered the course at the Toronto Normal School, achieving high academic progress and graduating with honors in 1897. For the succeeding three years Mr. MacDonald taught at Audley, near Pickering, after which, in order to complete his training, he returned to the Bowmanville High School for two years and secured his Senior Leaving Certificate. Having subsequently taught in Barrie for four months, he was appointed vice-Principal of Annette Street School, West Toronto, and three and one-half years later became its principal. During the three years he occupied this position, prior to the annexation of the Town of West Toronto to the city of Toronto, Mr. MacDonald passed the Normal College examination extra-murally, obtaining a first-class professional certificate. He was then transferred to the Niagara Street School, Toronto, of which he was Principal for over two years, when he was promoted to the Principalship of McMurrich School, in which position he served for 6½ years. Still carrying on his extensive studies, Mr. MacDonald graduated extra-murally in Arts from the Western University, and is now qualifying for the degree of D.Paed. In September, 1918, he became Principal of the Orde Street Model School, the new practice school for Normal School students. Apart from his educational activities, Mr. MacDonald has taken considerable interest in public affairs. He has been a member of the session of Victoria Presbyterian Church for some years. He was the Master of Victoria Lodge, in 1917, A.F. & A.M., No. 474, G.R.C. He is also a member of Shekinah Chapter of Royal Arch Masons. Mr. MacDonald’s parents were both Scottish. In politics he is a Conservative. Mr. MacDonald’s life thus far has been much devoted to study along with his regular educational duties.


Pardoe, Avern (Toronto, Ont.), Librarian of the Ontario Legislature, spent ten years, after leaving King Edward VI’s Collegiate Grammar School, Stratford-upon-Avon, where he was educated, in a law office of that place; afterwards doing a little amateur journalistic work in England and leaving for Canada in 1872, where he took up land near Cecebe Lake, in Chapman Township, Parry Sound District. The following year he engaged in journalism in Chicago, but returned to Canada in 1875, upon invitation to join the staff of the Toronto “Globe,” from which he resigned on Mr. Gordon Brown’s retirement in 1883. Being invited back by the new editor, Mr. John Cameron, he acted under him as Managing Editor until 1889, when he retired from journalism to engage in real estate. On the collapse of realty values in Toronto in 1894, he entered the service of the Ontario Government and received his present appointment four years later. He is a member of the Church of England, of the A.F. & A.M., Royal Arch and Scottish Rite, 32. Mr. Pardoe was born at Stratford-upon-Avon, Eng., June 26, 1845, the son of William and Harriette Pardoe, and married Mary, the daughter of Daniel P. Sprague, State Senator, Andover, Conn., in 1876, by whom he has four surviving children—Ellen Edith, Avern, William Sprague and Eunice Scoville Nicholls.


Davis, Aubrey, Manufacturer (Newmarket, Ont.), and Captain 220th Battalion, C.E.F., has been a member of the Committee of One Hundred and a strong advocate of Local Option for many years. The son of the Hon. E. J. and Margaret Johnston Davis, he holds office as Vice-President of the Davis Leather Company, Limited, of which his father is President. Mr. Davis was born at King, York County, February 2, 1878, and was educated at Aurora High School and Toronto Business College. September 2, 1902, he married Etta, daughter of Richard Pettit, of Appin, Ont., by whom he has one son, Bruce Pettit Davis. He is a member of the National Club, as also of Rameses Temple, Mystic Shrine. In politics he is a Liberal and in religion a Methodist.


Col. Wm. Hutchison, Ottawa
Col. A. T. Shillington, Ottawa.


Dowling, John S. (Brantford, Ont.), Manufacturer, was born at Bolton, Ont., May 16, 1875, the son of Bryan Dowling, a railroader, and Sarah A. Dowling. His early education began at the Bolton Public School and then at the Toronto Technical School. Settling in Brantford, he soon became interested in the welfare of that city and became Alderman in 1915 and was re-elected in 1916 and 1917, was chairman of the Railway Committee and Chairman of Finance in 1916 and 1917. He is President of the well-known firm of John S. Dowling & Company, Ltd. Mr. Dowling takes a keen interest in all kinds of sports, especially lacrosse, hockey, bowling and tennis, and was one of Canada’s star lacrosse players, helping Brantford win many games during the years 1902 to 1905. Was prominent player of Tecumseh and Toronto Lacrosse Clubs prior to going to Brantford, and was selected by latter club to tour Great Britain in 1902, which played throughout England and Ireland. Is chairman of Brantford Branch of Soldiers’ Aid Commission, having organized the first commission in Canada, which later became part of Provincial Soldiers’ Aid Commission, when latter was created. Under his chairmanship Brantford has the name of being the best organized branch in the Province. He is Rotary President of the Dufferin Bowling Club and a member of the Heather Bowling Club. Is a Mason and also a member of the Canadian Order of Foresters. On August 23, 1904, he married the daughter of Neil Macmillan, a journalist, of Glasgow, Scotland, and has had four of a family—Ian Macmillan, born June 3, 1907; Margaret Faith, born May 28, 1910, died May 27, 1912; Kathleen Patricia, born March 15, 1913, and Phyllis Trimble, born October 13, 1914. Mr. Dowling belongs to the Presbyterian Church and is a Conservative in politics.


Notman, John Charles (St. Catharines, Ont.), was born at Thorold, Ont., on January 4, 1866. Son of John and Barbara (Ogilvie) Notman. Educated at the Public Schools, St. Catharines, and in 1881, entered the office of the Welland Vale Manufacturing Co. In 1901 he was appointed as Manager of the McKinnon Dash Co., manufacturers of saddlery, carriage hardware and malleable iron castings, St. Catharines. He is Vice-President of the St. Catharines Steel and Metal Co. Since 1910 he has been Water Commissioner of the city. As a clubman he is well known in many cities, and he is a member of the St. Catharines City Golf Club; Laurentian Club, Ottawa; and the Niagara Club, Niagara Falls, N.Y. In religion he is a Presbyterian and a Conservative in politics. In 1896 he married Clara Louise, daughter of James Seymour, and has one son.


Paton, Hugh (Montreal, Que.), is President of The Shedden Forwarding Co., Ltd., Montreal; Director, Royal Bank of Canada; Bell Telephone Co.; Sincennes McNaughton Line, Ltd.; Northern Electric Co., Ltd.; Canadian Express Co.; Canadian Transfer Co.; Montreal Trust Co. Born at Johnstone, Renfrewshire, Scotland, October 5, 1852, the son of William and Mary (Shedden) Paton, he came to Canada in 1871, after an early education at Paisley Grammar School, Scotland, and joined his uncle, the late John Shedden, a prominent railway contractor of Toronto. Mr. Shedden was formerly President of the Toronto & Nipissing Railway and built the Union Station, Toronto, in addition to other public works. In 1873, Mr. Paton removed to Montreal and took up his present business under the name of The Shedden Forwarding Co., Ltd., marrying Isabella, daughter of the late Andrew Robertson, in 1884. His recreations are the turf, farming and travelling, and he has won three Queen’s Plates and one Hunt Cup. He is a governor of Montreal General, Notre Dame and Western Hospitals; was Honorary Secretary-Treasurer, 1879-1886, and Master of the Montreal Hunt, 1887; Honorary Secretary for two years of the Montreal Tandem Club; Honorary Treasurer for several years of the Province of Quebec Turf Club, Mount Royal Club, and member of the St. James’ Club, Montreal; Royal Montreal Golf Club; Montreal Racquet Club; Forest and Stream Club, Montreal; Canada Club, Montreal; Montreal Jockey Club; Toronto Club, Toronto; Manitoba Club, Winnipeg; Manhattan Club, New York; Royal Automobile Club and Junior Athenæum Club, London, Eng. Residence, 507 Sherbrooke St. West, Montreal; summer Residence, “The Island,” Bord-à-Plouffe, Que.


McGiverin, Harold Buchanan (Ottawa, Ont.), Barrister and Solicitor, was elected to the House of Commons for Ottawa in 1908, and chosen as Liberal Whip for Ontario in the following year, but was defeated in the elections of 1911. Called to the Bar of Ontario in 1893, he is a member of the firm of McGiverin, Haydon & Ebbs, and has been Counsel for the Great Northern Railway in Canada, also for the Bank of Nova Scotia at Ottawa. In spite of a distinguished professional career, however, it is as a sportsman that Mr. McGiverin is most widely known, being an authority on football and cricket. He represented Canada in International Cricket for years; has been captain of the Canadian Team for five years and President of the Ottawa Cricket Club for several years; also President of the Canadian Cricket Association. He was Captain and later President of the Ottawa Football Club, (“Rough Riders”), Champions of Canada, and was appointed Canadian Member of the Olympic Games Committee in 1908. His clubs are: Rideau, Ottawa Golf, Ottawa Country and Connaught Park Jockey, all of Ottawa; the Pilgrim, of Philadelphia; also the Marylebone Cricket Club of London, Eng., and Free Forresters. Mr. McGiverin was born in Hamilton, Ont., August 4, 1870, the son of Lieut.-Colonel William McGiverin, formerly M.P. for Lincoln, and Emma (Counsell) McGiverin. He was educated in Public and Private Schools, also at Upper Canada College and Osgoode Hall. He married Alice Maude, daughter of Hon. C. H. Mackintosh, late Lieutenant-Governor of the North-West Territories, September, 1898, and has one son, H. M. McGiverin, Cadet Royal Air Force, 1918. He is an Anglican in religion.


Ingersoll, James Hamilton, K.C. (St. Catharines, Ont.), was born in the Garden City on October 8, 1858. Son of James Hamilton and Frances E. (Jacobs) Ingersoll. Educated at the Public and High Schools of his native city and at Upper Canada College, Toronto. He studied law in the office of the late J. C. Rykert, K.C., M.P. Was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1883. Mr. Ingersoll is recognized as one of the most prominent barristers of the Niagara Peninsula, and enjoys a large and lucrative practice and represents many important interests. He is senior member of the firm of Ingersoll and Kingstone, which has offices at 24 James St., St. Catharines. He was created a King’s Counsel in 1908. He has many important interests outside his practice and is Vice-President of the Security Loan and Savings Co., Ltd., and a Director of the Suspension Bridge Company, Niagara Falls. In religion he is an Anglican, and a Conservative in politics. He is a member of the Masonic Order. He was first married in 1889 to Florence N. Fowler, and secondly, in 1910, to Harriet Mary Martin. He has two daughters.


Ellis, John F. (Toronto, Ont.), born at Mount Pleasant, Ont., on November 9th, 1845. Son of John R. Ellis and Janet Carlyle, niece of the famous Thomas Carlyle. Educated at local Grammar School and Toronto Normal School. Entered into business with John R. Barber in 1876, Paper Dealers and Envelope Manufacturers, which concern became subsequently known as the Barber-Ellis Limited, 71 Wellington Street West, Toronto, having branches at Winnipeg, Calgary and Vancouver, with the manufacturing plant at the city of Brantford, Ont. One of the Vice-Presidents of the Canadian Reconstruction Association. Was President of the Toronto Board of Trade 1902-1904; President of the Canadian Manufacturers Association 1898-1900. President of the National Club, 1901-1902; President, Caledon Fishing Club 1903-1905; Vice-President, Local Branch, Ontario Fish and Game Protective Association; one of the Founders of the Commercial Travellers’ Association; Delegate to the Sixth Imperial Trade Congress, London, England, July, 1906; presented to King Edward, 1906. He is a member of the National Club, Royal Canadian Yacht Club and Caledon Fishing Club. Mr. Ellis is a supporter of the Union Government. In religion he is a Methodist. He has given freely of his time and ability to the advancement of his home city. Married Emma Maughan, June 7th, 1877, daughter of Nicholas Maughan, Toronto Assessment Commissioner; has three sons.


McKeon, P. J., Very Reverend Dean, Rector of St. Peter’s Cathedral, London, Ont., one of the best loved clergymen of the Roman Catholic Church in this country, was born at Merlin, Ont., the son of James and Ann (Finn) McKeon. He was educated for the priesthood at the widely known seminary of the Basilian Order, Assumption College, Sandwich, Ont., whose graduates have rendered unselfish Christian service in many parts of the world. Father McKeon was Rector of St. Mary’s Church, London, Ont., for twelve years prior to his elevation as Dean and Rector of St. Peter’s Cathedral, and during that time established a reputation for kindliness, piety and zeal in all good works that was recognized by all classes of the community. He has held the responsibilities of the Chancellorship of the diocese since August, 1899, being appointed to that position by the late Archbishop McEvoy when he became Bishop of London. He is known also as one of the best organizers in the diocese of London. He willingly participates in the civic activities of his chosen city, and is a member of the local Canadian Club, the London Board of Trade and of the Knights of Columbus.


James, Edgar Augustus, a Consulting Engineer, was born in the County of York, at Thornhill, Ont., August 25, 1874, eldest son of David James and Francis M. Jackson. Both parents were also born in York County. His father, a nephew of the late Senator David Reesor, is a successful York County farmer, who has taken an active part in Grange and Farmers’ institute work. He represented the Township of Markham in the York County Council for some twelve years, and was for some twenty years Engineer for the Township of Markham. Educated at the Langstaff Public School, the Newmarket High and Model Schools, and the Toronto Normal School, the subject of this sketch taught public school at Don, Ont., for two years, after which he entered the Faculty of Applied Science of the University of Toronto, securing the degree of B.A.Sc. in 1904, and the professional degree of C.E. in 1913. As a student he was active in the work of the Engineering Society of the Faculty, and was the President of the organization in the years 1903-4. For the period of 1906 to 1914 he sat on the Senate of the University of Toronto as one of the elected representatives of the Graduates. On December 1, 1910, he was married to Mary Kate Smith, daughter of William Henry Smith, who for fifty years was Principal of the Public Schools, Port Dover, Ont. His professional experience includes two years on road work and drainage work in Western Canada, and four years on railway construction work with the Canadian Pacific Railway. In 1908 he was appointed Managing Editor of the “Canadian Engineer,” which publication, under his direction, was developed into the leading Canadian Engineering Weekly. Since giving up active journalistic work he has been a frequent contributor to the technical press. In 1911 he resigned to take the position of Chief Engineer of the Toronto & York Roads Commission, an organization charged with the improvement of some two hundred and fifty miles of leading roads radiating from Toronto. In the Fall of the same year he became a member of the newly organized firm of Consulting Engineers, James, Loudon & Hertzberg, Ltd., which firm has had charge of important engineering works in connection with buildings, bridges, roads, waterworks, sewerage and railways, together with industrial plants. Moving up through the junior classes, he became, in 1914, a full member of the Engineering Institute of Canada, having been made, in 1913, a full member of the American Society of Civil Engineers. He was a member of the original committee of six who met for the purpose of re-organizing the Engineers’ Club as a Social and Technical Club, and was a member of its first Board of Directors. He is also a member of the Ontario Club; the York Pioneer and Historical Society and a life member of the Ontario Historical Society; a P.M. of Patterson Lodge A.F. & A.M.; P.Z. Victoria Chapter, R.A.M., and a member of Cyrene Preceptory and Rameses Temple. In July, 1918, he was appointed D.D.G.M. for Toronto Centre District No. 116 A.F. & A.M., G.R.C. He is also a P.C.R. of Court Union, A.O.F. In religion both families are Methodist, as is the subject of this sketch.


Finnie, David Maclachan. The Bank of Ottawa, now amalgamated with the Bank of Nova Scotia, was established in December 1874, with headquarters in the Victoria Chambers, Cor. Wellington and O’Connor streets, Ottawa. Its authorized capital was $500,000 and its paid-up capital $343,875. An unique happening is connected with the founding of this bank, viz., that some twelve days before the head office in Ottawa was opened and ready for business, a branch office was established in Arnprior under the management of Mr. David Maclachan Finnie, who was then a young man of 25 years and who in 1903, 29 years later, became Assistant General Manager and in 1916, General Manager, which position he held up to the time, April 30th, 1919, of its amalgamation with the Bank of Nova Scotia. Mr. Finnie was, therefore, the first manager of the Bank of Ottawa to do business with the public in its solitary branch in Arnprior in 1874, when authorized capital of the bank was $500,000, and the last General Manager of the bank in 1919, when its Capital was $4,000,000; when its reserve fund was $4,750,000; when its branches numbered 95; when it had contributed 228 members of its staff to the great cause of liberty in the world’s great war; when its total assets were $70,243,000, and its liabilities $60,539,000, showing a surplus of just under $10,000,000; and when it was paying the shareholders over 12 per cent. on the par value of the stock. The Bank of Ottawa, from the start, established a high character which it always retained. Its management had a reputation invariably for generous dealings with its clients and never more than of the late years; and to Mr. Finnie’s affable manner, generous, yet wise, consideration of its clients’ requirements and his undoubted ability both as a banker and as a financier, the success achieved by the bank was considerably attributable. Mr. David Maclachan Finnie was born at Peterhead, Scotland, July 10th, 1849. He is the son of Robert and Mary (Smith) Finnie, and was educated in the Parish School, Peterhead. At an early age he acquired a business and banking experience in the office of A. & W. Boyd, Solicitors and Agents in the Union Bank of Scotland, Peterhead; in the office of Secretary, West of Scotland Wholesale Grocers Association; in the Bank of British North America, London, England; Montreal, Hamilton and Arnprior. He is a Director of the Home Building & Savings Association; was elected Vice-President of the Ottawa Board of Trade in 1909; is Vice-President of the County of Carleton Protestant Hospital, and in 1919 was elected by acclamation to the Presidency of the Royal Ottawa Golf Club. At the opening campaign on behalf of the Canadian Patriotic Fund, Ottawa Branch, he was elected Honorary Treasurer, and has remained in that position ever since. There was subscribed over $2,000,000, nearly all of which has been paid in. In 1875 Mr. Finnie married Caroline Nicholson Sterling, daughter of George Sterling of Hamilton, Ontario. He was President of the Rideau Club for 1911-12-13, and is a member of the Country, Ottawa Golf, Ottawa Hunt Clubs. In religion Mr. Finnie is an Anglican. His residence is 329 Chapel Street, Ottawa, Canada.


Boudreau, L. N. H. Rodolphe, who from 1889 to 1907 was Private Secretary to the late Right Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, is a son of the late Dr. J. B. Boudreau of Doucet’s Landing, Quebec, and Sarah (Fortier) Boudreau. He was born at St. Gregoire, Quebec, Sept. 19th, 1865, and was educated at Nicolet College and Laval University. In 1893 he married Annie, daughter of Thomas Wensley, Ottawa. He accompanied Sir Wilfrid to Washington and to London and Paris on official missions. He entered the Civil Service in 1896, was appointed Assistant Clerk of the Privy Council in 1900, and Clerk of the Privy Council on May 6th, 1907. January 1st, 1918, he was knighted a Companion of St. Michael and St. George. In religion Mr. Boudreau is a Roman Catholic. He resides at 198 Stewart Street, Ottawa.


Arkell, Thomas Reginald, B.S.A. (Toronto Ont.), is recognized as one of the leading live stock experts of Canada, though still young in years. He was born at Arkell, Wellington County, Ont., on March 30th, 1888, the son of Henry and Jessie (Macfarlane) Arkell. He had an early insight into the practical side of his chosen profession from his father, who was a prominent sheep-raiser, and had resolved to give his son a thorough education in the scientific side of the business. The subject of this sketch was educated at the public schools of Arkell and Guelph, Guelph Collegiate Institute and the University of Toronto. In 1908 he graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Scientific Agriculture, standing highest in his class for general proficiency and capturing the Governor-General’s medal. He first went into journalism and in the year of his graduation was appointed agricultural editor of the “Canadian Citizen,” Ottawa; and later served for some months as Associate Editor of “The Canadian Farm,” Toronto. In 1909 he was appointed Professor of Animal Husbandry at the New Hampshire State College and animal Husbandman of the Experimental Station in connection with that institution. In 1912 he returned to Canada to accept the appointment of Chief of the Sheep and Goat Division of the Live Stock Branch in the Federal Department of Agriculture. In 1918 he was appointed Manager of the Canadian Co-operative Wool Growers, Limited, an association designed to benefit wool production in Canada from every point of view. He is widely known in connection with this basic industry and is the author of numerous papers and pamphlets relating to sheep-breeding and the inheritance of bovine characteristics. He is a member of the University Club, Ottawa, and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In 1911 he married Mabel Helen, daughter of William Mahaffey of Dover, New Hampshire, and has one daughter, Eleanor Kathleen. He resides at 70 Beaty Avenue, Toronto.


HON. GEO. P. GRAHAM
Brockville


Gartshore, Lieut.-Col. William Moir, is one of the best known industrial leaders of Canada, and is Vice-President and General Manager of the McClary Manufacturing Co. of London, Ont. His Company is one of the Canadian pioneer concerns in the manufacture of stoves and furnaces, and has branches at Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Vancouver, St. John, Hamilton, Calgary, Saskatoon and Edmonton. Col. Gartshore was born at Dundas, Ont., April 3rd, 1853, the son of John and Margaret (Moir) Gartshore. The late Mr. John Gartshore was during his lifetime a prominent manufacturer of marine machinery, engines, boilers, etc., and the subject of this sketch was educated in the public and grammar schools of Dundas and at Dr. Tassie’s famous academy at Galt, Ontario. In 1873 he joined the staff of the London Car Wheel Company and in 1876 entered the employ of the McClary Manufacturing Company with which he has ever since been connected. Since 1890 he has filled the dual office of Vice-President and General Manager. His other business interests include a directorship of Ontario Loan and Debenture Co., London. Since early manhood he has taken an active interest in military matters and holds a first-class cavalry certificate. He entered the militia as a volunteer in 1871 and during the North-West Rebellion of 1885 served as Junior Major of the 7th Fusiliers, London, for which he wears the campaign medal. He was made major in 1884 and in 1892 became Lieut.-Col. in command of 1st Regiment of Cavalry, “Hussars,” London. He is now on its reserve of officers. Col. Gartshore has also held many important public offices. He was Provincial Vice-President of the Canadian Manufacturers Association, 1908, and Vice-President for Canada in the same organization, 1914-15. He is President and was formerly for some years a director of London Fair Association; Chairman of the Victoria Hospital Trust; President of the St. John’s Ambulance Association, London; President of the Child Welfare Association, London. During his many journeys to the motherland he was in 1886 presented to the late King Edward VII when Prince of Wales, and in 1905 after he came to the throne. In response to the wishes of his fellow citizens he stood for Mayor of London in 1916 and was elected. Col. Gartshore is a member of the following Clubs: London, London Hunt, and National (Toronto). He is also a member of St. Andrew’s Society and his recreations are riding, cricket and baseball. In politics he is a Liberal-Unionist and in religion a Presbyterian. He was married on Dec. 26th, 1876, to Catherine, daughter of Mr. John McClary, the head of the company with which he is identified, and has one daughter, Mrs. Edna Cleghorn.


White, John T., Solicitor to the Treasury for the Province of Ontario, is a native of Belleville, Ont., where he was born on July 3rd, 1875. He was educated at the public and High Schools of his native town and later qualified for the law at Osgoode Hall, Toronto. On being called to the bar of this province in 1894 he practised for a time in Toronto. A few years ago he was appointed Solicitor to the Treasury for Ontario, a post requiring great judgment and knowledge of general conditions. Among the duties it embraces is that of collecting the succession duties on the estates of deceased persons, the collection of the Corporations Tax, the Provincial War Tax, and other sources of Provincial revenue. In the long and delicate negotiations which are sometimes necessary in arriving at a fair valuation, Mr. White has shown himself very shrewd and tactful and has been able to largely augment the revenues of the province without making unfair exactions. When the Ontario Government decided a year or so after the late war began to impose a tax on amusements, Mr. White was also placed in charge of the administration of the new law, a task involving great problems of detail which he has successfully accomplished. He is an Anglican in religion and a Conservative in politics and resides at the Albany Club, of which he is a member, as also of the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, the Rosedale Golf, and the Mississauga Golf and Country Club.


Pugh, Thomas James, one of the successful business men of Toronto, was born in Kidderminster, England, January 8th, 1871, the son of Charles and Sarah Pugh. He received his first education in public schools in England, which on his coming to Canada as a boy, was continued by courses in the public and High Schools here. On leaving school he adopted commercial pursuits in which he prospered and was finally enabled to establish himself as a manufacturer of novelties. He is the President of the Pugh Specialty Company, Ltd., with factories at 38 to 42 Clifford Street, and the wares of his company are well known to the trade throughout Canada. He is a member of the Canadian Manufacturers Association and of the Toronto Board of Trade. He is a Presbyterian in religion and a member of the Masonic order. In politics he is a Liberal-Unionist. In 1908 he married Miss Alice Maude Collier, daughter of M. Collier, of Hillsburg, Ont., and resides at 87 Erskine Avenue, Toronto.


Sutherland, Thomas Fraser, B.Sc., E.M., Chief Inspector of Mines for the Province of Ontario is recognized in his own and other countries as one of the leading mining engineers of Canada. He is the son of Rev. J. M. Sutherland, B.A., a prominent Presbyterian clergyman of the Maritime Provinces, and was born at Pugwash, Nova Scotia, on Feb. 23rd, 1879. His professional education was received at Queen’s University, Kingston, Ont., from which he graduated in 1904 as a fully qualified Mining Engineer with the degree of Bachelor of Science. On graduation he went to British Columbia and worked in various gold camps of that province and also of Alaska as a practical miner, assayer, operator and prospector. For two years he acted as Western representative of a prominent New York mining firm with important interests in British Columbia. After six years’ experience on the Pacific coast he returned to the East in 1910 and was engaged by the Ontario Bureau of Mines in 1911 as Assistant Inspector at Cobalt, Ont., the centre of one of the great silver districts of the world. Subsequently in 1913 he became Chief Inspector, and in 1916 was attached as expert to the Royal Ontario Nickel Commission to enquire into various problems in connection with that important industry. His duties in this capacity required him to visit the famous nickel mines of the French colony of New Caledonia, which are second only to those of Northern Ontario in extent, and also the nickel fields of Tasmania. In connection with his investigations and other official duties he is the author of various reports to the Ontario Government, which are documents of value to those interested in the mining industry, and is also a contributor to technical journals in connection with his profession. He is a member of the Canadian Mining Institute and in religion is a Presbyterian. In 1908 he married Miss Ethel Young and has three children, Jack Fraser, Gordon McRae, and Margaret Jean. His home is at 133 St. Leonard’s Ave., Toronto.


David, Hon. Laurent Olivier, City Clerk of Montreal since 1892 and for years prominent in the public life of Quebec, is one of the distinguished figures in the Senate of Canada. He is a son of the late Mayor Stanislas David, a farmer and officer of the Canadian Militia, and Elizabeth Tremblay, his wife. Senator David was born at Sault-au-Recollect, P.Q., on March 24th, 1840, and educated at Ste. Therese College, Quebec. He took up the study of law and while yet a student became identified with journalism as one of the founders of the newspaper “Le Colonisateur.” In 1870 he in company with M. Mousseau and Desbarats founded “L’Opinion Publique” an illustrated weekly, of which he became chief editor, and resigned as such because he refused to take the responsibility of approving the Pacific scandal. In 1874 he founded in company with C. Beausoliel, M.P., and edited “Le Bien Public” and later published “La Tribune.” In the seventies he began to win fame as the author of many essays and books on French Canadian history, on which he is perhaps the greatest living authority. These include “Les Patriotes de 1837-8”; “Portraits et Biographies”; “Histoire du Canada depuis l’Union”; “Histoire du Canada depuis la Confederation”; “le Drapeau de Carillon,” a patriotic drama; “Les Deux Papineau”; “Mes Contemporains,” (memoirs); “Souvenirs et Biographies”; “Laurier et son temps”; “Melanges Historiques et Litteraires”; “Le Clergé Canadien, sa mission et son oeuvre,” and other works. For a short time he filled the position of translator to the Quebec Legislature, which he resigned in 1878 and subsequently practised law in Montreal. In 1892 he became City Clerk of Montreal and helped to revise the new charter of that city, drafted in 1898. He served as President of the great French-Canadian patriotic Society of St. Jean Baptiste in 1887-8, and his pen and tongue have always been active in movements for Canadian unity and for the intellectual advancement of his own people. He was one of the important delegates to the Convention of the French-Canadian people at Nashua, New Hampshire, in 1888, and was one of the prime movers in securing the erection of the Monument National at Montreal and also that for a monument to Montcalm in France. Originally a Conservative in politics he left that party to join L’Union Nationale, in the sixties, an organization formed to oppose Confederation. Later his ideas on that subject mellowed and Confederation having become an accomplished fact, he threw in his lot with the newly-formed Liberal party of Dorion, Holton and Laflamme. His independence of spirit was shown, however, in the fact that he favored the policy of protection for native industries in opposition to his party friends. Because of his attitude on that question he was obliged to discontinue the publication of the “Bien Public.” From the first entry of Sir Wilfrid Laurier into politics he became his friend, counsellor and supporter, and during the lifetime of that statesman no living man enjoyed more of the confidence of the Liberal chieftain. His entry into politics ante-dated that of his friend by a few years for he was an unsuccessful candidate for the Quebec Legislature in Hochelaga in 1867 and later in 1875. From 1886 to 1890 he represented Montreal East in that body, when he voluntarily retired, owing to differences with Hon. Honore Mercier, Liberal Leader in the Legislature. He had several bills adopted by the Legislature in order to improve the condition of the workingman, and especially to prevent the seizure of his furniture and wages. He was twice an unsuccessful candidate for the House of Commons, first in Hochelaga at the general elections of 1878 and in Montreal East at the general elections of 1891. He in 1903 was called to the Senate of Canada by the Governor-General, the Earl of Minto, on the advice of Sir Wilfrid Laurier, and is recognized as one of the sagest and most able debaters in that body. He had earlier declined appointment as Lieutenant-Governor of the Northwest Territories, though pressed to accept by Sir Wilfrid. He is prominently identified with welfare movements like the society for the Protection of women and children, Quebec; and the Anti-Alcoholic League, Montreal. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a Knight of the Legion of Honor of France (to which he was appointed in 1911.) His attachment to the British flag as well as to the interests of his own people has been the theme of many of his utterances. He is a Roman Catholic and was twice married; first in 1886 to Albina Chenet (died July, 1887); secondly to Ludivine Garceau (died, February, 1915). He has had one son and nine daughters.


Nanton, Sir Augustus Meredith, K.B., of Winnipeg, is one of the leading financiers of the Canadian West and has been for a considerable number of years senior Winnipeg partner in the noted firm of Osler, Hammond & Nanton, Investment Brokers and Financial agents of Toronto and Winnipeg. He was born at Toronto, May 7th, 1860, the son of Augustus Nanton, Barrister, and came from a family that dated from the early settlement of that city. He was educated in Toronto and as a young man was sent to Winnipeg to take charge of the Western business of Osler & Hammond in which he became a partner. He has long been intimately connected with the financial life of Manitoba and the West, and his widespread interests are indicated by the fact that he is Vice-President of the Great West Life Assurance Co., Vice-President of the Osler & Hammond Trust Company; President, Winnipeg Electric Co.; Director and Chairman of the Canadian Committee of the Hudson’s Bay Company; Director of the Canadian Pacific Railway Co.; Director of the Dominion Bank; Director of the Northern Trusts Company; Director, Manitoba Bridge & Iron Works; Director of the Cockshutt Plow Company; Director of the Ogilvie Flour Mills Company; Director of the Canadian Starch Company; and Director of the Guarantee Company of North America. Few men have been so closely identified with the commercial and industrial development of Canada, particularly that section of it in which he resides; and when on June 4th, 1917, he was created a Knight Bachelor, the honor was universally regarded as well-bestowed. Knight of Grace of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem (July, 1914). In connection with the Victory Loans of 1917 and 1918, Sir Augustus rendered signal service to the Government of Canada, by organizing their flotation in the West, with magnificent results. He is a member of the following Clubs: Manitoba (Winnipeg); St. Charles Country; Winnipeg Hunt; Mount Royal (Montreal); York and Toronto in the latter named city; and Rideau (Ottawa). He is a Conservative in politics and an Anglican in religion. He is married and has three sons and three daughters, and resides at 229 Rosyln Road, Winnipeg.


Rogers, Albert S. (Toronto, Ont.), was born in North York in 1860, the son of the late Samuel Rogers, founder of the Queen City Oil Co., Ltd., and was educated at the Newmarket High School. He married Mary E., daughter of Joseph E. Elsworth, of New York City, by whom he has two sons—J. D. Elsworth and Edward S., and one daughter, Katherine. Interested in petroleum and natural gas, Mr. Rogers was Vice-President and General Manager of the Queen City Oil Co., Ltd., of Toronto—merged into the Imperial Oil Company in 1912—before retiring from active business. He is Director of the Imperial Oil Co., Ltd., and Vice-President of Harris & Company, Woollen Manufacturers, Rockwood. Mr. Rogers is also Chairman and Treasurer of the Board of Management of Pickering College, Newmarket, near which he owns and operates a farm that affords a country outlook to the students. He is a member of the National Club and Lambton Golf and Country Club, of Toronto, as also of the Toronto Board of Trade and the York Pioneers. In religion he belongs to the Society of Friends.


Scott, F. Stewart, M.P. (Galt, Ont.), born August 23rd, 1879 at Galt, Ont. Son of Frank A. Scott and Mary Stewart, both Canadians. Parents are of Scotch parentage. Educated at Galt Public and High Schools. Married in April, 1904 to Minnie L., daughter of William Weir, of Galt, Ont., and has three children, Kathleen, Stewart A., and Isobel Scott. He is a successful manufacturer and public spirited citizen. He is president of the Getty & Scott Limited, Boot and Shoe Manufacturers; President of Scott-Chamberlain Limited, Ontario; and President of the Shoe Manufacturers’ Association of Canada. Was a member of the Galt Municipal Council for seven years, serving two years as Mayor. He is a member of The Business Men’s Club and Waterloo County Golf Club. In religion he is a Presbyterian. Was first elected to the House of Commons in 1915 as Conservative member for South Waterloo and re-elected at the general elections in 1917. The member for South Waterloo is a man of many activities and large commercial interests in which he displays marked energy. He is a good platform speaker and is recognized as one of the most progressive and popular citizens of his home city.


Dollard, Rev. James B., is one of the most distinguished lyric poets of the day, whose residence in this country must be regarded as fortunate for the cause of Canadian letters, though he is not a native of this country. He was born in Kilkenny County, Ireland, on August 30th, 1872, the son of Michael Dollard a farmer and Anastasia (Quinn) Dollard. He was not without Canadian connections, however, since a grand uncle, Bishop Dollard of Fredericton, N.B., had had a distinguished career in the Roman Catholic Church in this country. His early education was received in Kilkenny and he later qualified for admission to the priesthood at the Grand Seminary, Montreal, Canada. He holds the scholastic degrees of Bachelor of Theology, Bachelor of Canon Law, and Doctor of Letters (Laval University). He was ordained as a priest in 1896 and his later years have been spent in the city of Toronto, where he is now parish priest of St. Monica’s Church, 44 Broadway Avenue. Despite the duties of a hard-working clergyman, zealous for the welfare of his parish, he has employed his limited leisure in literary activity which has won him fame on both sides of the Atlantic. He has published three volumes of poems and one book of short stories. His literary work is nearly all Irish in theme and inspiration; for he has never forgotten the happy days he spent as a lad in the beautiful isle that holds the enduring love of so many patriots, whose duties have called them far from its shores. The growth of his fame as a lyric poet is the more notable in that he is of modest, retiring nature and has never sought publicity of any kind. Irish legend and Irish scenery are woven by him into the most delicate and rhythmical verse—verse that is instinct with music, and alive with lovely imagery. One tribute to him from the pen of the late Joyce Kilmer, himself a poet of distinction and prior to his death with the American troops at Chateau Thierry, the literary critic of the New York “Times,” may be quoted. Of the poem “Fairy Anvils” which appears in the volume entitled “Irish Lyrics and Ballads,” Kilmer wrote: “Here is some genuine Celtic magic—a beautiful blend of melody and fancy. It should be set to music—the words almost carry a tune with them—and sung by John McCormack.” The same tribute could be paid to many other lyrics by Father Dollard. He is a member of the Poetry Society of America and of the Arts and Letters Club, Toronto.


Robertson, Edward Blake, Scotch origin, born at Lanark, Ont., February 27th, 1877; youngest son of Wm. Robertson and Marian Watt. Went with parents to Manitoba in 1879. Educated at Pilot Mound public and high schools and Winnipeg Normal Schools. Taught in Manitoba public schools for six years. Appointed Chief Clerk for Manitoba in connection with the decennial census of 1901. Married on December 25th, 1901, Christina Isola, daughter of Wm. Wrixon. Has one son, Blake Roscoe, born November 2nd, 1902. Resigned from the Dominion service August, 1903, to enter the employ of Sir Clifford Sifton in a private capacity. Appointed Assistant Superintendent of Immigration in December, 1904, and Assistant Chief Controller of Chinese Immigration in October, 1911. In connection with his official duties he travelled extensively in Canada, United States and Great Britain. Of him the Manitoba Free Press says: “He has been recognized for some years as one of the leading authorities on immigration in the Dominion, while his administrative ability has been generally acknowledged.” Resigned from the Department of Immigration & Colonization in February, 1919, to accept a position in Ottawa with the Canadian Manufacturers Association. Recreations: fishing, hunting and motor boating. Residence 347b Kenniston Apartments, Ottawa. Clubs: Laurentian, Canadian and Brittania Boating Club.


LIEUT.-COL. JAMES W. WOODS
Ottawa


Chaplin, James D., M.P. (St. Catharines, Ont.), was born at Toronto on March 20, 1863. Son of William and Harriet Chaplin. Educated at the Public Schools and St. Catharines Collegiate Institute, and after a thorough business training became a prominent manufacturer in St. Catharines. His business interests are very extensive and the companies with which he is connected are widely known throughout Canada. He is President of the Welland Vale Manufacturing Company, Ltd., which makes hand agricultural implements; President of the Chaplin Wheel Company, Ltd.; President of the Canada Axe and Harvest Tool Company, and President of the Wallingford Manufacturing Company, Ltd. Despite his commercial activities he has found time to take a prominent part in public affairs. He was a municipal councillor for four years, and in the autumn of 1917 was selected as Unionist candidate for the riding of Lincoln. At the ensuing Federal elections in December he was elected by a handsome majority as a supporter of Sir Robert Borden, and is regarded as one of the ablest members of the Ottawa House. Previously he had been known as a Conservative and a few years ago was appointed a member of the Queen Victoria Niagara Falls Park Commission, which has charge of the Canadian side of that famous international waterway. He is a member of the A.F. & A.M. and of the St. Catharines Club, and Canada Club, Montreal. In religion he is a Presbyterian and in 1888 married Edna E., daughter of the late Colin Burgess of Toronto, by whom he has one son and two daughters.


Creelman, Lieut.-Colonel John Jennings, D.S.O., Advocate and barrister, Montreal, is one of the most distinguished, of the Canadian soldiers who won honors in the late war and also holds high rank in the legal profession. He was born in Toronto on Feb. 14th, 1881, the son of the late Adam R. Creelman, K.C. one of the leaders of the Canadian bar, who became Chief Counsel of the Canadian Pacific Railroad, and one of the directors of that corporation. His mother was Margaret Jennings, daughter of the late Rev. Dr. John Jennings of Toronto, one of the best known pulpit orators of his day. The subject of this sketch was educated at Upper Canada College, Toronto, and the University of Toronto, from which he graduated with the degree of B.A. in 1904. Subsequently he qualified for the law at McGill University, Montreal, and obtained the degree of B.C.L. in 1907. This was supplemented by a post-graduate course at the University of Grenoble, France. Subsequently he became a member of the legal firm of Casgrain, Mitchell, McDougall & Creelman, and is now in practice alone with offices in the Dominion Express Bldg., Montreal. He was also Lecturer on Railway Economics at McGill University in 1913 and 1914. From early manhood Col. Creelman took an active part in military affairs and was a member of the Canadian Coronation Contingent in 1911. He was gazetted a Lieutenant-Colonel of the Canadian Field Artillery on Oct. 26th, 1912. On the outbreak of the war he at once placed his services at the disposal of the Government and went overseas as Lieut.-Colonel, commanding the Second Brigade, C.F.A., and continued in service until Sept. 9, 1917. During twenty-five months’ service in France he took part in many notable engagements with the Canadian Expeditionary Force and was twice mentioned in despatches. He was once officially reported wounded (shell shock) on April 29th, 1915. His services were recognized by the coveted Distinguished Service Order and the Russian Order of St. Stanislas (3rd class with swords). A movement having arisen in Montreal for the betterment of municipal politics, he was induced in April 1918, to run for the city council and was elected. He has since proven a very valuable member of that body. In June, 1918, he was appointed a member of the Protestant Board of School Commissioners. His business interests are also extensive, and he is a director of several companies. In religion he is a Presbyterian and in politics a Liberal, and his recreations are golf, curling and fishing. He is a member of the following clubs: Mount Royal, University (Montreal), Royal Montreal Golf, Montreal Thistle (curling), Reform (Montreal), University (Toronto), and Junior Army and Navy (London, Eng.). On June 24th, 1908, he married Katherine Melanie Weekes (died Dec. 13, 1918), daughter of Nicholas Weekes of Galveston, Texas, retired banker and railway president. He has two children, John Ashmore Creelman, born 1912, and Katharine Margaret Creelman, born 1918.


Fisher, His Honor Walter George (Orangeville, Ontario), County Judge of the County of Dufferin, was born in Township of Tossoronto, County of Simcoe, and is the son of John Fisher. Educated at Collingwood High School and McGill University, Montreal. On being called to the Bar in 1886, he at once commenced the practice of his profession at the Town of Alliston, in partnership with W. A. J. Bell, K.C., and continued to do with much success until his appointment to the bench in September, 1913. Judge Fisher took an active part in the municipal politics of his home town, of which he was Mayor. He married Mary Towler and is the father of two children, Allan, a member of the Canadian Expeditionary Force at the front, and Dorothy, at home. Judge Fisher is a member of the Masonic Order and in religion is a Methodist. He has been prominent in all movements of a Patriotic and National nature and took a lively interest in recruiting the battalion which was identified with the County of Dufferin (the 164th). His services have been in great demand at all public meetings intended for the purpose of promoting recruiting and the national welfare. He is also a member of the Canadian Club of Orangeville. The Judge is an ardent motorist and a keen curler, and a member of the Orangeville Lawn Bowling Club.


Burgoyne, William Bartlett (St. Catharines, Ont.), one of the best known newspaper editors and publishers of Canada, was born in the city where he resides, on August 2, 1855, the son of Henry and Martha Burgoyne. His father was a builder and contractor and the son was educated at the Public Schools of St. Catharines. Leaving at the age of 12, he shortly afterward entered the printing business, with which he has now been connected for upwards of 50 years. In January of 1887 he founded the St. Catharines “Evening Star,” and in 1892 became proprietor and publisher of the St. Catharines “Daily Standard,” one of the livest and most influential newspapers to be found in the smaller cities of Canada. Apart from his journalistic activities Mr. Burgoyne has been a very active factor in the civic life of his native place. He was Alderman in 1895-6, 1898, 1900, 1912-3-4-5, Mayor of the city in 1903, and later, in 1916 and 1917. He was also Chairman of the local Hydro-Electric Commission, 1916-7, and also of the Local Board of Health for the same years. He was Chairman of the St. Catharines Roads Commission, 1918, and a member of the Collegiate Institute Board. In all efforts in behalf of temperance he has been active for many years. He was G.W.P. of the Grand Division of Ontario, Sons of Temperance, 1898-9; M.W.A. of the National Division of North America in the same organization, 1902-4, and M.W.P. in 1904-6. He represented the National Division of North America, S. of T. at the fi